DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Embodiment A (Claims 1-7; Figs. 1-3) in the reply filed on 10/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/19/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 110 and 410. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
*Note: Reference character 110 is shown in Fig. 2 and reference character 410 is shown in Figs. 4-5. However, neither reference character 110 or 410 is included in the Applicant’s specification. It is believed that reference characters 110 and 410 were intended to represent “skin”, as reference character 610 in Fig. 7 does (see Par. [0029] of Applicant’s specification).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Par. [0004], lines 4-5: “Some previously available CSDs employ and adhesive which fixes…” should be changed to “Some previously available CSDs employ an adhesive which fixes…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 3: change “the undersurface” to “the underside” to use consistent terminology.
Line 3: change “for securing the device” to “for securing the securement device” so that its clear that securement device is the device instead of IV devices.
Lines 17-18: “for securing IV devices to the body” should be changed to “for securing the IV device to the body” to stay consistent with the singular IV device previously introduced (lines 14-15).
Lines 18-19: “stabilization to IV devices” should be changed to “stabilization to the IV device” to stay consistent with the singular IV device previously introduced (lines 14-15).
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2: “for us on skin” should be “for use on skin”.
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 1-2: “where the platform, and securement member are comprised” should be changed to “where the platform, and securement member, are comprised”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitation(s) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation:
“means of connection and articulation with said cincture arm” in claim 1.
“means of latching to and from the securement receiving base” in claim 1.
The claim limitation(s) above cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification at specific citations listed below:
Figs. 1-3, # 143 – hinge-like connection; Par. [0021]
Figs. 1-3, # 146, 147, 148; Par. [0021] – On arm 144, opposite hinge 143 is a latching mechanism 146. Latch 146 has a terminal end latch tab. This latch 146 can be inserted into latch receiver 148 which is housed within latch base 141.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a means of temporarily covering the adhesive” in claim 3.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the body" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation “the body” renders claim 1 (lines 3 and 18) indefinite. It is unclear in the claim what “the body” refers to. It is believed by the Examiner that “the body” refers to a human or animal body/skin, but it is not clear based on the claim itself.
The limitation “the securement receiving base” renders claim 1 (lines 12-13) indefinite. It is unclear in the claim whether the securement receiving base refers to the first base or the second base. Based on the context of the claim, the Examiner believes “the securement receiving base” corresponds to “the first base”. Please consider changing “the securement receiving base” to “the first base” for clarity.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “cincture arm” in line 17, whereas a cincture arm was already introduced in claim 1 (line 7). It is unclear whether the Applicant intended to claim the same or a different cincture arm. Consider changing to “the cincture arm”.
The limitation “latch” renders claim 1 (line 17) indefinite. It is unclear whether this “latch” is the same or different than the “means of latching”. Please consider changing “latch” to “the means of latching” if they refer to the same component.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the movement" in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Please consider changing “the movement” to just “movement” (i.e., remove “the”).
Regarding claim 2, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is noted that the limitation “such as but not limited to fabric, foam, or other synthetic materials” is considered a “throwaway limitation” as it doesn’t add any substance/weight to the claim. For instance, prior art only needs to read on the limitation “where the base pad further comprising a solid yet generally flexible material” in order to anticipate claim 2 as a whole.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is noted that the limitation “such as but not limited to any injection-moldable plastics” is considered a “throwaway limitation” as it doesn’t add any substance/weight to the claim. For instance, prior art only needs to read on the limitation “where the platform, and securement member, are comprised of a solid material” in order to anticipate claim 5 as a whole.
The limitation “securement base” renders claim 6 (line 2) indefinite. It is unclear which base (i.e., the first or second base) the “securement base” refers to. Based on the context of the claim, the Examiner believes “securement base” corresponds to the “second base”. Please considered changing “the securement base” to “the second base”.
The limitation “but not limited to” renders claim 6 (line 2) indefinite. It is unclear whether any meaning should be given to the claim based on this limitation, as “comprising” is already an open-ended term (i.e., can include more). It is also pondered that this limitation should be interpreted as “such as” or exemplary language as in previous claims. Please consider either removing “but not limited to” or “but not limited to any living hinge or other mechanism allowing flexion”.
*All other claims are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Andino, et al. (US 2020/0324085).
