Detailed Action1
Election/Restriction
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 19-20, in the reply filed on August 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
America Invents Act Status
Rejections under 35 USC 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and 19 each recite a small parts catcher. The term “small” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It’s also unclear if the parts catcher has to be “small”, or if the parts catcher has to be able to catch small parts.
Claims 2-9 and 20 are rejected for depending from one of claims 1 or 19.
Rejections under 35 USC 102
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPGPub No. 2023/0020826 (“Banas”).
Claim 1 recites a small parts catcher for a computer numerical control (CNC) machine comprising: a mounting bracket (136) to removably attach the small parts catcher to a cutoff tool extending from the CNC machine (fig. 1, ¶ [0028], wherein bracket 136 is capable of attaching to a hypothetical toll extending from a CNC machine); a main body (110) including: a working volume where parts are severed from a workpiece using the cutoff tool (fig. 1 & 3, i.e. volume delimited by interior surface 114 can allow parts of a workpiece to be severed off therein); a tool window into the working volume to receive a working end of the cutoff tool within the small parts catcher (the window delimited by rim 124 of fig. 1, i.e. open end of component 110 against the wall when viewing fig. 1, see ¶ [0028]); a workpiece window (120) into the working volume to receive a working end of the workpiece within the small parts catcher (fig. 1, ¶ [0030], wherein a workpiece is capable of being inserted into window 120).
Claim 1 also recites a catch basket removably attached to the main body, the catch basket to receive parts to be severed from the workpiece via gravity. “Basket” is interpreted as a rigid container with an upper opening. Component 170 reads on the claimed catch basket because it is a rigid container with upper openings for tubes, can receive parts cut from the workpiece via gravity (wherein when tube 160 extends vertically between basket 170 and main body 110 parts can fall into basket 170 via gravity), and is removably connected to the main body via tube 160 (fig. 4 & 7, ¶ [0032] & [0036]-[0038]).
Claim 7 recites the mounting bracket permits the small parts catcher to be physically positioned with reference to the cutoff tool in three dimensions. The main body and brackets of Banas are capable of this limitation since the brackets can attach to the cutoff tool and main body to fix the main body in all three dimensions.
Claim 8 recites the CNC machine is a lathe, and the cutoff tool is one of an array of tools mounted to a turret within the CNC machine. The device of Banas is capable of being mounted to a hypothetical cutoff tool of a hypothetical CNC lathe wherein the cutoff tool has fastener holes to allow the brackets 136 to be attached thereto.
Regarding claim 9, Banas further teaches constructed of a metal alloy or plastic (¶ [0028]).
Rejections under 35 USC 1032
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of USPGPub No. 2023/0356340 (“Speece”).
Regarding claim 2, Banas fails to explicitly teach the catch basket is perforated with perforations smaller than the parts to be severed from the workpiece. However, this would have been obvious in view of Speece.
Speece is directed to an air separator for a dust/debris/part collection system for use with machining (¶ [0001] & [0003]-[0004]). Speece teaches that it is known for the separator to comprise a perforated component 54 in order to separate larger particles from the air (figs. 3B, 5 & 6, ¶ [0038]-[0039] & [0056]-[0058]).
In this case, each of Banas and Speece is directed to a system for removing waste/dust from a machine and separating the air from the waste. While Banas is silent as to the specific components within the air separator, Speece teaches one of skill in the art that it is known and predictable for an air separator to comprise a perforated element therein to remove larger particles from the air. Thus, it would be obvious to modify the air separator/basket of Banas to have a perforated component therein to remove larger particles from the air. This will predictably increase the life of the filter configured to catch smaller particles.
Claim 3 recites the main body further includes: a coolant port directed into the working volume. This claim requires a port into the working volume that is capable of receiving coolant therethrough. The main body of Banas includes four fastener ports that are configured to receive fasteners of the brackets. One of these ports is capable of being in fluid communication with a coolant line while at least two of the other ports are connected to a bracket via the fasteners.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banas as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sachin Thorat, Difference Between Slot, Holes ,Groove, Keyway- Basic Of Mechanical, LearnMech.com, Screen shot taken on May 17, 2022, available at https://learnmech.com/difference-slot-holes-groove-keyway-basic-mechanical/ (“Thorat”).
Regarding claim 6, Banas fails to explicitly teach the mounting bracket includes one or more slots that permit manual physical positioning of the small parts catcher with reference to the working end of the cutoff tool. However, this would have been obvious in view of Thorat.
Thorat teaches that slots are a known substitute for circular holes and can allow for better alignment accuracy among other benefits (see pages 1-3, wherein all references to Thorat refer to the machine translation submitted herewith). Thus, it would be obvious to substitute the mounting holes of Banas with slots.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. USPGPub No. 2002/0162430 teaches a CNC parts catcher with a bracket. However, it fails to teach a catch basket removably attached to the main body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action. Claims 4-5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest a coolant port directed into the working volume so that the perforated catch basket permits coolant flowing from the coolant port to flow through the perforated catch basket and retain the parts severed from the workpiece within the perforated catch basket, in combination with the other limitations of claim 19.
Conclusion
/KYLE A COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722
1 The following conventions are used in this office action. All direct quotations from claims are presented in italics. All information within non-italicized parentheses and presented with claim language are from or refer to the cited prior art reference unless explicitly stated otherwise.
2 In 103 rejections, when the primary reference is followed by “et al.”, “et al.” refers to the secondary references. For example, if Jones was modified by Smith and Johnson, subsequent recitations of “Jones et al.” mean “Jones in view of Smith and Johnson”.
3 Hereafter all uses of the word “obvious” should be construed to mean “obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.”