DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Par. 0022 of the specification recites in part “The signal end 41 is connected to the feed part 14”, however, this appears to be a minor oversight since the feed part should be 12 as recited in Par. 0021 not 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9-11, 15 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0145744 and Lin et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0351509.
Regarding Claim 1, Kao et al. teaches an electronic device (Par. 0005, 0006), comprising:
a housing (housing implicit with wireless communication device of Par. 0005, 0006); and
an antenna structure (400 Fig. 4 Par. 0030) disposed in the housing, the antenna structure comprising:
a first radiating element (410 Fig. 4 Par. 0030), including a first radiating part (111 Fig. 4 Par. 0031), a feed part (112 Fig. 4 Par. 0031) connected to the first radiating part, and a grounding part connected to the first radiating part (ground through 101 connected through 112 Fig. 4);
a second radiating element (120 Fig. 4 Par. 0032), including a first branch (123A Fig. 4 Par. 0021, 0030, 0032), a second branch (123B Fig. 4 Par. 0021, 0030, 0032), a third branch (122 Fig. 4 Par. 0021), a fourth branch (121 Fig. 4 Par. 0031), and a fifth branch (vertical branch between 123C and 123B Fig. 4), the first branch and the second branch extending in a first direction (horizontal direction Fig. 4), the third branch and the fourth branch extending in a second direction (vertical direction Fig. 4), the first direction being different from the second direction (Fig. 4), the first branch and the second branch intersecting at a first branching point (intersection through vertical portion between 123A and 123B Fig. 4), the third branch and the fourth branch intersecting at a second branching point (intersection at 123C Fig. 4), one end of the fifth branch being connected to the first branching point (vertical branch between 123C and 123B connected to the first branching point through 123B Fig. 4), another end of the fifth branch being connected to the second branching point (connected to 123C Fig. 4), the first radiating part extending between the first branch and the second branch (111 extending between 123A and 123B Fig. 4), so that the first radiating part and the second radiating element couple with each other (through coupling gaps D11 & D12 Fig. 4 Par. 0027, 0035);
a grounding element (ground plane Par. 0008);
a feed element (101 Fig. 4 Par. 0027), having a signal end and a ground end, the signal end being connected to the feed part (Fig. 4), the ground end being connected to the grounding element (Fig. 4);
a switching circuit, electrically connected to the third branch (130 Fig. 4 Par. 0029).
Kao et al. is silent on the grounding element connected to the grounding part; and a proximity sensing circuit, electrically connected to the fourth branch.
However, Lin et al. teaches the grounding element (14 Fig. 1 Par. 0032) connected to the grounding part (4 Fig. 1 Par. 0032, 0033); and a proximity sensing circuit (proximity sensing circuit P Figs. 9, 10 Par. 0051), electrically connected to the fourth branch (24 Figs. 9, 10 Par. 0052).
In this particular case, providing a grounding element to be connected to the grounding part, and providing a proximity sensing circuit, electrically connected to the fourth branch are common and well known in the art as evident by Lin et al. to obtain a planar inverted-F antenna (PIFA) (Par. 0033) and to obtain “a function of sensing whether or not a human body becomes adjacent to the antenna structure U, thereby adjusting a radiation power of the antenna structure U and preventing a problem of the SAR value being too high” Par. 0051.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the antenna structure of Kao et al. with a grounding element to be connected to the grounding part and a proximity sensing circuit electrically connected to the fourth branch based on the teachings of Lin et al. in order to obtain a planar inverted-F antenna (PIFA) and to obtain a sensing function to detect if a human body is close to the antenna structure to adjust the power and reduce SAR value.
Regarding Claim 2, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein a length of the first branch and a length of the second branch are not equal (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Kao et al. as modified teaches the electronic device according to claim 1 as shown in the rejection above.
Kao et al. is silent on wherein the antenna structure further comprises a substrate, the substrate has a first surface and a second surface, the first surface and the second surface are located on opposite sides of the substrate, and the first radiating part, the feed part, the grounding part, and the second radiating element are disposed on the first surface.
However, Lin et al. teaches wherein the antenna structure further comprises a substrate (substrate T Fig. 1 Par. 0029), the substrate has a first surface and a second surface (implicit opposite surfaces of substrate / PCB Par. 0030), the first surface and the second surface are located on opposite sides of the substrate, and the first radiating part, the feed part, the grounding part, and the second radiating element are disposed on the first surface (Fig. 1 Par. 0029, 0030).
In this particular case, providing a substrate on which the antenna elements to be disposed on is common and well known in the art as evident by Lin et al. in order to provide support and connection to all the components (Fig. 1 Par. 0029, 0030).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the antenna structure of Kao et al. with a substrate on which the antenna elements to be disposed based on the teachings of Lin et al. as a result effect in order to provide support and connection to all the components.
