Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 1 and 11, the scope of the term “stiff” is unclear. This shell property is described in paragraphs [0047]-[0049] of the originally filed disclosure but even this disclosure does not make the scope of the term clear. Paragraph [0047] states “stiff outer shell 112 is configured to substantially maintain a shape”. Just how much shape variation is allowed while still being considered “stiff”? Paragraph [0048] states “stiff outer shell 112 may be constructed using generally stiff material”. What is the difference between stiff and generally stiff? Are they the same? What does each actually mean? For the purpose of examination, prior art teaching any of the specific materials explicitly mentioned in paragraphs [0047]-[0049] will be considered to satisfy the “stiff” claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses a hydration apparatus for use in conjunction with a wearable hydration apparatus holder (wearable hydration apparatus holder not currently being claimed in combination due to the functional language “for use in conjunction with” and there is no structure in Noble that would prevent use in conjunction with a wearable hydration apparatus holder as functionally claimed), comprising: a stiff (see “PET” in [0002]) outer shell (11) defining a fluid reservoir; a drinking conduit (131) extending from the stiff outer shell and having a first fluid channel (within 131) in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (see Figure 2); a valve (17,18) positioned in series with the first fluid channel and configured to control passage of fluid through at least a portion of the first fluid channel; a pressurizing conduit (121) extending from the stiff outer shell and having a second fluid channel (within 121) in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (see Figure 2); and a pump (14) coupled to the pressurizing conduit and located a distance from the stiff outer shell (see Figures), the pump being configured to supply air through the pressurizing conduit into the fluid reservoir so as to increase a pressure within the fluid reservoir above an ambient pressure (see [0018] and [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, wherein the hydration apparatus further comprises a filtration device (16, see [0021]) positioned in series with the first fluid channel (see Figures), the filtration device having an inlet, an outlet, and a filter positioned between the inlet and the outlet (inherent features in order for 16 to function).
Regarding claim 4, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 2, wherein the filtration device is located outside of the stiff outer shell (see Figures).
Regarding claim 7, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, comprising a spray nozzle (19) coupled to the drinking conduit and in fluid communication with the first fluid channel. A user could choose to spray the liquid using the nozzle 19. The term “spray nozzle” alone does not define any structure to distinguish over the outlet mouth (19) of Sun.
Regarding claim 8, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, comprising a pour spout (19) coupled to the drinking conduit and in fluid communication with the first fluid channel. A user could choose to pour the liquid using the spout 19. The term “pour spout” alone does not define any structure to distinguish over the outlet mouth (19) of Sun.
Regarding claim 9, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, wherein a portion of the stiff outer shell defines an opening (inherent) in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir, and the hydration apparatus further comprises a lid (10) sealingly engageable with the portion of the stiff outer shell defining the opening (see [0017]).
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 9, wherein the lid (10) comprises a first inlet (underside of 12 to which 122 would attach) in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir, a second inlet (underside of 13 to which 132 would attach) coupled to and in fluid communication with a dispenser tube (132) extending from the lid and into the fluid reservoir (see Figures), a first outlet (top of 12) removably coupled to the pressurizing conduit (121) and in fluid communication with the first inlet (see Figures), and a second outlet (top of 13) removably coupled to the drinking conduit (131) and in fluid communication with the second inlet (see Figures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Ruprecht (US 2011/0220568 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 2, but fails to disclose wherein the filtration device is located within the fluid reservoir. Sun shows the filtration device (16) being exterior of the fluid reservoir and in-line with the external drinking tube but discloses no criticality to such design. Ruprecht teaches that it was already known in the art for a filtration device to be either in-line with an external drinking tube (see 100 in Figure 3) or located within the fluid reservoir (see 400 in Figure 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have relocated the external in-line filtration device of Sun to within the fluid reservoir, where such internal positioning was already known to be suitable for such use, as shown by Ruprecht.
8. Claim 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US 2006/0231561 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the valve is further defined as a bite valve.
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses the hydration apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the valve is further defined as a push-pull valve.
Sun discloses in-line clamp type valves (17,18) with what seems to be a rigid dispenser (19) with no moving parts but discloses no criticality to such design. Choi teaches that it was already known in the art for a drink tube to terminate in a bite valve (42, see “bite-activated mouthpiece” in [0005], [0028], and [0079]) and for the drink tube to include a push-pull valve (see “push-pull mechanism” in [0120]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have replaced the dispenser and clamp valves of Sun with a bite-valve and a push-pull valve, respectively, as mere design choice or selection between known dispenser and valve designs.
