DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 2 January 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s recitation of “different is devoid of limitation beyond merely requiring any two identifiable entities which would satisfy ”different”. Any two entities occupy space that is necessarily “different”. The argument is unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stapf (US 2010/0171324).
Regarding claim 1, Stapf (discloses a method for producing an interior door handle arrangement (abstract), wherein the interior door handle arrangement includes a housing and an actuating section which is movably arranged on the housing, wherein the actuating section is formed by a handle lever, wherein the handle section has a carrier section ([0016] first plastic) made from a first plastic and a decoration section (second plastic, [0016]) made from a second plastic which is different (any two identifiable things two component; Abstract are “different” in some way) from the first plastic and connected to the carrier section in an integrally joined manner (forming single element 10; Fig.1), wherein the handle lever is produced using a multi-component injection molding process (abstract, by two-component injection molding into one unit).
Figure taken from Stapf (US 2010/0171324)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stapf (US 2010/0171324) in view of Wagner et al. (US 2020/0157699).
Regarding claim 16; Stapf discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second plastic has a color that is different than a color of the first plastic.
Stapf does not disclose: second plastic has a color that is different than a color of the first plastic
Wagner et al. teaches adding colorant to plastic for the purpose of adding suitable antioxidants, color stabilizers and agents for increasing resistance to ultraviolet light.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to modify Stapf with second plastic has a color that is different than a color of the first plastic as taught by Wagner et al. for the expected benefit of adding suitable antioxidants, color stabilizers and agents for increasing resistance to ultraviolet light.
Regarding claim 17; Stapf as modified by Wagner et al. discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the method involves producing the carrier section of the first plastic in one injection molding shot ([0016]; Stapf) and producing the decoration section of the second plastic in another injection molding shot (two component injection molding; Stapf).
Regarding claim 18; Stapf as modified by Wagner et al. discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the second plastic is present.
Stapf discloses the claimed invention except for the second plastic has a thickness of less than 1 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the second plastic has a thickness of less than 1 mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19; Stapf as modified by Wagner et al. discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the one injection molding shot takes place prior to the another injection molding shot ([0016]; Stapf).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-15 are allowed.
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Yonemochi et al. (US 2006/00767712) in view of Stapf (US 2010/0171324) discloses a method for producing an interior door handle arrangement except for: a magnet is applied to a surface of the carrier section in a still flowable state of the plastic, causing ferromagnetic metal particles in the first plastic approach the surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675