DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s claiming priority to provisional application 62/432,423, filed on 12/9/2016.
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s claiming priority to non-provisional application 15/826,508, filed on 11/29/2017.
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s claiming priority to non-provisional application 17/378,165, filed on 7/16/2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 have been canceled.
Claims 21-40 have been added, and are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 21-28 are directed to a system, which is an apparatus. Claims 29-35 are directed to a method, which is a process. Claims 36-40 are directed to an apparatus. Therefore, claims 21-40 are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A (Prong 1):
Taking claim 21 as representative, claim 21 sets forth a process for determining a probability of fraud:
adjust a fraud threshold based on at least one of a time of day, a user history, an inventory value, a recent fraud incident, or an environmental factor;
determine, based on one or more differences identified between two or more images, whether a likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold;
output, based on a determination that the likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold, an alert.
The recited limitations above set forth the process for determining a probability of fraud. These limitations amount to certain methods of organizing human activity, including commercial or legal transactions (e.g. agreements in the form of contracts, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, etc.). The claims are directed to adjusting a fraud threshold, determining a likelihood of fraud based on comparing two or more images, and outputting an alert if the likelihood of fraud exceeds a threshold (see specification [0002] disclosing the frustration of conventional checkout lines), which is an advertising and marketing activity.
Such concepts have been identified by the courts as abstract ideas (see: MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)).
Step 2A (Prong 2):
Examiner acknowledges that representative claim 21 recites additional elements, such as:
a product enclosure including a camera;
a remote computing device including a first memory and first processor configured to execute instructions stored in the first memory;
Taken individually and as a whole, representative claim 21 does not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception. The additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Furthermore, this is also because the claim fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement a judicial exception with a particular machine, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) apply the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
While the claims recite a remote computing device with a memory and processor, these elements are recited with a very high level of generality, and are merely recited in passing as a preamble for executing the steps of the abstract idea. The specification does not disclose much detail regarding the remote computing device and the memory and processor. Specification paragraph [0044] discloses a server in a cloud, and paragraph [0045] discloses that the instructions may be stored in any type of non-transitory computer-readable storage or memory device. The processor is not disclosed with any particularity exception as being configured to perform various steps of the abstract idea in the summary of the specification. As such, it is evident that these elements are generic computing components that are merely leveraged to implement the abstract idea on a computing device. The product enclosure including a camera also are not disclosed with any particularity or specificity. The closest disclosure occurs in specification paragraph [0038], which discloses the enclosures as “bodegas” that are about the size of a conventional vending machine, without any further detail. The cameras are not also disclosed in passing, except potential locations of the cameras, such as disclosed in specification paragraph [0039]. As such, it is clear that the additional elements are generic elements, that are merely applied to the abstract idea to provide a general link to a computing environment.
In view of the above, under Step 2A (Prong 2), representative claim 21 does not integrate the recited exception into a practical application (see: MPEP 2106.04(d)).
Step 2B:
Returning to representative claim 21, taken individually or as a whole, the additional elements of claim 21 do not provide an inventive concept (i.e. whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the exception itself). As noted above, the additional elements recited in claim 21 are recited in a generic manner with a high level of generality and only serve to implement the abstract idea on a generic computing device. The claims result only in an improved abstract idea itself and do not reflect improvements to the functioning of a computer or another technology or technical field. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements used to perform the claimed process ultimately amount to no more than the mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer and/or no more than a general link to a technological environment.
Even when considered as an ordered combination, the additional elements of claim 21 do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
In view of the above, claim 21 does not provide an inventive concept under step 2B, and is ineligible for patenting.
Regarding Claim 29 (method): Claim 29 recites at least substantially similar concepts and elements as recited in claim 21 such that similar analysis of the claims would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, claims 29 is rejected under at least similar rationale as provided above regarding claim 21.
Regarding Claim 36 (apparatus): Claim 36 recites at least substantially similar concepts and elements as recited in claim 21 such that similar analysis of the claims would be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, claims 36 is rejected under at least similar rationale as provided above regarding claim 21.
Dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 recite further complexity to the judicial exception (abstract idea) of claim 21, such as by further defining the algorithm of determining a probability of fraud, and do not recite any further additional elements. Thus, each of claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 are held to recite a judicial exception under Step 2A (Prong 1) for at least similar reasons as discussed above.
Under prong 2 of step 2A, the additional elements of dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 also do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, considered both individually or as a whole. More specifically, dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 rely on at least similar elements as recited in claim 21. Further additional elements are also acknowledged; however, the additional elements of claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 are recited only at a high level of generality (i.e. as generic computing hardware) such that they amount to nothing more than the mere instructions to implement or apply the abstract idea on generic computing hardware (or, merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea). Further, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as the Internet or computing networks).
