Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/06/25 and 10/16/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3.) Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 10-11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a1) (a2) as being anticipated by Go et al. (US Pub N.: 2023/0251550A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Go et al. disclose a camera module (An actuator 100 for a camera, Abstract; Paragraphs 0031-0032; Figures 1-4, 7-8) comprising:
a housing having an internal space (The housing 110 has an internal space, Paragraphs 0031-0033; Figures 1-4 and 7-8);
a carrier (AF carrier 120), accommodated in the housing, and configured to move in an optical axis direction, with respect to the housing (The AF carrier 120 may be mounted in the housing 110 to move in the optical axis direction. At this time, the AF carrier 120 may move in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) together with the OIS carrier 130 on which the lens barrel 170 is mounted, Paragraphs 0036-0041; Figures 1-4);
a first frame, accommodated in the carrier, and configured to move in a first axis direction, perpendicular to an optical axis and in a second axis direction, perpendicular to both the optical axis and a first axis, with respect to the carrier (The OIS carrier 130 may be mounted in the AF carrier 120 to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Here, the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction refers to the left and right directions of the lens barrel 170. In FIG. 2, a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates an X-axis direction, and a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates a Y-axis direction. That is, the OIS carrier 130 may move in the X-axis direction or the Y-axis direction, Paragraph 0044; Figures 1-4);
a stopper coupled to the carrier to cover the first frame (The stopper 150 may be disposed above the OIS carrier 130, Paragraph 0055; Figures 1-4 and 7-8);
a case coupled to the housing to cover the internal space (The housing 110 is an external case of the actuator 100 for a camera and may include a base 112 and a cover 114, Paragraphs 0033, 0035; Figures 1-4 and 7-8); and
a damper member provided on the housing and the stopper (The AF damper 180 may mitigate an impact occurring between the AF carrier 120 and the housing 110. Here, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the base 112 of the housing 110. In addition, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the cover 114 of the housing 110. For example, the AF damper 180 may be provided in the stopper 150. Here, the AF damper 180 may include a first AF damper 181, a second AF damper 182, and a third AF damper 183, Paragraphs 0063-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8),
wherein the damper member comprises a first damper member, a second damper member, and a third damper member (The AF damper 180 may mitigate an impact occurring between the AF carrier 120 and the housing 110. Here, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the base 112 of the housing 110. In addition, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the cover 114 of the housing 110. For example, the AF damper 180 may be provided in the stopper 150. Here, the AF damper 180 may include a first AF damper 181, a second AF damper 182, and a third AF damper 183, Paragraphs 0063-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8), which each face a respective counterpart member in different directions (The dampers face a respective counterpart member in different directions, Paragraphs 0064-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8), and
at least one of the first damper member, the second damper member, and the third damper member is provided on the housing, and remaining damper members of the first damper member, the second damper member, and the third damper member are provided on the stopper (The AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the cover 114 of the housing 110. The first AF damper 181 is on the top surface of the stopper and provided on the housing 110. The second and third dampers 182 and 183 are provided on an outer side surface of the stopper 150, Paragraphs 0063-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8).
With regard to Claim 2, Go et al. disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the first damper member faces a first counterpart member in the optical axis direction, the second damper member faces a second counterpart member in the first axis direction, and the third damper member faces a third counterpart member in the second axis direction (The first AF damper 181 may be provided on the top surface of the stopper 150. That is, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the bottom surface of the cover 114 and the top surface of the stopper 150. Accordingly, the first AF damper 181 may mitigate an impact in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) between the cover 114 and the AF carrier 120. The second AF damper 182 may be provided on the outer side surface of the first extension part 151 of the stopper 150. That is, the second AF damper 182 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the second AF damper 182 may mitigate an impact in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120.The third AF damper 183 may be provided on the outer side surface of the second extension part 152 of the stopper 150. That is, the third AF damper 183 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the third AF damper 183 can mitigate an impact in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120, Paragraphs 0062-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8).
