DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-15 and 21-25, in the reply filed on May 04, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 do not use “means for “(or “step for”) language, or generic placeholders for “means” coupled with functional language without recitation of sufficient structure for carrying out the claimed functions and therefore do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 8, 12, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Vitale et al. (US-2021/0111210-A1).
[Claim 6]
Regarding claim 6, Vitale ‘210 teaches an image capture apparatus comprising( Vitale ‘210, Figure 1A, image capture device 100):
a front housing (Vitale ‘210, in Figure 2A describes a front housing 250 defining a front opening (Vitale ‘210, Figure 2A, a lens opening 250e),
a front mounting member (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5C, teaches a tubular flange 550e located within the front opening (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5C, front opening 250e);
a front integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5A, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) 147a), mechanically connected to and extending through the front mounting member (Vitale ‘210, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA), the front ISLA 147a extends at least partly through the tubular flange 550e, paragraph 0105);
a front internal heat sink (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5, chassis 756) connected to the front housing(Vitale ‘210, the chassis 754 includes a front chassis 756 is positioned within the internal compartment 251 of the image capture device 100′ and supports several of the electronic components 120 (e.g., the processing apparatus 124) therein and also functions as a heat sink to dissipate heat from the electronic components 120, paragraph 0124) ;
a rear housing (Vitale ‘210 ‘536, rear housing 252, Figure 5A) defining a rear opening (Vitale ‘210, a rear lens opening 252d) and connected to the front housing so as to form a watertight seal therebetween (Vitale ‘210, teaches the image capture device 100′ is generally formed by a housing 249 that includes a front housing 250 and rear housing 252 that are coupled to each other and define an internal compartment 251, , paragraph 0091) ;
a rear mounting member (Vitale ‘210, Figure 2B rear tubular flange 252f) located within the rear opening (Vitale ‘210, extends at least partly through the tubular flange, paragraph 0113) ;
a rear ISLA (Vitale ‘210, a rear ISLA 147b) extending through the rear mounting member such that the image capture apparatus is devoid of any direct connection between the rear mounting member and the rear ISLA; and
a rear internal heat sink ( Vitale ‘210, Figure 7A, rear chassis 758) connected to the rear housing (Vitale ‘210, a rearward surface of the rear chassis 758 is positioned adjacent, and may further engage, a forward (i.e., inner) surface of the rear housing 252. The rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 may further include mating features that engage each other for alignment of the rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 during and after assembly, paragraph 0129) ,
[Claim 8]
Regarding claim 8, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 6, wherein
the front ISLA includes a front seal configured for engagement with the front mounting member to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture apparatus through the front housing and/or through the front mounting member (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figures 5A-5E front housing 250 also includes the lens opening 250e, which may also be referred to as the front lens opening. The lens opening 250e is sealed with the front ISLA 147a with a seal 550f (e.g., an O-ring) arranged therebetween, paragraph 0103), and wherein
the rear ISLA includes a rear seal configured for engagement with the rear mounting member to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture apparatus through the rear housing and/or through the rear mounting member (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figures 2A-2C The rear ISLA 147b extends at least partly through the tubular flange 252f with a seal (e.g., an O-ring; see seal 552g in FIG. 5D) arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 252f and the outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c of the rear ISLA 147b, thereby sealing the rear ISLA 147b to the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113.
[Claim 12]
Regarding claim 12, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 6, wherein the front internal heat sink and the rear internal heat sink are mechanically connected to the front housing (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 7A a chassis 754 that may also be referred to as a heat sink. The chassis 754 includes a includes a front chassis 756 (i.e. front heat sink) and a rear chassis 758 (i.e. rear heat sink) and the front chassis 756 generally is generally L-shaped and includes a front portion 756a and a bottom portion 756b. The rear chassis 758 is also generally L-shaped includes a rear portion 758a and a bottom portion 758b. The rear portion 758a of the rear chassis 758 is spaced apart from the front portion 756a of the front chassis 756, while the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 overlaps and engages the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756. As a result, the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 cooperatively from the U-shape of the chassis 754. The chassis 754 is more rigid than the housing 249, for example, with the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 being formed of material (e.g., cast aluminum) that is stiffer than material forming the front housing 250 and the rear housing 252 (e.g., polycarbonate and/or thermoplastic elastomer), paragraph 0125. Furthermore, Vitale ‘210 , further teaches the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 overlaps and engages the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756. For example, as shown, a lower surface of the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 may be positioned above and engage an upper surface of the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756, paragraph 0131.
