DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 11 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 July 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: rotation mechanism in claim 1, operating element in claim 3, self-lock mechanism in claim 5 and receiving element in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al., CN 107233148 (IDS filed 10/16/2024), as evidenced by the accompanying English language translation.
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. discloses a spacer instrument for use in a knee arthroplasty procedure, the spacer instrument comprising: a spacer carrier device (2, 3 and 4); and a rotative tibia component (1), the spacer carrier device comprising at least a first spacer component (one of spacers 2) having a first thickness (2 mm) and a second spacer component (one of spacers 3) having a second thickness (3 mm), the first thickness being different than the second thickness (Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0037]-[0038]), each of the first spacer component and the second spacer component configured to be temporarily positioned on top of a resected proximal portion of a tibia during knee arthroplasty, the rotative tibia component being rotatively attached to the spacer carrier device via rotation mechanism (27, 28, 29 and 30), the rotative tibia component being movable in at least a first position and a second position, the first spacer component being aligned above the rotative tibia component when the rotative tibia component is in the first position (when only one of spacers 2 is positioned above tibia component 1), the second spacer component being aligned above the rotative tibia component when the rotative tibia component is in the second position (when spacers 2 and 3 are stacked above tibia component 1), each of the first spacer component and the second spacer component being temporarily positionable on top of the resected proximal portion of the tibia with or without the rotative tibia component (Figs. 1-4).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Huang et al. discloses wherein each of the first spacer component (2) and the second spacer component (3) is a plate-type component having a planar distal surface and a planar proximal surface (Fig. 1, 2 and 4); and wherein the rotation mechanism (27, 28, 29 and 30) comprises an operating element (30) that is manually operable and that allows unlocking of the rotative tibia element (30 is removable, thus permitting separation of tibia component 1 from any of spacer components 2 and 3) (Fig. 2 and paragraph [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Huang et al. discloses wherein the spacer instrument comprises a connection (any of 13 and 14) configured to releasably connect to a femur cut compensation component (Figs. 1 and 3).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Huang et al. discloses wherein the spacer instrument comprises through holes (13 and 14) configured to releasably receive an alignment rod (16) (Figs. 1, 3 and 4).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Huang et al. discloses a set of spacer instrument comprises at least two spacer instruments according the claim 1, the at least two spacer instruments comprising a first spacer instrument (having one of spacers 2 and 3) and a second spacer instrument (having one of spacers 3 and spacer 4), the first spacer component (2, 3) and the second spacer component (3, 4) of each of the first and second spacer instruments having pairs of thicknesses (2 mm, 3 mm for the first spacer instrument and 3 mm, 5mm for the second spacer instrument ) that are different (Figs. 2-3 and paragraphs [0037]-[0038]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775