This office action is in response to application filed 10/16/2024 in which the claims 1-18 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 7, 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 7 and 13 recites “notifying the first person in response to detecting a second person who approaches the first person or a third person registered in the group, the third person being different from the first person” is mental process and thus an abstract idea. For example, a person observing a camera operated surveillance system can observe activities on a monitor an notify one or more individuals of impending danger.
Additionally, note that even mental processes which may need the physical aids such as pen and paper can be still mental processes (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(B)) and even the fact that the claimed invention is performing steps on a computer does not prevent the function from being a mental process (see MPEP §2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C)). Thus, the claim limitation above fall within the mental processes grouping of abstract idea under step 2A prong one.
The claims recite the following additional elements
Receive a request to register a first person,
Camera, a user terminal, memory and processor executing instructions
Notifying the first person includes to display…..
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because receiving a request to register a first person is data gathering and is considered insignificant extra-solution activity. The notifying step is insignificant post solution activity (see MPEP §2106.05(g).
The camera, user terminal, memory and processor recited at a high-level of generality and are performing generic functions such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, these additional elements fail to integrate the abstract idea into practical application under step 2A prong two. see MPEP §2106.05(f).
The additional elements when reconsidered individually and as an ordered combination (under step 2B) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because the camera, user terminal, memory and processor with instructions are generic computer components, specified at a high level of generality and/or are generic tools used to implement the abstract idea. Additionally, the receiving and notifying steps are insignificant pre and post extra solution activities (i.e. data gathering and outputting) since receiving information and outputting information are well understood, routine and conventional (WURC). For example, the courts have recognized that retrieving and outputting information are well known. See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; LI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745; and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, and See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering. See MPEP2106.05(d).
Claims 2-3, 8-9 and 14-15 recite group information which are insignificant post solution activities. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claims 4 and 5 recite more details of the detecting step which is a mental process as explained above in the rejection of claim 1. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claim 6 recite receiving information and determining steps which are insignificant extra solution activities and a mental process similar to features already address in the rejection of claims 1, 7 and 13.
Claims 10-12 and 16-18 additionally recite functions of the processor executing instructions which are mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP §2106.05(f).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 13, 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 10 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,154,342 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 combined with claim 5 are anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 1 and instant claim 13 combined with claim 17 are anticipated by the conflicting patented claim 10. The difference between the instant examined claim and the conflicting patented claim is that the conflicting patented claim is narrower in scope and falls within the scope of the examined claim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesch et al. (US 2005/0143096 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP 4443710B2) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Boesch discloses a method for notifying information comprising (Referring to FIG. 1, GPS satellites 10,12 provide signals to a monitored unit 14 for establishing the position of the monitored unit 14 and its user. Para[0078] & Fig. 3B teaches once the group leader has established all of the characteristics of the network, the group leader enables the network 56. Thereafter group members in the network can be tracked and notified): receiving a request to register a first person to a group (Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user); and notifying the first person in response to detecting a second person who approaches the (Para[0012] teaches while monitoring the location of an individual is useful, it would be beneficial to the capability to monitor the location of group members relative to each other and to one or more defined boundaries and to relate this information to some or all of the members of the group. The members of a group would comprise an ad hoc network. Para[0037] teaches defined perimeter may be a bar or other public facility where individuals gather under a reasonable expectation of being approached by strangers), wherein the notifying the first person includes to display group information on a user terminal of the first person (Para[0071]-[0072] teaches articular group member to act as a group leader and designate what monitored units are permitted in this ad hoc network. Such permissions will have different levels, for example, to be able to see other monitored units of the network on a GPS cell phone display, to allow other monitored units of the ad hoc network to be designated, and other factors. Any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members. Thus when a particular group member is located in a large mall, for example, and a person who is on the GPS cell phone buddy list comes into that area that is defined by the mall those other monitored units of the ad hoc network can be notified of the presence of that additional group member and vice versa Para[0081] teaches an alert/alarm may be issued to all group members or a specific group member when someone on the "buddy list" comes into the perimeter boundary area. Further, an alert/alarm can be issued when a monitored unit leaves the perimeter boundary area.