In regard to Claim 8, Go et al. disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the first damper member, the second damper member, and the third damper member are each provided as a separate member (The members 181, 182 and 183 are provided as separate members. The first AF damper 181 may be provided on the top surface of the stopper 150. That is, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the bottom surface of the cover 114 and the top surface of the stopper 150. Accordingly, the first AF damper 181 may mitigate an impact in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) between the cover 114 and the AF carrier 120. The second AF damper 182 may be provided on the outer side surface of the first extension part 151 of the stopper 150. That is, the second AF damper 182 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the second AF damper 182 may mitigate an impact in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120.The third AF damper 183 may be provided on the outer side surface of the second extension part 152 of the stopper 150. That is, the third AF damper 183 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the third AF damper 183 can mitigate an impact in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120, Paragraphs 0062-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8).
Regarding Claim 10, Go et al. disclose the camera module of claim 1, further comprising: a lens barrel (lens barrel 170), coupled to the first frame, and comprising at least one lens (The lens barrel 170 may be coupled to the OIS carrier 130 and mounted on the base 112 through the AF carrier 120. The lens barrel 170 may include one or more lenses for capturing an image, Paragraph 0062), wherein the lens barrel is configured to move in the first axis direction and the second axis direction together with the first frame, and wherein the lens barrel and the first frame are configured to move in the optical axis direction together with the carrier (As taught above, the OIS carrier 130 may be mounted in the AF carrier 120 to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Here, the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction refers to the left and right directions of the lens barrel 170. In FIG. 2, a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates an X-axis direction, and a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates a Y-axis direction. That is, the OIS carrier 130 may move in the X-axis direction or the Y-axis direction, Paragraph 0044; Figures 1-4).
With regard Claim 11, Go et al. disclose a camera module (An actuator 100 for a camera, Abstract; Paragraphs 0031-0032; Figures 1-4, 7-8) comprising:
a housing unit having an internal space (The housing 110 has an internal space, Paragraphs 0031-0033; Figures 1-4 and 7-8);
a carrier (AF carrier 120) accommodated in the housing unit (The AF carrier 120 may be mounted in the housing 110 to move in the optical axis direction. At this time, the AF carrier 120 may move in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) together with the OIS carrier 130 on which the lens barrel 170 is mounted, Paragraphs 0036-0041; Figures 1-4);
a first frame, accommodated in the carrier, and coupled to a lens barrel (lens barrel 170) (The OIS carrier 130 may be mounted in the AF carrier 120 to move in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Here, the direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction refers to the left and right directions of the lens barrel 170. In FIG. 2, a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates an X-axis direction, and a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis direction indicates a Y-axis direction. That is, the OIS carrier 130 may move in the X-axis direction or the Y-axis direction, Paragraph 0044; Figures 1-4);
a stopper coupled to the carrier in an optical axis direction (The stopper 150 may be disposed above the OIS carrier 130. In this case, the OIS carrier 130 may be coupled to the AF carrier 120. Accordingly, the stopper 150 may restrict the movement of the OIS carrier 130 in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) within the AF carrier 120, Paragraph 0055; Figures 1-4 and 7-8); and
a damper member provided on the housing unit and the stopper (The AF damper 180 may mitigate an impact occurring between the AF carrier 120 and the housing 110. Here, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the base 112 of the housing 110. In addition, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the AF carrier 120 and the cover 114 of the housing 110. For example, the AF damper 180 may be provided in the stopper 150. Here, the AF damper 180 may include a first AF damper 181, a second AF damper 182, and a third AF damper 183, Paragraphs 0063-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8),
wherein the damper member (AF damper 180) comprises:
a first damper member and a second damper member disposed on the stopper and configured to face the housing unit and the first frame (The second AF damper 182 may be provided on the outer side surface of the first extension part 151 of the stopper 150. That is, the second AF damper 182 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. The third AF damper 183 may be provided on the outer side surface of the second extension part 152 of the stopper 150. That is, the third AF damper 183 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction, Paragraphs 0064-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8); and
a third damper member disposed on the housing unit and configured to face the carrier (The first AF damper 181 may be provided on the top surface of the stopper 150. That is, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the bottom surface of the cover 114 and the top surface of the stopper 150, Paragraph 0064; Figures 1-4 and 7-8).
