DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on 06/04/2025. Claims 2-20 are pending. Claim 2, 6, and 12 are independent. Claim 1 is canceled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “jaw actuation mechanism” in claims 2 and 6. Based on the disclosure, the jaw actuation mechanism is an actuator (154, Fig. 15) connecting to the jaws to actuate the jaws.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassler et al. (US Pat. No. 5,330,502) in view of Yoon (US Pat. No.: 5,993,467)
Regarding claims 2-5, Hassler discloses [claim 1] a laparoscopic system (the system 1 is fully capable to serve as a laparoscopic suture system for suturing, such as grasping a needle with suture) and comprising: a laparoscopic device (1, Figs. 1-5, the device 1 is fully capable to serve as a laparoscopic suturing device by grasping a needle with suture in a laparoscopic surgical procedure), the comprising: an elongate shaft (combination of 10 and 130, Fig. 1) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig .1), and defining a central longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end and the distal end (Fig. 1); and a jaw assembly (combination of 60, 70 and both 80, Figs. 1 and 2) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw assembly comprising: a first jaw (combination of 60 and part of 80 extending through 60, Figs. 1 and 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 2 and 4, proximal end and distal end of 60), the first jaw comprising a first pivot (64, Fig. 2) between the proximal end and the distal end and a first actuation post (part of 80 extending through 60, Figs. 1, 2, and 4) proximal the first pivot; and a second jaw (combination of 70 and part of 80 extending through 70, Figs. 1, 2, and 4) having a proximal end and a distal end (proximal end and distal end of 70, Figs. 1, 2, and 4), the second jaw comprising a second pivot (74, Fig. 2) between the proximal end and the distal end and a second actuation post (part of 80 extending through 70, Figs. 1, 2, and 4) proximal the second pivot; and wherein the first pivot and the second pivot pivotably couple the first jaw and the second jaw to the elongate shaft such that the first jaw and the second jaw are pivotable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (Figs. 1, 2, and 4); a jaw actuation mechanism (101 which includes 102 and 103, Fig. 2) at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw between the open configuration and the closed configuration (Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24); [claim 3] wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises an actuator (101 which includes 102 and 103, Fig. 2) advanceable proximally and distally relative to the elongate shaft (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24); [claim 4] wherein the actuator comprises actuation slots (the slots at 103, Fig. 2) formed therein and wherein the first actuation post and the second actuation post are each positioned in an actuation slot such that longitudinal translation of the actuator pivots the first jaw and the second jaw between the open configuration and the closed configuration (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 44); [claim 5] a drive rod (30 or combination of 30 and 50, Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 44) slidable within the elongate shaft, the drive rod coupled to the actuator to advance the actuator proximally and distally relative to the elongate shaft (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24). However, Hassler does not disclose Page 48 of 505982-USP-US-D1a suturing needle positionable in the jaw assembly, the suturing needle comprising: a needle having a generally curved profile and extending from a first penetrating tip to a second penetrating tip; and a suture coupled to the needle.
Yoon teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical system), a surgical system comprising a suturing needle (180, Figs. 8-10) positionable in a jaw assembly (112 and 114, Fig. 8), the suturing needle comprising: a needle (180, Figs. 8-12) having a generally curved profile (Figs. 8-10) and extending from a first penetrating tip (182, Fig. 8) to a second penetrating tip (the tip on the opposite side of the needle is a second penetrating tip because it penetrates through the tissue as shown in Figs. 11-12); and a suture (184, Figs. 8-12) coupled to the needle.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify system of Hassler to include a suturing needle positionable in the jaw assembly, the suturing needle comprising: a needle having a generally curved profile and extending from a first penetrating tip to a second penetrating tip; and a suture coupled to the needle as taught by Yoon in order to obtain the advantage of allowing the system to secure/suturing two pieces of tissue together (Yoon, Figs. 9-12 and Abstract).