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose and notifying the first person in response to detecting a second person who approaches the first personperson who approaches the first person determining means determines that the monitored person is moving in a danger zone or a restricted area, And a notifying means for notifying the monitoring person. Para[0006] teaches although it is possible, when two people move away from the danger area, when one person moves from sensor 5 to sensor 3 and another person approaches sensor 5, the person moves in the danger direction. It will be judged that it is doing, para[0008] teaches distinguish a monitoring target person and a non-monitoring target person by verifying the moving speed of the detected person, thereby enabling more accurate risk behavior determination. That is, it is assumed that the monitoring target person has a considerably slower moving speed than the non-monitoring target person, para[0017] –[0018] teaches It is determined that the person detected by the sensor 9 is a person to be monitored who is not accompanied by the supervisor, is moving in the direction of the stairs B, and is not near the supervisor. Here, for example, when the identification detection sensor 7 detects the monitor from time (6) to (10), the person detected by the third human body detection sensor 9 is considered to be accompanied by the monitor, for example. And is configured to be inconsistent with the risk judgment condition, Para[0014] teaches the monitoring person confirms the warning by clicking or touching a confirmation button displayed on the display 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of Boesch with the method in which he presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Watanabe in order to provide a monitoring system for the inside of facility, which can sufficiently protect the privacy of a monitoring object person and further improves the reliability of a danger report.
Regarding claim 2, Boesch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the group information includes a group name (Para[0072] teaches any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members).
Regarding claim 3, Boesch discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the group information includes a group registrant may be included. (para[0035] teaches an ad hoc network, a group leader includes the group leader's cell phone and the group members' GPS cell phones in an ad hoc network. A unique identifier associated with each GPS cell phone is then designated to the network server and identified as a network, the unique identifier is the cell phone number, but this is not meant as a limitation. Other identifiers associated with cell phones may be used for this purpose. Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting the second person includes is configured to detecting the second person based on a distance between the second person and the first person or a third person (Para[0009] teaches especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the detecting the second person includes detecting the second person in a case where the distance is equal to or less than a reference distance (Para[0009] teaches therefore, especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body. claim A second human body detection sensor provided between the dangerous area and the first human body detection sensor at an appropriate distance from the dangerous area). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Boesch discloses an apparatus for notifying information comprising (Referring to FIG. 1, GPS satellites 10,12 provide signals to a monitored unit 14 for establishing the position of the monitored unit 14 and its user. Para[0078] & Fig. 3B teaches once the group leader has established all of the characteristics of the network, the group leader enables the network 56. Thereafter group members in the network can be tracked and notified): at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Fig.1 server 20 inherently includes memory storing instructions and at least one processor): receive a request to register a first person to a group (Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user); and notify the first person in response to detecting a second person who approaches the Para[0012] teaches while monitoring the location of an individual is useful, it would be beneficial to the capability to monitor the location of group members relative to each other and to one or more defined boundaries and to relate this information to some or all of the members of the group. The members of a group would comprise an ad hoc network. Para[0037] teaches defined perimeter may be a bar or other public facility where individuals gather under a reasonable expectation of being approached by strangers), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to notify the first person includes to display group information on a user terminal of the first person Para[0071]-[0072] teaches articular group member to act as a group leader and designate what monitored units are permitted in this ad hoc network. Such permissions will have different levels, for example, to be able to see other monitored units of the network on a GPS cell phone display, to allow other monitored units of the ad hoc network to be designated, and other factors. Any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members. Thus when a particular group member is located in a large mall, for example, and a person who is on the GPS cell phone buddy list comes into that area that is defined by the mall those other monitored units of the ad hoc network can be notified of the presence of that additional group member and vice versa Para[0081] teaches an alert/alarm may be issued to all group members or a specific group member when someone on the "buddy list" comes into the perimeter boundary area. Further, an alert/alarm can be issued when a monitored unit leaves the perimeter boundary area.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose and notify the first person in response to detecting a second person who approaches the first person or a Para[0006] teaches although it is possible, when two people move away from the danger area, when one person moves from sensor 5 to sensor 3 and another person approaches sensor 5, the person moves in the danger direction. It will be judged that it is doing, para[0008] teaches distinguish a monitoring target person and a non-monitoring target person by verifying the moving speed of the detected person, thereby enabling more accurate risk behavior determination. That is, it is assumed that the monitoring target person has a considerably slower moving speed than the non-monitoring target person, para[0017] –[0018] teaches it is determined that the person detected by the sensor 9 is a person to be monitored who is not accompanied by the supervisor, is moving in the direction of the stairs B, and is not near the supervisor. Here, for example, when the identification detection sensor 7 detects the monitor from time (6) to (10), the person detected by the third human body detection sensor 9 is considered to be accompanied by the monitor, for example. And is configured to be inconsistent with the risk judgment condition, para[0014] teaches the monitoring person confirms the warning by clicking or touching a confirmation button displayed on the display 35),(para[0014] teaches the monitoring person confirms the warning by clicking or touching a confirmation button displayed on the display 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of Boesch with the method in which he presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Watanabe in order to provide a monitoring system for the inside of facility, which can sufficiently protect the privacy
Regarding claim 14, Boesch discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the group information includes a group name Para[0072] teaches any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members).
