DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 remain in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-18, the term “water chemistry” is vague and indefinite as to what is encompassed by the term “chemistry”. Clarification is requested.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the term “hardness” is represented by the term g/L or mmol/L which is a solubility measurement which renders the claims unclear and confusing. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3,5-8,10 and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698).
EP 0334007 teaches a method for forming a protective barrier on a furnace electrode comprising providing electrode cooling water salts which are soluble in water and after evaporation of the solvent at elevated temperatures form closed films which are resistant to oxidation as used in the water cooling of the electrode sheath and mixing an antioxidant additive with the electrode cooling water to form cooling oxidant impermeable films. The aqueous solution of a film-forming salt, especially monoaluminum phosphate, as used in the water cooling of the electrode sheath; spraying at least a surface of the furnace electrode disposed adjacent a furnace with the cooling liquid, thereby cooling the furnace electrode the aqueous solution of at least one glassy film forming at elevated temperature is sprayed onto the lateral surface underneath the contact jaws as used in the water cooling of the electrode sheath and forming a protective antioxidative barrier on the furnace electrode, the protective antioxidative barrier comprising the antioxidant additive which has been deposited and/or precipitated on the furnace electrode from the cooling liquid. The aqueous solution of a film-forming salt, especially monoaluminum phosphate is sprayed onto the outer surface of the electrodes during their use in electric arc furnaces and coating the shell surface with an oxidation-resistant protective layer (see entire reference and claims 1-3 of translation).
EP 0334007 fails to teach the steps of determining water chemistry, selecting the antioxidant added based on the determined water chemistry and combining the water and antioxidant additive to be sprayed onto the electrode.
Hare et al. (3,806,698) teaches an operating heating device whereby passing cooling water including an additive is used to prevent corrosion in the device. The water is tested and then an amount of nucleating agent (claimed antioxidant) is added for coating electrodes and protecting them. Hence the providing the cooling water, determining the cooling water chemistry, i.e. tested, selecting and combining the additive as the additive is added and therefore combined. A coating is formed, and furnace electrodes are known to be used above 700C.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified EP 0334007 process by performing the steps of providing cooling water, determining cooling water chemistry and combining the antioxidant as evidenced by Hare et al. (3,806,698) with the expectation of protecting the electrode with the coating on the outer surface of the electrode.
Regarding claim 3, EP 0334007 teaches evaporation of the solvent of the coating during subsequent heating or coating a heated electrode.
Regarding claim 5, EP 0334007 teaches coating of the electrode at high temperatures which would produce a molten coating to provide flowing of the coating on the surface of the electrode for protection thereof.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, EP 0334007 teaches the same or similar antioxidant materials and hence would be expected to have the claimed melting point of 1000C or 2400C.
Regarding claim 8, Hare et al. (3,806,698) teaches adding the additive to produce a final water chemistry for coating a protective on the electrode and this would be applied by spraying.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, EP 0334007 teaches as the additive phosphates, borates and silicate salts which would be inclusive of polyphosphates.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, EP 0334007 teaches the antioxidant to be added to the water solution at 300-500g/m2 which would be equal to 300-500mg/L.
Regarding claims 15 and 16, EP 0334007 teaches the same or similar antioxidant materials and hence would be expected to have the claimed solubility in water of 100mg/L to 1 g/L.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, EP 0334007 teaches the same or similar antioxidant materials and hence would be expected to have the claimed hardness.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) further in combination with Chiu (4,726,995).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) are incorporated here.
EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) fails to teach the claimed antioxidant to be calcium based.
Chiu (4,726,995) teaches oxidation retarded graphite or carbon electrodes for electric arc furnace whereby the oxidation retardant can be a calcium salt such as calcium bromide as well as chloride salts being preferred which would include calcium chloride (abstract and col. 3, lines 14-20) as well as a transition metals such as iron phosphates (col. 3, lines 47-56).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) to have utilized a calcium chloride or iron phosphate as the anti-oxidative component as evidenced by Chiu (4,726,995) with the expectation of achieving similar success with known equivalent oxidative materials.
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) in combination with Persson (4,575,856).
Features detailed above concerning the teachings of EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) are incorporated here.
EP 0334007 fails to teach spraying the electrode above the furnace and then moving the electrode from outside the furnace to inside the furnace during the service of melting raw materials.
Persson (4,575,856) teaches a baking electrode for an electric arc furnace whereby the electrode is consumed and moved downward into the furnace to control the electrical conditions of the furnace (col. 1, lines 29-68).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified EP 0334007 in combination with Hare et al. (3,806,698) furnace electrode to be moved into the furnace as it is being consumed as evidenced by Persson (4,575,856) with the expectation of achieving control of the electrical conditions of the furnace.
/BRIAN K TALBOT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712