Regarding claims 6-9, Hassler discloses a laparoscopic suturing device (the system 1 is fully capable to serve as a laparoscopic suture system for suturing, such as grasping a needle with suture) comprising: an elongate shaft (combination of 10 and 130, Fig. 1) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig .1), and defining a central longitudinal axis extending between the proximal end and the distal end (Fig .1), the elongate shaft comprising a drive rod longitudinally slidable therein (30 or combination of 30 and 50, Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 44); a jaw assembly (combination of 60, 70 and both 80, Figs. 1 and 2) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw assembly comprising: a first jaw (combination of 60 and 80, Figs. 1 and 2) coupled to the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw assembly comprising: a first jaw (combination of 60 and part of 80 extending through 60, Figs. 1 and 2) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs. 2 and 4, proximal end and distal end of 60), and a second jaw (combination of 70 and part of 80 extending through 70, Figs. 1, 2, and 4) having a proximal end and a distal end (proximal end and distal end of 70, Figs. 1, 2, and 4), and wherein the first jaw and the second jaw are pivotable between an open configuration and a closed configuration (Figs. 1, 2, and 4); and a jaw actuation mechanism (combination of 40 and 101 which includes 102 and 103, Fig. 2) at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw between the open configuration and the closed configuration (Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24), wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises: a clevis (40, Fig. 4) positioned at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the first jaw and the second jaw being pivotably coupled to the clevis (Figs. 1 and 4); and an actuator (101 which includes 102 and 103, Fig. 2) coupled to the drive rod such that longitudinal sliding of the drive rod moves the actuator relative to the elongate shaft (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24), the actuator slidably coupled to the proximal end of the first jaw and the proximal end of the second jaw (Figs. 1-2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 24); [claim 7] wherein the first jaw comprises a first pivot (64, Fig. 2) between the proximal end of the first jaw and the distal end of the first jaw and a first actuation post (part of 80 extending through 60) proximal the first pivot; [claim 8] wherein the second jaw comprises a second pivot (74, Fig. 2) between the proximal end of the second jaw and the distal end of the second jaw and a second actuation post (part of 80 extending through 70) proximal the second pivot; [claim 9] wherein the actuator (101 which includes 102 and 103, Fig. 2) comprises a first actuation slot (one of the slot 103, Fig. 2) and a second actuation slot (another slot 103, Fig. 2) formed therein, and wherein the first actuation post is slidably engaged in the first actuation slot and the second actuation post is slidably engaged in the second actuation slot (Fig. 2 and Col. 3, line 41 – Col. 4, line 44). However, Hassler does not disclose Page 48 of 505982-USP-US-D1a suturing needle positionable in the jaw assembly.
Yoon teaches, in the same field of endeavor (surgical system), a surgical system comprising a suturing needle (180, Figs. 8-10) positionable in a jaw assembly (112 and 114, Fig. 8).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify system of Hassler to include a suturing needle positionable in the jaw assembly as taught by Yoon in order to obtain the advantage of allowing the system to secure/suturing two pieces of tissue together (Yoon, Figs. 9-12 and Abstract).
Double Patenting
Claims 6, 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 in view of Cabrera et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0312773).
Regarding claims 6, 10 and 11, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 recites substantially all the limitations of the claims, such as an elongate shaft, a jaw assembly having a first jaw and a second jaw, a suturing needle, a first flip jaw, and a second flip jaw. However, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 does not recite a jaw actuation mechanism having a clevis and an actuator.
Cabrera teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suturing device), a jaw actuation mechanism (combination of 222 and 236, Fig. 9) at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw (230 and 232) between the open configuration and the closed configuration (Figs. 9 and 15), wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises: a clevis (the clevis formed by arms 226 at 222, Fig. 9) positioned at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the first jaw and the second jaw being pivotably coupled to the clevis (Fig. 9); and an actuator (236, Fig. 9) coupled to the drive rod such that longitudinal sliding of the drive rod moves the actuator relative to the elongate shaft, the actuator slidably coupled to the proximal end of the first jaw and the proximal end of the second jaw (Paras. [0126]-[0136]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 to include a jaw actuation mechanism at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw between the open configuration and the closed configuration, wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises: a clevis positioned at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the first jaw and the second jaw being pivotably coupled to the clevis; and an actuator coupled to the drive rod such that longitudinal sliding of the drive rod moves the actuator relative to the elongate shaft, the actuator slidably coupled to the proximal end of the first jaw and the proximal end of the second jaw as taught by Cabrera in order to facilitate the manipulation of the jaw (Cabrera, Paras. [0126]-[0136]).
Claims 12 and 15-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 recites all the limitations of claims 12 and 15-19 of the instant application and the claimed invention of claimed 1-3 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 is fully capable to perform the functions recited in claims 12 and 15-19 of the instant application.
#18/917,098
12
15
16
17
18
19
#10,405,851
1
2
6
6
1
3
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 in view of Della Badia et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,397,325).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 recites all the limitation of claim 12 as taught above but fails to recite that the first flip jaw and the second flip jaw are each biased to the suturing configuration; wherein the jaw assembly comprises a first torsion spring biasing the first flip jaw to the suturing configuration and a second torsion spring biasing the second flip jaw to the suturing configuration.
