CTNF 18/916,961 CTNF 96920 DETAILED ACTION 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/20/2026, 3/27/2026, 9/22/2025, 11/12/2024 and 10/16/2024 comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statement. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, please amend "a sixth lens having refractive power," to “a sixth lens having refractive power[[,]] ; ” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US20220179173) . Regarding claim 1 , Hu teaches an optical imaging system (Hu, fig. 16, paragraph [0133] “FIG. 16 which illustrates the sixth embodiment of the optical imaging lens 1”; paragraph [0134] “The optical data of the sixth embodiment of the optical imaging lens are shown in FIG. 36”), comprising: a first lens (fig. 36, first lens, fig. 16, lens 20) having positive refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the first lens is 5.892 mm; thus, the first lens having positive refractive power); a second lens (fig. 36, second lens, fig. 16, lens 20) having negative refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the second lens is -18.713 mm; thus, the second lens having negative refractive power); a third lens (fig. 36, third lens, fig. 16, lens 30) having refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the third lens is -111.926 mm; thus, the third lens having refractive power); a fourth lens (fig. 36, fourth lens, fig. 16, lens 40) having positive refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the fourth lens is 23.811 mm; thus, fourth lens having positive refractive power); a fifth lens (fig. 36, fifth lens, fig. 16, lens 50) having negative refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the fifth lens is -34.665 mm; thus, fifth lens having negative refractive power); a sixth lens (fig. 36, sixth lens, fig. 16, lens 60) having refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the sixth lens is -47.210 mm; thus, the sixth lens having refractive power), a seventh lens (fig. 36, seventh lens, fig. 16, lens 70) having positive refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the seventh lens is 5.184 mm; thus, seventh lens having positive refractive power); and an eighth lens (fig. 36, eighth lens, fig. 16, lens 80) having negative refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the eighth lens is -3.691 mm; eighth lens having negative refractive power), wherein the first to eighth lenses are disposed in order from an object side (paragraph [0104] “Each lens element in the optical imaging lens 1 of the present invention has an object-side surface facing toward the object side A1 as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side A2”; see fig. 16, the first 20 to eighth 80 lenses are disposed in order from an object side A1), wherein the optical imaging system has a total of eight lenses (see fig. 16, the total is eight lenses), wherein 0 < |f2/f3| < 1 (0.167; see fig. 36, |f2/f3|=|-18.713/-111.926|); 3 < |f4/f| (3.82; see fig. 36, |f4/f| = |23.811/6.23|); and 0 < f7/f < 2 (0.83; see fig. 36, f7/f = 5.184/6.23), where f2 is a focal length of the second lens (fig. 36, the focal length of the second lens is -18.713), f3 is a focal length of the third lens (fig. 36, the focal length of the third lens is -111.926), f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens (fig. 36, the focal length of the fourth lens is 23.811), f7 is a focal length of the seventh lens (fig. 36, the focal length of the seventh lens 5.184), and f is a total focal length of the optical imaging system (see fig. 36, f = EFL = 6.23). (note: unless otherwise specified, all dimensions are in millimeters (mm), and the unit notation is omitted) Regarding claim 2 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein, among the first to eighth lenses, at least three lenses including the second lens have a refractive index greater than 1.61 (see fig. 36, refractive index of second lens is 1.671, refractive index of third lens is 1.671, and refractive index of fifth lens is 1.671), and wherein, among the at least three lenses (the second lens, third lens, and fifth lens) having a refractive index greater than 1.61 (1.671, described above), an absolute value of a focal length of the second lens is the smallest (see fig. 36, absolute value of the focal length of the second lens = 18.713, absolute value of the focal length of the third lens = 111.926, and absolute value of the focal length of the fifth lens = 34.665). Regarding claim 3 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein at least one of 25 < v1-v2 < 45 (36.744; fig. 36, v1-v2 = 55.987-19.243), and v1-v4 < 45 (0; fig. 36, v1-v4 = 55.987-55.987) is satisfied, where v1 is an Abbe number of the first lens (fig. 36, abbe No of the first lens = 55.987), v2 is an Abbe number of the second lens (fig. 36, abbe No of the second lens = 19.243), and v4 is an Abbe number of the fourth lens (fig. 36, abbe No of the fourth lens = 55.987). Regarding claim 5 