Regarding claim 15, Boesch discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the group information includes a group registrant may be included para[0035] teaches an ad hoc network, a group leader includes the group leader's cell phone and the group members' GPS cell phones in an ad hoc network. A unique identifier associated with each GPS cell phone is then designated to the network server and identified as a network. In an embodiment of the present invention, the unique identifier is the cell phone number, but this is not meant as a limitation. Other identifiers associated with cell phones may be used for this purpose. Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user).
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe discloses the apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect the second person based on a distance between the second person and the first person or a third person (para[0009] teaches especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 13.
Regarding claim 17, Watanabe discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect the second person in a case where the distance is equal to or less than a reference distance (Para[0009] teaches therefore, especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body. claim A second human body detection sensor provided between the dangerous area and the first human body detection sensor at an appropriate distance from the dangerous area). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 13.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesch et al. (US 2005/0143096 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP 4443710B2) (machine translation attached) and Wakai et al. (US 2014/0313301 A1) (IDS provided 10/16/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Boesch discloses a system for notifying information comprising (Referring to FIG. 1, GPS satellites 10,12 provide signals to a monitored unit 14 for establishing the position of the monitored unit 14 and its user. Para[0078] & Fig. 3B teaches once the group leader has established all of the characteristics of the network, the group leader enables the network 56. Thereafter group members in the network can be tracked and notified); a surveillance apparatus (Para[0066] & Fig. 1 teaches monitored unit 14); and a user terminal (Para[0071] teaches network also allow a particular group member to act as a group leader and designate what monitored units are permitted in this ad hoc network. Such permissions will have different levels, for example, to be able to see other monitored units of the network on a GPS cell phone display, to allow other monitored units of the ad hoc network to be designated), wherein the system comprises: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to (Fig.1 server 20 inherently includes memory storing instructions and at least one processor): receive a request to register a first person to a group (Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user); and notify the first person in response to detecting, a second person who approaches (Para[0012] teaches while monitoring the location of an individual is useful, it would be beneficial to the capability to monitor the location of group members relative to each other and to one or more defined boundaries and to relate this information to some or all of the members of the group. The members of a group would comprise an ad hoc network. Para[0037] teaches defined perimeter may be a bar or other public facility where individuals gather under a reasonable expectation of being approached by strangers), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to notify the first person includes to display group information on the user terminal of the first person Para[0071]-[0072] teaches articular group member to act as a group leader and designate what monitored units are permitted in this ad hoc network. Such permissions will have different levels, for example, to be able to see other monitored units of the network on a GPS cell phone display, to allow other monitored units of the ad hoc network to be designated, and other factors. Any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members. Thus when a particular group member is located in a large mall, for example, and a person who is on the GPS cell phone buddy list comes into that area that is defined by the mall those other monitored units of the ad hoc network can be notified of the presence of that additional group member and vice versa Para[0081] teaches an alert/alarm may be issued to all group members or a specific group member when someone on the "buddy list" comes into the perimeter boundary area. Further, an alert/alarm can be issued when a monitored unit leaves the perimeter boundary area.).