Regarding Claim 9, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the antenna structure further comprises an inductive element connected between the fourth branch and the proximity sensing circuit (Lin et al. L Fig. 9 Par. 0052 as modified above).
Kao et al. is silent on wherein the switching circuit comprises a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path is electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path is electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path is respectively connected in series with at least one passive element.
However, Lin et al. teaches wherein the switching circuit comprises a signal transmission path (W Fig. 10 Par. 0054) and at least one transmission path (W1/W2 Fig. 10 Par. 0054), the signal transmission path is electrically connected to the third branch (Fig. 10 Par. 0055), the at least one transmission path is electrically connected to the signal transmission path (Fig. 10), and the at least one transmission path is respectively connected in series with at least one passive element (E1/E2 Fig. 10 Par. 0054).
In this particular case, providing the switching circuit to comprise a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path respectively connected in series with at least one passive element are common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Lin et al. in order to obtain a filter to avoid interference between the switching circuit and the antenna (Par. 0053).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the switching circuit of Kao et al. with a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path respectively connected in series with at least one passive element based on the teachings of Lin et al. as a result effect in order to obtain a filter to avoid interference between the switching circuit and the antenna structure.
Regarding Claim 10, Kao et al. teaches an antenna structure (400 Fig. 4 Par. 0030), comprising:
a first radiating element (410 Fig. 4 Par. 0030), including a first radiating part (111 Fig. 4 Par. 0031), a feed part (112 Fig. 4 Par. 0031), and a grounding part, the feed part and the grounding part being connected to the first radiating part (ground through 101 connected through 112 Fig. 4);
a second radiating element (120 Fig. 4 Par. 0032), including a first branch (123A Fig. 4 Par. 0021, 0030, 0032), a second branch (123B Fig. 4 Par. 0021, 0030, 0032), a third branch (122 Fig. 4 Par. 0021), a fourth branch (121 Fig. 4 Par. 0031), and a fifth branch (vertical branch between 123C and 123B Fig. 4), the first branch and the second branch extending in a first direction (horizontal direction Fig. 4), the third branch and the fourth branch extending in a second direction (vertical direction Fig. 4), the first direction being different from the second direction (Fig. 4), the first branch and the second branch intersecting at a first branching point (intersection through vertical portion between 123A and 123B Fig. 4), the third branch and the fourth branch intersecting at a second branching point (intersection at 123C Fig. 4), one end of the fifth branch being connected to the first branching point (vertical branch between 123C and 123B connected to the first branching point through 123B Fig. 4), another end of the fifth branch being connected to the second branching point (connected to 123C Fig. 4), and the first radiating part extending between the first branch and the second branch (111 extending between 123A and 123B Fig. 4), so that the first radiating part and the second radiating element couple with each other (through coupling gaps D11 & D12 Fig. 4 Par. 0027, 0035);
a grounding element (ground plane Par. 0008);
a feed element (101 Fig. 4 Par. 0027), having a signal end and a ground end, the signal end being connected to the feed part (Fig. 4), the ground end being connected to the grounding element (Fig. 4);
a switching circuit, electrically connected to the third branch (130 Fig. 4 Par. 0029).
Kao et al. is silent on the grounding element connected to the grounding part; and a proximity sensing circuit, electrically connected to the fourth branch.
However, Lin et al. teaches the grounding element (14 Fig. 1 Par. 0032) connected to the grounding part (4 Fig. 1 Par. 0032, 0033); and a proximity sensing circuit (proximity sensing circuit P Figs. 9, 10 Par. 0051), electrically connected to the fourth branch (24 Figs. 9, 10 Par. 0052).
In this particular case, providing a grounding element to be connected to the grounding part, and providing a proximity sensing circuit, electrically connected to the fourth branch are common and well known in the art as evident by Lin et al. to obtain a planar inverted-F antenna (PIFA) (Par. 0033) and to obtain “a function of sensing whether or not a human body becomes adjacent to the antenna structure U, thereby adjusting a radiation power of the antenna structure U and preventing a problem of the SAR value being too high” Par. 0051.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the antenna structure of Kao et al. with a grounding element to be connected to the grounding part and a proximity sensing circuit electrically connected to the fourth branch based on the teachings of Lin et al. in order to obtain a planar inverted-F antenna (PIFA) and to obtain a sensing function to detect if a human body is close to the antenna structure to adjust the power and reduce SAR value.
Regarding Claim 11, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein a length of the first branch and a length of the second branch are not equal (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Kao et al. as modified teaches the antenna structure according to claim 10 as shown in the rejection above.
Kao et al. is silent on further comprising a substrate, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface, the first surface and the second surface being located on opposite sides of the substrate, and the first radiating part, the feed part, the grounding part, and the second radiating element being disposed on the first surface.