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein each of the second lens and the fifth lens has a refractive index greater than 1.66 (see fig. 36, refractive index of second lens = 1.671 and refractive index of fifth lens = 1.671). Regarding claim 6 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein 0 < f1/f < 1.4 (0.95; see fig. 36, f1= focal length of the first lens = 5.892, f = EFL = 6.23), where f1 is a focal length of the first lens (fig. 36, first lens). Regarding claim 7 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein at least one of -10 < f2/f < -1 (-3.0; see fig. 36, f2 = the focal length of the second lens = -18.713, f = EFL = 6.23); and 1 < |f3/f| (17.97; see fig. 36, f3 = the focal length of the third lens = -111.926, f = EFL = 6.23) is satisfied. Regarding claim 8 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein -0.6 < f1/f2 < 0 (-0.31; see fig. 36, f1 = the focal length of the first lens = 5.892, f = EFL = 6.23), where f1 is a focal length of the first lens (fig. 36, the first lens). Regarding claim 9 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein 3 < |f5/f| (5.56; see fig. 36, f5 = the focal length of the fifth lens = -34.665, f = EFL = 6.23), where f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens (fig. 36, the fifth lens). Regarding claim 10 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein 1 < |f6/f| (7.58; see fig. 36, f6 = the focal length of the sixth lens = -47.21, f = EFL = 6.23), where f6 is a focal length of the sixth lens (fig. 36, the sixth lens). Regarding claim 11 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein -1 < f8/f < 0 (-0.59; see fig. 36, f8 = the focal length of the eighth lens = -3.691, f = EFL = 6.23), where f8 is a focal length of the eighth lens (fig. 36, the eighth lens). Regarding claim 12 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein TTL/f < 1.3 (1.25; see fig. 36, TTL = TTL = 7.798, f = EFL = 6.23) and BFL/f < 0.3 (0.16; see fig. 36 and data of fig. 47, Embodiment 6, (EFL+BFL)/Fno = 3.601, EFL = 6.23, Fno = – 1.999, thus, BFL = 0.97), where TTL is a distance on an optical axis from an object-side surface of the first lens to an imaging plane (paragraph [0011] “TTL is the distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to an image”), and BFL is a distance on the optical axis from an image-side surface of the eighth lens to the imaging surface (paragraph [0011] “BFL is a distance from the image-side surface of the eighth lens element to an image plane along the optical axis”). Regarding claim 13 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein 0 < D1/f < 0.1 (0.008; see fig. 36, D1 = G12= 0.049, f = EFL = 6.23), where D1 is a distance on the optical axis from an image-side surface of the first lens to an object-side surface of the second lens (paragraph [0011] “G12 is an air gap between the first lens element and the second lens element along the optical axis”). Regarding claim 14 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein 70°<FOV×(IMG HT/f) (77.4°; see fig. 36, FOV = HFOV*2 = 41.562*2 = 83.124, f = EFL = 6.23, IMG HT = ImgH = 5.8), where FOV is a field of view of the optical imaging system (paragraph [0107] “HFOV stands for the half field of view which is half of the field of view of the entire optical imaging lens element system”), and IMG HT is half a diagonal length of an imaging plane (paragraph [0107] “ImgH is an image height of the optical imaging lens 1”). Regarding claim 15 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the third lens has negative refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the third lens is -111.926 mm; thus, the third lens having refractive power). Regarding claim 16 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the sixth lens has negative refractive power (see fig. 36, the focal length of the sixth lens is -47.210 mm; thus, the sixth lens having refractive power). Regarding claim 17 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the first lens of radius of curvature of object-side surface is 0.861, thus, the first lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; paragraph [0095] “to determine whether an optical axis region is convex or concave by referring to the sign of “Radius of curvature” (the “R” value), which is the paraxial radius of shape of a lens surface in the optical axis region. The R value is commonly used in conventional optical design”) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the first lens of radius of curvature of image-side surface is 0.049, thus, the first lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof), the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the second lens of radius of curvature of object-side surface is 8.912, thus, the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the second lens of radius of curvature of image-side surface is 5.143, thus, the second lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof), and