DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed October 16, 2024, have been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Applicants must continue to submit prior art references throughout the patent application process. A supplemental IDS must be submitted if prior art is discovered through a foreign patent application or an International Patent Search, or a related application before a prosecution closes.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of group I, encompassing claims 1-8 in the reply filed on August 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Since applicant has received restriction on the merits for the originally presented invention, not based on amendment of claims, only arguments based on the originally presented invention would be considered, there are no arguments presented by applicant. Restriction requirement is considered based on the originally presented invention Also note that claim 1 and claim 9 of original claims presented with two different products require further search and queries that do not overlap each other as well as require further consideration. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. And claim 9 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Rejection of claim 1, The limitation “a mechanical interface between said mounting bracket and said electrical component for fixed mounting of the electrical component within the center opening manually and without the use of tools, said mechanical interface configured for the electrical component to be pivoted into the center opening and snapped into the mounting bracket” is unclear or indefinite.
It appears from specification that a mechanical interface is a direct engagement of said mounting bracket to said electrical module for fixed mounting of the electrical component within the center opening manually and without the use of tools.
Claim 1 is unclear and misleading for multiple reasons:
Note that said electrical component is attached to housing of the electrical module by screw therefore, claim fails to clarify essential structure in the claim as well as misleading for fixed mounting of the electrical component within the center opening manually and without the use of tools
Claim 1 had to clarify a mechanical interface; currently, it appears in the claim that it is separate structure from said electrical module and said mounting bracket, see for instance, an interposer between two circuit boards;
Even though applicant modify or amend from electronic component to electrical module as connection to mounting bracket, it requires minimum underlying essential structure in the claim wherein the electrical module is multipart components wherein only specific parts (frame and housing) used for engagement without tools wherein other parts do not qualify; therefore, clear distinction is required. Therefore, it is necessary to have critical and essential structure of the electrical module in the claim 1.
Furthermore, the limitation “the mounting bracket defining a center opening’ is indefinite or unclear. It is not clear how the mounting bracket defines a center opening. Please explain how bracket is defining a center opening such as mounting bracket is, at, on, into, toward, or projected on a center opening or bracket having a frame includes a center opening. Similar check claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Rejection of claim 3-5, and 7, claims 3-5, and 7 having use of term “defining” which requires clarification.
Rejection of claim 2-8, claims 2-8 are rejected for the same reason applied to the rejection of the claim 1.
Rejection of claim 5, the limitation “wherein said mounting flange defines a latch on at least two opposite ends of said mounting flange, each latch configured for snap-on engagement with said cover plate” is indefinite or unclear.
Term “said mounting flange” lacks antecedent basis it appears to be a mounting flange because it is introduced first time also, it fails to disclose that a mounting flange is part of what or it is separate of all. And fails to disclose how a mounting flange defines a latch such as mounting flange is, on, in, at, toward, projecting, or adjacent to a latch. Specification do not clarify which is considered to be as mounting flange.
Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) (whichever apply) as being anticipated by Gange et al. (US20140021313, herein referred to as Gange) and Hyde et al. (US6376770, herein referred to as Hyde).
Rejection of claim 1, Gange or Hyde discloses a modular surface-mounted electrical fixture for a recreational vehicle (RV) ( figures 4, 11-15 of Gange or see figures 1-31 of Hyde; note that “for” defines only intended use), comprising:
a mounting bracket (frame assembly 1 of Gange; or see a mounting frame 200 of Hyde) configured to be mounted within an opening in a wall of the RV (see figure 4 wherein 32 having frame shape in Gange or shape of frame 200 in Hyde; therefore, having capacity to or intended to use for mounting in wall opening; “configured to” defines only intended use or having capacity; structure is what it is, not what it does; therefore do not get any patentable weight; note that any limitation related to RV considered to be part of intended use; thefore, do not get patentable weight );
the mounting bracket defining a center opening aligned with the opening in the RV wall ( the mounting bracket having body with four sides with central opening, by having the claimed structure is configured to aligned with the opening in the RV wall in Gange ; or similarly, see in Hyde; Note that RV is not part of positive structure claimed) ;
an electrical module configured to be mounted within the center opening of the mounting bracket when the mounting bracket is mounted within the RV wall opening (see 24 in figure 15 of Genge is capable of or intended use as to be mounted within the center opening of the mounting bracket when the mounting bracket is mounted within the RV wall opening; or see 10 in the figures of Hyde is capable of or intended use as to be mounted within the center opening of the mounting bracket when the mounting bracket is mounted within the RV wall opening ),
the electrical module including one or more electrical components selected from a plurality of different electrical components (see 39 in figure 15 of Gange; or see electrical component(s) in the figures of Hyde ); and
a mechanical interface between said mounting bracket and said electrical component for fixed mounting of the electrical component within the center opening manually and without the use of tools, said mechanical interface configured for the electrical component to be pivoted into the center opening and snapped into the mounting bracket (see rejection under USC 112 for explanation; see pair of 26 on top and pair of 26 on bottom in frame assembly, and pair of 22 on top and pair of 22 on bottom of electrical box assembly 24; see fins 21 of 10 into openings of 201 of 200 in Hyde) .