Secondly, this is also because the claims fails to (i) reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field, (ii) implement the judicial exception with, or use the judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, (iii) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or (iv) applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Taken individually and as a whole, dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application of the exception under step 2A (prong 2).
Lastly, under step 2B, claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 also fail to result in “significantly more” than the abstract idea under step 2B. The dependent claims recite additional functions that describe the abstract idea and use the computing device to implement the abstract idea, while failing to provide an improvement to the functioning of a computer, another technology, or technical field. The dependent claims fail to confer eligibility under step 2B because the claims merely apply the exception on generic computing hardware and generally link the exception to a technological environment.
Even when viewed as an ordered combination (as a whole), the additional elements of the dependent claims do not add anything further than when they are considered individually.
Taken individually or as an ordered combination, the dependent claims simply convey the abstract idea itself applied on a generic computer and are held to be ineligible under Steps 2B for at least similar rationale as discussed above regarding claim 21. Thus, dependent claims 22-28, 30-35, and 37-40 do not add “significantly more” to the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 28-30, 35-37, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kundu (US 9,892,438 B1) in view of Aaron (US 20080110786 A1).
Regarding Claim 21: Kundu discloses a system comprising:
a product enclosure including a camera; (Kundu: col. 4, ln. 1-5 - “The surveillance system can include a camera system composed of multiple analog and/or digital cameras, stationary, PTZ, etc. The camera system provides video coverage of the shelves, stocking areas, floor, and other travel zones of a retail store, and one or more data feeds providing a record of items inventoried and purchased”; Kundu: col. 11, ln. 1-5 – “A video camera in the item scanner device can be configured to produce images of retail items present in the item carrier apparatus 150 or produce images of the items being placed in the item carrier apparatus 150, produce images of the operators movements, actions, etc.”).
a remote computing device including a first memory and first processor configured to execute instructions; (Kundu: col. 8, ln. 11-28 – “a computer program product including a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e., any physical computer readable hardware storage medium) on which software instructions are encoded for subsequent execution. The instructions, when executed in a computerized device having a processor or logic, program and/or cause the processor to perform the operations disclosed herein. Such arrangements are typically provided as software, code, instructions, and/or other data (e.g., data structures) arranged or encoded on a non-transitory computer readable storage medium such as an optical medium (e.g., CD-ROM), floppy disk, hard disk, memory stick, etc., or other a medium such as firmware or shortcode in one or more ROM, RAM, PROM, etc., or as an Application Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC), etc. The software or firmware or other such configurations can be installed onto a computerized device to cause the computerized device to perform the techniques explained herein”).
determine, based on one or more differences identified between two or more images captured by the camera, whether a likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold; (Kundu: col. 17, ln. 41-61 – “the analyzer 322 monitors the images associated with video data 121 to detect a first type of potentially suspicious activity such as motions indicative of the operator 108-1 placing a retail item in the item carrier apparatus 150. Assume in this example that the analyzer 323 monitors the images associated with video data 121 to detect a second type of potentially suspicious event such as detection of a presence of one or more additional retail items in the item carrier apparatus 150 than in a previous image frame of video data 121. In one embodiment, the video data 121 captures multiple frames of images per second. The information in the frames can be compared over time to detect a change in the number of retail items placed in the item carrier apparatus 150. In one embodiment, the analyzer 322 analyzes the detected video events in view of probability model such as model 422. Model 422 can include probability information indicating a likelihood of whether a respective type of event as detected by analyzer 322 is potentially suspicious or not”; Kundu: col. 18, ln. 41-46 – “Based on comparison of the aggregated value to a threshold value (such as a probability threshold value), the aggregate analyzer resource 350 produces an overall output value indicative of whether a customer action corresponding to the detected video event and the detected sensor event is suspicious”).
output, based on a determination that the likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold, an alert associated with the product enclosure. (Kundu: col. 18, ln. 41-54 – “Based on comparison of the aggregated value to a threshold value (such as a probability threshold value), the aggregate analyzer resource 350 produces an overall output value indicative of whether a customer action corresponding to the detected video event and the detected sensor event is suspicious. The aggregate analyzer resource notifies information manager 360 of such information”).
Kundu does not explicitly teach adjust a fraud threshold based on at least one of a time of day, a user history, an inventory value, a recent fraud incident, or an environmental factor; Notably, however, Kundu does disclose adjusting the threshold to higher or lower values in order based on times when there is a higher or lower likelihood of activity (Kundu: col. 18, ln. 48-54).
