DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/16/2024 where claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024, 02/28/2025 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is following the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 10/16/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3, 6, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (US 20240098645 A1) hereinafter Ye
As to claim 1. Ye teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: ([0084] Fig. 8, a method by UE)
receiving, from a base station (BS), configuration information associated with a wake-up signal (WUS);( [0051]) base station can transmit configuration information to the UE configuration information for WUS monitoring to the UE in RRC connected mode)
monitoring the WUS based on the configuration information; ([0051][0052] UE monitors WUS based on configuration information)
in case that the WUS is received from the BS, determining whether the detected WUS triggers activation of a main radio (MR); ([0043] Fig. 3, A base station can transmit a WUS to a UE , WUS can be a wake-up signal for the UE 304, which can be detected by the UE with a low- power receiver, , the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
and determining whether to transmit an uplink signal based ([0095]Fig. 10, At 1008, the method can include the main radio of the UE performing transmitting or receiving based on being in the awake state.)
on whether the detected WUS triggers the activation of the MR. ([0045] Fig. 3, the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
As to claim 3. Ye teaches wherein, in case that the MR is in an active state, the uplink signal is transmitted. ([0064][0066] Fig. 4, transition from WUS monitoring (sleep state to awake state on a trigger for causing the UE 404 to transition from a WUS monitoring state (e.g., sleep state) to a regular operation (e.g., awake state, the UE 404 can transition from WUS monitoring to regular operation if it needs to transmit or receive to perform semi-statically configured DL reception and/or UL transmission)
Claims 8, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 6. Ye teaches A method performed by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a wake-up signal (WUS); );( [0051]) base station can transmit configuration information to the UE configuration information for WUS monitoring to the UE in RRC connected mode)
and transmitting, to the UE, the WUS, wherein whether an uplink signal is received from the UE is identified based on whether the WUS triggers activation of a main radio (MR). ([0043] Fig. 3, A base station can transmit a WUS to a UE , WUS can be a wake-up signal for the UE 304, which can be detected by the UE with a low- power receiver, , the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye and further in view of Xie et al. (CN 119233282 A) hereinafter Xie ; translated copy attached
As to claim 2. Ye teaches , wherein, in case that the MR is in an inactive state and the WUS triggers the activation of the MR, ([0043] Fig. 3, the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
the uplink signal is transmitted, ([0046] Fig. 4, main radio enters a micro/shallow sleep, the UE 404 can report multiple switching gap values, )
Ye does not teach and wherein, in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not transmitted.
Xie teaches and wherein, in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not transmitted. ([0070] [0120] waking up the MR triggered by an event; UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xie with the teaching of Ye because Xie teaches that the UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission, thereby reducing the UE's standby power consumption. (Xie [0120])
Claims 7, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye and further in view of Mozaffari et al. (US 20260089637 A1)hereinafter Mozaffari
As to claim 4. Ye does not teach , wherein, in case that the WUS is not received by a wake-up receiver (WUR), the uplink signal is not transmitted.
Mozaffari teaches wherein, in case that the WUS is not received by a wake-up receiver (WUR), the uplink signal is not transmitted.([0028][0052] a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio , Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on, WUR does not detect WUS, WUS is not present and WUR does not detect it (correct rejection) i.e., no UL transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
Claim 9, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
As to claim 5. Ye does not specifically teach , wherein the configuration information further includes information on an active time of the MR associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX).
Mozaffari teaches wherein the configuration information further includes information on an active time of the MR associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX). ([0027] configured length of wake-up periods, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle; a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
Claims 10, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Claim(s) 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye and further in view of Ye et al. (US 20240098644 A1)hereinafter Ye44
As to claim 11. Ye teaches A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: ([0110] [0117]Fig. 14, The UE 1400 may include processors 1404, RF interface circuitry 1408 may include transceiver circuitry )
receive, from a base station (BS), configuration information associated with a wake-up signal (WUS); );( [0051]) base station can transmit configuration information to the UE configuration information for WUS monitoring to the UE in RRC connected mode)
monitor the WUS based on the configuration information; ([0051][0052] UE monitors WUS based on configuration information)
in case that the WUS is received from the BS, ([0041If the UE receives a wake up indication (e.g., receives a WUS), the UE can wake up and monitor the PDCCH during an upcoming CDRX on duration)
identify whether the detected WUS triggers activation of a main radio (MR) ([0043][0058] Fig. 3, Fig. 4, low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal trigger to awaken the UE's main radio 308; The UE 404 can use the UE ID or group identifier to determine whether a detected WUS is intended for the UE 404)
Ye does not teach and identify whether to transmit an uplink signal based on the identification.
Ye44 teaches and identify whether to transmit an uplink signal based on the identification. ([0150] receiving a trigger to a state transition, wherein the state transition is from a sleep state to an awake state; wherein the UE is to transmit and receive by a main radio of the UE in the awake state)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Ye44 with the teaching of Ye because Ye44 teaches that he main radio of the UE can communicate with the base station in the awake state and, from time to time, fall back into the sleep state thereby conserve power.(Ye44[0019])
As to claim 13. The combination of Ye and Ye44 specifically Ye teaches, wherein, in case that the MR is in an active state, the uplink signal is transmitted. ([0064][0066] Fig. 4, transition from WUS monitoring (sleep state to awake state on a trigger for causing the UE 404 to transition from a WUS monitoring state (e.g., sleep state) to a regular operation (e.g., awake state, the UE 404 can transition from WUS monitoring to regular operation if it needs to transmit or receive to perform semi-statically configured DL reception and/or UL transmission)
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye, Ye44 and further in view of Xie et al. (CN 119233282 A) hereinafter Xie
As to claim 12. The combination of Ye and Ye44 specifically Ye teaches wherein, in case that the MR is in an inactive state and the WUS triggers the activation of the MR, ([0043] Fig. 3, the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
the uplink signal is transmitted, ([0046] Fig. 4, main radio enters a micro/shallow sleep, the UE 404 can report multiple switching gap values, )
Ye does not teach and wherein, in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not transmitted.
