DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
Claims 1-13 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “authentication member” in line 8 should be “an authentication member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “operation member” in line 2 should be “an operation member”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking device configured to – corresponding to element 13 in Fig. 2”, “operation unit configured to – corresponding to element 20 in Fig. 2”, “control device configured to – corresponding to element 30 in Fig. 2”, “display unit configured to – corresponding to element 22 in Fig. 3” in claims 1, 2, 9 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 10-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The word "particularly" should be deleted.
Claims 10 and 13 recites the limitation "the boxes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3-7 and 11-13 depend on claim 2. Claims 3-7 and 11-13 are also indefinite because they depend on a base claim that is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 1 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Amdahl (US 2016/0133074).
For claim 1, Amdahl discloses a locker apparatus comprising:
a box capable of accommodating items therein [E.g. 0040: The locker bank 108 includes one or more lockers 106 and at least one locker terminal 104. Each locker 106 includes an enclosure 202 has an interior 204 that is accessible through an opening 206 defined by the enclosure 202];
a door configured to open and close the box [E.g. 0040: Each locker 106 includes a door 208 that is moveable between a closed position and an open position];
a locking device configured to unlockably lock the door [E.g. 0040: Each locker 106 also includes an electromechanically actuated lock 210 in communication with the locker terminal 104. The lock 210 is configured to secure the door 208 in the closed position when engaged and to release the door 208, allowing the door to move freely between the open and closed positions when disengaged];
an operation unit configured to receive an operation by a user [E.g. 0041: the locker terminal 104 includes a communication interface 214, a processor 216, memory 218, and a code entry device 220, 0042: he code entry device 220 reads or scans a machine readable external ID code 116 from the encoded item 112 or allows users to manually enter a human readable external ID code 116 or an additional security code, such as a personal identification number (PIN). Examples of suitable code entry devices 220 for reading machine readable external ID codes 116 include, but are not limited to, barcode readers, magnetic strip readers, radio frequency identification tag readers, scanners, and cameras. Examples of suitable code entry devices 220 for entering human readable external ID codes 116 include, without limitation, keypads, keyboards, and touchscreens. Various implementation of the locker terminal 104 include additional input devices 222, 0043-0044]; and
a control device configured to control the locking device in response to an operation on the operation unit by the user [E.g. 0025: The locker manager 102 provides locker management functionality including, but not limited to, authenticating requests to access lockers, associating external ID codes with locker rights, tracking locker usage, and, optionally, sending signals or messages controlling access to lockers (e.g., unlocking lockers), 0043: A locker 106 is accessed by scanning or manually entering the external ID code 116 from the encoded item 112 using the code entry device 220. The locker 106 communicates with the locker manager 102 to determine whether access to the locker 106 is authorized. If authorization is received from the locker manager 102, the locker terminal 104 selectively unlocks the lock 210 of the assigned locker 106], wherein
the operation unit includes authentication member configured to authenticate the user [E.g. 0005: The locker terminal generally provides a local user interface for accessing lockers. Aspects of the locker terminal include a code entry device. A locker is accessed by scanning or manually entering the external ID code using the code entry device. The locker terminal request access to a locker by sending the external ID code and other pertinent to the locker manager. If authorization is received from the locker manager, the locker terminal selectively unlocks the lock of the authorized locker, 0029: The locker manager 102 is configured to utilize the unique or semi-unique external ID codes 116 provided to users for purposes other than locker rental and, optionally, the locker access codes 114. The external ID codes 116 are often associated with encoded items 112, such as, without limitation, admission tickets, keycards, wristbands, identification cards, and passes provided to users. The encoded item 112 may be provided either physically (e.g., a printed ticket) or electronically (e.g., an e-ticket displayable using a mobile phone or tablet). The external ID codes 116 may be written to or on the encoded items 112 in a machine readable format, a human readable format, or both (e.g., stored as a digital code or printed as a barcode); 0042],