Regarding claim 1, Andino teaches a securement device for IV devices and catheters (Title; Abstract – A securement device for securing a catheter; Par. [0027] – The embodiments of the securement device are illustrated with a catheter in use as part of a peripheral intravenous (“I.V.”) line.) comprising:
(Fig. 1, # 110a and 110b – anchor pads, i.e. base pad) a base pad having an upper side and an opposite underside where at least a portion of the undersurface having an adhesive thereon for securing the device to the body (Pars. [0033-0034] – The anchor pads 110a and 110b have a lower adhesive surface (not shown) which may adhere to the skin of a patient and an upper layer.); and
(Figs. 1-2, # 130a/b – base members, 200 – retainer, i.e. platform; Fig. 3B, # 238) a platform attached to the upper side of the base pad having an angle of decline about its upper surface upon which a securement member will rest (Par. [0031] – The base members 130a and 130b are attached to an upper surface of the anchor pads 110a and 110b and configured to support the retainer; Par. [0061] – FIG. 3B is a cross-sectional view of a retainer 200 in FIG. 2 taken along the line 3A-3C … The upper exterior abutment 236 and/or lower exterior abutment 238 can contact a portion of a medical article placed within the channel 234b as described above. The inclination angle θ of the channel 234b with respect to the transverse direction may be any suitable angle. In some embodiments the inclination angle θ is between about 5 and about 10 degrees, for example, about 7 degrees, relative to the patient's skin.);
(Figs. 1 and 4, # 240 – strap, i.e. cincture arm) said securement member comprising a cincture arm of predetermined length (Par. [0051]) and (Figs. 1 and 4, # 239 – retention mechanism, i.e. receiver, 244 – opening, 250 – second angled support, i.e. first base, 255 – first angled support, i.e. second base) a first and second base extending up where the first base having a receiver therein (Par. [0054] – In the illustrated embodiment, the strap 240 is formed with an opening 244 therethrough. The opening 244 is configured to accept a retention mechanism 239. The retention mechanism 239 is disposed on the second angled support 250) and (Figs. 1 and 4, # 242 and 258a/b – pin 242 and grooves 258a/b are a means of connection and articulation) the second base having a means of connection and articulation with said cincture arm (Par. [0052] – As illustrated in FIG. 1, the strap 240 is attached to the first angled support 255 by a pin 242 that passes through the first angled support 255 and the strap 240. As such, the strap 240 can rotate about the pin 242 to cover and uncover the channel 234. The first angled support 255 includes grooves 258a and 258b for receiving a portion of the strap 240 when the strap 240 is in a closed position.);
(Figs. 1 and 4, # 240, 241, 248 – indentation, i.e., cutout or notch, 249) where said cincture arm is further comprising an elongation having a cutout or notch therein (Par. [0065] – the strap 240 comprises a first strap section 241 and a second strap section 249; Par. [0066] – The first strap section 241 generally increases in thickness in a direction away from the first angled support member 255 and includes an indentation 248 … The indentation 248 can be shaped to receive at least a portion of an upper surface of a medical article, for example, the upper surfaces of a catheter hub) and (Figs. 1 and 4, # 240, 244 – opening, 246 – tab) a terminal end having a means of latching to and from the securement receiving base (Par. [0056] - a tab 246 extends away from the portion of the strap 240 and has the opening 244 … The tab 246 may allow a medical provider to easily grip the strap 240 and to engage and/or disengage the strap 240 from the retention mechanism 239.), whereby (Figs. 1 and 4, # 234 – open channel, i.e. annulus, 240) the approximation and latching of the cincture arm to the base creates an annulus of predetermined size where an IV device will securely rest (Par. [0051] – The strap 240 is configured to close over the open channel 234 and onto the second angled support 250 to form an enclosed area. When at least a portion of a medical article is placed inside the channel 234, the strap 240 can be moved over the medical article to retain or stabilize the medical article within the retainer 200 by, for example, applying a downward force onto the medical article and thus maintaining at least a portion of the medical article on a surface of the channel 234);
whereby the combined structure of the base pad, the platform, along with the bases, cincture arm and latch of the securement member provide for securing IV devices to the body and additionally providing direct support and stabilization to IV devices and tubing while also mitigating the movement and rotation of the IV device in multiple planes (Pars. [0003-0004] – a catheter may be attached to a patient for an even lengthier period of time, and may require minimal movement for proper functioning. It is often advantageous to restrict the movement of the catheter; Par. [0027] – the embodiments relate to a stabilization device and related techniques that stabilize a medical article in position on a patient; Par. [0051] – The strap 240 is configured to close over the open channel 234 and onto the second angled support 250 to form an enclosed area. When at least a portion of a medical article is placed inside the channel 234, the strap 240 can be moved over the medical article to retain or stabilize the medical article within the retainer 200 by, for example, applying a downward force onto the medical article and thus maintaining at least a portion of the medical article on a surface of the channel 234).