Xie teaches and wherein, in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not transmitted. ([0070] [0120] waking up the MR triggered by an event; UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xie with the teaching of Ye because Xie teaches that the UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission, thereby reducing the UE's standby power consumption. (Xie [0120])
Claim(s) 14 , 15, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye, Ye44 and further in view of Mozaffari
As to claim 14. The combination of Ye and Ye44 does not teach , wherein, in case that the WUS is not received by a wake-up receiver (WUR), the uplink signal is not transmitted.
Mozaffari teaches wherein, in case that the WUS is not received by a wake-up receiver (WUR), the uplink signal is not transmitted.([0028][0052] a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio , Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on, WUR does not detect WUS, WUS is not present and WUR does not detect it (correct rejection) i.e., no UL transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye and Ye44 because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
As to claim 15. The combination of Ye and Ye44 does not teach wherein the configuration information further includes information on active time of the MR associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX).
Mozaffari teaches wherein the configuration information further includes information on active time of the MR associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX). ([0027] configured length of wake-up periods, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle; a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
As to claim 16. Ye teaches and transmit, to the UE, the WUS, wherein whether an uplink signal is received from the UE is identified based on whether the WUS triggers activation of a main radio (MR). ([0043] Fig. 3, A base station can transmit a WUS to a UE , WUS can be a wake-up signal for the UE 304, which can be detected by the UE with a low- power receiver, , the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
Ye does not teach A base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a wake-up signal (WUS);
Mozaffari teaches A base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller coupled with the transceiver and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), configuration information associated with a wake-up signal (WUS); ([0169] Fig. 14, a network node 16,one or more of processing circuitry 68 (including the configuration unit 32), processor 70, radio interface 62 and/or communication interface 60, configured to configure (Block S144) the wireless device according to a wake-up signal, WUS,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
As to claim 18. The combination of Ye and Mozaffari specifically Ye teaches wherein, in case that the MR is in an active state, the uplink signal is received. ([0064][0066] Fig. 4, transition from WUS monitoring (sleep state to awake state on a trigger for causing the UE 404 to transition from a WUS monitoring state (e.g., sleep state) to a regular operation (e.g., awake state, the UE 404 can transition from WUS monitoring to regular operation if it needs to transmit or receive to perform semi-statically configured DL reception and/or UL transmission)
As to claim 19. The combination of Ye and Mozaffari specifically Mozaffari teaches , wherein, in case that the WUS is not received by a wake-up receiver (WUR), the uplink signal is not received. .([0028][0052] a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio , Main radio works for data transmission and reception, which can be turned off or set to deep sleep unless it is turned on, WUR does not detect WUS, WUS is not present and WUR does not detect it (correct rejection) i.e., no UL transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
As to claim 20. The combination of Ye and Mozaffari specifically Mozaffari teaches, wherein the configuration information further includes information on an active time of the MR associated with a discontinuous reception (DRX). ([0027] configured length of wake-up periods, UEs need to periodically wake up once per DRX cycle; a wake-up signal to trigger the main radio )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Mozaffari with the teaching of Ye because Mozaffari teaches that WUR needed to be always ON to continuously monitor for downlink transmissions (e.g., WUS), average power consumption can be reduced by relaxing latency and allowing the WUR to go to sleep modes.(Mozaffari [0048])
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye, Mozaffari, and further in view of Xie et al. (CN 119233282 A) hereinafter Xie
As to claim 17. The combination of Ye and Mozaffari specifically Ye teaches , wherein, in case that the MR is in an inactive state and the WUS triggers the activation of the MR, ([0043] Fig. 3, the low-power radio 306 can detect the WUS and send an interrupt signal to awaken the UE’s main radio 308. the trigger for the UE 304 to transition the main radio from a sleep state to an awake state is the WUS,)
the uplink signal is received, , ([0046] Fig. 4, main radio enters a micro/shallow sleep, the UE 404 can report multiple switching gap values, )
Ye does not teach wherein, in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not received.
Xie teaches in case that the MR is in the inactive state and the WUS does not trigger the activation of the MR, the uplink signal is not received. ([0070] [0120] waking up the MR triggered by an event; UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Xie with the teaching of Ye because Xie teaches that the UE's main radio (MR) can remain off or in sleep mode when there is no data/service transmission, thereby reducing the UE's standby power consumption. (Xie [0120])
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TIIROLA; Esa Tapani et al. [US 20240107451 A1] Signalling for Activating Usage of Radio Resources
WEITZMAN; Avi et al. [US 20190394728 A1] APPARATUS AND METHOD FOR COMMUNICATIONS
LIU; Jianhan et al. [US 20180184379 A1] MULTI-USER (MU) WAKE-UP SIGNAL TRANSMISSION BY USING FDMA SCHEME IN WLAN
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413