DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Figs. 7 and 8, two different components are denoted “61.” The second actuation structure (lower right “61” in both Figs.) should be –62—(or in Fig. 8 --621—since the leader line is directed to that particular portion of the second actuation structure). Lastly, the drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “63.”
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
on page 7, last paragraph, “form an receiving” should be –form a receiving--;
on page 11, next to last line, “sleeve seat 434” should be –sleeve seat 634--; and
on pages 14 and 15, at three places, “sliding seat body 633” should be –sliding seat body 632--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (CN 208498578, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a carrier, wherein the carrier has a folded state (see Fig. 5) and an unfolded state (see Fig. 1), the carrier comprising a first correlation structure (9) and a second correlation structure (2), the carrier further comprising:
two first supporting structures (5,6), wherein each of the first supporting structures is respectively connected to the first correlation structure (9), and each of the first supporting structures is rotatable with respect to each other (see e.g., Fig. 3);
two second supporting structures (3,4), wherein each of the second supporting structures is respectively connected to the second correlation structure (2), and each of the second supporting structures is rotatable with respect to each other (see e.g., Fig. 3);
a linkage structure (7,8) disposed between the first supporting structure (5,6) and the second supporting structure (3,4) and movable with respect to at least one of the first supporting structure and the second supporting structure (see pivoting movement between Figs. 1 and 5);
an actuation mechanism (e.g., the locking mechanism in ¶0038-0039 and 0044) coupled to the first correlation structure and the second correlation structure, wherein when the carrier is in an unfolded state, the first correlation structure and the second correlation structure are locked by the actuation mechanism (e.g., locking the relative position between the slider 2 and the vertical slide bar 1) to locate the relative positions of each of the first supporting structures and each of the second supporting structures;
when the carrier is transformed from the unfolded state into the folded state, the first correlation structure and the second correlation structure are unlocked by the actuation mechanism (see ¶0038), so that each of the first supporting structure and each of the second supporting structure respectively rotates with respect to each other; and
each of the first supporting structure, each of the second supporting structure and the linkage structure are folded inwards (see Figs. 3-5 showing the inward folding and ¶0043).
Regarding claim 13, Ma further discloses that when the carrier is in the unfolded state (see e.g., Fig. 2), each of the first supporting structure (5,6), the linkage structure (7,8) and each of the second supporting structure (3,4) is unfolded respectively to form a receiving space; and a symmetrically arranged bi-mechanical quadrilateral is formed at a side of the carrier (see the trapezoidal shape defined by the four bars).
Regarding claim 14, Ma further discloses that the carrier further comprises a grip (see un-numbered handle in Fig. 1) provided with a second connecting piece (e.g., the two downwardly depending legs attaching the laterally arranged handle to the carrier) rotatably disposed (see e.g., Fig. 3 showing the handle pivoting relative to the carrier) on a second shaft (implicit).
Regarding claim 15, Ma further discloses a stroller (see Fig. 7), wherein the stroller comprises: the carrier according to claim 1, wherein a first engagement member (17) is disposed on the second correlation structure (2); and an outer support (12, 13) provided with a second engagement member (slot, see ¶0048) adapted to the first engagement member (17), wherein the first engagement member is engaged with the second engagement member to assemble the carrier onto the outer support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma.
Regarding claim 12, Ma further discloses that the second correlation structure (2) is provided with a first engagement member (17) adapted to an outer support (via slot in stroller frame, see Fig., 7 and ¶0048) for engaging the carrier to the outer support (stroller) or disengaging the carrier from the outer support; when the carrier is engaged to the outer support and the carrier is in an unfolded state, the horizontal plane (defined by 5, 6 in Fig. 8) on which the bottom of the carrier formed by each of the second supporting structures is located is shown above the bottom (e.g., where the wheels engage the ground) of the outer support.
Ma, however, does not specifically disclose that the bottom of the carriage is more than 40cm above the ground when mounted on the stroller.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the stroller/carrier combination of Ma to have a ground clearance of at least 40 cm, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to improve ergonomics and ensure the baby/passenger is sufficiently close to the pusher without bending over too far.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma in view of Ding (CN 116714658, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 2, Ma further discloses a second actuation structure (e.g., the unlocking elements driven by unlocking latch 10) adjacent the second correlation structure (2), but does not disclose a first actuation structure adjacent to the first correlation structure and is driven by the connection structure to unlock the first correlation structure.
Ding teaches another carrier including upper and lower supporting structures (11/21) that fold inwardly with a first correlation structure (upper pivoting elements in Fig. 8) including a first actuation structure (second locking piece 91); and a second correlation structure (4) with a second actuation structure (first locking piece 71) with a connection structure (311) connected to the two correlations structures (see Figs. 8 and 12) wherein when the carrier is transformed from the unfolded state into the folded state (see Figs. 1 and 6), the second correlation structure (4) is unlocked by the second actuation structure (71) so that each of the second supporting structures rotates with respect to each other (see e.g., ¶0066), and the first actuation structure (91) is driven by the connection structure to unlock the first correlation structure to enable each of the first supporting structures to rotate with respect to each other (see ¶0082 describing how the vertical movement of slide 4 causes the second joint’s lock 91 to unlock).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have modified the carrier of Ma with the second locking mechanism on the spaced folding joint that is driven by the sliding motion along a vertical shaft between the joints as taught by Ding to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes applying a known technique (e.g., using multiple joint locks controlled by a single unlocking operation) to known devices (e.g., inwardly collapsing bassinets/carriers) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g., -------a folding bassinet having a more robust folding joint without additional unlocking/unlatching operations).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or otherwise fairly suggest the that the second correlation structure including two articulation members connected to the two supporting structures with the first articulation member being slidably connected to the second actuation structure and wherein the two articulation members are arranged coaxially on a pivot shaft, wherein the sliding of the second actuation structure within the first articulation member unlocks the second correlation structure and rotates the two articulation members about the shaft in opposite directions along with the recited connection structure driving the first actuation structure to unlock the first correlation structure.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/STEVE CLEMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618