DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP2024-052908 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/17/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. However, the applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizushima et al. (U.S. 2019/0375225 A1).
Mizushima et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding independent Claim 1, an ink jet printing method comprising:
subjecting a printing medium to corona discharge treatment (e.g. §0056); and
applying an ink containing a pigment dispersed by an action of an anionic group (e.g. §0079) to a surface of the printing medium subjected to the corona discharge treatment,
wherein the corona discharge treatment has a discharge quantity of 3,400 W∙min/m2 or more (e.g. §0014; please see MPEP 2144.05 I, 2131.03 II regarding overlapping ranges), and
wherein the pigment comprises:
a pigment that is dispersed by a resin that has the anionic group (e.g. §§0085, 0094), or
a pigment that has the anionic group bonded to a particle surface of the pigment directly or via another atomic group (e.g. §§0079-0085).
Regarding Claim 2, wherein the discharge quantity is 4,200 W∙min/m2 or more to 25,000 W∙min/m2 or less (e.g. §0014; please see MPEP 2144.05 I, 2131.03 II regarding overlapping ranges).
Regarding Claim 5, wherein a conveyance velocity of the printing medium is 1.5 m/min or more to 4 m/min or less (e.g. §0015; please see MPEP 2144.05 I, 2131.03 II regarding overlapping ranges).
Regarding Claim 7, wherein the ink contains anionic resin particles (e.g. §§0085, 0094).
Regarding Claim 8, wherein the ink contains water, and a content of the water in the ink is 50.0 mass% or more to 95.0 mass% or less (e.g. §0050; please see MPEP 2144.05 I, 2131.03 II regarding overlapping ranges).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al. (U.S. 2019/0375225 A1).
Mizushima et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 3, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which this Claim depends).
Mizushima et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 3, wherein the discharge quantity is 5,700 W∙min/m2 or more to 25,000 W∙min/m2 or less. However, Matsumoto et al. do disclose discharge quantity is 500 W∙min/m2 or more to 5,500 W∙min/m2 or less. Please see MPEP 2144.05 I, 2131.03 III regarding obviousness of overlapping ranges.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizushima et al. (U.S. 2019/0375225 A1) in view of Saitoh et al. (U.S. 2015/0258813 A1).
Mizushima et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 4, all limitations of Claim 1 (from which this Claim depends).
Mizushima et al. do not disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 4, wherein the discharge quantity of the corona discharge treatment is adjusted by changing an output of the corona discharge treatment and a conveyance velocity of the printing medium.
Saitoh et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
Regarding Claim 4, wherein the discharge quantity of the corona discharge treatment is adjusted by changing an output of the corona discharge treatment and a conveyance velocity of the printing medium (e.g. §§0066-0067, 0074, 0078, 0090). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the adjustments of Saito et al. to the method of Mizushima et al. to improve the ability of the method to handle various media types and printing speeds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 6 is the inclusion of the limitations of an ink jet printing method including wherein an output of the corona discharge treatment is 3000 W or more to 5000 W or less. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination of that has not been found, taught or suggested by prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D SHENDEROV/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853