[Claim 21]
Regarding claim 21 Vitale ‘210 teaches an image capture apparatus comprising ( Vitale ‘210, Figure 1A, image capture device 100):
a front housing (Vitale ‘210, in Figure 2A describes a front housing 250);
a front mounting member connected to the front housing (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5C, teaches a
tubular flange 550e of the front housing, paragraph 0105);
a front integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) extending through the front mounting member
(Vitale ‘210, Figure 5A, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) 147a. Vitale ‘210, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA), the front ISLA 147a extends at least partly through the tubular flange 550e, paragraph 0105;
a front heat sink connected to the front housing (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5, chassis 756. Vitale ‘210,
the chassis 754 includes a front chassis 756 is positioned within the internal compartment 251 of the image capture device 100’, therein and also functions as a heat sink to dissipate heat from the electronic components 120, paragraph 0124) ;
a rear housing connected to the front housing (Vitale ‘210 ‘536, rear housing 252, Figure 5A.
Vitale ‘210, further teaches c of the image capture device 100′ is generally formed by a housing 249 that includes a front housing 250 and rear housing 252 that are coupled to each other and define an internal compartment 251, paragraph 0091 )
a rear mounting member connected to the rear housing (Vitale ‘210, Figure 2B rear tubular
flange 252f. Vitale ‘210 further teaches the rear housing 252 also includes the rear lens opening 252d, which may be referred to as the rear lens opening. The rear lens opening 252d is sealed with the rear ISLA 147b generally as described above with respect to the lens opening 250e of the front housing 250 being sealed with the front ISLA 147a. The rear lens opening 252d of the rear housing 252 may be configured generally as described above for the lens opening 250e of the front housing 250. The rear lens opening 252d is defined by a tubular flange 252f that, as shown, may protrude rearward from a primary surface of the rear side 140d of the body 140 (e.g., as formed by the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113)
a rear ISLA extending through the rear mounting member (Vitale ‘210 teaches a rear ISLA 147b extends at least partly through the tubular flange 252f with a seal (e.g., an O-ring; see seal 552g in FIG. 5D) arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 252f and the outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c of the rear ISLA 147b, thereby sealing the rear ISLA 147b to the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113); and
a rear heat sink connected to the rear housing (Vitale ‘210, Figure rear chassis 758. Vitale further
teaches a rearward surface of the rear chassis 758 is positioned adjacent, and may further engage, a forward (i.e., inner) surface of the rear housing 252. The rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 may further include mating features that engage each other for alignment of the rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 during and after assembly, paragraph 0129.
[Claim 22]
Regarding claim 22, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 21, wherein the image capture apparatus is devoid of any direct connection between the rear mounting member and the rear ISLA, (Vitale ‘210 teaches a tubular flange 252f (i.e. rear mounting device) that is part of the rear lens opening 252d. The rear ISLA 147b is a separate structure and it extends at least partly through the tubular flange 252f with a seal (e.g. an O-ring ) arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 252f and the outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c of the rear ISLA 147b, thereby sealing the rear ISLA 147b to the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113. Therefore, the tubular flange 252f and the rear ISLA 147b have no direct connection between them.
[Claim 23]
Regarding claim 23, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 22, wherein the front heat sink and the rear heat sink are located internally within the image capture apparatus, (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 7A a chassis 754 that may also be referred to as a heat sink. The chassis 754 includes a includes a front chassis 756 (i.e. front heat sink) and a rear chassis 758 (i.e. rear heat sink) and the front chassis 756 generally is generally L-shaped and includes a front portion 756a and a bottom portion 756b. The rear chassis 758 is also generally L-shaped includes a rear portion 758a and a bottom portion 758b. The rear portion 758a of the rear chassis 758 is spaced apart from the front portion 756a of the front chassis 756, while the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 overlaps and engages the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756. As a result, the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 cooperatively from the U-shape of the chassis 754. The chassis 754 is more rigid than the housing 249, for example, with the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 being formed of material (e.g., cast aluminum) that is stiffer than material forming the front housing 250 and the rear housing 252 (e.g., polycarbonate and/or thermoplastic elastomer), paragraph 0125. Furthermore, Vitale ‘210 , further teaches the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 overlaps and engages the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756. For example, as shown, a lower surface of the bottom portion 758b of the rear chassis 758 may be positioned above and engage an upper surface of the bottom portion 756b of the front chassis 756, paragraph 0131. Vitale ‘210 further teaches that the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 are located internally inside the image capture apparatus 100 shown in Figure 7A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/0111210-A1), in view of Nho et al. (US 2022/0345802-A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2002/0329678-A1)