Boesch does not explicitly disclose at least one camera that generates an image; and notify the first person in response to detecting, by processing the image generated by the camera, a second person who approaches the first person determining means determines that the monitored person is moving in a danger zone or a restricted area, And a notifying means for notifying the monitoring person. Para[0006] teaches although it is possible, when two people move away from the danger area, when one person moves from sensor 5 to sensor 3 and another person approaches sensor 5, the person moves in the danger direction. It will be judged that it is doing, para[0008] teaches distinguish a monitoring target person and a non-monitoring target person by verifying the moving speed of the detected person, thereby enabling more accurate risk behavior determination. That is, it is assumed that the monitoring target person has a considerably slower moving speed than the non-monitoring target person, para[0017] –[0018] teaches It is determined that the person detected by the sensor 9 is a person to be monitored who is not accompanied by the supervisor, is moving in the direction of the stairs B, and is not near the supervisor. Here, for example, when the identification detection sensor 7 detects the monitor from time (6) to (10), the person detected by the third human body detection sensor 9 is considered to be accompanied by the monitor, for example. And is configured to be inconsistent with the risk judgment condition, Para[0014] teaches the monitoring person confirms the warning by clicking or touching a confirmation button displayed on the display 35). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of Boesch with the method in which he presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Watanabe in order to provide a monitoring system for the inside of facility, which can sufficiently protect the privacy of a monitoring object person and further improves the reliability of a danger report.
Boesch in view of Watanabe does not explicitly disclose at least one camera that generates an image and notify the first person in response to detecting, by processing the image generated by the camera. However Wakai discloses at least one camera that generates an image (Fig. 1 Cameras); and notify the first person in response to detecting, by processing the image generated by the camera (Para[0027] teaches when the child moves, a monitoring camera fixed near a moving destination is searched again based on the position information about the smart phone. The application is allowed to run on the monitoring camera so as to be capable of always checking a state of the child while the child is tracked according to the movements. When a function for discriminating characteristic information such as a face and cloths of a child is provided to the application, a zoom image of the child is cut out so to be capable of being distributed to a parent's terminal. Alternatively, when a function for discriminating a face of a person having a criminal record is provided to the application and a specific person having a criminal record approaches the child, the parent's terminal is notified of this situation). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of in which the presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Boesch in view of Watanabe with the method configured to calculate an entering prediction value representing a possibility of entering of the user terminal in a monitoring range of the camera of Wakai in order to provide a system which reduces a possibility of installation of application on the camera when the entering prediction value represents that the possibility of entering of the user terminal in the monitoring range of the camera is high as the entering prediction time becomes longer than the preparation time.
Regarding claim 8, Boesch discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the group information includes a group name Para[0072] teaches any particular group member, if having the appropriate permissions, can establish a form of "buddy list" for other group members).
Regarding claim 9, Boesch discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the group information includes a group registrant may be included (para[0035] teaches an ad hoc network, a group leader includes the group leader's cell phone and the group members' GPS cell phones in an ad hoc network. A unique identifier associated with each GPS cell phone is then designated to the network server and identified as a network, the unique identifier is the cell phone number, but this is not meant as a limitation. Other identifiers associated with cell phones may be used for this purpose. Para[0068] teaches it is envisioned that various group members will register with server 20 to obtain location services server, thus generating additional revenue for the server operator. Further, the server operator will have a database of users 22 that identifies the user and various additional characteristics associated with the user).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe discloses the system according to claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect the second person based on a distance between the second person and the first person or a third person (para[0009] teaches especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 7.
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to further detect the second person in a case where the distance is equal to or less than a reference distance (Para[0009] teaches therefore, especially in high-risk areas (steep stairs, exits, etc.), a third human body detection sensor (at a distance of about 2 to 4 meters from the second human body detection sensor or at an interval of 5 meters or more immediately before or in the vicinity) Depending on the situation, the first, second, and third human body detection sensors may be in danger zones or off-limits by the judging means when the third human body detection sensor detects a human body. claim A second human body detection sensor provided between the dangerous area and the first human body detection sensor at an appropriate distance from the dangerous area). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 7.
