DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 and 04/21/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (KR 20200116861; the English translation document attached, hereinafter “Yamaguchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses an elliptically polarizing plate (see Fig. 2 and Para. [0027] identifying the embodiment) comprising:
a polarizing plate (40; Para. [0056] “a polarizing plate 40”) including a polarizer (41; Para. [0031] “the polarizing layer 41”), a first transparent protective film (42; Paras. [0031] “the first protective layer 42” and [0074] “As the protective layer, for example, a film formed of a thermoplastic resin excellent in transparency”) bonded to a first principal surface of the polarizer (Fig. 2 and Para. [0046]), and a second transparent protective film (43; Paras. [0031], [0074]) bonded to a second principal surface of the polarizer (Fig. 2 and Para. [0046]); and
a retardation layer (21, 22; Para. [0056] “a first retardation layer 21, an adhesive layer 35, and a second retardation layer 22 in this order”) bonded onto the first transparent protective film of the polarizing plate,
the elliptically polarizing plate being a sized piece having an irregularly shape that is not a rectangle in its plan view (Para. [0038] teaching possible irregular shapes for the optical laminate”),
wherein
an angle between an absorption axis direction of the polarizer and a slow axis direction of the retardation layer is 10 to 80° (Para. [0057] teaching the angle may be 40 to 50°),
the retardation layer satisfies Re(450)<Re(550)<Re(650), wherein Re(450) represents a front retardation at a wavelength of 450 nm, Re(550) represents a front retardation at a wavelength of 550 nm, and Re(650) represents a front retardation at a wavelength of 650 nm (Para. [0057] “first retardation layer 21 is used as a quarter wave plate having reverse wavelength dispersion”), and
the retardation layer includes at least one aligned liquid crystal layer in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned (see Para. [0032] and [0045] teaching 21 being a liquid crystal layer containing a liquid crystal compound and used as an A-plate; the examiner considers an A-plate is defined as a uniaxial retardation layer whose extraordinary optic axis lies entirely in the plate of the film, i.e., the LC molecules therein have homogeneous (planar) alignment).
Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose the polarizer has a thickness of 15 μm or more.
However, Yamaguchi teaches the polarizer has a thickness between 2 and 40 μm (Para. [0070]) (A prima facie case of obviousness exists where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art [MPEP 2144.05]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polarizer as disclosed by Yamaguchi, wherein the polarizer has a thickness of 15 μm or more, for the purpose of deciding a thickness of the polarizer using a known polarizer and from the viewpoint of thinning the polarizing layer (Yamaguchi: Para. [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein
the retardation layer includes two or more aligned liquid crystal layers (see Paras. [0032] and [0057] teaching 21 and 22 being a liquid crystal layer containing a liquid crystal compound), and
at least one of the aligned liquid crystal layers is an aligned liquid crystal layer in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned (see Paras. [0045], [0057] and [0124] teaching 21 is an A-plate and 22 is a C-plate) (the examiner considers an A-plate is defined as a uniaxial retardation layer whose extraordinary optic axis lies in the plate of the film, i.e., the LC molecules therein have homogeneous (planar) alignment).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi discloses the limitations of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the retardation layer includes an aligned liquid crystal layer in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned and an aligned liquid crystal layer in which liquid crystal molecules are homeotropically aligned (see Paras. [0045], [0057] and [0124] teaching 21 is an A-plate and 22 is a C-plate) (the examiner considers the LC molecules in an A-plate have homogeneous (planar) alignment, and the LC molecules in a C-plate stand perpendicular to the substrate, having homeotropic alignment).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Ito et al. (US 20060083867, hereinafter “Ito”).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose the retardation layer includes two or more aligned liquid crystal layers in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned, and an angle between slow axis directions of the aligned liquid crystal layers is 10 to 80°.
However, Ito teaches a retardation layer includes two or more aligned liquid crystal layers in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned, and an angle between slow axis directions of the aligned liquid crystal layers is 60° (see Fig. 1 and Paras. [0045]-[0046] teaching the layers A and B, in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned, and an angle between slow axis directions of the aligned liquid crystal layers is 60°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the retardation layer as disclosed by Yamaguchi with the teachings of Ito, wherein the retardation layer includes two or more aligned liquid crystal layers in which liquid crystal molecules are homogeneously aligned, and an angle between slow axis directions of the aligned liquid crystal layers is 10 to 80°, for the purpose of using a known circularly polarized plate (Ito: Paras. [0045]-[0046]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Miyaki et al. (JP 2012247494; the English translation document attached, hereinafter “Miyaki”).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi discloses the limitations of claim 1 above.
Yamaguchi does not necessarily disclose an on-vehicle image display device comprising:
an image display cell; and
the elliptically polarizing plate according to claim 1 disposed on a viewing-side surface of the image display cell.
However, Miyaki teaches an on-vehicle image display device (Fig. 1 and Page 4 lines 27-29, Page 12 lines 7-8) comprising:
an image display cell (10; Page 4 lines 1-2 and 31); and
a polarizing plate (31 and/or 32; Page 4 lines 30-32) disposed on a viewing-side surface of the image display cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polarizing plate as disclosed by Yamaguchi with the teachings of Miyaki, to have an on-vehicle image display device comprising: an image display cell; and the elliptically polarizing plate according to claim 1 disposed on a viewing-side surface of the image display cell, for the purpose of utilizing the polarizing plate for a vehicle (Miyaki: Page 12 lines 7-8) and as conventionally known in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi as modified by Miyaki discloses the limitations of claim 5 above,.
Yamaguchi does not necessarily disclose the image display cell is an organic light emitting diode cell.
However, Miyaki teaches the image display cell is an organic light emitting diode cell (Page 4 lines 36-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the polarizing plate as disclosed by Yamaguchi with the teachings of Otani, wherein the image display cell is an organic light emitting diode cell, for the purpose of utilizing the polarizing plate for a vehicle (Miyaki: Page 12 lines 7-8) and as conventionally known in the art.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871