Therefore, claim 1 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 2, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Fig. 1, # 110a/b) the base pad further comprising a solid yet generally flexible material such as but not limited to fabric, foam, or other synthetic materials (Par. [0033] – the anchor pads 110a and 110b of the embodiment shown in FIG. 1 are shaped for use on a hand of a patient; Par. [0034] – In combination, the lower adhesive surface, upper layer, and possibly one or more intermediate layers may comprise a laminate structure. A suitable laminate that comprises a foam or woven material with an adhesive layer is available commercially from Avery Dennison of Painsville, Ohio. The anchor pads 110a and 110b may be configured as a flexible structure configured to conform to the surface of a patient's skin.).
Therefore, claim 2 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 3, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Fig. 1, # 115a/b – release liners, i.e. release paper) the base comprising the use of any medical-grade adhesive safe for us on skin and further comprising at least one set of release paper attached to the bottom surface of the base as a means of temporarily covering the adhesive until the device may be optimally positioned (Par. [0037] – the anchor pads 110a and 110b include removable release liners 115a and 115b on a lower surface of the anchor pads 110a and 110b. The removable release liners 115a and 115b may cover the lower adhesive surface before use. The release liners may resist tearing and be divided into a plurality of pieces to assist removal of the release liners and ease attachment of the anchor pads 110a and 110b to a patient's skin).
Therefore, claim 3 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 4, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Figs. 1 and 3B, # 200, 234b) the platform is generally rectangular and where the angle of decline about the platform is between 10 and 45 degrees (Par. [0061] – The inclination angle θ of the channel 234b with respect to the transverse direction may be any suitable angle. In some embodiments the inclination angle θ is between about 5 and about 10 degrees; Examiner notes that retainer 200 is generally rectangular).
Therefore, claim 4 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 5, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Figs. 1 and 4, # 200 and 240) the platform, and securement member are comprised of a solid material such as but not limited to any injection-moldable plastics (Par. [0053] – In one embodiment, the strap 240 comprises an elastomeric material; Par. [0058] – For example, the entire retainer 200 may be formed by injection molding).
Therefore, claim 5 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 6, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Figs. 1 and 4, # 242 and 258a/b – pin 242 and grooves 258a/b) the means of connection between the securement base and the cincture arm comprising but not limited to any living hinge or other mechanism allowing flexion (Par. [0052] – As illustrated in FIG. 1, the strap 240 is attached to the first angled support 255 by a pin 242 that passes through the first angled support 255 and the strap 240. As such, the strap 240 can rotate about the pin 242 to cover and uncover the channel 234. The first angled support 255 includes grooves 258a and 258b for receiving a portion of the strap 240 when the strap 240 is in a closed position.).
Therefore, claim 6 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Regarding claim 7, Andino teaches the securement device of claim 1 where (Figs. 1 and 4, # 239, 240, 244) the means of latching is comprised of any latching mechanism that may be closed and therefore locked by simple insertion of the latch into the receiver (Par. [0054] – The second angled support 250 holds the retention mechanism 239 in a position such that it can engage with the strap 240; Par. [0055] – In FIG. 1, the retention mechanism 239 is illustrated as being a protrusion disposed on the second angled support 250 that can be inserted through the opening 244 to retain the strap 240 in a closed position over the channel 234. The retention mechanism 239 may comprise a lip to overhang a portion of the strap 240 after the retention mechanism 239 has been inserted through the opening 244) and (Fig. 1, # 246 – tab) which may be opened or unlocked by depressing a tab connected to a lever-like appendage on the latch (Par. [0056] – The tab 246 may allow a medical provider to easily grip the strap 240 and to engage and/or disengage the strap 240 from the retention mechanism 239).
Therefore, claim 7 is unpatentable over Andino, et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nilson, et al. (US 2013/0165863)
Howell, et al. (US 2015/0224285)
/MICHAEL T. HOLTZCLAW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796