Claims 6, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesch et al. (US 2005/0143096 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP4443710B2) (machine translation attached) and Mullins et al. (US 2019/0259259 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Boesch in view of Watanabe discloses the method according to claim 5, Boesch in view of Watanabe does not explicitly disclose further comprising receiving information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal. However Mullins discloses further comprising receiving information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal (Para[0114] teaches a user can enter a value for “breach distance” in user interface 1500, which can define the size of the area for which multiple breaches will be grouped. A user interface can enable the user to visually define the size of the area, such as similar to the user adjustable shape 1622 of the user interface 1600. In some cases, the threshold area or distance can depend on the user-specified person size. Thus, if a person were defined to be of relatively smaller size in the video footage, then a smaller area of the video would be used for grouping breaches. If a person were defined to be of relatively larger size in the video footage, then a larger area of the video would be used for grouping breaches). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of in which the presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Boesch in view of Watanabe with the method in which the controller identifies a breach into a monitored area based on a determination that an amount of changed pixels in the first and second groups of pixels satisfies an amount of the pixel changed threshold value, and determines an event by identifying a number of breaches that satisfy a threshold breach count value at times within a threshold breach time value of Mullins in order to provide a system for detecting and/or deterring crime.
Regarding claim 18, Boesch in view of Watanabe discloses the apparatus according to claim 17, Boesch in view of Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal. However Mullins disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal (Para[0114] teaches a user can enter a value for “breach distance” in user interface 1500, which can define the size of the area for which multiple breaches will be grouped. A user interface can enable the user to visually define the size of the area, such as similar to the user adjustable shape 1622 of the user interface 1600. In some cases, the threshold area or distance can depend on the user-specified person size. Thus, if a person were defined to be of relatively smaller size in the video footage, then a smaller area of the video would be used for grouping breaches. If a person were defined to be of relatively larger size in the video footage, then a larger area of the video would be used for grouping breaches). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of in which the presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time of Boesch in view of Watanabe with the method in which the controller identifies a breach into a monitored area based on a determination that an amount of changed pixels in the first and second groups of pixels satisfies an amount of the pixel changed threshold value, and determines an event by identifying a number of breaches that satisfy a threshold breach count value at times within a threshold breach time value of Mullins in order to provide a system for detecting and/or deterring crime.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boesch et al. (US 2005/0143096 A1) in view of Watanabe et al. (JP 4443710B2) (machine translation attached) and Wakai et al. (US 2014/0313301 A1) (IDS provided 10/16/2024) in further view of Mullins et al. (US 2019/0259259 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Boesch in view of Watanabe and Wakai discloses the system according to claim 11, Boesch in view of Watanabe and Wakai does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal. However Mullins discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal. However Mullis discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the instructions to receive information regarding the reference distance, the information regarding the reference distance being determined by using a slider on an operation screen on the user terminal (Para[0114] teaches a user can enter a value for “breach distance” in user interface 1500, which can define the size of the area for which multiple breaches will be grouped. A user interface can enable the user to visually define the size of the area, such as similar to the user adjustable shape 1622 of the user interface 1600. In some cases, the threshold area or distance can depend on the user-specified person size. Thus, if a person were defined to be of relatively smaller size in the video footage, then a smaller area of the video would be used for grouping breaches. If a person were defined to be of relatively larger size in the video footage, then a larger area of the video would be used for grouping breaches). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method for monitoring relative location of group members having wireless device of in which the presence/absence of dangerous action is predicted from the detected results of the respective sensors with the passage of time with a camera of Boesch in view of Watanabe and Wakai with the method in which the controller identifies a breach into a monitored area based on a determination that an amount of changed pixels in the first and second groups of pixels satisfies an amount of the pixel changed threshold value, and determines an event by identifying a number of breaches that satisfy a threshold breach count value at times within a threshold breach time value of Mullins in order to provide a system for detecting and/or deterring crime.
Conclusion
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425