DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 14/283,579, filed on 05/21/2014.
Response to Amendment
Applicant added Claim(s) 23-27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page(s) 11-14, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-23 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1) and further in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1) listed and detail in the Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-17, 19-20, 22-23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1) and further in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1).
Re Claim 1, 2 & 13, Trussel teaches an electronic device comprising:
at least one display; (Trussel; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0064]-[0072]; A display.)
at least one communication circuit; (Trussel; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0024], [0028]-[0030]; Communication circuit such as wired network, wireless media.)
at least one processor; (Trussel; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0016]-[0020]; A multiprocessor.)
memory storing a first application, wherein the first application comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: (Trussel; FIG. 1-8; Background, Summary, ¶ [0016]-[0026]; Memory storing an application, including instructions executing by a processor.)
Trussel does not explicitly suggest display, via the at least one display, a plurality of items respectively indicating external electronic devices, that have been respectively associated with the electronic device, in a user interface (UI) of the first application executed by the electronic device; based at least in part on receiving a first user input indicating a selection of an item among the plurality of items, display a plurality of executable objects for setting a time length for which a function is to be executed with respect to an external electronic device indicated by the item, wherein the first user input is received for executing the function that provides a real-time location of the electronic device, and wherein each of the plurality of executable objects indicates a different candidate time length; based at least in part on receiving a second user input on one executable object among the plurality of executable objects, transmit, to the external electronic device via the at least one communication circuit, information for providing the function, wherein the information is configured to cause the external electronic device to display, via a display of the external electronic device, a UI of a second application, wherein the second application is distinct from the first application, and wherein the UI of the second application is configured to provide the function for the external electronic device by displaying at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on an electronic map of the external electronic device; while transmitting the information, display at least one visual item, for ceasing the function, within the UI of the first application; based at least in part on receiving the second user input on the one executable object, identify whether the time length is elapsed; based on an identification that the time length is elapsed, cease to execute the function with respect to the external electronic device; and based at least in part on receiving another user input on the at least one visual item, cease to execute the function that provides the real-time location of the electronic device before the time length is elapsed.
However, in analogous art, Oplinger teaches display, via the at least one display, a plurality of items respectively indicating external electronic devices, that have been respectively associated with the electronic device, in a user interface (UI) of the first application executed by the electronic device; (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0026], [0031]-[0067]; The cited embodiment(s) describe a display/screen, in which a plurality of selectable items/icons displayed that depict external user/participant devices in a GUI/UI of an application that is executed by the electronic device.)
based at least in part on receiving a first user input indicating a selection of an item among the plurality of items, (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0026], [0031]-[0067]; User input such as selection a display item.)
display a plurality of executable objects for setting a time length for which a function is to be executed with respect to an external electronic device indicated by the item, (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067]; Display a plurality of objects, setting a time length for which a function is to be executed by an external device, indicated by the selected item.)
wherein the first user input is received for executing the function that provides a real-time location of the electronic device, and wherein each of the plurality of executable objects indicates a different candidate time length; (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0026], [0031]-[0067]; A user executed the function, such as the location sharing function, that provides a current time (real-time) location of the electronic device and wherein each of the plurality of objects indicates a different associated time length.)
based at least in part on receiving a second user input on one executable object among the plurality of executable objects, transmit, to the external electronic device via the at least one communication circuit, information for providing the function, wherein the information is configured to cause the external electronic device to display, via a display of the external electronic device, a UI of a second application, wherein the second application is distinct from the first application, and (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; A second user, executable objects/icons, transmitting data, information and data. Displaying the data on a user UI/GUI of an external device, executing a application.)
wherein the UI of the second application is configured to provide the function for the external electronic device by displaying at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on an electronic map of the external electronic device; (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; The UI/GUI of an application on a second participant/user device, is used to provided the location sharing function for said device, objects/icons are displayed and identified and shown in current time (real-time) on a electronic map.)
while transmitting the information, display at least one visual item, for ceasing the function, within the UI of the first application; (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Transmitting data, displaying objects/icons, an a location event sharing event expiration time/data, displaying on the UI/GUI of the application.)
