DETAILED ACTION
The following Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed 10/16/2024.
Status of the claims: Claims 1-30 are hereby examined below.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, lines 2-3 recites “several connect ions through holes”. Examiner presumes this should read – several connection through holes --.
Claim 5, line 7 recites “the louver blade is”. Examiner presumes this should read – the louver blades are --.
Claim 7 recites “the cross beams” in line 2 and “the cross beam” in line 7. Examiner presumes line 7 should read – each cross beam --.
Claim 8 recites “the upright column”, while claim 7 recites “several upright columns”. Examiner presumes claim 8 should read – each upright column -- .
Claim 9 recites “the cross beam”, while claim 7 recites “the cross beams”. Examiner presumes claim 9 should read – each cross beam --.
Claim 28 recites “several upright columns” in line 1 and “the upright column” in lines 3 and 4. Examiner presumes lines 3 and 4 should read – each upright column --.
The above list is not exhaustive and similar inconsistencies regarding singular and plurality elements persist throughout the claims. Applicant should thoroughly check the claims to ensure consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “more than two horizontal support beams” in line 3 and “an end surface of the horizontal support beam” in line 4. It’s unclear how many horizontal support beams are being claimed. Should this read – an end surface of each horizontal support beam --?
Claim 1 recites “an inner connection hole” in line 4 and line 7 recites “the inner connection holes”. It is unclear how many connection holes there should be.
Claim 2 recites “a fastener sequentially runs through the connection through holes on the horizontal support beam and the connection block”. As written, this appears to state that single fastener runs through multiple connection through holes on the horizontal support beam.
Claim 5 recites “a longitudinal cross beam” in line 3 and “the two longitudinal cross beams” in line 6. It is unclear how many cross beams applicant is intending to claim.
Claim 6 recites “close to the louver blades”. It is unclear what is required to be “close” as this is a term of relative degree.
Claim 11 recites “the fastening bolt” in line 1 and “two of the fastening bolts” in line 3. It is unclear exactly how many fastening bolts are being claimed.
Claim 12 recites two sliding slots but only one positioning insertion plate in the sliding slots. This language is confusing and it appears that there should be a respective positioning insertion plate in each of the sliding slots.
Claim 14 recites “a top surface of the upper end of the louver blade”. It is unclear what exactly the top surface of the upper end of the louver blade is, as this is not described in the specification and there are no reference numbers for the top surface or the upper end. As shown in the Figure 8, the limiting slot appears to be disposed on a bottom surface of the louver blade.
Claim 19 recites “a connecting sleeve that sleeves the transmission shaft tube and a connection rod with one end disposed on the connecting sleeve, the other end of the connection rod is connected to the connecting rod, and during rotation of the transmission shaft tube, when the louver blade is in a closed state, the connecting rod contacts the connecting sleeve to prevent the transmission shaft tube from continuously rotating in a same direction”. It is unclear what the connecting sleeve and the connection rod are as they are not pointed out in the drawings.
Claims are being examined as best understood.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the connecting sleeve and connection rod as recited in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,5,6 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang CN218061637.
In regard to claim 1, Wang ‘637 discloses a louver canopy (1, Fig. 1) , comprising a frame body with cross beams (2, Fig. 1) , wherein the cross beams of the frame body are provided with louver blades (5, Fig. 1), the cross beams (2) are each formed by more than two horizontal support beams arranged coaxially (shown in Fig. 5); and an end surface of the horizontal support beam is provided with an inner connection hole (shown below) along an axial direction thereof, corresponding ends of adjacent two of the horizontal support beams are combined head-to-tail with a connecting block (6, Fig. 6) disposed therebetween, and two ends of the connecting block (6) are respectively inserted into the inner connection holes of the corresponding horizontal support beams for detachable connection (as shown in Fig. 6).
In regard to claim 5, Wang ‘637 discloses four upright columns (3, Fig. 1) that are vertically arranged at four corners of the frame body, wherein the cross beams (2) comprise a longitudinal cross beam longitudinally connected between two of the upright columns that are front-and-back adjacent (shown below), a transverse cross beam transversely connected between two of the upright columns that are left-and-right adjacent (shown below), and an intermediate cross beam transversely connected to the two longitudinal cross beams (shown below), the intermediate cross beam is connected between intermediate portions of the two longitudinal cross beams, and the louver blades (5) are longitudinally disposed between the transverse cross beam and the intermediate cross beam.
