DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. No. 8401188 to Swaminathan et al. (hereinafter “Swaminathan”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2010/0246819 to Candelore (hereinafter “Candelore”).
As to Claim 1, Swaminathan discloses a media encryption system, comprising:
a media input interface, wherein the media input interface is configured to receive a video stream (Column 12 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan discloses the method may include receiving electronic content including multiple frames to be displayed according to a chronological sequence);
a packet sorter configured to:
[bifurcate] a frame of a first type into a first portion [and a second portion]; and
group a plurality of frames of a second type [with the second portion of the frame of the first type] to create an unencrypted media chunk, wherein the first portion of the frame of the first type is not grouped with the plurality of frames of the second type and [the second portion of the frame of the first type] (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content);
an encryption engine configured to encrypt the first portion of the frame of the first type to create an encrypted media chunk (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content); and
a media output interface configured to output an output media stream comprised of the encrypted media chunk and the unencrypted media chunk (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content).
Swaminathan discloses bifurcate and a second portion and with the second portion of the frame of the first type and the second portion of the frame of the first type.
However, Candelore discloses this. Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine content encryption system as disclosed by Swaminathan, with encrypting only the header as disclosed by Candelore. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Swaminathan and Candelore are directed toward content encryption systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources.
As to Claim 2, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 1, wherein: the media input interface is further configured to receive an audio stream; and the packet sorter is further configured to group audio packets from the audio stream with the first portion of the frame of the first type (Column 11 line 60 – Column 12 line 5 of Swaminathan discloses the content may include audio data or information in addition to the various frames described above. In such embodiments, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt all or a portion of such audio data. Such audio data (fully encrypted or partially encrypted) may be included within partially encrypted content 308).
As to Claim 3, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 2, wherein the encryption engine is further configured to encrypt the audio packets from the audio stream with the first portion of the frame of the first type to create the encrypted media chunk (Column 11 line 60 – Column 12 line 5 of Swaminathan discloses the content may include audio data or information in addition to the various frames described above. In such embodiments, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt all or a portion of such audio data. Such audio data (fully encrypted or partially encrypted) may be included within partially encrypted content 308).
As to Claim 4, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 1, wherein the frame of the first type is an I-frame, the second portion is an I-frame payload (Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 5, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 4, wherein the first portion is an I-frame header (Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 6, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 5, wherein the plurality of frames of the second type comprise at least one P-frame (Column 12 lines 30-45 of Swaminathan disclose partial encryption component 306 may also be configured to encrypt data based on I-frame, B-frame, or P-frame designations (e.g., the designations described above with respect to FIG. 1). For example, in some embodiments, in addition to the performing any of the various encryption techniques described above, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt the frame-based content such that all I-frames of the partially encrypted content are encrypted).
As to Claim 7, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 2, further comprising a plurality of over-the-air (OTA) tuners, wherein the media input interface receives the audio stream and the video stream from an OTA tuner of the plurality of OTA tuners (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks).
As to Claim 8, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 3, a wireless network interface configured to receive the output media stream from the media output interface and transmit the output media stream via a wireless local area network to a media playback device (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content).
As to Claim 9, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 8, further comprising: an over-the-air antenna configured to be connected with the plurality of OTA tuners; and the media playback device configured to receive the output media stream via the wireless local area network and decrypt the encrypted media chunk (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content. Column 8 lines 40-45 of Swaminathan disclose rendered until reference frame 204 is decrypted).
As to Claim 10, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 1, wherein the encrypted media chunk is a single encrypted packet and the unencrypted media chunk is a single unencrypted packet (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content).
As to Claim 11, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the media encryption system of claim 1, comprising a device housing that houses the media input interface, the packet sorter, the encryption engine, and the media output interface (Figure 7 of Swaminathan).