based at least in part on receiving the second user input on the one executable object, identify whether the time length is elapsed; (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Identifiable users, objects and time lengths.)
based on an identification that the time length is elapsed, cease to execute the function with respect to the external electronic device; and (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Identifiable time lengths, expiring event function.)
based at least in part on receiving another user input on the at least one visual item, cease to execute the function that provides the real-time location of the electronic device before the time length is elapsed. (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; User input, objects/icons, executing location sharing functions in current time before the time length expires.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel in view of Oplinger to share real-time location information among a group of participants for the reasons of creating a system of sharing location among a group of participants. (Oplinger Abstract)
Re Claim 5, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
causing the first external electronic device to display at least one second visual item in the user interface of the second application, (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
wherein the at least one second visual item is configured to, when selected, cause the first external electronic device to cease execution of the real-time location function. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
Re Claim 6 & 16, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting, to the first external electronic device, the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device comprises:
transmitting, to the first external electronic device, the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device and a real-time location function of a second electronic device by displaying a second real-time location of the second electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology which details multiple parties, multiple inputs, information display on a user interface, real-time location sharing via a map and set time intervals for sharing location data.)
Re Claim 7 & 17, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device comprises:
periodically transmitting, to the first external electronic device, a current location of the electronic device. (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Periodically updating/transmitting location data in current time, to a device in the location sharing event.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel in view of Oplinger to share real-time location information among a group of participants for the reasons of creating a system of sharing location among a group of participants. (Oplinger Abstract)
Re Claim 9 & 19, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first external account comprises a first identifier associated with the first external electronic device, and wherein the first identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises at least one of:
a user name or a surname. (Trussel; FIG. 2-3; ¶ [0022]; User name.)
Re Claim 10 & 20, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
associating the first external account with the electronic device by storing, in a memory of the electronic device, at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 2-3; ¶ [0018]-[0022]; Storing, identifying information associated with the external electronic device.)
Re Claim 12 & 22, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
based on receiving a fourth user input, selecting a second item, of the one or more items, that indicates a second external account; and (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Receiving input from a plurality of users/participants, selecting icons/items that represent numerous other external accounts/profiles of users.)
based on the receiving the second user input, transmitting, to a second external electronic device associated with the second external account, instructions configured to cause the second external electronic device to display a user interface of a third application, executing on the second external electronic device, that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device on an electronic map displayed by the second external electronic device, (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Various users, transmitting data, external user devices, a GUI/UI, various applications executing on the user device, current time location data and an electronic map.)
wherein the displaying the plurality of executable objects comprises: (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Displaying objects.)
after the selecting the first item and the selecting the second item, receiving the second user input and displaying the plurality of executable objects. (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Selecting objects/icons transmitted to a user and displaying on a user device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel in view of Oplinger to share real-time location information among a group of participants for the reasons of creating a system of sharing location among a group of participants. (Oplinger Abstract)
Re Claim 14, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device, a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display, on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device, a plurality of visual objects, and wherein the plurality of visual objects comprise:
the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device; and (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
at least one second visual object for identifying a real-time location of the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
Re Claim 23, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 22, wherein the first application, the second application, and the third application correspond to a same location-sharing application executable on mobile devices. (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Applications, current time location sharing executable on mobile/cellular devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel in view of Oplinger to share real-time location information among a group of participants for the reasons of creating a system of sharing location among a group of participants. (Oplinger Abstract)
Re Claim 26, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the plurality of executable objects are simultaneously displayed and comprise at least three executable objects, and wherein different candidate time lengths indicated by at least two executable objects of the at least three executable objects comprise predetermined time lengths. (Oplinger; FIG. 1-7; Background, Summary, ¶ [0019]-[0028], [0031]-[0067], [0074]-[0084]; Displaying various objects/icons, time lengths.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel in view of Oplinger to share real-time location information among a group of participants for the reasons of creating a system of sharing location among a group of participants. (Oplinger Abstract)
Claim(s) 3-4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1), in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1) and further in view of Yariv et al. (US 2012/0239584 A1).
