Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dam US 20170366421 (hereinafter Dam ‘421) in view of Kim et al. KR 20200081632 (hereinafter Kim ‘632). Note: the citations to Kim ‘632 refer to the English translation provided in the instant office communication.
As per claim 1, Dam ‘421 discloses an information providing device comprising:
processing circuitry configured to: monitor occurrence of a failure on a network (para 0064, “ As shown, endpoint agent groups 202, 204, 206 can be utilized to facilitate a visualization of the access network for each of the agents over time, in this case including access points 208, 210, and 212 and which gateways are being used as shown at 214a-c, 216, and 218 (e.g., as well as a path(s) to VPN servers and proxies (not shown in this example in FIG. 2)). Examples of metrics collected can include one or more of the following listed metrics: transmission rate, wireless signal quality, gateway loss and latency, proxy loss and latency, and VPN server loss and latency.”; para 0101, “In this example, the sample object includes additional network information captured during a session. Example additional network information captured during a session can include one or more of the following: host, protocol, and port of HTTP connection; positional coordinates (e.g., resolved using GPS, Wi-Fi location, or network location services); TCP connectivity test towards destination; loss/latency/jitter/traceroute to destination (ICMP); loss/latency/jitter to gateway (ICMP); loss/latency/jitter/traceroute to VPN (ICMP) if configured on the device; loss/latency/jitter/traceroute to HTTP proxy (ICMP) if configured on the device; network configuration profile of network interfaces including IP addresses, DNS servers, gateway, and potential next hop interfaces (in the case of VPNs); physical network information including wireless quality, bssid/ssid, channel, link speed, and/or similar physical network information; proxy configuration profile; and system information including CPU usage, network usage, memory, and disk.”); and
display a screen that visualizes topology indicating connection relations among an Internet service provider (ISP) network included in the network (figs. 5, 7, 8 and 10; para 0103, “FIG. 5 is a graphical visualization that illustrates a path tracing from endpoints in accordance with some embodiments.”; para 0131, “FIG. 7 is a graphical visualization that illustrates a high latency problem from an endpoint to a gateway via a wireless link that is identified using the disclosed techniques in accordance with some embodiments. ”; para 0132, “ FIG. 8 is a graphical visualization that illustrates a packet loss problem from an endpoint to a gateway via a wireless link that is identified using the disclosed techniques in accordance with some embodiments.”; para 0138, “FIG. 10 is a graphical visualization that illustrates a path visualization node grouping view in accordance with some embodiments. In this example, the path between an endpoint agent 1002 and a destination site 1006 is shown in a path visualization node grouping that can be further drilled down into for a more detailed view of the path (e.g., including the additional 15 intermediate hops) as shown at 1004 in FIG. 10),
a fixed communication network and a mobile communication network connected to the Internet service provider network, and a closed network (fig. 5, reference no. 506, 502 and 503; para 0105, “the first hop is a VPN server”; fig. 7, reference no. 704, “TechSpaceATZWireless”; para 0138, “In this example, the path between an endpoint agent 1002 and a destination site 1006 is shown in a path visualization node grouping that can be further drilled down into for a more detailed view of the path (e.g., including the additional 15 intermediate hops) as shown at 1004 in FIG. 10.”; para 0140, “In one embodiment, the disclosed path visualization node grouping view techniques can be based on labels and/or configurable criteria (e.g., based on network infrastructure that includes public network, private network, or endpoint properties such as location, and/or other properties)”;
a situation of connection from a site of a user to (fig. 7, reference no. 704, “TechSpaceATZWireless” and 8, reference no. 804), and
a monitoring result (fig. 5, 7, 8 and 10, “Forward Loss”; “Link Delay”).
Dam ‘421 does not expressly disclose, but Kim ‘632 discloses a situation of connection from a site of a user to the fixed communication network and the mobile communication network (fig. 3, 5G, Fixed; pg. 4, para 5, “As illustrated in the attached FIG. 3, the UE may be connected to a specific BS, for example, a 5Gbased
BS, a WiFi-based BS, a fixed BS, etc., and an operator may recognize a connection state of the UE to a specific BS. To visualize it. For example, a connection state is visualized through a line between a UE and a specific BS connected, and colors indicating a connection state for each BS may be displayed differently.”; fig. 4; pg. 4, para 8, “As illustrated in the attached FIG. 4, when a session is formed between the UE, BS, and GW, the session connection state is visualized to be recognized by the operator. For example, the session connection state is visualized through a line connecting the UE, BS, and GW where the session is formed, and the line color may be displayed differently for each session”; fig. 8, page 5, para 9, “As shown in the attached Figure 8, through the visualization of the terminal (UE) connection state, session connection state, flow connection state, it is possible to visualize in the 5G network configuration structure that traffic is simultaneously delivered to the fixed interface as well as the existing 5G interface.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention such that the visualized path presented by Dam ‘421 is modified to display a situation of connection from a site of a user to a fixed network and a mobile network as taught by Kim ‘632. One would have been motivated to do so to visualize and diagnose connectivity on the different connection pathways by which an endpoint can connect to an ISP network.
As per claim 2, Dam ‘421 in view of Kim ‘632 disclose the information providing device according to claim 1 (supra). Dam ‘421 does not expressly disclose wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display, on the screen, a situation of connection from a plurality of sites of the user to the fixed communication network and the mobile communication network. However, Dam ‘421 discloses displaying a large number of endpoints on an enterprise network that can be further expanded to illustrate more details on the endpoint connections, either via individual displayed nodes or links. See fig. 11, para 0141, “FIG. 11 is a graphical visualization that illustrates a path visualization node pagination view in accordance with some embodiments. In this example, an endpoint agent group 1102 and an endpoint agent group 1104 are each shown in a path visualization node pagination view that can be further drilled down into for a more detailed view of each of these respective groups of endpoint agents as shown in FIG. 11.” Furthermore, it is conventional for an organization to provision multiple devices to an employee to access the organization’s network using different access points, e.g., laptop via fixed line or Wi-Fi, and mobile phone via Wi-Fi or cellular. Official notice is taken. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the path visualization map of Dam ‘421 to display a situation of connection from a plurality of sites of the user. One would have been motivated to do so in order to visualize and monitor communication paths of all a user’s devices that can connect to an enterprise network.
As per claim 3, Dam ‘421 in view of Kim ‘632 disclose the information providing device according to claim 1 (supra). In addition, Dam ‘421 discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display, on the screen, information of virtual private network (VPN) connection established in the Internet service provider network (fig. 5, reference no. 506; para 0105, “the first hop is a VPN server”).
As per claim 4, Dam ‘421 in view of Kim ‘632 disclose the information providing device according to claim 1 (supra). In addition, Dam ‘421 discloses wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to display, on the screen, information indicating a node included in the topology and having a failure based on a monitoring result (fig. 7, reference no. 704, 706, TechSpaceATZWireless; fig. 8, reference no. 804, 806, Quality, Loss, Latency).
Claims 5 and 6 are method and computer readable recording medium claims that corresponds to claim 1. Hence, claims 5 and 6 are rejected as being unpatentable over Dam ‘421 in view of Kim ‘632 for the same reasons as claim 1.
Conclusion
/JUNG W KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2494