DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 14, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by US 8397312 (Crye et al.).
Regarding claim 1, ‘312 discloses: a mounting accessory for an armor carrier carrying a ballistic plate donned by a wearer [seen most clearly in fig. 4], comprising: one or more resilient members projecting from an inside surface of the armor carrier [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4]; wherein the one or more resilient members [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4] are configured to position the ballistic plate in an aligned disposition with respect to the wearer's torso [figs. 1, 2 and 4; show the spacer pads 54 and 55 do function to affect the position/alignment of the ballistic plate 30 with respect to the torso].
Regarding claim 2, ‘312 discloses: wherein the one or more resilient members [54, 55] include one or more straps [34, 36] for attaching the resilient members to the armor carrier [see annotated figure below].
Regarding claims 3 and 4, ‘312 discloses: each one of the one or more resilient members include an attachment device for removably attaching the resilient member to the interior side of the armor carrier per claim 3 and the attachment device comprises a hook and loop fastener per claim 4 [in par. 11, ’312 states, “The pads 54, 55 may be attached to the front sheet 28 in any conventional fashion. In a preferred embodiment the pads are backed with the hook material of a hook and loop fastener material like VELCRO® fastener, to allow the ready attachment and positioning of the pads. The fastening material is not shown in the drawings.”].
Regarding claim 9, ‘312 discloses: the one or more resilient members substantially conform to the wearer's torso [in par. 11, ‘312 states, “The pads may be fabricated of a conventional closed cell compression molded foam, an open cell foam, spacer fabric or any appropriately resilient material.”; open cell foam and resilient material will inherently to at least some degree ‘substantially conform’ to the surface it contacts under the weight of the complete armor carrier and movement forces of the wearer].
Regarding claim 11, ‘312 discloses: the one or more resilient members include at least one abdominal member [54, 55] having a first contoured surface [fig. 4], and wherein the abdominal member is configured to conform to the wearer's abdominal region when making contact under the weight of the armor carrier [in par. 11, ‘312 states, “The pads may be fabricated of a conventional closed cell compression molded foam, an open cell foam, spacer fabric or any appropriately resilient material.”; open cell foam and resilient material will inherently to at least some degree ‘substantially conform’ to the surface it contacts under the weight of the complete armor carrier].
Regarding claims 14 and 15, ‘312 discloses: the one or more resilient members include at least two distinct abdominal members each having a first contoured surface [54, 55; inherently both have a first contoured surface as shown in fig. 4], and wherein each abdominal member is configured to rest upon a portion of the wearer's abdomen and conform to the abdomen of the wearer when making contact under the weight of the armor carrier per claim 14 [Fig. 1 shows the device in use the pads 54 and 55 resting on the wearer’s abdomen and the resilient, open cell foam materials would inherently at least some degree ‘conform’ to the surface it contacts under the weight of the complete armor carrier.]; and wherein the first contoured surface of each abdominal member substantially matches the profile of the wearer's abdominal region [fig. 4 shows pad with a contoured surface that “substantially matches” the profile of the abdomen; further the resilient open cell foam would conform to also “substantially match” the profile of the abdomen; even further humans are of near infinite profile so the fig. 4 pad does “substantially match” the profile of at least one human wearer].
Regarding claim 17, ‘312 discloses: the aligned disposition comprises the ballistic plate being substantially parallel to the wearer's torso [fig.1 shows the device in use with ballistic plate ‘substantially parallel to the wearer’s torso].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8, 10, 12, 13, 16, 18-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8397312 (Crye et al.).
Regarding claims 5-8, ‘312 does explicitly fully disclose claim 3 from which claims 5-8 all intervene thereto.
‘312 explicitly states, “The pads 54, 55 may be attached to the front sheet 28 in any conventional fashion. In a preferred embodiment the pads are backed with the hook material of a hook and loop fastener material like VELCRO® fastener, to allow the ready attachment and positioning of the pads. The fastening material is not shown in the drawings.”
This recitation shows ‘312 contemplates “any conventional” fastening means and further use of detachable fastening means such as hook and loop type fasteners.
‘312 does not explicitly teach the claimed zip, magnetic, buckle nor snaps; in claims 5-8, respectively.
However, it is the Examiner’s position that zip, magnetic, buckle and snap fastening means are widely known and conventionally used mechanically equivalent fastening means to hook and loop type fasteners used for at least the last 100 years in the garment arts to provide simple economic detachable attachment capability to garment sections in need of fastening.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the invention to modify the hook and loop fastening means of ‘312 to any known conventional detachable fastening means including zip, magnetic, buckle and/or snap type fastening means to provide simple economic detachable attachment capability to garment sections in need of fastening.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, ‘312 discloses multiple abdominal resilient members each having a first contoured surface, and wherein each abdominal member is configured to rest upon a respective pectoral mass and conform to the respective pectoral mass of the wearer when making contact under the weight of the armor carrier as noted above.
‘312 does not teach these members as pectoral members per claims 10 and 12.
‘312 does further teach, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, it is the belt 46 which supports the component and holds it in position on the wearer 22. For added comfort, foam pads 54, 55 are adhered to the exterior surface of the front sheet 28 of the carrier 26.”. This citation teaches the pads and belt that holds the pads function to support the armor carrier; hold in proper position the armor carrier and provide comfort for the user wearing the armor carrier.
‘312 also shows in fig. 1 the armor carrier is commonly worn with an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the invention to modify an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article to include a similar spacer pad construction as taught by ‘312 to provide the upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article with multiple resilient pectoral spacer pads to provide added/enhanced support of the pectoral covering vest armor article; hold in proper position the pectoral covering vest armor article and comfort for the user of the pectoral covering vest armor article.