In regard to claim 6, Wang ‘637 discloses wherein lower edges of sides walls of the longitudinal cross beam, the transverse cross beam, and the intermediate cross beam close to the louver blades extend outwards to form flow guide plates (701, Fig. 7) , and a water collecting slot (7, Fig. 7) is formed between the flow guide plate (701) and the corresponding cross beam (2).
In regard to claim 28, Wang ‘637 discloses several upright columns (3, Fig. 1) that support the frame body, wherein the cross beams (2) are disposed on the upright columns, a foot pad (unnumbered, but shown to extend beyond the columns as shown below) is disposed at a bottom of the upright column (3), and a projection area of the foot pad on a horizontal plane is greater than a projection area of the upright column on the horizontal plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4,13-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN218061637 in view of Shan et al US 2023/0295932.
In regard to claim 2, Wang ‘637 fails to disclose wherein the detachable connection between an end of the connecting block and the corresponding horizontal support beam involves several connections through holes provided on the horizontal support beam and the connecting block, and a fastener sequentially runs through the connection through holes on the horizontal support beam and the connecting block for connection.
Shan ‘932 discloses the detachable connection between an end of the connecting block (23, Fig. 2) and the corresponding horizontal support beam (211,212 Fig. 2) involves several connections through holes (unnumbered) provided on the horizontal support beam and the connecting block, and a fastener (screw, paragraph [0045]) sequentially runs through the connection through holes on the horizontal support beam and the connecting block for connection.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to substitute the holes and fasteners as taught by Shan ‘932 for the reinforcing rib (601) for the purpose of providing a connection that will prevent relative movement between parts, yet be easily removable if needed.
In regard to claim 3, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 discloses wherein a cross section of the horizontal support beam (forming 2) is of a rectangular structure, the connection through holes (as taught by Shan ‘932) are spaced apart on a top surface and a side wall surface (as shown in Fig. 2 Shan ‘932) of the horizontal support beam (211,212 Shan ‘632) along an axial direction of the horizontal support beam, and the connection through holes on the connecting block (23, Shan ‘932) are in one-to-one correspondence to the connection through holes of the horizontal support beam. As taught by Shan ‘932 to include connection holes on the side surface, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of wang ‘637 to include connection holes on both side wall surfaces for increased stability and a stronger connection.
In regard to claim 4, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein a cross section of the connecting block (6, Wang ‘637) is of an O-shape and the connection through holes (as taught by Shan ‘932) are provided in a middle portion (of the top wall) and two side walls of the O-shaped structure of the connecting block (6).
Wang ‘637 fails to disclose the cross section is of U-shaped structure with an opening facing downwards, however, Shan et al ‘932 disclose that the connecting block (23) can be of a U-shaped structure with an opening facing downwards. (Fig 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation of success to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to make the connecting block be of a U-shape cross section with an opening facing downwards instead of an 0 shape as taught by Shan et al ‘932 for the purpose of reducing weight or cost by using less material.
In regard to claim 13, Wang ‘637 fails to disclose wherein the louver blade is driven by a drive assembly to rotate, left and right ends of the louver blade are each provided with an assembly crank, the assembly crank is rotatably connected to the corresponding cross beam, an upper end of the assembly crank is provided with an insertion post and a limiting slot, the louver blade is provided with an insertion hole for the insertion post to be inserted into and fit within, and a snap-fitted protrusion clamped in the limiting slot, and a lower end of the assembly crank is provided with a transmissive fitting hole in transmissive fitting with the drive assembly.
Shan ‘932 discloses wherein the louver blade (11, Fig. 8) is driven by a drive assembly (4 Fig 11) to rotate, left and right ends of the louver blade are each provided with an assembly crank (121-125, Fig. 9), the assembly crank (121-125) is rotatably connected to the corresponding cross beam (241,242) , an upper end of the assembly crank is provided with an insertion post (123) and a limiting slot (124), the louver blade (11) is provided with an insertion hole (11121, Fig. 8) for the insertion post (123) to be inserted into and fit within, and a snap-fitted protrusion (1113, Fig. 8) clamped in the limiting slot (124), and a lower end of the assembly crank (121-125) is provided with a transmissive fitting hole (122) in transmissive fitting (indirectly) with the drive assembly.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to include the drive assembly with assembly crank as taught by Hong et al ‘655 for the purpose of providing a means to adjustably rotate the louvers between open and closed configurations.
