Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2,4-6,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “ and/or respective derivatives thereof” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what this encompasses. It’s unclear what would be considered as derivatives thereof. Furthermore, the alternative “ or respective derivation thereof” is vague and indefinite because if such components are selected, it’s not clear if they meet the requirement of claim 1 requiring the starch to be hydroxypropyl starch and acetate starch. Also, the alternative chemical modification and/or chemical modification and then pregelatinization is vague and indefinite because the starch recited in claim 1 is not pregelatinize. Thus, it’s not clear how the claim further limits claim 1 if it contains additional limitation not encompassed by claim 1.
In claim 4, the repeated use of “ and/or” is vague and indefinite because the scope is not clear. The claim includes pregelatinization starch; however, the starch in claim 1 does not encompass the pregelatinization starch.
Claim 5 has the same problem as claim 4.
Claim 6 has the same problem as claim 4. The claim is also vague and indefinite because the amount of modified starch does not meet the requirement that the modified starch is included in the premix in amount of 20-50% as recited in claim 3. It’s not clear what is intended.
In claim 17, the limitation “ in a state of solid, liquid and/or powder”. The inclusion of “ and” is vague and indefinite because it’s unclear what is meant by oil being in all three states of solid, liquid and powder. If it’s a liquid, how is it also a solid and powder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto ( 7282231) in view of Tachibe ( 2008/0095909).
For claims 1-2,4, 5,6,8,9 Yamamoto discloses a premix powder for donut like bakery product comprising starch acetate ,hydroxypropyl starch, flour and saccharide. The starch is obtained from starch such as tapiocao, potato, corn, wheat etc.. The starch is modified through chemical modification. Claims 8,9 is not limiting because the amount includes 0. For claim 10, Yamamoto discloses the premix comprises 7-30% flour. For claim 11, Yamamoto discloses the premix comprises 7-25% saccharide such as glucose, sucrose lactose etc... ( see col. 2 lines 15-50, col. 4-5 )
For claim 3, Yamamoto discloses the premix comprises 50-80% modified starch and 6-25% pregelatinized starch. The pregelatinized starch can be obtained from the modified starches. ( see col. 2 lines 15-40, col. 4 , col. 5 lines 1-8)
For claim 12, Yamamoto discloses adding other seasoning components. ( see col. 6)
For claim 13-16, Yamamoto discloses mixing the premix with water and fat to form dough ,shaping the dough into small pieces and frying the pieces. The dough is fried in oil at temperature from 170-190 degrees C. The fat includes butter, margarine, corn oil, olive oil etc.. ( see col. 6, col. 2 lines 55-65, col. 7 lines 39-45)
Yamamoto does not disclose the ratio as in claim 1, the individual amount of hydroxypropyl modified starch and acetate modified starch as in claims 5,6, the starch as in claim 7 , the amount seasoning as in claim 12 and the temperature as in claim 15.
Tachike discloses wheat flour substitute for bakery foods comprising hydroxypropylated starch starch acetate, oxidized starch. Tachike discloses hydroxypropyl starch comprises soluble dietary fiber. Thus, the use of hydroxypropylated starch increases the soluble dietaery fiber. ( see paragraphs 0020, 0025.
Yamamoto discloses the use of hydroxypropyl starch and acetate starch. As shown in Tachike, hydroxypropylated starch provides soluble fiber to the food product. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use high amount of hydroxypropylated starch relative to acetate starch when desiring to affect the soluble content of the product. It would have been obvious to select any proportion of the individual starch depending on the texture and the nutrition wanted. The starches are disclosed to affect the texture of the product. Yamamoto discloses starch acetate ensures the sticky or glutinous feeling of the donut but it is inferior in the resiliency. Hydroxypropyl starches enhance sticky and resilient feeling. Knowing the effects of the starch, it would have been within the skill of one in the art to determine the amounts through routine experimentation to obtain the desirable texture and taste. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Yamamoto discloses other starches can be added to impart higher resiliency to the final product. Thus, it would have been obvious to add oxidized starch as the starch is known to be used in bakery products as shown in Tachike. It would have been obvious to use any amount of seasoning depending on the taste and flavor desired. Since Yamamoto discloses frying, it’s obvious the product has the core temperature claimed. If not, it would have been well within the skill of one in the art to determine the core temperature that is appropriate cooked product.
Conclusion
September 28, 2026
/LIEN T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793