[Claim 1]
Regarding claim 1, Vitale ‘210 teaches an image capture apparatus (Vitale ‘210, Figure 4, image capture device 100) comprising:
a front housing (Vitale ‘210, Figure 4, front housing assembly 400) defining a front opening (Vitale ‘210, Figure 4, first opening 412) and a front window (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5, window 812) spaced vertically from the front opening, wherein the front housing includes:
a front mounting member connected to the front housing and located within the front opening (Vitale ‘210, teaches in FIGS. 4-6, Initially, the mounting structure 500 is (externally) connected to the front housing portion 402 via the mechanical fasteners 438, which are inserted rearwardly, paragraph 01016);
a front integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) that extends through and is mechanically connected to the front mounting member and mechanically connected thereto (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5A, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA) 147a), mechanically connected to and extending through the front mounting member (Vitale ‘210, an integrated sensor-lens assembly (ISLA), the front ISLA 147a extends at least partly through the tubular flange 550e, paragraph 0105);
a rear housing defining a rear opening and a relief spaced vertically from the rear opening, wherein the rear housing is connected to the front housing so as to form a watertight seal therebetween, ((Vitale ‘210, rear housing 252, Figure 5A, Vitale ‘210, further teaches the image capture device 100′ is generally formed by a housing 249 that includes a front housing 250 and rear housing 252 that are coupled to each other and define an internal compartment 251, paragraph 0091), Vitale ‘210 further teaches in Figures 2A-2C, the rear housing 252 is coupled to the rear end of the front housing 250 to form a seal therebetween. The rear housing defines a rear opening 252d that is vertically spaced as shown in Figure 2A and is defined with a circular indentation (i.e. relief). The rear housing 252 includes an adhesive channel 252a that extends around a forward periphery of the rear housing 252 and receives an adhesive (e.g., epoxy; not shown) and the rear end (e.g., a rear flange 250h) of the front housing 250 therein, paragraph 0109.
a rear mounting member (Vitale ‘210, Figure 2B rear tubular flange 252f) connected to the rear housing and located within the rear opening (Vitale ‘210, teaches I Figure 5D, the rear housing 252 also includes the rear lens opening 252d, which may be referred to as the rear lens opening. extends at least partly through the tubular flange, paragraph 0113. Vitale ‘210 further teaches the rear lens opening 252d is defined by a tubular flange 252f that, as shown, may protrude rearward from a primary surface of the rear side 140d of the body 140 (e.g., as formed by the rear housing 252), paragraph 0113), and
a rear ISLA extending through the rear mounting member such that the image capture apparatus is devoid of any direct connection between the rear mounting member and the rear ISLA (Vitale ‘210 Vitale ‘210 teaches a tubular flange 252f (i.e. rear mounting device) that is part of the rear lens opening 252d. The rear ISLA 147b is a separate structure and it extends at least partly through the tubular flange 252f with a seal (e.g. an O-ring ) arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 252f and the outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c of the rear ISLA 147b, thereby sealing the rear ISLA 147b to the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113. Therefore, the tubular flange 252f and the rear ISLA 147b is devoid of any direct connection.
Vitale ‘210 do not teach an antenna mount configured for connection to a first antenna;
a first locating member configured for engagement with the first antenna to guide the first antenna during connection to the front housing
a pocket configured to receive a second antenna;
a second locating member configured for engagement with the second antenna to guide the second antenna during connection to the front housing;
Zhang et al. teaches a handheld electronic device 1400, that includes an antenna array 1466 (i.e. first antenna). Zhang further teaches a side wall of the housing member 1409 (i.e. antenna mount) may be configured to function as a waveguide for guiding electromagnetic signals to and from the antenna array 1466. The waveguide may be defined by a passage or hole 1459 (i.e. a first locating member) through the side wall of the housing member 1409. The passage 1459 may be defined in part by walls that extend from an exterior side surface of the side wall of the housing member 1409 to an interior surface of the housing member 1409, paragraph 0341).
Zhang further teaches a second side-fired millimeter-wave antenna 1434 (i.e. a second antenna) of the device 1400. The side-fired antenna 1434 (also referred to as an antenna module) is secured to an interior of the housing 1450 (FIG. 14A) (i.e. a pocket to receive a second antenna) of the device 1400 (e.g., to the housing member 1407), and is configured to transmit and receive electromagnetic signals through one or more openings 1457 (i.e. a second locating member) in the side wall of the housing member 1409. The openings 1457 may extend through the side wall of the housing member 1409 and may at least partially define an antenna window for the side-fired antenna 1434, paragraph 0338.
