DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending in the current application.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12122488. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because similar subject matter is claimed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: #31 (see Fig. 3A) Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power, US 5822916 in view of Laster et al., US 10990622. Power discloses a livewell system for use on a boat (see Fig. 1), the livewell system comprising: a reservoir tank (1) defining a first compartment ( 30) and a second compartment (31) that are separable by a removable divider (8) located at a mid-section of the reservoir tank (the examiner considers the midsection width of the tank being less than the width of the first and second compartments to be a size/shape parameter easily adjusted by an artisan); a water supply pump (14) operable to add external water into the reservoir tank; a water drainage system comprising a valve (31, 32), wherein the water drainage system is operable for a user drain water from the livewell in a pump-assisted drain mode (using recirculation pump 12); a water recirculation system comprising a recirculation pump (12) operable to withdraw water from the first compartment and return at least some of the water the second compartment; a water level sensor (10) coupled to the reservoir tank and operable to output a high water signal when the reservoir tank becomes full or nearly full of water; and a control system arranged to receive the high water signal from the water level sensor (10) and configured to output a signal to restrict further addition of water into the reservoir tank based on receiving the high water signal.
Power does not disclose two drains located on a bottom of the reservoir tank but only a single drain (5) which connects to pump (12) located on the bottom of the reservoir tank for pump assisted drainage of the reservoir tank. Powers does not disclose wherein the water drainage system is operable for a user to select between a gravity drain mode and a pump assisted drain mode. Powers also does not explicitly disclose a recirculation timer time delay or a microprocessor. Finally, Power does not disclose a control system configured to receive the high-water signal from the water level sensor and use a time delay period to control operation of the water supply system to pump the external water into the reservoir tank.
Laster discloses a livewell with a gravity drain on the bottom of the live well (purge valve 121). Laster also discloses a marine electronic device 405 (See Column 3, line 27-Column 5, line 8) with water level sensors, a microprocessor (410) for activating water supply and recirculation pumps, timer/time delays (see Figs. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a gravity drain as disclosed by Laster to the livewell of Powers to allow a rapid method of draining the water from the well without requiring pumping and to add a control system disclosed by Lasiter (marine electronic device 405) for providing signals to control the livewell pumps and valves to fill, drain and recirculate water at determined time intervals to ensure sufficient oxygen and temperature is maintained within the livewell.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Power in view of Laster in further view of Martin, US 4970982. Power as modified by Lasted discloses the invention set forth above but does not disclose first and second lids covering the first and second compartments, or the precise airspace between the water level and the lids based on the high-water signal.
Martin discloses a split lid covering a livewell tank comprised of baitwell compartment and a livewell compartment. Having the split lid lets the user only open the portion of the lid necessary to access the desired compartment. The examiner considers the airspace limitations of claims 8-10 between the high-water level and the lid to be a parameter easily adjusted by an artisan.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Power, by providing a split lid to provide access to either compartment side of the livewell and to adjust the high-water level to provide an appropriate air gap between the water and the lid. Doing so allows access to either the bait compartment or the compartment used for storing freshly caught fish, and adjusting the air gap prevents sloshing of water out of the live well.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615