DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindley et al. (US 2021/0300682) in view of Collin et al. (US 2019/0002202).
Regarding claim 1, Lindley et al. teaches a material handling system, comprising:
a plurality of storage locations vertically spaced apart from one another in a rack, 4, each storage location of the plurality of storage locations being dimensioned and arranged to receive and support one or more containers, see paragraph 0145;
a plurality of containers positioned in the storage locations, see paragraph 0145;
a plurality of vehicles, 3, respectively configured to retrieve containers from the storage locations and to convey the containers away from the storage locations, wherein each vehicle comprises:
a drive system configured to drive the vehicle to a target storage location of the plurality of storage locations and to position the vehicle to retrieve a target container from the target storage location; and
a power source for providing power to the drive system, wherein a first vehicle of the plurality of vehicles is positionable by the drive system to retrieve a first of the containers from a first storage location, see paragraph 0055 which describes the operation of the vehicle, see paragraph 0145;
a first conveyor, 11 plus 17a plus 17b plus 12, configured to receive containers delivered by the vehicles and to convey the delivered containers, in a first direction along a first conveyance path, to a workstation, 10, at which one or more items are transferrable into or out of the containers, see figure 6; and
a container exchange station configured to receive containers from the vehicles, 5 and 15 see figure 7, see to direct a first subset of the containers toward the first conveyor for conveyance along the first conveyance path, and to accumulate a second subset of the containers within a buffer, see figure 7.
Lindley et al. does not teach elevated buffer storage zone for subsequent conveyance to the first conveyor and workstation, but instead teaches a dynamic horizontal conveyor, see figure 7. Collin et al. teaches a container exchange station, UST1 and UST 2, configures to receive containers to direct a first subset of containers toward a first conveyor, CAS, for conveyance along the first conveyance path, and to accumulate a second subset of the containers within an elevated buffer storage zone for subsequent conveyance to the first conveyor and workstation, see figure 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the horizontal buffer conveyor of Lindley et al. with the elevated buffer storage of Collin et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of reducing the overall footprint of the buffer storage in a storage system.
Regarding claim 2, Lindley et al. teaches containers retrievable from the buffer storage locations for transfer to the first conveyor are characterized by lower retrieval latency than storage locations defined by the rack, where the buffer zone 15 and 15, is closer to the workstation than the racks, see figure 7, and therefore has lower retrieval latency than the storage locations.
Regarding claim 3, Lindley et al. teaches delivery paths extending between the buffer storage locations and the first conveyor are substantially shorter than delivery paths extending between storage locations defined by the rack and the first conveyor, see figure 7.
Regarding claim 4, Lindley et al. teaches at least a portion of the first conveyor path is a horizontal conveyor path and wherein the container exchange station comprises: a second conveyor configured to displace the containers along a second horizontal path toward the first conveyor, wherein the second horizontal path is transverse the first horizontal path, see figure 7.
Collin et al. teaches an elevator, EA, configured to receive containers of the second subset and to lift received respective containers of the second subset vertically toward a plurality of corresponding buffer storage locations to enable accumulation of the second subset of containers within the buffer storage zone, see figure 2.
Regarding claim 5, Collin et al. teaches the buffer storage locations are arranged within the buffer storage zone as one of a plurality of columns or a plurality of vertically spaced apart rows, see figure 2.
Regarding claim 6, Collin et al. teaches the buffer storage locations are arranged as columns, wherein the conveyor exchange station includes an elevator having a plurality of elevator platforms with each elevator platform being vertically movable within a corresponding column, and wherein each elevator platform comprises a transfer mechanism configured to transfer containers from said each elevator platform to the first horizontal conveyor, whereby the transfer mechanism of said each elevator platform is operable to at least one of displace a container from the elevator to the first horizontal conveyor or displace a container from the second horizontal conveyor the elevator, see figure 2 and paragraph 0067 and 0068, which discusses transferring containers to and from elevator.
Regarding claim 7, Collin et al. teaches the elevator comprises a transfer mechanism configured to transfer containers from said each elevator platform to the first horizontal conveyor, whereby the transfer mechanism of said each elevator platform is operable to at least one of displace a container from the elevator to the first horizontal conveyor or displace a container from the second horizontal conveyor to the elevator, see paragraph 0067 and 0068 and 0071, which discusses transferring containers to and from elevator.
Regarding claim 8, Lindley et al. does not teach the first conveyor forms a looped, horizontal conveyance path having a first leg dimensioned and arranged to convey containers from the container exchange station to a workstation and a second leg dimensioned and arranged to return the containers to the container exchange station from the workstation.
Colllin et al. does teach a return conveyor, CRS, to return containers from the workstation back to the exchange station, see figure 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the return path conveyor of Collin et al. with the system of Lindley et al. in order to enable containers to be returned to the exchange station and or returned to the storage locations.
Regarding claim 9, Lindley et al. teaches each vehicle, 3, comprises a transfer mechanism configured to engage the containers, wherein the transfer mechanism is configured to transfer the containers between the vehicle and the storage locations in the rack, see paragraph 0145.
Regarding claim 10, Lindley et al. teaches the transfer mechanism of each vehicle is configured to transfer containers from said each vehicle container to a pass- through port of the container exchange station, whereby containers of a first subset of containers are transferred to the first conveyor without first storing containers of the first set in a buffer storage location.
Regarding claim 11, Lindley et al. teaches the transfer mechanism of each vehicle is configured to transfer containers of the first subset directly onto the first conveyor, see figure 7, where the goods are transported from store, 2, via vehicle, 3, to conveyor, 11.