Regarding Claim 15, Go et al. disclose the camera module of claim 11, wherein the first damper member, the second damper member, and the third damper member are each provided as a separate member (The members 181, 182 and 183 are provided as separate members. The first AF damper 181 may be provided on the top surface of the stopper 150. That is, the AF damper 180 may be disposed between the bottom surface of the cover 114 and the top surface of the stopper 150. Accordingly, the first AF damper 181 may mitigate an impact in the optical axis direction (Z-axis direction) between the cover 114 and the AF carrier 120. The second AF damper 182 may be provided on the outer side surface of the first extension part 151 of the stopper 150. That is, the second AF damper 182 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the second AF damper 182 may mitigate an impact in the second direction (Y-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120.The third AF damper 183 may be provided on the outer side surface of the second extension part 152 of the stopper 150. That is, the third AF damper 183 may be disposed between the outer side surface of the AF carrier 120 and the inner side surface of the base 112 in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction. Accordingly, the third AF damper 183 can mitigate an impact in the first direction (X-axis direction) perpendicular to the optical axis direction between the base 112 and the AF carrier 120, Paragraphs 0062-0066; Figures 1-4 and 7-8).
In regard to Claim 16, Go et al. disclose the camera module of claim 11, wherein: the stopper comprises: a body disposed to cover the first frame (The stopper 150 may be disposed above the OIS carrier 130, Paragraph 0055; Figures 1-4 and 7-8); and a plurality of fastening portions coupled to the carrier (See plurality of extension parts 151, Paragraphs 0056-0057; Figure 7), and extending from each corner of the body in the optical axis direction (The stopper 150 may include a first extension part 151 and a second extension part 152 for coupling with the AF carrier 120. Here, the first extension part 151 and the second extension part 152 may be integrally formed vertically downward from the top surface of the stopper 150, Paragraphs 0056-0057; Figures 1-4, 7), wherein the first damper member is disposed on the body (Damper 181, Figure 7), and the second damper member is disposed on at least a portion of the plurality of fastening portions (Dampers 182 disposed on 151, Paragraph 0065; Figure 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.) Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0251550A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paek et al. (US Pub No.: 2023/0146805A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Go et al. do not explicitly disclose the camera module of claim 1, wherein the first damper member, the second damper member, and the third damper member are formed of an elastic material. Paek et al. teach of a camera module where damper members are formed of an elastic material, (Paek et al. teach of a lens driving device includes a carrier; and an image stabilization unit including a lens holder for a lens barrel, and a support frame having a quadrangular frame structure including four corner regions and supporting the lens holder. The lens holder is disposed in the carrier. The image stabilization unit is configured to move the lens holder in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis direction. The support frame includes a first sub-frame including a connection-type molded portion connecting three corner regions of the quadrangular frame structure, and an island-type molded portion separated from the connection-type molded portion and disposed in a fourth corner region of the quadrangular frame structure, and a second sub-frame made of a material stronger than a material of the first and connecting the four corner regions of the quadrangular frame structure and being combined with the connection-type molded portion and the island-type molded portion, Abstract of Paek et al..
Paek et al. teach that dampers are made of elastic, Paragraphs 0029 and 0100 of Paek et al.. It would have been obvious and well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the dampers in the teachings of Go et al. to be made of an elastic material as taught by Paek et al., because this allows for the dampers to absorb impact and return to their original shape after being deformed while in use).
5.) Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Pritham David Prabhakher
Patent Examiner
Pritham.Prabhakher@uspto.gov
/PRITHAM D PRABHAKHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638