Zhang teaches the use of multiple antennas to provide wireless communications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 and Vitale ‘506 with Zhang to include plurality of antennas for wireless communication.
Vitale ‘210 and Zhang do not teach a speaker assembly connected to an inner side wall of the front housing, wherein the speaker assembly includes:
a speaker; and
a mounting bracket defining:
at least one aperture; and
at least one opening configured to receive at least one mechanical fastener,
at least one alignment member configured for insertion into the at least one aperture in the mounting bracket to guide the mounting bracket during connection of the speaker assembly to the front housing
at least one boss configured to receive the at least one mechanical fastener to thereby connect the speaker assembly to the front housing.
Nho teaches an apparatus for mounting a speaker module 200 that includes a bracket 207, the bracket 207 includes a screw through-hole 211 (i.e. one opening) to fix to the casing frame of the portable terminal using a screw (i.e. one mechanical fastener), paragraph 0031. Nho further teaches the housing 206 includes a coupling part (i.e. alignment member) for fixing to the casing frame of the terminal as illustrates in Figure 3. For example, the coupling part can use a bracket 207 extended and protruded from either side of the housing 206. Instead of the screw in the coupling part, its own shaped structure can be used. For example, the coupling part can be formed as a hook to lock into a groove of the casing frame in a snap-fit structure, paragraphs 0031-0032. Nho further teaches in Figure 4, a second aperture 211 to the right in the mounting bracket 207 that uses a boss in the casing frame 401 to use a mechanical fastener as shown in Figure 4 that connects the speaker module to the housing 206.
Nho teaches of building a speaker module 200 that is securely fixed to the casting frame. By including the speaking mounting space of the terminal casing frame, a sufficient installation space for the speaker module is ensured which contributes to the enhanced performance of the speaker module, paragraph 0036.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 and Zhang with Nho with the motivation to provide a sufficient installation space for the speaker module is ensured which contributes to the enhanced performance of the speaker module, paragraph 0036.
[Claim 2]
Regarding claim 2, Vital ‘210 in view of Nho and further in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1,
Vitale ‘210, in view of Kim do not teach wherein the front
mounting member is adhesively connected to the front housing, and wherein the rear mounting member is adhesively connected to the rear housing.
Vitale ‘210 in view of Vital ‘536 and further in view of Kim teach a front/rear mounting members connected to a front/rear housings but does not teach how the connections is made.
Zhang teaches a handheld electronic device that includes a mounting bracket 925 and a housing 921 in Figure 9B, where the housing 921 may be coupled to a mounting bracket 925 (e.g., via adhesive, welding, soldering, brazing, fasteners, or the like). The mounting bracket 925 may be attached to the interior surface of the cover 929, such as via adhesive 927, fasteners, or the like, paragraph 0227.
Zhang teaches connecting a front mounting bracket and a front housing using the adhesive the adhesive 927 inhibit ingress of dust or other contaminants into the housing 921 and prevent light from the display 926 (or other light sources) from entering the lens assembly 923 and potentially negatively affecting images captured by the camera or otherwise interfering with the operation of the camera, paragraph 0228.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210, Vitale ‘536 and Kim with Zhang with the motivation that adhesive 927 inhibit ingress of dust or other contaminants into the housing 921 and prevent light from the display 926 (or other light sources) from entering the lens assembly 923 and potentially negatively affecting images captured by the camera or otherwise interfering with the operation of the camera, paragraph 0228.
[Claim 3]
Regarding claim 3, Vital ‘210 in view of Nho and further in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
Additionally, Vital ‘210 teaches a front internal heat sink(Vital ‘210, Figure 5, chassis 756) connected to the front housing (Vitale ‘210 the chassis 754 includes a front chassis 756 is positioned within the internal compartment 251 of the image capture device 100′ and supports several of the electronic components 120 (e.g., the processing apparatus 124) therein and also functions as a heat sink to dissipate heat from the electronic components 120, paragraph 0124); and
a rear internal heat sink (Vitale ‘210 Figure 5 rear chassis 758) connected to the rear housing (Vitale ‘210, a rearward surface of the rear chassis 758 is positioned adjacent, and may further engage, a forward (i.e., inner) surface of the rear housing 252. The rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 may further include mating features that engage each other for alignment of the rear housing 252 and the rear chassis 758 during and after assembly, paragraph 0129),
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/011210-A1), in view of Nho et al. (US 2022/0345802-A1) and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2002/0329678-A1) and further in view of Diep et al. ( US 2013/0050943 A1)
[Claim 4]
Regarding claim 4, Vital ‘210 in view of Nho and further in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 3,
Vitale ‘210, in view of Nho and further in view of Zhang, do not teach wherein the front internal heat sink is heat staked to the front housing, and wherein the rear internal heat sink is heat staked to the rear housing.