the control device is configured to lock the locking device in order to lock the door into a closed state except when the item is deposited in the box and when the item is taken out from the box [E.g. 0040: he locker bank 108 includes one or more lockers 106 and at least one locker terminal 104. Each locker 106 includes an enclosure 202 has an interior 204 that is accessible through an opening 206 defined by the enclosure 202. Each locker 106 includes a door 208 that is moveable between a closed position and an open position. For example, the door 208 may pivot between the open position and the closed position. When in the closed position, the door 208 substantially blocks the access opening 206 to inhibit access to the enclosure interior 204. When in the open position, the door 208 does not block the access opening 206 enabling free access to the enclosure interior 204. Each locker 106 also includes an electromechanically actuated lock 210 in communication with the locker terminal 104. The lock 210 is configured to secure the door 208 in the closed position when engaged and to release the door 208, allowing the door to move freely between the open and closed positions when disengaged. The lockers 106 may optionally include one or more sensors 212 in communication with the locker terminal 104 to detect selected conditions and provide information about the locker state. For example, the lockers 106 may include a door position sensor to determine whether the locker door 208 is open or closed or an occupancy sensor to determine whether the locker 106 is in use (i.e., whether any physical objects are located within the enclosure 202), 0046],
the operation unit includes an interface that can be operated by the user in order to give an instruction to reopen the door [E.g. 0041-0044, 0011], and
when the interface is operated within a predetermined time after the item is deposited in the box, the door is closed, and the locking device is locked once, the control device unlocks the locking device, on a condition that authentication of the user by the authentication member is established, in order to permit the door to be reopened, and locks the locking device again when the door is closed thereafter [E.g. 0046: Locker status indications include whether the locker 106 is available, rented, occupied, reserved, disabled, damaged, locked, or unlocked and whether the allotted rental period has expired or a grace period is active. An example of a grace period is period of extra time allocated for a locker rental beyond the specified rental period communicated to the renter. The availability of a grace period may not be guaranteed and may depend on whether there is immediate need for the locker 106…, 0005: The locker terminal generally provides a local user interface for accessing lockers. Aspects of the locker terminal include a code entry device. A locker is accessed by scanning or manually entering the external ID code using the code entry device. The locker terminal request access to a locker by sending the external ID code and other pertinent to the locker manager. If authorization is received from the locker manager, the locker terminal selectively unlocks the lock of the authorized locker, 0040-0043].
Amdahl fails to expressly disclose that the stored item is a luggage and that the interface is a reopening door button.
Although Amdahl fails to expressly disclose that the stored item is a luggage and that the interface is a reopening door button, Amdahl teaches storing items in lockers and using an interface to open/close the locker door [see analysis above]. However, having the stored item as a luggage and that the interface is a reopening door button fails to yield unexpected results; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Amdahl to have the stored item as luggage and that the interface is a reopening door button s in order to satisfy system needs and/or environment requirement, also because such modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Amdahl.
For claim 8, Although Amdahl fails to expressly disclose wherein the predetermined time for permitting the door to be reopened is 15 minutes after the locking device is locked once, Amdahl teaches wherein predetermined time and a grace period of extra time for permitting the door to be reopened after the locking device is locked once [E.g. 0046]. However, having the predetermined time to be 15 minutes fails to yield unexpected results; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Amdahl to have the predetermined time to be 15 minutes in order to satisfy system needs and/or environment requirement, also because such modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentable distinguish over Amdahl.
For claim 9, Amdahl discloses wherein the control device is configured to permit the door to be reopened multiple times within the predetermined time [E.g. 0011, 0046; it is also implied that the user can request to open the door more the one time during the rental period of the locker].
For claim 10, Amdahl discloses wherein, if there are a plurality of the boxes in which the luggage has been deposited by the same user, the control device unlocks the locking device corresponding to only the box selected through an operation on the operation unit [E.g. 0051-0052].
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 2-7 and 11-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited.
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689