the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the third lens of radius of curvature of object-side surface is 33.586, thus, the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the third lens of radius of curvature of image-side surface is 23.19, thus, the third lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof). Regarding claim 20 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and further teaches wherein the sixth lens (fig. 36, the sixth lens) has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see fig. 36, the sixth lens of radius of curvature of image-side surface is 9.82, thus, the sixth lens has a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof; paragraph [0095] “to determine whether an optical axis region is convex or concave by referring to the sign of “Radius of curvature” (the “R” value), which is the paraxial radius of shape of a lens surface in the optical axis region. The R value is commonly used in conventional optical design”) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US20220179173), and further in view of Xu et al. (US20200201002) . Regarding claim 4 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein and further teaches wherein 60 < v2+v5+v6 < 80 , where v2 is an Abbe number of the second lens, v5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens, and v6 is an Abbe number of the sixth lens. However, Xu teaches the analogous optical imaging lens assembly (Xu, fig. 11, paragraph [0135] “As shown in FIG. 11, the optical imaging lens assembly according to an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure includes a first lens E1, a diaphragm STO, a second lens E2, a third lens E3, a fourth lens E4, a fifth lens E5, a sixth lens E6, a seventh lens E7, an eighth lens E8, an optical filter E9 and an imaging plane S19, sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis”), and further teaches wherein 60 < v2+v5+v6 < 80 (61.2; Xu, fig. 11, paragraph [0137] data of table 16, v2 = 20.4, v5 =20.4, and v6 =20.4) , where v2 is an Abbe number of the second lens (fig. 11, The second lens E2 has been referred to as the second lens, see the data of table 16, Abbe number of lens E2 = 20.4), v5 is an Abbe number of the fifth lens (fig. 11, The fifth lens E5 has been referred to as the fifth lens, see the data of table 16, Abbe number of lens E5 = 20.4), and v6 is an Abbe number of the sixth lens (fig. 11, The second lens E6 has been referred to as the sixth lens, see the data of table 16, Abbe number of lens E6 = 20.4). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hu to have the specific material as taught by Xu for the purpose to meet the miniaturization while having a high imaging quality (Xu, paragraph [0005]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US20220179173), and further in view of Wang et al. (US20210278632, of record, see IDS dated 10/16/2024) and Lin et al. (US20200393648) . Regarding claim 18 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the fifth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof, and the eighth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. However, Wang teaches the analogous camera lens assembly (Wang, fig. 7, paragraph [0085] “the camera lens assembly includes a stop STO, a first lens E1, a second lens E2, a third lens E3, a fourth lens E4, a fifth lens E5, a sixth lens E6, a seventh lens E7, an eighth lens E8, an optical filter E9 and an imaging plane S19, which are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side.”), and further teaches wherein the fifth lens (Wang, fig. 7, lens E5 has been referred to as the fifth lens) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0086] “The fifth lens E5 has negative refractive power, an object-side surface S9 thereof is convex”; paragraph [0041] “the paraxial area refers to an area near the optical axis. If a surface of a lens is convex and the position of the convex is not defined, it indicates that the surface of the lens is convex at least in the paraxial region; and if a surface of a lens is concave and the position of the concave is not defined, it indicates that the surface of the lens is concave at least in the paraxial region. In each lens, the surface closest to the object is referred to as an object-side surface of the lens, and the surface closest to the imaging plane is referred to as an image-side surface of the lens.”) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0086] “an image-side surface S10 thereof is concave”), the seventh lens (fig. 7, lens E7 has been referred to as the seventh lens) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0086] “The seventh lens E7 has positive refractive power, an object-side surface S13 thereof is convex, and an image-side surface S14 thereof is concave”), and the eighth lens (fig. 7, lens E8 has been referred to as the eighth lens) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0086] “an image-side surface S10 thereof is concave”) and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0086] “an image-side surface S10 thereof is concave”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hu to have the specific lens surface as taught by Wang for the purpose to have at least one beneficial effect, such as ultra-thinness, miniaturization, and high image quality (Wang, paragraph [0018]). Combination Hu in view of Wang, but Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the eighth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. However, Lin teaches the analogous image lens assembly (Lin, fig. 5, paragraph [0160] “The photographing lens assembly includes, in order from an object side to an image side, a stop 301, a first lens element 310, a second lens element 320, an aperture stop 300, a third lens element 330, a stop 302, a fourth lens element 340, a fifth lens element 350, a sixth lens element 360, a seventh lens element 370, an eighth lens element 380, an IR-cut filter 390 and an image surface 395. The photographing lens assembly includes eight lens elements (310, 320, 330, 340, 350, 360, 370 and 380) with no additional lens element disposed between each of the adjacent eight lens elements.”), and further teaches wherein the eighth lens (fig. 5, lens 380 has been referred to as the eighth lens) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0168] “The eighth lens element 380 with negative refractive power has an object-side surface 381 being convex in a paraxial region thereof and an image-side surface 382 being concave in a paraxial region thereof”). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hu to have the specific surface as taught by Lin for the purpose to obtain a balance among the requirements such as high image quality, low sensitivity, a proper aperture size, miniaturization and a desirable field of view (Lin, paragraph [0004]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US20220179173), and further in view of Wang et al. (US20210278632, of record, see IDS dated 10/16/2024) . Regarding claim 19 , Hu discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Hu does not explicitly disclose wherein the fourth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. However, Wang teaches the analogous camera lens assembly (Wang, paragraph [0097] “As shown in FIG. 11, the camera lens assembly includes a stop STO, a first lens E1, a second lens E2, a third lens E3, a fourth lens E4, a fifth lens E5, a sixth lens E6, a seventh lens E7, an eighth lens E8, an optical filter E9 and an imaging plane S19, which are sequentially arranged from an object side to an image side”), and further teaches wherein the fourth lens (Wang, fig. 11, lens E4 has been referred to as the fourth lens) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (paragraph [0098] “The fourth lens E4 has positive refractive power, an object-side surface S7 thereof is convex, and an image-side surface S8 thereof is concave”; paragraph [0041] “the paraxial area refers to an area near the optical axis. If a surface of a lens is convex and the position of the convex is not defined, it indicates that the surface of the lens is convex at least in the paraxial region; and if a surface of a lens is concave and the position of the concave is not defined, it indicates that the surface of the lens is concave at least in the paraxial region. In each lens, the surface closest to the object is referred to as an object-side surface of the lens, and the surface closest to the imaging plane is referred to as an image-side surface of the lens.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hu to have the specific lens surface as taught by Wang for the purpose to have at least one beneficial effect, such as ultra-thinness, miniaturization, and high image quality (Wang, paragraph [0018]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KUEI-JEN LEE EDENFIELD whose telephone number is (571)272-3005. The examiner can normally be reached Mon. -Thurs 8:00 am - 5:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pinping Sun can be reached on (571) 270-1284. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273- 8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published application may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Services Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199(In USA or Canada) or 571-272-1000. /KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 6 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 7 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 8 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 9 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 10 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 11 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 12 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 13 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 14 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/916,961 Page 15 Art Unit: 2872