Vitale ‘210 in view of Kim teach a front/rear mounting members connected to a front/rear housings but does not teach how the connections is made.
Diep teaches in Figures 2 and 3, an electronic device 10 with a housing 12 and a heat sink 18. Diep further teaches heat sink structures 18 to attach (heat stake) heat sink structures 18 to housing 12B. The presence of an internal cavity within the protruding cylindrical portion 30 of support structures 16 may help to reduce thermal transfer between heat sink 18 and housing 12B. In the absence of cavity 32, heat might be transferred from heat sink 18 to location 35 of housing 12B so effectively that location 35 of housing 12B might exhibit an unsightly heat-induced depression (sink mark), paragraph 0025.
Diep teaches heat staking process to connect a heat sink with a housing using heat stake so that the Localized thermal transfer between heat sink structures 18 and housing 12B can also be minimized by minimizing the footprint of shoulder portions 28 of support structures 16, paragraph 0026.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 and Vital 536 and Kim with Diep to use heat stake to connect a front/rear heat sinks with the front/rear housings with the motivation to minimize localized thermal transfer between the heat sink structures 18 and housing 12B.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/011210-A1), in view of Nho et al. (US 2022/0345802-A1) , in view of Zhang et al. (US 2002/0329678-A1) in view of Diep et al. ( US 2013/0050943 A1) and further in view of Tessnow et al. (US-2018/0142861-A1)
[Claim 5]
Regarding claim 5, Vitale ‘210, in view of Nho, and further in view of Zhang teach all the limitations of claim 3,
Vitale ‘210 in view of Nho, in view of Zhang and further in view of Diep do not teach, further comprising:
mechanical fasteners extending through the front housing, through the front internal heat sink, and into threaded engagement with the rear internal heat sink,
Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figures 7A-7D, the image capture device 100′ includes a chassis 754, which may also be referred to as a heat sink, paragraph 0124. The chassis 754 is comprised of a front chassis 756 (i.e. a front heat sink) and a second chassis 758 (i.e. rear heat sink). Vitale ‘210 further teaches the chassis 754 is more rigid than the housing 249, for example, with the front chassis 756 and the rear chassis 758 being formed of material (e.g., cast aluminum) that is stiffer than material forming the front housing 250 and the rear housing 252 (e.g., polycarbonate and/or thermoplastic elastomer), paragraph 0125. Vitale ‘210 in view of Nho and further in view of Diep do not teach mechanical fasteners extending through the front housing, through the front internal heat sink, and into threaded engagement with the rear internal heat sink,
Tessnow teaches a Lamp module cooling system 10 In Figure 1, that includes a first heat sink 2, and a second heat sink 20. Tessnow further teaches in a preferred embodiment fan 40 is coupled to housing 30 (i.e. front housing) in which it is securely held at a rearward cavity region 34 thereof, housing 30 being attached by bolts 18 (i.e. mechanical fasteners) to hold first and second heat sinks 2, 20, paragraph 0027.
Tessnow provides a mechanism where two heat sinks are connected and because of the simplicity of joining the two pieces by drilling simple through-holes in each extruded heat sink to receive bolts, whereby two bolts join the two heat sinks together and to a housing, further reducing the manufacturing cost of the module, paragraph 0019.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 , Nho and Zhang with Tessnow with motivation to connecting two heatsinks together and to a housing, further reducing manufacturing cost of the module, paragraph 0019.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/0111210-A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US-2022/0329678-A1)
[Claim 7]
Regarding claim 7, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 6,
Vitale ‘210, does not teach wherein the front mounting member is adhesively connected to the front housing, and wherein the rear mounting member is adhesively connected to the rear housing.
Vitale ‘210 teaches a front/rear mounting members connected to a front/rear housings but does not teach how the connections is made.
Zhang teaches a handheld electronic device that includes a mounting bracket 925 and a housing 921 in Figure 9B, where the housing 921 may be coupled to a mounting bracket 925 (e.g., via adhesive, welding, soldering, brazing, fasteners, or the like). The mounting bracket 925 may be attached to the interior surface of the cover 929, such as via adhesive 927, fasteners, or the like, paragraph 0227.