Re Claim 3, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises: causing display of a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises:
causing display of a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Re Claim 4, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises: causing display of an estimated time for the electronic device to reach a destination.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises:
causing display of an estimated time for the electronic device to reach a destination. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0038]-[0039]; Displaying ETA to reach a destination.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Re Claim 15, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 13, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device, a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device, and wherein the position relationship indicates a distance between the electronic device and the first external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device,
a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device, and (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
wherein the position relationship indicates a distance between the electronic device and the first external electronic device. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Claim(s) 8 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1), in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1) and further in view of Trussel et al. (US 2013/0226453 A1).
Re Claim 8 & 18, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest, further comprising: identifying, based on a list of contacts stored by the electronic device, one or more external accounts that have been associated with the electronic device, wherein the list of contacts indicates a plurality of contacts, wherein each contact of the plurality of contacts corresponds to an external account of the one or more external accounts, and wherein each external account of the one or more external accounts comprises an identifier associated with an external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Trussel teaches further comprising:
identifying, based on a list of contacts stored by the electronic device, one or more external accounts that have been associated with the electronic device, (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Identifying, based on a list of contacts, external accounts associated with the electronic device.)
wherein the list of contacts indicates a plurality of contacts, (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; A plurality of friends.)
wherein each contact of the plurality of contacts corresponds to an external account of the one or more external accounts, and (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Friends associated with an external account such as a social media account.)
wherein each external account of the one or more external accounts comprises an identifier associated with an external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Identifiers associated with the friends.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Trussel to identify friends on a list for the reasons of integrating a location sharing event with a group of users. (Trussel Abstract)
Claim(s) 11 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1), in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1) and further in view of Altman et al. (US 2007/0281716 A1).
Re Claim 11 & 21, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the method of claim 10, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises: an identifier associated with the first external electronic device; and a contact name for identifying a user of the first external account.
However, in analogous art, Altman teaches wherein the at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises:
an identifier associated with the first external electronic device; and (Altman; FIG. 1; ¶ [0036]; Identifier associated with an electronic device.)
a contact name for identifying a user of the first external account. (Altman; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0045]; Contact names.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Altman to identifying electronic devices for the reason of establishing communication links between users in a network environment. (Altman Abstract)
Claim(s) 24-25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1), in view of Oplinger et al. (US 2015/0172393 A1) and further in view of Dessert et al. (US 2011/0218907 A1).
Re Claim 24, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 13, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the first application is an application configured to access a plurality of external accounts for a plurality of users of external electronic devices.
However, in analogous art, Dessert teaches wherein the first application is an application configured to access a plurality of external accounts for a plurality of users of external electronic devices. (Dessert; FIG. 1-19; Summary, ¶ [0048]-[0080]; The cited embodiment(s) detail the creation of external user accounts.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Dessert to create user accounts for the reasons of managing and creating user accounts. (Dessert Abstract)
Re Claim 25, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 24, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to identify, based on a list of contacts stored by the electronic device, (Dessert; FIG. 1-19; Summary, ¶ [0048]-[0080]; Identifying, listing and storing created user accounts.)
the plurality of external accounts that have been associated with the electronic device, wherein the list of contacts indicates a plurality of contacts, (Dessert; FIG. 1-19; Summary, ¶ [0048]-[0080]; External user accounts, list of contacts.)
wherein each contact of the plurality of contacts corresponds to an external account of the plurality of external accounts, and wherein each external account of the plurality of external accounts comprises an identifier associated with an external electronic device (Dessert; FIG. 1-19; Summary, ¶ [0048]-[0080]; List of contacts, external accounts, identifiers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Dessert to create user accounts for the reasons of managing and creating user accounts. (Dessert Abstract)
Re Claim 27, Trussel-Oplinger discloses the electronic device of claim 1, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the first application is an application configured to access profile information for a plurality of users of the external electronic devices.
However, in analogous art, Dessert teaches wherein the first application is an application configured to access profile information for a plurality of users of the external electronic devices. (Dessert; FIG. 1-19; Summary, ¶ [0048]-[0080]; Access profile information of a user.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Trussel-Oplinger in view of Dessert to create user accounts for the reasons of managing and creating user accounts. (Dessert Abstract)
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443