Della Badia teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suturing device), a flip jaw (24, Figs. 3 and 4c) biased to the suturing configuration; wherein the jaw assembly comprises a torsion spring (28, Fig. 4C) biasing a flip jaw to the suturing configuration (Col. 8, lines 27-52).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the clamed invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 to include a flip jaw biased to the suturing configuration; wherein the jaw assembly comprises a torsion spring biasing a flip jaw to the suturing configuration as taught by Della Badia, such that the first flip jaw and the second flip jaw are each biased to the suturing configuration; wherein the jaw assembly comprises a first torsion spring biasing the first flip jaw to the suturing configuration and a second torsion spring biasing the second flip jaw to the suturing configuration in order obtain advantage of shielding the needle and automatically actuating the needle to the suturing position (Della Badia, Col. 8, lines 27-52).
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 in view of Melzer et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,389,103).
Regarding claim 20, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 recites all the limitation of claim 19 as taught above but fails to recite that the first needle channel has an eccentric cross-sectional profile.
Melzer teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suturing device), a first needle channel has an eccentric cross-sectional profile (Fig. 7 or Fig. 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first needle channel of the clamed invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,405,851 to include an eccentric cross-sectional profile as taught by Melzer in order to capture the needle.
Claims 6, 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 in view of Cabrera et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0312773).
Regarding claims 6, 10 and 11, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 recites substantially all the limitations of the claims, such as an elongate shaft, a jaw assembly having a first jaw and a second jaw, a suturing needle, a first flip jaw, and a second flip jaw. However, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 does not recite a jaw actuation mechanism having a clevis and an actuator.
Cabrera teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suturing device), a jaw actuation mechanism (combination of 222 and 236, Fig. 9) at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw (230 and 232) between the open configuration and the closed configuration (Figs. 9 and 15), wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises: a clevis (the clevis formed by arms 226 at 222, Fig. 9) positioned at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the first jaw and the second jaw being pivotably coupled to the clevis (Fig. 9); and an actuator (236, Fig. 9) coupled to the drive rod such that longitudinal sliding of the drive rod moves the actuator relative to the elongate shaft, the actuator slidably coupled to the proximal end of the first jaw and the proximal end of the second jaw (Paras. [0126]-[0136]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 to include a jaw actuation mechanism at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the jaw actuation mechanism actuatable to pivot the first jaw and the second jaw between the open configuration and the closed configuration, wherein the jaw actuation mechanism comprises: a clevis positioned at the distal end of the elongate shaft, the first jaw and the second jaw being pivotably coupled to the clevis; and an actuator coupled to the drive rod such that longitudinal sliding of the drive rod moves the actuator relative to the elongate shaft, the actuator slidably coupled to the proximal end of the first jaw and the proximal end of the second jaw as taught by Cabrera in order to facilitate the manipulation of the jaw (Cabrera, Paras. [0126]-[0136]).
Claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 10, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 8, 10, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 recites all the limitations of claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 of the instant application and the claimed invention of claims 8, 10, 12, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 is fully capable to perform the functions recited in claims 12, 13, 15, 16, and 18 of the instant application.
#18/917,098
12
13
15
16
18
#11,406,373
8
10
12
13
8
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 in view of Della Badia et al. (US Pat. No.: 5,397,325).
Regarding claim 14, claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 recites all the limitation of claim 13 as taught above but fails to recite that the jaw assembly comprises a first torsion spring biasing the first flip jaw to the suturing configuration and a second torsion spring biasing the second flip jaw to the suturing configuration.
Della Badia teaches, in the same field of endeavor (suturing device), a jaw assembly comprising a torsion spring (28, Fig. 4C) biasing a flip jaw to the suturing configuration (Col. 8, lines 27-52).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the jaw assembly of the clamed invention of claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,406,373 to include a torsion spring biasing a flip jaw to the suturing configuration as taught by Della Badia, such that a first torsion spring biasing the first flip jaw to the suturing configuration and a second torsion spring biasing the second flip jaw to the suturing configuration in order obtain advantage of shielding the needle and automatically actuating the needle to the suturing position (Della Badia, Col. 8, lines 27-52).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20030109900 A1 Martinek, Jonathan discloses a suturing device.
US 20060036232 A1 Primavera; Michael et al. discloses a suturing device.
US 20090259233 A1 Bogart; Michael et al. discloses a suturing device.
US 20100010512 A1 Taylor; Eric J. et al. discloses a suturing device.
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771