Zhang teaches connecting a front mounting bracket and a front housing using the adhesive the adhesive 927 inhibit ingress of dust or other contaminants into the housing 921 and prevent light from the display 926 (or other light sources) from entering the lens assembly 923 and potentially negatively affecting images captured by the camera or otherwise interfering with the operation of the camera, paragraph 0228.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210, Vitale ‘536 and Kim with Zhang with the motivation that adhesive 927 inhibit ingress of dust or other contaminants into the housing 921 and prevent light from the display 926 (or other light sources) from entering the lens assembly 923 and potentially negatively affecting images captured by the camera or otherwise interfering with the operation of the camera, paragraph 0228.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US 2021/0111210-A1), in view of Kim et al. (US-2022/0345802-A1)
[Claim 9]
Regarding claim 9, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
a speaker assembly connected to an inner side wall of the front housing (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 1B one of more speakers 136)
However, Vitale ‘210 does not teach a speaker assembly connected to an inner side wall of the front housing.
Kim teaches in Figure 3, an electronic device 200 that includes a speaker module 245. Kim further teaches the speaker module 245 may be positioned inside the wearing member 203 in correspondence with the ear of the user, paragraph 0076.
Kim teaches an electronic device where a speaker module is placed in an inner side as shown in Figure 3, where the speaker module 245 is placed in the inner side of the wearing member 203b. Kim further teaches installing a speaker in a tight and narrow space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 with Kim with the motivation to implement speaker assemblies in a narrow space.
[Claim 10]
Regarding claim 10, Vitale ‘210 in view of Kim teaches all the limitations of claim 9, wherein the speaker assembly includes:
a speaker; and a mounting bracket supporting the speaker.
Vitale ‘210 does not teach a speaker; and a mounting bracket supporting the speaker.
Kim teaches in Figure 3, an electronic device 200 that includes a speaker module 245 and a wearing member 203. Kim further teaches there is provided an electronic device having a speaker module mounting structure mounted in a narrow space, while ensuring the size of a speaker module as much as possible by sealing a bracket included in the speaker module and housing(s) surrounding the speaker module, paragraph 0023. Kim further teaches in Figure 5, the speaker module mounting structure may include the upper case 530, the lower case 540, a speaker 510, a bracket 520.
Kim teaches an electronic device where a speaker module is placed in an inner side as shown in Figure 3, where the speaker module 245 is placed in the inner side of the wearing member 203b. Kim further teaches installing a speaker in a tight and narrow space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 with Kim with the motivation to implement speaker assemblies in a narrow space.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US 2021/0111210-A1), in view of Kim et al. (US-2022/0345802-A1) and further in view of Nho et al. (US- 2009/0034777-A1)
[Claim 11]
Regarding claim 11, Vitale ‘210 in view of Kim teach all the limitations of claim 10,
Vitale ‘210 in view of Kim do not teach wherein the front housing includes:
at least one alignment member extending from the inner side wall and configured for insertion into the mounting bracket to guide the speaker assembly during connection to the front housing; and
at least one boss extending from the inner side wall and configured to receive at least one mechanical fastener such that the at least one mechanical fastener extends through the mounting bracket and into the at least one boss to thereby connect the speaker assembly to the front housing.
Nho teaches an apparatus for mounting a speaker module 200 that includes a bracket 207, the bracket 207 includes a screw through-hole 211 (i.e. one opening) to fix to the casing frame of the portable terminal using a screw (i.e. one mechanical fastener), paragraph 0031. Nho further teaches the housing 206 includes a coupling part (i.e. alignment member) for fixing to the casing frame of the terminal as illustrates in Figure 3. For example, the coupling part can use a bracket 207 extended and protruded from either side of the housing 206. Instead of the screw in the coupling part, its own shaped structure can be used. For example, the coupling part can be formed as a hook to lock into a groove of the casing frame in a snap-fit structure, paragraphs 0031-0032. Nho further teaches in Figure 4, a second aperture 211 to the right in the mounting bracket 207 that uses a boss in the casing frame 401 to use a mechanical fastener as shown in Figure 4 that connects the speaker module to the housing 206.
Nho teaches of building a speaker module 200 that is securely fixed to the casting frame. By including the speaking mounting space of the terminal casing frame, a sufficient installation space for the speaker module is ensured which contributes to the enhanced performance of the speaker module, paragraph 0036.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 with Nho with the motivation to provide a sufficient installation space for the speaker module is ensured which contributes to the enhanced performance of the speaker module, paragraph 0036.
