DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant needs to update the “Related Application Information” to include any allowed Patent Applications with their Allowed Patent Numbers.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Mitchell (US 2005/0136797 A1).
In regard to claim 2, Mitchell et al discloses an athletic bra comprising a plurality of sections, wherein at least one section has a Poisoon’s ratio that differs in relation to at least one other section such that a different stretch pattern of the bra is provided between the sections that differ in Poisson’s ratio when the bra is subjected to a stretching force .
The definition of a “Poisson’s ratio” is the phenomenon in which a material when compressed in one direction such as a vertical direction then expands in the opposite lateral direction- perpendicular to that first vertical direction.
Therefore, in regard to claim 2, Mitchell et al discloses an athletic bra 10 in para. (0026) and in figure 1, and that is wearable in and during athletic activities and is therefore an athletic bra as broadly claimed. The Mitchell et al bra further is comprising a plurality of sections of a bra body 20, a front portion 22 and a rear portion opposite the front portion 22- or wings. And cup sections 26 all in figure 1 with a central section 22 and , wherein at least one section has a Poisoon’s ratio that differs in relation to at least one other section such that a different stretch pattern of the bra is provided between the sections that differ in Poisson’s ratio when the bra is subjected to a stretching force . The sections of the front portion are oriented such that a gradient of elasticity 24 is imparted along the front portion between the plurality of sections. Each section has a different stretch or elasticity and therefore, each section when stretched laterally will shorten vertically a certain amount . And, since each section has a different level of elasticity- they will length a different manner laterally and then also shorten in height- in the vertical direction as well. Therefore, because of their differing elasticity and stretchability they will also have a different Poisson’s ratio in regard to each of the sections when pulled or compressed.
The Mitchell reference does not specifically disclose the term Poisson’s ratio within the reference but the ability of the Mitchell bra to perform as claimed in regard to the Poisson’s ratio is inherent with the bra and the materials that make up the bra itself.
The first and second cup sections have a degree of elasticity that is greater than the elasticity in the central area 2 that is the baseline elasticity as stated in para. (0039) between the cups that is adjacent with the cups 26, Mitchell also discloses the plurality of sections that surround the first and second cups 26 that are adjacent thereto that includes the first and second peripheral side sections (side panels 28 with sections 29 and 30, as in para. (0031) disposed along a side portion of the second cup section. The first and second peripheral side sections numbered 29 and 30 as in figure 1 have the same degree of elasticity. In regard to claims 3 -5, Mitchell et al discloses a knit material and wherein the knit material is formed by a flat knitting process as in claim 4 and as a single knit process as in claim 5as discussed in para. (0026)-(0033) and figure 1. In regard to claim 6 the at least one section of the brassiere front would have the negative Poisson’s ratio as claimed when stretched laterally and the vertical center would lower causing a negative ratio between the wings and the center area section.
In regard to claim 7 Mitchell et al discloses the breast cup 26 with an extending portion that extends up into the shoulder strap but that is of a zero point stretch or negative stretch or Poissons ratio as claimed tht extends into the shoulder straps that are added to the knitted cup and strap portion as in figure 3. This would provide the auxetic properties as claimed in claims 7 and 8 in the cups and as discussed in paras. (0033-0038) and as in figure 3. The Mitchell et al athletic bra as claimed in claim 2, further discloses the plurality of sections that comprises the first and second cup sections 26 , the mid section 24 disposed between the first and second cup sections; the first and second peripheral side sections 29,30, the bridging section 24, cradle section 34 (in figures 1 and 2, below the first and second cup sections and wherein each of the fist and second cup sections possess a Poisson’s ratio tat is les than a Poisson’s ratio for each of the midsection, the first and second peripheral side sections(29,30) and the bridging section and cradle section since the first and second cup sections, bridging section and cradle section include the elasticity that allows the Poisson’s ratios to function as claimed in claim 9 and wherein the Poisson’s ratios for each of the first and second cup sections 26 as in claim 10 are negative and the sections in claim 11 have the same degree of elasticity as claimed. (See Mitchell et al paras. (0030-0338).
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the cited references, alone or in combination, disclose the first and second outer layers and intermediate section therebetween as claimed in claim 12 and the intermediate layer as having a corrugated shape as claimed in claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GLORIA M HALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732