As to Claim 12, Swaminathan discloses a method for performing media encryption, the method comprising:
receiving, by a media encryption system, a media stream comprising video packets (Column 12 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan discloses the method may include receiving electronic content including multiple frames to be displayed according to a chronological sequence);
[bifurcating], by the media encryption system, a frame of a first type into a first portion [and a second portion] (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content);
grouping, by the media encryption system, a plurality of frames of a second type [with the second portion of the frame of the first type] to create an unencrypted media chunk (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content);
encrypting, by the media encryption system, the first portion of the frame of the first type to create an encrypted media chunk (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content); and
outputting, by the media encryption system, an output media stream comprising the encrypted media chunk and the unencrypted media chunk (Column 13 lines 5-15 of Swaminathan discloses the method may also include generating partially encrypted content by encrypting a portion of the electronic content without encrypting other portions of the electronic content. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content).
Swaminathan discloses bifurcate and a second portion and with the second portion of the frame of the first type.
However, Candelore discloses this. Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 13, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 12, wherein receiving the media stream further comprises receiving audio packets and the method further comprising: grouping, by the media encryption system, the audio packets with the first portion of the frame of the first type (Column 11 line 60 – Column 12 line 5 of Swaminathan discloses the content may include audio data or information in addition to the various frames described above. In such embodiments, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt all or a portion of such audio data. Such audio data (fully encrypted or partially encrypted) may be included within partially encrypted content 308).
As to Claim 14, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 13, wherein encrypting the first portion of the frame of the first type to create the encrypted media chunk further comprises encrypting the audio packets to create the encrypted media chunk (Column 11 line 60 – Column 12 line 5 of Swaminathan discloses the content may include audio data or information in addition to the various frames described above. In such embodiments, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt all or a portion of such audio data. Such audio data (fully encrypted or partially encrypted) may be included within partially encrypted content 308).
As to Claim 15, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the frame of the first type is an I-frame, the second portion is an I-frame payload (Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 16, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the first portion is an I-frame header (Paragraph [0065] of Candelore discloses Packet 44 is selected according to any desired selection criterion that results in an increased difficulty in viewing the content (i.e., a critical packet). In one example, I-frame headers can be selected for encryption since this represents only a small, but important, part of the content for digital video (approximately 376 bytes per second in this example, of which not all bits need to be encrypted). Thus, to view the content, this packet which remains encrypted under the new encryption method is decrypted. Since the amount of content to be decrypted is relatively small compared to the overall content, it can be decrypted without using a large amount of computing resources).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 17, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the plurality of frames of the second type comprise at least one P-frame (Column 12 lines 30-45 of Swaminathan disclose partial encryption component 306 may also be configured to encrypt data based on I-frame, B-frame, or P-frame designations (e.g., the designations described above with respect to FIG. 1). For example, in some embodiments, in addition to the performing any of the various encryption techniques described above, the partial encryption component may be configured to encrypt the frame-based content such that all I-frames of the partially encrypted content are encrypted).
As to Claim 18, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving, by an over-the-air (OTA) content receiver, the media stream from an OTA digital antenna, wherein the media stream is a digital broadcast television channel (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks).
As to Claim 19, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 18, further comprising: transmitting, by the OTA content receiver, the output media stream via a wireless communication protocol to a media playback device (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content).
As to Claim 20, Swaminathan-Candelore discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: receiving, by a media playback device, the output media stream; decrypting, by the media playback device, the encrypted media chunk; decoding, by the media playback device, the decrypted media chunk and the unencrypted media chunk; and outputting, by the media playback device, the decoded decrypted media chunk and the decoded unencrypted media chunk for presentation (Column 17 lines 60-65 of Swaminathan disclose wireless data networks, some other electronic data network, or some combination thereof. In various embodiments, network interface 940 may support communication via wired or wireless general data networks. Column 4 lines 1-10 of Swaminathan discloses at playback time, frames of the frame-based electronic content may be displayed according to the aforesaid chronological sequence, sometimes in rapid succession depending on the frame-rate of the frame-based electronic content).
Conclusion
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499