Rejection of claim 3, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, wherein said mechanical interface includes: a pair of prongs extending from one end of said electrical module; a pair of snap-in tabs extending from an opposite end of said electrical module; a pair of sockets defined in said mounting bracket at one end of said center opening, said pair of sockets located and sized to slidably receive said pair of prongs therein; and a pair of catch elements defined in said mounting bracket at an opposite end of said center opening, said pair of catch elements located and sized for snap-fit engagement with said pair of snap-in tabs, wherein, said pair of prongs and said pair of sockets are configured so that said electrical module can pivot toward the center opening when the pair of prongs are partially disposed within said pair of sockets (see said mechanical interfaces as explained in rejection of claim 1 above).
Rejection of claim 4, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, wherein said mechanical interface further includes: a pair of alignment tabs extending from said one end of said electrical module, said pair of alignment tabs flanking said pair of snap-in tabs; and a pair of recesses defined in said mounting bracket at said opposite end of said center opening, said pair of recesses located and sized to receive said pair of alignment tabs therein when said electrical module is installed within said center opening of said mounting bracket (see said mechanical interfaces as explained in rejection of claim 1 above).
Rejection of claim 6, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, wherein said plurality of different electrical components include a dimmer switch, a digital switch, a rocker switch, dual on-off switches, an occupancy actuated on-off switch, a USB port, a simple on-off lighting switch, an awning control switch and ganged switches (see specification of Gange or Hyde).
Rejection of claim 7, Gange or Hyde discloses The modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, wherein said mounting bracket includes a plate defining said center opening, said plate including: side walls projecting from said plate at opposite sides of said center opening, said side walls positioned and sized to fit within the opening in the RV wall; and retaining tabs projecting from said plate adjacent said side walls, said retaining tabs angled outward from said center opening for interference engagement with the RV wall within the wall opening, each retaining tabs including a gripping surface for enhanced frictional contact with the RV wall when the mounting bracket is pressed into the RV wall opening (see specification of Gange or Hyde).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gange or Hyde in view of Feldstein et al. (US8754816, herein referred to as Feldstein).
Rejection of claim 2, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, wherein: said electrical module includes a frame defining a receptacle for receiving said one or more electrical components a
Feldstein discloses a housing attached to said frame to contain circuitry and circuit board(s) associated with said one or more electrical components (see figure 10 wherein a housing at 42 attached to frame at 73 wherein a housing at 42 contains contain circuitry and circuit board(s) at 72 associated with said one or more electrical components).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of Gange or Hyde to have circuitry and circuit board(s) in order to properly function one or more electrical components.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gange or Hyde in view of Carson et al. (US5189259, herein referred to as Feldstein).
Rejection of claim 5, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising: a cover plate configured for snap-on engagement to said mounting bracket, said cover plate defining an opening for access to said electrical module therethrough, wherein said mounting flange defines a latch on at least two opposite ends of said mounting flange, each latch configured for snap-on engagement with said cover plate.
Carson discloses a cover plate configured for snap-on engagement to said mounting bracket, said cover plate having an opening for access to said electrical module therethrough (see figure 1 to 14 wherein face plate intended to use or having capacity for snap-on engagement to said mounting bracket, said face plate defining an opening intended to be used for access to said electrical module therethrough).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of Gange or Hyde to have a cover plate as taught by Carson to protect electronic component as well as removably attached to the mounting bracket.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gange or Hyde.
Rejection of claim 8, Gange or Hyde discloses the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said mounting bracket, said electrical module, excluding the one or more electrical components, and said mechanical interface are formed of moldable non-conducting plastic or resin material.
It would have been obvious design choice, and further old and well known to It before the effecting filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of Gange or Hyde to have said mounting bracket, said electrical module made of insulating material such as resin or plastic into the modular surface-mounted electrical fixture of Gange or Hyde so that It can be easily electrically insulated to protect user, to protect inside electrical components from outside environmental variables such as water, heat, humidity, or debris, or it can be more economical to reduce overall cost.
Pertinent Prior Arts
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent arts in the present case, all of which disclose various assemblies.
Communication
/PARESH PAGHADAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847