CTNF 18/917,417 CTNF 96515 DETAILED ACTION This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 10.16.24. In view of this communication, claims 1-20 are now pending in this application. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 1-6,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable in view of Tanaka (US20200243830A1). Regarding Claim 1 , Tanaka discloses (Figs 4,13) a method (method is in structure) for connecting a first busbar (8) to a second busbar (3,3B)(73,73B) without fasteners (Figs 4,13), comprising: stamping [Para 0010 discloses “cutting out parts of the lead wire fixing part 3 B”] the second busbar to form two slots (7A,7B in Fig 4) (7L in Fig 13 will have gap to rest of 73B as some material is lost in cutting process) separating a middle piece (11 in Fig 4)(29B in Fig 13) from prongs (Pr1,Pr2); bending (11b)[Para 0073](29B) the middle piece into a clip (11b,29B); and interposing the first busbar between the clip and the prongs (Figs 4,13) but does not explicitly disclose where contact areas of the first and second busbars are pre-treated with a surface texturing method. Tanaka discloses (Para 0072,0075 discloses importance of friction for locking purpose) the first and second busbars are pre-treated with a surface texturing method (any surface will some texture to it and the time of application can be taken as “pre-treated”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed method of Tanaka with texturing of mating contact surfaces as further taught by Tanaka in order to provide friction force between mating surfaces. PNG media_image1.png 578 664 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 566 678 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 1. Tanaka further discloses wherein stamping includes cutting (Tanaka,Para 0010), punching, or otherwise forming negative space (Fig 4) between the middle piece (11) and each of the prongs (Pr1,Pr2). Regarding Claim 3 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 1. Tanaka further discloses wherein bending (11b) includes plastically deforming (11b does not restore to 11, therefore it is plastically deformed) the middle piece (11) to include two or more segments at non-zero angles with one another (11b in Fig 4 is a continuous curve, therefore multiple segments with non zero angles between start and end of 11). Regarding Claim 4 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 1. Tanaka further discloses wherein interposing the first busbar (Tanaka,8) between the clip (11b) and the prongs (Pr1,Pr2) includes elastically deforming the second busbar (3,3B) by pulling the prongs and the clip away to broaden an opening therebetween [Para 0077 discloses 8 is under tension which will then cause the effect of broadening an opening between 11 and Pr1/Pr2 seen along the plane of 3 but the displacement if any is inherently minimal , therefore elastic]. Regarding Claim 5 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 4. Tanaka further discloses wherein interposing the first busbar (Tanaka,8) between the clip (11b) and the prongs (Pr1,Pr2) further includes aligning the first busbar with the second busbar with parallel lengths and contact areas in face-sharing contact (Fig 4 discloses parallel lengths of 8 and 3B in contact which can be shared faces. Claim is broad and does not have limitations relative to structure of parallel lengths and shared faces in contact). Regarding Claim 6 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 5. Tanaka further discloses wherein interposing the first busbar (Tanaka,8) between the clip (11b) and the prongs (Pr1,Pr2) further includes clamping the first busbar between the clip and the prongs by discontinuing the pulling (In Fig 4, once 8 is in locked position between 11 and Pr1,Pr2, there is no further pulling trying to open 11 relative to Pr1,Pr2. Para 0077 discloses “held at a certain tension” using locking mechanism . Regarding Claim 8 , Tanaka discloses the method of claim 1. Tanaka further discloses (Tanaka, Fig 13) wherein the contact areas include a prong contact (Pr1,Pr2 with 8b) surface of the first busbar (8b) and inner surfaces of the prongs which face the clip (Pr1,Pr2 is facing clip 29B in a direction perpendicular to 73B plane). Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 7,9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 10-20 are allowed. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 7 recites “The method of claim 6, wherein the first busbar and the second busbar are mechanically and electrically coupled via the clamping and friction between the contact areas”. In Tanaka, although mechanical connection is being made in Fig 4 between 8 and 3 via the clamping and friction, the electrical connection is being made at 5. Although Para 0077 discloses, laser welding at 5 is not necessary, it does not explicitly disclose electrical connection at the clamping and locking area because 8b is insulated part of wire 8 . Therefore claim 7 is allowable . Claim 9 recites “The method of claim 1, wherein the surface texturing method is controlled abrasive polishing, electromechanical polishing with masking, laser surface texturing, micro-blasting, or a combination thereof”. Tanaka discloses friction being important for locking in Para 0072,0075 but does not explicitly disclose a specific surface texturing type for both bus bars as per above limitation. Therefore claim 9 is allowable. Claim 10 recites “An assembly, comprising: a first busbar with a prong contact surface and a clip contact surface, the prong contact surface and the clip contact surface facing opposite directions; and a second busbar having prongs integral with a clip, the clip comprising segments including a first segment bent at a first non-zero angle with the prongs and a second segment bent at a second non-zero angle with the first segment, wherein the first busbar is interposed and compressed between the prongs and the clip with the prong contact surface in face-sharing contact with prong inner surfaces of the prongs and the clip contact surface in face-sharing contact with clip inner surfaces of the clip such that the first busbar and the second busbar are removably, electrically, and mechanically coupled without fasteners. Tanaka discloses (Figs 4,13) an assembly, comprising: a first busbar (8) with a prong (Pr1,Pr2) contact surface and a clip (11b,29B) contact surface, the prong contact surface (Pr1,Pr2 surfaces) and the clip contact surface (29Bs) facing opposite directions (Fig 13); and a second busbar (3,3B)(73,73B) having prongs (Pr1,Pr2) integral with a clip (29B), the clip comprising segments including a first segment bent at a first non-zero angle with the prongs and a second segment bent at a second non-zero angle with the first segment (29B in Fig 13 has multiple angles as it is curved), wherein the first busbar (8) is interposed and compressed between the prongs and the clip with the prong contact surface in face-sharing contact with prong inner surfaces of the prongs and the clip contact surface in face-sharing contact with clip inner surfaces of the clip such that the first busbar and the second busbar are removably [Para 0077 discloses welding not mandatory and locking mechanism sufficient), electrically, and mechanically coupled [Para 0077 describes locking mechanism and other ways for electrical termination besides laser welding in Para 0077] without fasteners but does not explicitly disclose electrically coupled via the clamping and locking mechanism similar to Applicant invention. Therefore, claim 10 is allowed. Claims 11-15 are allowed as they are dependent upon claim 10. Claim 16 recites “A vehicle, comprising: an energy storage device; an inverter configured to condition electrical energy in and out of the energy storage device; and an electric machine configured to convert the electrical energy to mechanical energy that is delivered to drive wheels, wherein the electric machine is electrically and mechanically coupled to the inverter via a boltless busbar joint, including: a first busbar; and a second busbar including a clip that is bent and two prongs positioned on either side of the clip, wherein the first busbar is wider than the clip such that the first busbar is in face-sharing contact with both of the prongs and the clip, and wherein the clip is under elastic tension that clamps the first busbar between the prongs and the clip, mechanically and electrically coupling the first busbar with the second busbar”. Claim 16 has similar limitations as claim 10 specifically “mechanically and electrically coupling the first busbar with the second busbar”. Tanaka as stated above does not discloses electrical coupling via the clamping and locking mechanism. Therefore claim 16 is allowed. Claims 17-20 are allowed as they are dependent upon claim 16 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN whose telephone number is (571)272-4814. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M Koehler can be reached at 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/917,417 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834