Regarding claim 12, Lindley et al. teaches a container exchange system comprising:
a first conveyor, 11, defining a first conveyance path, the first conveyor being dimensioned and arranged to receive first and second subsets of containers and to convey retrieved containers to one of an item transfer station or a workstation, 10, disposed along the conveyance path;
a pass-through zone, 17a, through which containers of the first subset are transferred to the first conveyor, following retrieval from a first plurality of storage locations and upon their arrival at container exchange system;
a second conveyor defining a second conveyance path, the second conveyor being arranged so that a portion of the first conveyance path is transverse to the second conveyance path, see transverse conveyor path that leads to buffer stations 5a and 15a;
a plurality of buffer storage locations, 5a and 15a, defining a buffer storage zone.
Lindley et al. does not teach that the buffer storage zone is disposed at an elevated location relative to the first and second conveyors, but instead teaches a dynamic horizontal conveyor, see figure 7.
Collin et al. teaches a plurality of buffer storage locations defining a buffer storage zone, UST1 and UST2, disposed at an elevated location relative to the first and second conveyors, see figure 2; and
at least one elevator, EA, configured to receive containers of a second subset of containers, to lift respective containers of the second subset vertically to a first elevation for transfer of containers of the second subset to corresponding buffer storage locations and accumulation of respective containers of the second subset, and for subsequently returning containers of the second subset to a second elevation for transfer of containers of the second subset to the first conveyor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the horizontal buffer conveyor of Lindley et al. with the elevated buffer storage of Collin et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of reducing the overall footprint of the buffer storage in a storage system.
Regarding claim 13, Collin et al. teaches the buffer storage locations are arranged within the buffer storage zone as at least one of a series of columns or vertically spaced apart rows, see figure 2.
Regarding claim 14, Collin et al. teaches the buffer storage locations are arranged as columns, wherein the conveyor exchange station includes an elevator having a plurality of elevator platforms with each elevator platform being vertically movable within a corresponding column, and wherein each elevator platform comprises a transfer mechanism configured to transfer containers from said each elevator platform to the first horizontal conveyor, whereby the transfer mechanism of said each elevator platform is operable to at least one of displace a container from the elevator to the first horizontal conveyor or displace a container from the second horizontal conveyor the elevator, see figure 2 and paragraph 0067 and 0068, which discusses transferring containers to and from elevator.
Regarding claim 15, Collin et al. teaches the elevator comprises a transfer mechanism configured to transfer containers from said each elevator platform to the first horizontal conveyor, whereby the transfer mechanism of said each elevator platform is operable to at least one of displace a container from the elevator to the first horizontal conveyor or displace a container from the second horizontal conveyor to the elevator, see paragraph 0067 and 0068 and 0071, which discusses transferring containers to and from elevator.
Regarding claim 16, Collin et al. teaches a central controller, UP, comprising a microprocessor programmed to provide control signals to perform steps of:
determining, in a first determining step, that a first container received at the container exchange and buffer station one of has an association with a first attribute or contains items having an association with the first attribute;
based on the determining, operating the second conveyor to transfer the first container to the elevator;
operating the elevator to lift the first container to a first elevation proximate a target buffer storage location;
operating the transfer mechanism of the elevator to transfer the first container to the target buffer storage location, see paragraphs 0070+.
Lindley et al. teaches the use of the bypass conveyor, 17a, and determining, in a second determining step, that a second container received at the container exchange and buffer station contains items not having an association with the first attribute; and
operating the second conveyor to bypass buffer storage by transferring the second container to the first conveyor via the transfer mechanism of the elevator, see paragraph 0197.
Regarding claim 17, Lindley et al. teaches a method of suppling containers of items to at least one workstation, 10, disposed along a conveyance path, comprising:
determining, in a first determining step, that a first container retrieved, by a first vehicle, 3, from a first storage location defined by a rack structure, 2, and received at a container exchange and buffer station, 5a and 15a, one of has an association with a first attribute or contains items having an association with a first attribute;
and operating the first conveyor to convey the first container to the workstation.
Lindley et al. does not teach the elevator step.
Lindley et al. does not teach the elevator and vertical buffer storage.
Collin et al. teaches a method of:
transferring the first container to an elevator;
operating the elevator to lift the first conveyor to a location proximate a buffer storage location;
operating a transfer mechanism of the elevator to transfer the first container to a first buffer storage location of a plurality of buffer locations disposed at an elevated location relative to first and second conveyors; and
operating the elevator to retrieve the first container from the first buffer storage location and transfer the first container from the elevator to a first conveyor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the horizontal buffer conveyor of Lindley et al. with the elevated buffer storage of Collin et al. in order to achieve the predictable result of reducing the overall footprint of the buffer storage in a storage system.
Regarding claim 18, Lindley et al. further teaches: determining, in a second determining step, that a second container retrieved, by a second vehicle, from a second storage location defined by a rack structure and received at the container exchange and buffer station contains items not having an association with the first attribute; and operating a second conveyor, 17a, to bypass buffer storage by conveying the second container in a direction toward the first conveyor, see paragraph 0197.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 19 claims identifying items which are most frequently requested for delivery to the at least one workstation; assigning the first attribute to one of the identified items or the container having the identified items stored therein. The prior art was not found to teach this specific criteria for identifying which containers are to be placed in the buffer storage. Therefore, this feature was found to be allowable. Claim 20 depends from claim 19 and is therefore also allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 and not relied upon are included to show additional example of material handling systems similar to the claimed invention.
US 2023/0002161 teaches a material handling system with a plurality of storage locations serviced by a vehicle connected to wokrstations via a series of conveyors that form buffer zones.
US 2022/0089371 teaches a material handling system with a buffer cache area that is connected via a conveyor to workstations.
US 9,630,777 teaches a storage and retrieval system service by aisle vehicles and an elevator that move containers from storage rack to a conveyor and on to a packing station.
/KAITLIN S JOERGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
24 June 2026