As best understood, in regard to claim 14, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein the insertion post (123) is disposed on a side wall surface (of the insertion hole, shown above) of an upper end of the louver blade (11), and the limiting slot (124) is provided on a top surface of the upper end of the louver blade.
In regard to claim 16, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein the snap-fitted protrusion (1113) is arranged along an axial direction of the louver blade (11), a cross section thereof is of a J-shaped structure, the limiting slot (124) is a through slot, the assembly crank (121-125) moves along an axial direction of the snap-fitted protrusion (1113), so as to achieve connection or separation of the snap-fitted protrusion and the limiting slot, and an inner wall of the limiting slot (124) is provided with a snap-fitted portion (hook shape at the end) that is snap-fitted with a hook portion of the snap-fitted protrusion (1113).
In regard to claim 17, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein an intermediate portion of a top end of the assembly crank (121-125) is provided with a hinge hole (121) for (intended use) hinging with the corresponding cross beam, and the insertion post (123) and the limiting slot (124) are respectively arranged on front and back sides of the hinge hole (121).
In regard to claim 18, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein the drive assembly (4, Fig. 11) comprises a transmission shaft tube (422) that is rotatably connected to the frame body, the transmission shaft tube (422) is provided with a transmission crank (42,43), the transmission crank is hinged with a transmission rod (45,46) in a transmissive manner via a connecting rod (44), and the assembly cranks (121-125) are each hinged with the transmission rod via a transmissive fitting hole (122).
As best understood, in regard to claim 19, Wang ‘637 as modified by Shan ‘932 disclose wherein the transmission crank comprises a connecting sleeve (43) that sleeves the transmission shaft tube (422) and a connection rod (42) with one end disposed on the connecting sleeve (43), the other end of the connection rod (42) is connected to the connecting rod (44), and during rotation of the transmission shaft tube (422), when the louver blade is in a closed state, the connecting rod (44) contacts the connecting sleeve (43) to prevent the transmission shaft tube from continuously rotating in a same direction. (shown in Fig. 11)
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN218061637 in view of Li CN218668702.
In regard to claim 7, Wang ‘637 discloses several upright columns (3, Fig. 1) that support the frame body, wherein the cross beams (2) are disposed on the upright columns.
Wang ‘637 fails to disclose an assembly slide rail is vertically disposed on a side wall that is of the upright column and is connected to and fits with the cross beam, a positioning insertion plate is slidably connected in the assembly slide rail, a fitting gap is present between the positioning insertion plate and an outer wall surface of the cross beam, and a tail end of a fastening bolt runs through a side wall of a corresponding end of the cross beam to be threadedly connected to the positioning insertion plate.
Li ‘702 disclose an assembly slide rail (6.1, Fig. 12) is vertically disposed on a side wall that is of the upright column (6) and is connected to and fits with the cross beam (7.1, 7.2 Fig. 13), a positioning insertion plate (6.2, Fig. 13) is slidably connected in the assembly slide rail, a fitting gap is present between the positioning insertion plate (6.2) and an outer wall surface of the cross beam (7.1, 7.2), and a tail end of a fastening bolt (unnumbered but shown below in Fig. 11) runs through a side wall of a corresponding end of the cross beam (7.1,7.2) to be threadedly connected to the positioning insertion plate (6.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to include the assembly slide rail and positioning insertion plate connecting the cross beams and upright columns as taught by Li ‘702 for the purpose of securely yet removably mounting the cross beams to the upright posts.
In regard to claim 8, Wang ‘637 disclose a top end of the upright column (3) is of a structure of a port without a top surface, an outer side wall of the port facing the corresponding cross beam is provided with an assembly notch (8, shown below) for insertion of a corresponding end of the cross beam (2), and the assembly slide rail is disposed on an inner side wall of the port at the top end of the upright column facing the corresponding cross beam.
In regard to claim 9, Wang ‘637 as modified by Li ‘702 discloses wherein a cross section of the cross beam (2) is of a hollow and rectangular structure, a head end of the fastening bolt (as taught by Li ‘702 is located on an outer surface an of the cross beam.