Regarding claim 13, the pads of ‘312 are shown as having first contoured surfaces as noted above that would “substantially match the profile of the wearer’s pectoral mass” further the resilient open cell foam would conform to also “substantially match” the profile of the pectoral mass of the wearer; even further humans are of near infinite profile so the fig. 4 pad does “substantially match” the profile of at least one human wearer.
Regarding claim 16, the right side and left side pads 55 shown in fig. 2 of ‘312 are ‘mirror images’ of each other.
The modified teachings of ‘312 addressing claims 10 and 12 above would therefore include right and left side pectoral pads that are mirror images of each other.
Claim 18 recites the combined limitations of claims 1, 10 and 11; which are fully addressed above. The same rejections are repeated below.
‘312 discloses: a mounting accessory for an armor carrier carrying a ballistic plate donned by a wearer [seen most clearly in fig. 4], comprising: one or more resilient members projecting from an inside surface of the armor carrier [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4]; wherein the one or more resilient members [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4] are configured to position the ballistic plate in an aligned disposition with respect to the wearer's torso [figs. 1, 2 and 4; show the spacer pads 54 and 55 do function to affect the position/alignment of the ballistic plate 30 with respect to the torso].
‘312 discloses: the one or more resilient members include at least one abdominal member [54, 55] having a first contoured surface [fig. 4], and wherein the abdominal member is configured to conform to the wearer's abdominal region when making contact under the weight of the armor carrier [in par. 11, ‘312 states, “The pads may be fabricated of a conventional closed cell compression molded foam, an open cell foam, spacer fabric or any appropriately resilient material.”; open cell foam and resilient material will inherently to at least some degree ‘substantially conform’ to the surface it contacts under the weight of the complete armor carrier].
‘312 does not teach these members as pectoral members attached at an upper torso area.
‘312 does further teach, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, it is the belt 46 which supports the component and holds it in position on the wearer 22. For added comfort, foam pads 54, 55 are adhered to the exterior surface of the front sheet 28 of the carrier 26.”. This citation teaches the pads and belt that holds the pads function to support the armor carrier; hold in proper position the armor carrier and provide comfort for the user wearing the armor carrier.
‘312 also shows in fig. 1 the armor carrier is commonly worn with an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the invention to modify an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article to include a similar spacer pad construction as taught by ‘312 to provide the upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article with multiple resilient pectoral spacer pads to provide added/enhanced support of the pectoral covering vest armor article; hold in proper position the pectoral covering vest armor article and comfort for the user of the pectoral covering vest armor article.
Regarding claim 19, ‘312 does disclose the pads 54, 55 as detachably attached to the armor carrier [“The pads 54, 55 may be attached to the front sheet 28 in any conventional fashion. In a preferred embodiment the pads are backed with the hook material of a hook and loop fastener material like VELCRO® fastener, to allow the ready attachment and positioning of the pads. The fastening material is not shown in the drawings.”].
Regarding claim 20, ‘312 does disclose the pads are made of resilient open cell foam material that would “substantially conform” to the surface to which they contact.
Regarding claim 21, ‘312 in fig.1 shows the device in use with ballistic plate ‘substantially parallel to the wearer’s torso’.
Regarding claim 22, ‘312 does disclose pads 54, 55 as attached to the interior side of the armor carrier in figs. 2 and 4.
Claim 23, ‘312 discloses: a mounting accessory for an armor carrier carrying a ballistic plate donned by a wearer [seen most clearly in fig. 4], comprising: one or more resilient members projecting from a lower inside surface of the armor carrier [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4]; wherein the one or more resilient members [54 and 55; figs. 2 and 4] are configured to position the ballistic plate in an aligned disposition with respect to the wearer's torso [figs. 1, 2 and 4; show the spacer pads 54 and 55 do function to affect the position/alignment of the ballistic plate 30 with respect to the torso];
the one or more resilient members include at least one abdominal member [54, 55] having a first contoured surface [fig. 4], and wherein the abdominal member is configured to conform to the wearer's abdominal region when making contact under the weight of the armor carrier [in par. 11, ‘312 states, “The pads may be fabricated of a conventional closed cell compression molded foam, an open cell foam, spacer fabric or any appropriately resilient material.”; open cell foam and resilient material will inherently to at least some degree ‘substantially conform’ to the surface it contacts under the weight of the complete armor carrier];
wherein the one or more resilient members [54, 55] include one or more straps [34, 36] for attaching the resilient members to the armor carrier [see annotated figure below];
and the aligned disposition comprises the ballistic plate being substantially parallel to the wearer's torso [fig.1 shows the device in use with ballistic plate ‘substantially parallel to the wearer’s torso].
‘312 does not teach these members as pectoral members attached at an upper torso area.
‘312 does further teach, “As shown in FIGS. 1 and 3, it is the belt 46 which supports the component and holds it in position on the wearer 22. For added comfort, foam pads 54, 55 are adhered to the exterior surface of the front sheet 28 of the carrier 26.”. This citation teaches the pads and belt that holds the pads function to support the armor carrier; hold in proper position the armor carrier and provide comfort for the user wearing the armor carrier.
‘312 also shows in fig. 1 the armor carrier is commonly worn with an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing the invention to modify an upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article to include a similar spacer pad construction as taught by ‘312 to provide the upper torso and pectoral covering vest armor article with multiple resilient pectoral spacer pads to provide added/enhanced support of the pectoral covering vest armor article; hold in proper position the pectoral covering vest armor article and comfort for the user of the pectoral covering vest armor article.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Numerous references are attached teaching various ballistic vest articles and NPL document is attached teaching the widely known and conventional nature of various detachable fasteners. These references establish the general state of the prior art.
/ROBERT H MUROMOTO JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732