The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 8, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Esh et al. US 2023/0250651. Esh et al. disclose an electric power trowel comprising:
A housing (23) having a flap (24), an electric motor (25) and batteries (22) stored in said
housing (23).
A handle rod (12) including a grip (13) and user control portion (40), a gearbox (30).
A rotor/spider assembly (15) supporting a plurality of finishing blades (16). [0033-0035].
A programmable controller (21) operably connected to the controls (40) and power the
rotation of the electric motor (25) thereby rotating the finishing blades (16) in a
known manner. Figs. 1-5.
With respect to claims 8, 11 Esh et al. discloses the control module (21) is positioned in the housing (23) and electrically connected to the electric motor for speed control of the blades (16). And that the blades (22) are adjustable in pitch using blade tilt mechanism (50).
With respect to claim 12 although Esh et al. discloses a toggle switch (49) to activate the blade tilt mechanism (50) and a rheostat dial (44) for adjusting the electric motor (25); Esh et al. does not disclose using a dial for the blade tilt mechanism (50). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the replace the toggle switch of Esh et al. with a rotary dial such as the one taught by Esh et al. in order to simplify operation of the machine by using similar control knobs.
With respect to claims 13-18 Esh et al. discloses the claimed features including a pivoting, removable handle (12) as well as an electric fan and vent opening for cooling the electric motor and battery inside the housing (23). See [0033-39].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esh et al. US 2023/0250651 in view of Kluge US 2010/0074702.
Esh et al. discloses a battery driven power trowel disposed within a housing (23) but does not disclose details of the battery(ies). However, Kluge teaches the use of a battery powered hand tool (20) having a rotary electric motor (21) that can be powered by a removable/rechargeable 36 volt lithium battery pack (28). And that “Other types of power supplies and batteries can be used to operate motor (21)…power tool (20) with electric motor (21) is lightweight, quiet, fast and efficient”. See [0024]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery powered power trowel of Esh et al. with replaceable rechargeable lithium batteries, as taught by Kluge in order to accommodate multi-hour use and building interior applications.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esh et al. US 2023/0250651 in view of Walter et al. US 2022/0209330.
Esh et al. discloses a battery driven power trowel disposed within a housing (23) but do not disclose details of the housing. However, Walter et al. teaches it is known ECU’s
are commonly provided with cooling fins (14), see Fig. 6, in order to bring about an increase in surface area and better heat transfer. See [110, 0132]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery powered power trowel of Esh et al. with a control module having cooling fins as taught by Walter et al. in order to prevent overheating of the ECU.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esh et al. US 2023/0250651 in view of Balling US 5,632,570.
Esh et al. discloses a battery driven power trowel disposed within a housing (23) but do not disclose details of the housing. However, Balling discloses an electrically power rotary trowel (10) having an electric motor disposed within a multi-piece housing having upper and lower shell segments (62, 17a, 17b) interconnected with a plurality of fasteners. See Col. 2, lns. 28-63. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the battery powered power trowel of Esh et al. with a multi-section housing as taught by Balling in order to facilitate operation and handling.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Sebesta can be reached on 571-272-0547. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you need help from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RAYMOND W ADDIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 8/11/2026