DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 10/16/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,198,304. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other pending claims are broader than the patented claims. The instant claims broaden or remove limitations from the patented claims. For example, DCT Block in the patented claims are the pending claims transform block; the DCT Deblur Network channels in the patented claims are the pending processing channels; IDCT block in the patent claims are the inverse transform block; parallel processing unit configured to simultaneously process all channels in the patented claims are is the processing unit configured to process multiple channels in the pending claims; compressions artifacts and motion blur in the patented claims are the broader termed artifacts in the pending claims; convolutional neural network in the patented claims are the broader term neural network in the pending claims; 4x4 DCT in the patented claims is the discrete transform in the pending claims; and the high energy AC or low energy DC in the patented claims is the varying energy levels in the pending claims.
18/917,219 12,198,304
1
1
2
2
3
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
12
12
13
14
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maharjan (“DCTResNet: Transform Domain Image Deblocking for Motion Blur Images”)
Regarding claims 1, 7, 13, Maharjan discloses a system for image and video processing, comprising:
a computing device comprising at least a memory and a processor; (section I: processing network)
a transform block configured to receive an initial input and output a plurality subband images; (figure 3)
a plurality of processing channels, wherein each channel is configured to process a specific frequency component; (figure 3)
an inverse transform block configured to receive an input from the processing channels and output a reconstructed image; (figure 3)
a processing unit configured to process multiple channels; and (figure 3)
a plurality of programming instructions that, when operating on the processor, cause the computing device to: (figure 3)
transform a degraded input into multiple transformed images; (sections I and II)
process the transformed images with the processing channels using the processing unit; (Introduction: deblocking in the transform domain can be used as a preliminary stage in the image deblurring process.)
reconstruct the processed transformed images; and
output a reconstructed output that addresses artifacts in the degraded input. (figure 3)
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Maharjan discloses the claimed invention wherein the processing channels comprise a neural network. (abstract; deep neural network called DCTResNet)
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Maharjan discloses the claimed invention wherein the transform block transforms the degraded image using a discrete transform function. (section II, Proposed Method: 4x4 DCT transform)
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Maharjan discloses the claimed invention wherein the transform block transforms the degraded image using a wavelet transform function. (section I, Introduction: Discrete Wavelet Transform DWT)
Regarding claims 5 and 11, Maharjan discloses the claimed invention wherein the transform block creates multiple subband images of varying energy levels. (Introduction: we used 4×4 DCT to decompose the compressed image and subsample the resulting DCT image to create 16 subband images, each channel representing DC, AC1, AC2,..., AC15. DC represents the low-frequency component and has global information of the image. AC1 to AC15 represents high-frequency components of the image.)
Regarding claims 6 and 12, Maharjan discloses the claimed invention wherein further comprising a loss function (section III, B) to compute a domain loss for each channel in the processing channels. (abstract; deblurring processes)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665