9. Claims 11-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Skillern et al. (US 8,540,122 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Sun discloses a method, comprising: a stiff (see “PET” in [0002]) outer shell (11) defining a fluid reservoir containing a hydration fluid (see “beverage” in [0002]); operating a pump (14) located a distance from the stiff outer shell (see Figures) to supply air into the fluid reservoir so as to elevate a pressure within the fluid reservoir above an ambient pressure (see [0025]); and dispensing at least a portion of the hydration fluid through a fluid channel of a drinking conduit (132) extending from the stiff outer shell using the elevated pressure within the fluid reservoir (see [0025]), the fluid channel being in fluid communication with the fluid reservoir (see Figures). Sun fails to disclose the method step of wearing a holder having the stiff outer shell positioned within the holder, the holder being sized and dimensioned to receive the stiff outer shell. Skillern teaches that it was already known in the art for a pressurized fluid reservoir like that of Sun to be positioned with a backpack (see “backpack” in col. 4 line 51 and col. 6 line 33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have carried the Sun hydration apparatus within a backpack, where such use was already known in the art, as shown by Skillern, the motivation being to provide hands-free transport of the hydration apparatus.
Regarding claim 12, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 11, Sun further disclosing passing the hydration fluid through a filtration device (16) positioned in series with the fluid channel.
Regarding claim 13, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 12, further comprising positioning the filtration device in series with the fluid channel prior to passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device, as originally taught by Sun. Looking at Sun, from disassembly in Figure 1 to use in Figure 4, the filtration device is in series prior to use with fluid.
Regarding claim 18, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 11, wherein the holder is further defined as a backpack, as taught by Skillern, and wearing the holder is further defined as wearing the backpack such that the stiff outer shell is located on a back of a user, as taught by Skillern.
Regarding claim 19, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 11, wherein Sun disclosing dispensing at least a portion of the hydration fluid is further defined as opening a valve (17,18 - see Figure 4) positioned in series with the fluid channel and dispensing the hydration fluid.
10. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Skillern et al. (US 8,540,122 B2) as applied above, further in view of Ruprecht (US 2011/0220568 A1).
Regarding claim 14, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 13, but so far fails to comprise the step of passing the filtration device through an opening defined by the stiff outer shell subsequent to positioning the filtration device in series with the fluid channel. Sun shows the filtration device (16) being exterior of the fluid reservoir and in-line with the external drinking tube but discloses no criticality to such design. Ruprecht teaches that it was already known in the art for a filtration device to be either in-line with an external drinking tube (see 100 in Figure 3) or located within the fluid reservoir (see 400 in Figure 4A). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have relocated the external in-line filtration device of Sun to the end of the drinking conduit (132) within the fluid reservoir, where such internal positioning was already known to be suitable for such use, as shown by Ruprecht. With such arrangements, this combined drinking conduit and filtration device of Sun would be inserted into the fluid reservoir after being connected to one another as claimed.
11. Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Skillern et al. (US 8,540,122 B2) as applied above, further in view of Lien (US 2010/0012221 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 12, but so far fails to include wherein passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device is further defined as passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device prior to passing the hydration fluid into the fluid reservoir. Lien teaches that it was already known in the art to fill a fluid reservoir from a faucet (8) by running the fluid through an in-line filter (9) before the fluid reaches the reservoir (see Figure 4 and [0050]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have passed the fluid through the filtration device prior to the fluid entering the reservoir, the motivation being to filter the fluid before it enters the reservoir, as taught by Lien.
Regarding claim 16, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 15, wherein Lien teaches the step of passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device is further defined as passing the hydration fluid from a container (the faucet shown in Lien Figure 4 can itself be considered a “container” as so broadly claimed to the degree a user could cover both ends of an unsecured faucet to contain fluid therein) in fluid communication with the filtration device prior to passing the hydration fluid into the fluid reservoir.
Regarding claim 17, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 15, but so far fails to include wherein passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device is further defined as passing the hydration fluid through the filtration device prior to wearing the holder. While not explicitly described in the combined references, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood through their own available knowledge and reasoning that it would be easier to fill the fluid reservoir of the modified Sun apparatus prior to placing it within the backpack and wearing the backpack, rather than after, and would have found it obvious to have done so.
12. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 2007/0113893 A1) in view of Skillern et al. (US 8,540,122 B2) as applied above, further in view of Sweitzer (US 2,105,339 A).
Regarding claim 20, the normal operation and use of Sun as modified above would include the method of claim 11, including wherein dispensing at least a portion of the hydration fluid is further defined as opening a valve positioned in series with the fluid channel, but so far fails to include directing the hydration fluid into a container. Sweitzer teaches that it was already known to direct the fluid from a user-worn fluid reservoir apparatus into a container (see filling of a cup in Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have dispensed fluid from the modified Sun apparatus into a container, where such use was already known in the art, as shown by Sweitzer, with the additional motivation of being able to share the liquid with others without them having to touch or put their mouth on the dispensing tip.
Conclusion
13. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN MATTHEW LARSON whose telephone number is (571)272-8649. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7am-3pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Newhouse can be reached at (571)272-4544. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JUSTIN M LARSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734 5/6/26