However, Lin et al. teaches further comprising a substrate (substrate T Fig. 1 Par. 0029), the substrate having a first surface and a second surface (implicit opposite surfaces of substrate / PCB Par. 0030), the first surface and the second surface being located on opposite sides of the substrate, and the first radiating part, the feed part, the grounding part (Fig. 1 Par. 0029, 0030).
In this particular case, providing a substrate on which the antenna elements to be disposed on is common and well known in the art as evident by Lin et al. in order to provide support and connection to all the components (Fig. 1 Par. 0029, 0030).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the antenna structure of Kao et al. with a substrate on which the antenna elements to be disposed based on the teachings of Lin et al. as a result effect in order to provide support and connection to all the components.
Regarding Claim 18, Kao et al. as modified teaches further comprising an inductive element connected between the fourth branch and the proximity sensing circuit (Lin et al. L Fig. 9 Par. 0052 as modified above).
Kao et al. is silent on wherein the switching circuit comprises a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path is electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path is electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path is respectively connected to at least one passive element.
However, Lin et al. teaches wherein the switching circuit comprises a signal transmission path (W Fig. 10 Par. 0054) and at least one transmission path (W1/W2 Fig. 10 Par. 0054), the signal transmission path is electrically connected to the third branch (Fig. 10 Par. 0055), the at least one transmission path is electrically connected to the signal transmission path (Fig. 10), and the at least one transmission path is respectively connected in series with at least one passive element (E1/E2 Fig. 10 Par. 0054).
In this particular case, providing the switching circuit to comprise a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path respectively connected in series with at least one passive element are common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Lin et al. in order to obtain a filter to avoid interference between the switching circuit and the antenna (Par. 0053).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the switching circuit of Kao et al. with a signal transmission path and at least one transmission path, the signal transmission path electrically connected to the third branch, the at least one transmission path electrically connected to the signal transmission path, and the at least one transmission path respectively connected in series with at least one passive element based on the teachings of Lin et al. as a result effect in order to obtain a filter to avoid interference between the switching circuit and the antenna structure.
Claims 3-5 & 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0145744 and Lin et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0351509 as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2010/0141536.
Regarding Claim 3, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first radiating part and the first branch are separate from each other and couple with each other (through D11 Fig. 4) to generate a first operating frequency band (high frequency band 520 Fig. 5); wherein the first radiating part and the second branch are separate from each other and couple with each other (through D12 Fig. 4) to generate a second operating frequency band (second frequency band 510 Fig. 5), the first operating frequency band being higher than the second operating frequency band (520 band higher than 510 Fig. 5).
Kao et al. is silent on wherein a coupling length between the first radiating part and the first branch is equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the first operating frequency band, and a coupling length between the first radiating part and the second branch is equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the second operating frequency band.
However, Zhang et al. teaches “resonance is generated when their equivalent length lie simultaneously at one-fourth the wavelength of GSM850 and GSM900 electromagnetic signals” Fig. 3 Par. 0062.
In this particular case, configuring the coupling length between two antenna elements to be equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the operating frequency band is common and well known in the art as evident by Zhang et al. in order to enable the resonance to be generated between them at the operating frequency bands.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the coupling lengths between of the first radiating part and the first branch, and of the first radiating part and the second branch of Kao et al. to be equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the first and second operating frequency band, respectively based on the teachings of Zhang et al. in order to enable the resonance to be generated between them.
Regarding Claim 4, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first branch includes a first arm (horizontal arm of 123A Fig. 4) and a second arm (vertical arm of 123 / 123A Fig. 4), one end of the second arm is connected to the first arm (Fig. 4), another end of the second arm is connected to the first branching point (Fig. 4), a first coupling distance is defined between the first arm and the first radiating part (distance of D11 Fig. 4), a second coupling distance is defined between the second arm and the first radiating part (distance between open end of 111 and vertical arm of 123 / 123A not labeled Fig. 4), and the second coupling distance is greater than the first coupling distance (seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein a third coupling distance is defined between the second branch and the first radiating part (distance of D12 Fig. 4), and the third coupling distance is less than the first coupling distance and the second coupling distance (seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first radiating part and the first branch are separate from each other and couple with each other (through D11 Fig. 4) to generate a first operating frequency band (high frequency band 520 Fig. 5); wherein the first radiating part and the second branch are separate from each other and couple with each other (through D12 Fig. 4) to generate a second operating frequency band (second frequency band 510 Fig. 5), the first operating frequency band being higher than the second operating frequency band (520 band higher than 510 Fig. 5).
Kao et al. is silent on wherein a coupling length between the first radiating part and the first branch is equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the first operating frequency band, and a coupling length between the first radiating part and the second branch is equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the second operating frequency band.
