DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 14, 15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bazizi et al. (6093886).
Bazizi et al. discloses a structure (Fig. 6) comprising: a plurality of cables (65) between a lower interconnect assembly (connected to flange 62) and a fanout assembly (connected to flange 61), wherein the fanout assembly is structured such that one or more cables of the plurality of cables fans out radially from an inlet to an edge (at flange 61) of a vacuum tight casing (64) (re-claims 1 and 7). Bazizi et al. also discloses that cables of the plurality of cables comprise substantially similar lengths (re-claim 2); a thermalization assembly which thermally anchors the cables to a cryogenic temperature flange (61 or 62) at one or more temperature stages of a cryogenic refrigerator (re-claims 4 and 7). Bazizi et al. discloses a structure comprising a plurality of cables (65, Fig. 9) between a lower interconnect assembly (connected to flange 62) and a vacuum-tight fanout assembly (connected to flange 61), wherein the vacuum-tight fanout assembly comprises a plurality of feedthrough circuit assemblies (end portions of cable extending out from flange 61, col. 1 lines 55-57, the cable feedthrough device comprises a plurality of stripline cables) (re-claim 14). Bazizi et al. also discloses that a feedthrough circuit assembly comprises an interior portion located within a vacuum space (64) and an exterior portion located outside the vacuum space (portion extending from flange 61) (re-claim 15); the vacuum-tight fanout assembly is structured such that one or more of the cables fans out radially from an inlet (at flange 62) to an edge (at flange 61) of a vacuum-tight casing (64) (re-claim 19).
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dixon et al. (6034324).
Dixon et al. discloses a structure comprising: a plurality of cables (18) between a lower interconnect assembly (48) and a fanout assembly (see Fig. 9), wherein the fanout assembly is structured such that one or more cables of the plurality of cables fans out radially from an inlet to an edge (Fig. 1) of a vacuum tight casing (72, col. 6 lines 24-32, shroud 72 will apply a radial contact pressure between lead 20 and elements 18 thereby locking elements 18 in place within groove 68) (re-claims 1 and 7). Dixon et al. also discloses that cables of the plurality of cables comprise substantially similar lengths (re-claim 2); a thermalization assembly thermally anchors the cables (18) to a cryogenic temperature flange (20, Fig. 9) at one or more temperature stages of a cryogenic refrigerator (re-claims 4 and 7); the thermalization assembly comprises a U-channel bracket (74) and a plurality of thermalization bars (76) within the U-channel bracket, wherein the thermalization bars are interleaved with the cables (re-claim 8); the cables comprise a stripline or a microstrip (re-claim 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bazizi et al.
Claims 3 and 20 additionally recites the cables comprising a plurality of spliced cable segments. Although not disclosed in Bazizi et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the cables of Bazizi et al. to comprise a plurality of spliced cable segments such that any of the damage cable segments can be readily replaced. It has been held that constructing a former integral structure into various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dullberg 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dixon et al.
Claims 3 and 10 additionally recites the cables comprising a plurality of spliced cable segments. Although not disclosed in Dixon et al., it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the cables of Dixon et al. to comprise a plurality of spliced cable segments such that any of the damage cable segments can be readily replaced. It has been held that constructing a former integral structure into various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dullberg 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 11-13, and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841