Claim 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/011210-A1), and further in view of Tessnow et al. (US 2018/0142861 A1)
[Claim 13]
Regarding claim 13, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 12, wherein
the front internal heat sink includes first apertures, (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 7A the front chassis 756 includes alignment apertures 756c, paragraph 0126),
the rear internal heat sink includes second apertures (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 7A, the rear chassis 758 includes alignment apertures 758c, paragraph 0129) and
the front housing includes third apertures (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figure 7A a third aperture 758c) , and wherein
the first apertures, the second apertures, and the third apertures are configured to receive mechanical fasteners (Vitale ‘210 teaches the front chassis 756 includes alignment apertures 756c that receive the alignment bosses 650i therein and, thereby, align the front chassis 756 to the front housing 250 and prevent relative movement therebetween, paragraph 0126)
Vitale ‘210 does not teach the first apertures, the second apertures, and the third apertures are configured to receive mechanical fasteners such that the mechanical fasteners extend through the front housing, through the front internal heat sink, and into threaded engagement with the rear internal heat sink.
Tessnow teaches a Lamp module cooling system 10 In Figure 1, that includes a first heat sink 2, and a second heat sink 20. Tessnow further teaches in a preferred embodiment fan 40 is coupled to housing 30 (i.e. front housing) in which it is securely held at a rearward cavity region 34 thereof, housing 30 being attached by bolts 18 (i.e. mechanical fasteners) to hold first and second heat sinks 2, 20, paragraph 0027.
Tessnow provides a mechanism where two heat sinks are connected and because of the simplicity of joining the two pieces by drilling simple through-holes in each extruded heat sink to receive bolts, whereby two bolts join the two heat sinks together and to a housing, further reducing the manufacturing cost of the module, paragraph 0019.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 with Tessnow with motivation to connecting two heatsinks together and to a housing, further reducing manufacturing cost of the module, paragraph 0019.
[Claim 14]
Regarding claim 14, Vitale ‘210 in view of Tessnow teach all the limitations of claim 13,
Vitale ‘210 in view of Tessnow do not teach further comprising: an interconnect mechanism configured for engagement with an accessory to thereby connect the image capture apparatus to the accessory.
Additionally, Vitale ‘210 teaches a mount 870 (i.e. interconnect mechanism) is coupled to the body 140 and, in particular, to the chassis 754 (i.e. heat sink) paragraph 0141. Vitale ‘210 further teaches that by being positively statically connected to the chassis 754 by the threaded fasteners 959c, the mount 870 may be considered indirectly coupled to other components of the image capture device 100′, such as the front housing 250, the rear housing 252, and the electronic components 120. The mount 870 may form a stronger connection to the image capture device 100′ by being coupled to the chassis 754 as opposed to other components of the body 140 (e.g., the rear housing 252 and the front housing cover 150), because the chassis 754 is formed from material having higher stiffness and/or yield strength as described above (e.g., cast aluminum instead of plastic, such as polycarbonate), paragraph 0141. The mount 870 (i.e. interconnect mechanism) functions to removably couple the image capture device 100′ to another device, such as a tripod (i.e. engagement with an accessory and thereby connect the image capture apparatus to that accessory) or other support device 980 (see FIGS. 9A-9B), paragraph 0133.
[Claim 15]
Regarding claim 15, Vital ‘210 in view of Tessnow teach all the limitations of claim 14, wherein the first apertures, the second apertures, and the third apertures are spaced laterally outward of the interconnect mechanism.