Wang ‘637 fails to disclose the fastening bolt is located on an inner surface of the cross beam and a side wall of the cross beam facing the head end of the fastening bolt is provided with a disassembly through hole. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637/Li ‘702 to locate the fastening bolt on an inner surface of the cross beam with a disassembly through hole provided in the cross beam as such would only require a mere relocation of parts and a change in size of a hole for access. Placing the fastener within the cross beam would help protect it from possible damage or tampering. Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
In regard to claim 10, Wang ‘637 as modified by Li ‘702 disclose wherein an inner wall surface of the cross beam (2, Wang ‘637) is fixed to a reinforcement plate (12, as taught by Li ‘702), and the tail end of the fastening bolt (Li ‘702) sequentially penetrates the reinforcement plate (12) and the side wall of the cross beam from the inside outwards to be threadedly connected to the positioning insertion plate (6.2 Li ‘702).
In regard to claim 11, Wang ‘637 as modified by Li ‘702 disclose wherein the fastening bolt (shown above) arranged between the cross beam (2, Wang ‘637) and the corresponding positioning insertion plate (6.2 Li ‘702) is provided in plurality along a length direction (vertical) of the positioning insertion plate (6.2), and two of the fastening bolts that are up-and-down adjacent are left-and-right staggered (as shown in Fig. 11).
As best understood, in regard to claim 12, Wang ‘637 as modified by Li ‘702 disclose wherein the assembly slide rail (6.1) comprises two opposite slide rail plate seats (shown in Fig. 12), opposite side walls of the two slide rail plate seats are each provided with a sliding slot, and two ends of the positioning insertion plate (6.2) respectively slide in the sliding slots on corresponding sides.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN218061637 and Shan et al US 2023/0295932 as applied to claim 13 and further in view of Hong et al CN208763534.
In regard to claim 15, Wang ‘637 discloses a water collecting slot (7) for collecting rainwater.
Wang ‘637 fails to disclose wherein a top surface of a rear portion of the louver blade bends downwards to form a water receiving groove, the insertion hole is provided on a side wall of the water receiving groove, a bottom surface of an end of the water receiving groove is provided with a drainage hole, and the corresponding cross beam directly located below the drainage hole.
Hong et al ‘655 discloses wherein a top surface of a rear portion of the louver blade bends downwards to form a water receiving groove (shown below), the insertion hole (shown above) is provided on a side wall of the water receiving groove and the corresponding cross beam directly located below the water receiving groove is provided with a water collecting slot for collecting rainwater.
Hong ‘534 discloses a bottom surface of an end of the water receiving groove is provided with a drainage hole (124, Fig 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to include the water receiving groove on the rear portion of the louver blade as taught by Hong ‘534 for the purpose of directing water towards the water collecting slots on the sides.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the water receiving groove to include a drain hole in the bottom surface as such is shown to be useful for directing water towards the water collecting slots below. A hole would allow water to drop instead of flow with velocity which may cause it to splash out.
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN218061637 in view of Xie US 9,038,648.
In regard to claim 29, Wang ‘637 discloses four upright columns (3) that are vertically arranged at four corners of the frame body, wherein the cross beams (2) comprise a longitudinal cross beam longitudinally connected between two of the upright columns (3) that are front-and-back adjacent and a transverse cross beam (2) transversely connected between two of the upright columns (3) that are left-and-right adjacent.
Wang ‘637 fails to disclose the longitudinal cross beam and the transverse cross beam are both provided with barriers, and the barrier wraps a periphery of a connection seam between the two adjacent horizontal support beams.
Xie ‘648 discloses a barrier (7,8 Fig 1) wraps a periphery of a connection seam between the two adjacent horizontal support beams (21,22).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Wang ‘637 to include a barrier wrapping a periphery of a connection seam between two beams as taught by Xie ‘648 for the purpose of covering the bolts used to connect the beams and provide a clean appearance. (column 6, lines 11-16).
In regard to claim 30, wang ‘637 discloses wherein a lower end of a side wall of the horizontal support beam (2) close to the louver blade is provided with a flow guide plate (7), an upper flat plate, a lower flat plate, an outer vertical plate, and an inner vertical plate.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to make the barrier comprises an upper flat plate, a lower flat plate, an outer vertical plate, and an inner vertical plate, the upper flat plate is disposed above the horizontal support beam, the outer vertical plate fits with a side wall of the horizontal support beam away from the flow guide plate, the lower flat plate fits with lower surfaces of the horizontal support beam and the flow guide plate, the outer vertical plate has an upper end connected to the upper flat plate and a lower end connected to the lower flat plate, and the inner vertical plate fits with an outer side wall of the flow guide plate, with a lower end connected to the lower flat plate since such a modification would allow the barrier to match the shape of the beam to which it was applied. Such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JEREMY C RAMSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634