To that accord, Aaron does teach adjust a fraud threshold based on at least one of a time of day, a user history, an inventory value, a recent fraud incident, or an environmental factor; Examiner notes that Applicant recites at least one of in the claim. (Aaron: [0061] – “the threshold score(s) may be made adaptable based on adaptation rules and parameters, such as the month, week, day of week, time of day, frequency of verification requests, and/or frequency of verification denials. Also, multiple thresholds and/or threshold scores may be used in some cases, as for example when rules are made conditional on various inputs and/or are triggered by particular occurrences or conditions”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Kundu disclosing the system for detecting suspicious activity based on activity identified in video feeds compared to a threshold with the time of day being used to adjust the fraud threshold as taught by Aaron. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce the chances of fraudulent purchases, transactions, and other activities (Aaron: [0061]).
Regarding Claim 22: Kundu in view of Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kundu further discloses wherein the camera is configured to capture a passively recorded video and the two or images are frames of the passively recorded video. (Kundu: col. 4, ln. 2-5 – “The camera system provides video coverage of the shelves, stocking areas, floor, and other travel zones of a retail store, and one or more data feeds providing a record of items inventoried and purchased”; Kundu: col. 17, ln. 48-56 – “the analyzer 323 monitors the images associated with video data 121 to detect a second type of potentially suspicious event such as detection of a presence of one or more additional retail items in the item carrier apparatus 150 than in a previous image frame of video data 121. In one embodiment, the video data 121 captures multiple frames of images per second. The information in the frames can be compared over time to detect a change in the number of retail items placed in the item carrier apparatus”). In summary, the cameras continuously surveil the various spaces of the retailer, such as the shelves or the carrier apparatus, which is a passively recorded video.
Regarding Claim 23: Kundu in view of Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kundu further discloses wherein the product enclosure includes a second memory and a second processor configured to execute instructions stored in the second memory to:
upload the passively recorded video in response to receiving a request from the remote computing device to upload the passively recorded video. (Kundu: col. 29, ln. 33-37 – “Communications interface 817 enables the computer system 810 and processor hardware 813 to communicate over a resource such as network 190 to retrieve information from and/or transmit information to remote sources (e.g., remote processor) and communicate with other computers”; Kundu: col. 12, ln. 39-45 – “As shown, the analyzer resource 140 receives the video data 121. As mentioned, the video data 121 can capture images of a customer (such as operator 108-1) in a shopping area 110 placing a set of retail items 120 into item carrier apparatus 150. The video sources 195 also can capture images of a respective customer or person merely taking possession (e.g., carrying) one or more retail items”). In summary, the video data is uploaded to another computer based on the need for event data.
Regarding Claim 28: Kundu in view of Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Kundu further discloses identify a product associated with the fraud based on the one or more differences identified in the two or more images. (Kundu: col. 4, ln. 32-38 – “The activity can be detected based on analyzing before/after imagery of a cart and respective items, activity can also be based on object recognition and identification techniques to identify and/or count the items in the cart, and so on. Any of one or more of such methods can provide an accurate and precise count or change-in-count of the items present in the cart at any given time”).
Regarding Claims 29 and 36: Claims 29 and 36 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 21. Therefore, claims 29 and 36 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 21 above.
Regarding Claims 30 and 37: Claims 30 and 37 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 22. Therefore, claims 30 and 37 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 22 above.
Regarding Claims 35 and 40: Claims 35 and 40 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 28. Therefore, claims 35 and 40 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 28 above.
Claims 24, 31, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Kundu (US 9,892,438 B1) and Aaron (US 20080110786 A1), in view of Friedman (US 20180158269 A1).
Regarding Claim 24: The combination of Kundu and Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 23 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach request the passively recorded video from the product enclosure in response to a determination that the likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold. Notably, however, Kundu does disclose determining that the probability exceeds a threshold for suspicious activity (Kundu: col. 18, ln. 41-46).
To that accord, Friedman does teach request the passively recorded video from the product enclosure in response to a determination that the likelihood of fraud exceeds the adjusted fraud threshold. (Friedman: [0063] – “when the total grade indicates that there is high probability of deception, or that the results are inconclusive, additional analysis tools may be applied to the image or images obtained”). In summary, when the grade is high enough, the images are obtained for further analysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Kundu and Aaron disclosing the system detecting suspicious activity based on activity identified in video feeds compared to a threshold with the request for the video in response to a determination that the likelihood exceeds the threshold as taught by Friedman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to perform additional checks in identifying the fraud (Friedman: [0063]).
Regarding Claims 31 and 38: Claims 31 and 38 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 24. Therefore, claims 31 and 38 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 24 above.