Additionally, Vitale ‘210 teaches a first aperture, a second aperture and a third aperture (Vitale ‘210 Figure 7A alignment apertures 756c) are spaced laterally outward at the front portion 756a of the front chassis 756 is generally planar and extends upward along the front side 140a of the image capture device 100′ and may also be referred to as an upright portion, paragraph 0126. The alignment apertures 758c as is shown in FIGS. 2B and 7A, the rear housing 252 includes alignment bosses 252i and the rear chassis 758 includes alignment apertures 758c that receive the alignment bosses 252i therein and, thereby, align the rear chassis 758 to the rear housing 252 and prevent relative movement therebetween, paragraph 0129. The mount 870 is located at the bottom surface of the image capture device 100. As such, the alignment apertures 756c and 758c are spaced laterally (between the front housing 250 and the rear housing 252) and outward to the image capture device and the mount 870.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/011210-A1), in view Vitale ‘506 (US-2024/0073506-A1)
[Claim 24]
Regarding claim 24, Vitale ‘210 teaches all the limitations of claim 23, further comprising:
a front seal (Vitale ‘210, Figure 5C, a seal 550f) engaging the front mounting member to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture apparatus through the front housing and/or through the front mounting member (Vitale ‘210 teaches in Figures 5A-5E front housing 250 also includes the lens opening 250e, which may also be referred to as the front lens opening. The lens opening 250e is sealed with the front ISLA 147a with a seal 550f (e.g., an O-ring) arranged therebetween, paragraph 0103), Vitale ‘210 further teaches the front ISLA 147a extends at least partly through the tubular flange 550e with the seal 550f arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 550e and an outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c, thereby sealing the front ISLA 147a to the front housing 250, paragraph 0105; and
a rear seal engaging the rear mounting member to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture apparatus through the rear housing and/or through the rear mounting member, (Vitale ‘210 further teaches the rear housing 252 also includes the rear lens opening 252d, which may be referred to as the rear lens opening. The rear lens opening 252d is sealed with the rear ISLA 147b generally as described above with respect to the lens opening 250e of the front housing 250 being sealed with the front ISLA 147a. The rear lens opening 252d of the rear housing 252 may be configured generally as described above for the lens opening 250e of the front housing 250. The rear lens opening 252d is defined by a tubular flange 252f that, as shown, may protrude rearward from a primary surface of the rear side 140d of the body 140 (e.g., as formed by the rear housing 252). The rear ISLA 147b extends at least partly through the tubular flange 252f with a seal (e.g., an O-ring; see seal 552g in FIG. 5D) arranged radially between the inner peripheral surface of the tubular flange 252f (i.e. rear mounting device) and the outer peripheral surface of the trim ring 547c of the rear ISLA 147b, thereby sealing the rear ISLA 147b to the rear housing 252, paragraph 0113.
However, Vitale ‘210 does not teach front/rear seal engaged the front/rear mounting member
but does not teach to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture apparatus through the front housing and/or through the front/rear mounting member.
Vitale ’506 teaches a similar image capture device that includes a front housing portion 402 mounting member 800. Vitale ’506 further teaches the seals established between the mounting member 800, the front housing portion 402, and the ISLA 1000 by the sealing members 900, 1100 allow the image capture device 400 to remain watertight upon removal of the cover 500, paragraph 0120. Vitale ‘506 further teaches he sealing member 900 defines a (central) opening 902 that is configured to receive the collar 812 of the mounting member 800 and the ISLA 1000. The sealing member 900 is configured to form a watertight seal between the mounting member 800 and the front housing portion 402 and may include (e.g., may be formed partially or entirely from) any material or combination of materials suitable for this intended purpose, paragraph 0127.
Vitale ‘506 teaches of creating a watertight seal for the image capture device between the front/rear mounting member and the front/rear housing portion to inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture device through the front/rear housing and/or through the front/rear mounting members.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 and with Vitale ‘506 with the motivation to create a watertight seal for the image capture device and inhibit water and/or debris from entering the image capture device.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vitale ‘210, Nicholas (US-2021/011210-A1), in view Vitale ‘506 (US 2024/0073506 A1) and further in view of Kim et al.(US 2022/0345802-A1)
[Claim 25]
Regarding claim 25, Vitale ‘210 in view of Vitale ‘506 teach all the limitations of claim 24,
Vitale ‘210 and Vitale ‘506 don not teach further comprising: a mounting bracket connected to an inner side wall of the front housing; and a speaker supported by the mounting bracket.
Kim teaches in Figure 3, an electronic device 200 that includes a speaker module 245 and a wearing member 203. Kim further teaches there is provided an electronic device having a speaker module mounting structure mounted in a narrow space, while ensuring the size of a speaker module as much as possible by sealing a bracket included in the speaker module and housing(s) surrounding the speaker module, paragraph 0023. Kim further teaches in Figure 5, the speaker module mounting structure may include the upper case 530, the lower case 540, a speaker 510, a bracket 520.
Kim teaches an electronic device where a speaker module is placed in an inner side as shown in Figure 3, where the speaker module 245 is placed in the inner side of the wearing member 203b. Kim further teaches installing a speaker in a tight and narrow space.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vitale ‘210 and Vitale ‘506 with Kim with the motivation to implement speaker assemblies in a narrow space.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following show additional prior art systems/methods for imaging apparatus:
Thomas; Matthew David US-20210397070-A1
Crow; Kielan C. US-20220021795-A1
Brookmire; Michael US-20220124230-A1
Sharma; Monika US-20200351419-A1
Samuels; Rudy Lucas US-20150049243-A1
Miyamoto, Tomofumi US-20040240689-A1
/MEHEDI NMN HASSAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2637
/Timothy J Henn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639