However, Zhang et al. teaches “resonance is generated when their equivalent length lie simultaneously at one-fourth the wavelength of GSM850 and GSM900 electromagnetic signals” Fig. 3 Par. 0062.
In this particular case, configuring the coupling length between two antenna elements to be equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the operating frequency band is common and well known in the art as evident by Zhang et al. in order to enable the resonance to be generated between them at the operating frequency bands.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the coupling lengths between of the first radiating part and the first branch, and of the first radiating part and the second branch of Kao et al. to be equal to a quarter of a wavelength of a center frequency of the first and second operating frequency band, respectively based on the teachings of Zhang et al. in order to enable the resonance to be generated between them.
Regarding Claim 13, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first branch includes a first arm (horizontal arm of 123A Fig. 4) and a second arm (vertical arm of 123 / 123A Fig. 4), one end of the second arm is connected to the first arm (Fig. 4), another end of the second arm is connected to the first branching point (Fig. 4), a first coupling distance is defined between the first arm and the first radiating part (distance of D11 Fig. 4), a second coupling distance is defined between the second arm and the first radiating part (distance between open end of 111 and vertical arm of 123 / 123A not labeled Fig. 4), and the second coupling distance is greater than the first coupling distance (seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 14, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein a third coupling distance is defined between the second branch and the first radiating part (distance of D12 Fig. 4), and the third coupling distance is less than the first coupling distance and the second coupling distance (seen in Fig. 4).
Claims 7-8 & 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kao et al. US Patent Application Publication 2015/0145744 and Lin et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0351509 as applied to claims 1 & 10 above, and further in view of Chang et al. US Patent Application Publication 2024/0030608.
Regarding Claim 7, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first radiating element further comprises a second radiating part (413 Fig. 4 Par. 0031).
Kao et al. is silent on a second radiating part disposed on the second surface, the second radiating part is connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part.
However, Chang et al. teaches a second radiating part (12 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022) disposed on the second surface (S2 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), the second radiating part is connected to the first radiating part (Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part (vertical projection of 12 overlaps with feed part 142 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0024).
In this particular case, providing the second radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part is common and well known in the art as evident by Chang et al. in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation (Par. 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second radiating part of Kao et al. to be disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part based on the teachings of Chang et al. as a result effect in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 8, Kao et al. as modified teaches the electronic device according to claim 7 as shown in the rejection above.
Kao et al. is silent on wherein the first radiating element further comprises a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, the third radiating part is connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part.
However, Chang et al. teaches wherein the first radiating element further comprises a third radiating part (13 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022) disposed on the second surface (S2 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), the third radiating part is connected to the first radiating part (Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part (vertical projection of 13 overlaps with grounding part 152 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0025).
In this particular case, providing the first radiating element with a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Chang et al. in order to couple the third radiating part with the grounding part and generate an additional frequency band of operation (Par. 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the first radiating part of Kao et al. with a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part based on the teachings of Chang et al. as a result effect in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 16, Kao et al. as modified teaches wherein the first radiating element further comprises a second radiating part (413 Fig. 4 Par. 0031).
Kao et al. is silent on a second radiating part disposed on the second surface, the second radiating part is connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part.
However, Chang et al. teaches a second radiating part (12 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022) disposed on the second surface (S2 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), the second radiating part is connected to the first radiating part (Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part (vertical projection of 12 overlaps with feed part 142 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0024).
In this particular case, providing the second radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part is common and well known in the art as evident by Chang et al. in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation (Par. 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the second radiating part of Kao et al. to be disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the second radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the feed part based on the teachings of Chang et al. as a result effect in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation.
Regarding Claim 17, Kao et al. as modified teaches the antenna structure according to claim 16 as shown in the rejection above.
Kao et al. is silent on wherein the first radiating element further comprises a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, the third radiating part is connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part.
However, Chang et al. teaches wherein the first radiating element further comprises a third radiating part (13 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022) disposed on the second surface (S2 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), the third radiating part is connected to the first radiating part (Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0022), and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part (vertical projection of 13 overlaps with grounding part 152 Figs. 2, 3 Par. 0025).
In this particular case, providing the first radiating element with a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part is common and well known in the antenna art as evident by Chang et al. in order to couple the third radiating part with the grounding part and generate an additional frequency band of operation (Par. 0026).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the first radiating part of Kao et al. with a third radiating part disposed on the second surface, connected to the first radiating part, and a vertical projection of the third radiating part on the first surface partially overlaps with the grounding part based on the teachings of Chang et al. as a result effect in order to couple the second radiating part with the feed part and generate an additional frequency band of operation.
Conclusion
The cited art in PTO-892 was found during the examiner's search, but was not relied upon for this office action. However it is still considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure.
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845