Claims 25, 27, 32, 34, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Kundu (US 9,892,438 B1) and Aaron (US 20080110786 A1), in view of Sullivan (US 20080110786 A1).
Regarding Claim 25: The combination of Kundu and Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 23 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach request the passively recorded video from the product enclosure in response to a determination that one or more differences are identified between the two or more images. Notably, however, Kundu does disclose detecting activity in before/after imagery (Kundu: col. 4, ln. 32-38).
To that accord, Sullivan does teach request the passively recorded video from the product enclosure in response to a determination that one or more differences are identified between the two or more images. (Sullivan: [0026] – “in response to detecting the triggering motion, transmission of frames from the video feed may occur at an increased rate”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Kundu and Aaron disclosing the system detecting suspicious activity based on activity identified in video feeds compared to a threshold with the request for the video in response to determining differences in the images as taught by Sullivan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate responsive detection of a trigger image and limit bandwidth consumption (Sullivan: [0026]).
Regarding Claim 27: The combination of Kundu and Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 21 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein camera periodically captures content including the two or more images. Notably, however, Kundu does disclose detecting activity in before/after imagery (Kundu: col. 4, ln. 32-38).
To that accord, Sullivan does teach wherein camera periodically captures content including the two or more images. (Sullivan: [0024] – “periodically transmitting frames to a remote server at 210. The remote server may detect trigger images in frames and respond with information that facilitates augmenting the trigger image into an augmented image. The frames may be periodically transmitted at a first interval”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Kundu and Aaron disclosing the system detecting suspicious activity based on activity identified in video feeds compared to a threshold with the periodic capturing of the content as taught by Sullivan. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to limit bandwidth consumption (Sullivan: [0026]).
Regarding Claims 32 and 39: Claims 32 and 39 recite substantially similar limitations as claim 25. Therefore, claims 32 and 39 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 25 above.
Regarding Claim 34: Claim 34 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 27. Therefore, claim 34 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 27 above.
Claims 26 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by the combination of Kundu (US 9,892,438 B1) and Aaron (US 20080110786 A1), in view of Dipaolo (US 20140117818 A1).
Regarding Claim 26: The combination of Kundu and Aaron discloses the limitations of claim 21 above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the product enclosure includes a second memory and a second processor configured to execute instructions stored in the second memory to:
determine whether a door to the product enclose has remained open for longer than a predetermined period of time;
responsive to a determination that the door to the product enclose has remained open for longer than the predetermined period of time, transmit the two or more images to the remote computing device.
Notably, however, Kundu does disclose transmitting information and communicating with remote sources and other computers (Kundu: col. 29, ln. 33-37).
To that accord, Dipaolo does teach wherein:
determine whether a door to the product enclose has remained open for longer than a predetermined period of time; (Dipaolo: [0188] – “The alert notification or signal transmission is activated if the barrier 140 or access door is open a predetermined amount of time”).
responsive to a determination that the door to the product enclose has remained open for longer than the predetermined period of time, transmit the two or more images to the remote computing device. (Dipaolo: [0188] – “The signal can alert the store computer or personnel that the barrier 140 or access door has been opened for a particular period of time and can activate the security camera and monitor to show the thief an image of himself or herself in front of the product. This image can be recorded.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of the combination of Kundu and Aaron disclosing the system detecting suspicious activity based on activity identified in video feeds compared to a threshold with the determining the door has been opened for longer than a predetermined period of time and transmitting images in response as taught by Dipaolo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to monitor possible theft (Dipaolo: [0188]).
Regarding Claim 33: Claim 33 recites substantially similar limitations as claim 26. Therefore, claim 33 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 26 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Herring (US 20160110786 A1) discloses [0037] – “The item identification module 428 may process image information 445 using known image processing techniques to detect and identify items. Generally, the image information 445 in memory 410 may be acquired using visual sensors of the sensors 445. In some embodiments, identification of the items is performed with respect to a particular shopping receptacle to determine sets of items corresponding to a particular transaction. Item sets 450 are discussed further below. The item identification module 428 may also detect portions of shopping receptacles”.
Dharssi (US 20150095189 A1) discloses [0161] – “At least one camera on or in the vicinity of the cart is cued to the motion of the item, acquires an image of the item and analyzes said item to identify it. Thereafter, image identity ledger is populated with the camera data. These two ledgers may be continually updated and compared as a shopper adds new items and removes existing bagged items. At the conclusion of the shopping trip, the two ledgers are compared and any discrepancies brought to retail staff's attention”.
PTO-892 Reference U discloses analyzing customer behavior from surveillance cameras in order to detect activity and tracking head and body orientation to determine what is grabbed by the customer, and tracking the activity with higher accuracy.
/T.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3689
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 3/4/2026