DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 14/283,579, filed on 05/21/2014.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/16/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10, 12-14, 16-17, 19-20, 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2010/0118025 A1) and further in view of Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1).
Re Claim 1, 2 & 13, Smith teaches an electronic device comprising:
at least one display; (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0059]-[0060]; A display.)
at least one communication circuit; (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0242]-[0249]; Communication circuitry.)
at least one processor; (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0054], [0242]; Processors.)
memory storing a first application, wherein the first application comprises instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to: (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0056], [0232]-[0244]; A memory storing applications, executed via processor on a electronic device.)
display, via the at least one display, a plurality of items respectively indicating external electronic devices, that have been respectively associated with the electronic device, in a user interface (UI) of the first application executed by the electronic device; (Smith; FIG. 1-21; ¶ [0059]-[0089], [0126]-[0136], [0156]-[0158]; Displaying, via a display, a plurality of objects, selectable visual based object, indicating external devices/users, in a user interface, implemented via an application on a device.)
based at least in part on receiving a first user input indicating a selection of an item among the plurality of items, display a plurality of executable objects for setting a time length for which a function is to be executed with respect to an external electronic device indicated by the item, wherein the first user input is received for executing the function that provides a real-time location of the electronic device, and wherein each of the plurality of executable objects indicates a different candidate time length; (Smith; FIG. 1-21; ¶ [0059]-[0089], [0126]-[0136], [0156]-[0158]; A first user, user input data, selectable items/objects displaying on a user interface of a device display screen, setting a time length for sharing real-time location based data to a second, separated and distinct device. In addition, the ability to set various time limit for sharing real-time location data to a plurality of users.)
Smith does not explicitly suggest based at least in part on receiving a second user input on one executable object among the plurality of executable objects, transmit, to the external electronic device via the at least one communication circuit, information for providing the function, wherein the information is configured to cause the external electronic device to display, via a display of the external electronic device, a UI of a second application, wherein the second application is distinct from the first application, and wherein the UI of the second application is configured to provide the function for the external electronic device by displaying at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on an electronic map of the external electronic device; while transmitting the information, display at least one visual item, for ceasing the function, within the UI of the first application; based at least in part on receiving the second user input on the one executable object, identify whether the time length is elapsed; based on an identification that the time length is elapsed, cease to execute the function with respect to the external electronic device; and based at least in part on receiving another user input on the at least one visual item, cease to execute the function that provides the real-time location of the electronic device before the time length is elapsed.
However, in analogous art, Trussel teaches based at least in part on receiving a second user input on one executable object among the plurality of executable objects, transmit, to the external electronic device via the at least one communication circuit, information for providing the function, wherein the information is configured to cause the external electronic device to display, via a display of the external electronic device, a UI of a second application, wherein the second application is distinct from the first application, and wherein the UI of the second application is configured to provide the function for the external electronic device by displaying at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on an electronic map of the external electronic device; (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology which details multiple parties, multiple inputs, information display on a user interface, real-time location sharing via a map and set time intervals for sharing location data.)
while transmitting the information, display at least one visual item, for ceasing the function, within the UI of the first application; (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
based at least in part on receiving the second user input on the one executable object, identify whether the time length is elapsed; (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; The system determines when a time interval has elapsed.)
based on an identification that the time length is elapsed, cease to execute the function with respect to the external electronic device; and (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Based on the determination, the real-time sharing ends.)
based at least in part on receiving another user input on the at least one visual item, cease to execute the function that provides the real-time location of the electronic device before the time length is elapsed. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Based on user input via user interface selection of visual data on the screen, the real-time location sharing stops.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 5, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
causing the first external electronic device to display at least one second visual item in the user interface of the second application, (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
wherein the at least one second visual item is configured to, when selected, cause the first external electronic device to cease execution of the real-time location function. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 6 & 16, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting, to the first external electronic device, the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device comprises:
transmitting, to the first external electronic device, the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device and a real-time location function of a second electronic device by displaying a second real-time location of the second electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; The embodiment(s) detail comparable methodology which details multiple parties, multiple inputs, information display on a user interface, real-time location sharing via a map and set time intervals for sharing location data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 7 & 17, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the transmitting the instructions configured to cause the first external electronic device to display the user interface of the second application that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device comprises:
periodically transmitting, to the first external electronic device, a current location of the electronic device. (Smith; FIG. 1; Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0069]; Real-time location data of a device.)
Re Claim 9 & 19, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first external account comprises a first identifier associated with the first external electronic device, and wherein the first identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises at least one of:
a user name or a surname. (Trussel; FIG. 2-3; ¶ [0022]; User name.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 10 & 20, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
associating the first external account with the electronic device by storing, in a memory of the electronic device, at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 2-3; ¶ [0018]-[0022]; Storing, identifying information associated with the external electronic device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 12 & 22, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
based on receiving a fourth user input, selecting a second item, of the one or more items, that indicates a second external account; and (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0074], [0164]-[0165], [0232], [0242]; Various applications, selectable items and objects, external held user accounts/profiles and user input.)
based on the receiving the second user input, transmitting, to a second external electronic device associated with the second external account, instructions configured to cause the second external electronic device to display a user interface of a third application, executing on the second external electronic device, that provides the real-time location function of the electronic device on an electronic map displayed by the second external electronic device, (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0074], [0164]-[0165], [0232], [0242]; User input, various externally held user profile/accounts, various applications, user interface, real-time location functions, electronic maps.)
wherein the displaying the plurality of executable objects comprises: (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0074], [0164]-[0165], [0232], [0242]; Displaying objects.)
after the selecting the first item and the selecting the second item, receiving the second user input and displaying the plurality of executable objects. (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0074], [0164]-[0165], [0232], [0242]; Various users, input, selectable items/objects.)
Re Claim 14, Smith-Trussel discloses the electronic device of claim 13, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device, a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display, on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device, a plurality of visual objects, and wherein the plurality of visual objects comprise:
the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device; and (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
at least one second visual object for identifying a real-time location of the first external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0009]-[0011], [0021]-[0027]; Displaying visual items/objects on a map, ceasing the real-time location sharing, and the transmission of information/data.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith in view of Trussel to end real-time location sharing for the reasons of creating a system for sharing and managing location data of multiple users. (Trussel Abstract)
Re Claim 23, Smith-Trussel discloses the electronic device of claim 22, wherein the first application, the second application, and the third application correspond to a same location-sharing application executable on mobile devices. (Smith; FIG. 1-21; Background, Summary, ¶ [0062]-[0074], [0164]-[0165], [0232], [0242]; Location sharing application.)
Claim(s) 3-4, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2010/0118025 A1), in view of Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1) and further in view of Yariv et al. (US 2012/0239584 A1).
Re Claim 3, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises: causing display of a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises:
causing display of a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith-Trussel in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Re Claim 4, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises: causing display of an estimated time for the electronic device to reach a destination.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the displaying the at least one visual object for identifying the real-time location of the electronic device on the electronic map displayed by the first external electronic device comprises:
causing display of an estimated time for the electronic device to reach a destination. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0038]-[0039]; Displaying ETA to reach a destination.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith-Trussel in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Re Claim 15, Smith-Trussel discloses the electronic device of claim 13, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device, a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device, and wherein the position relationship indicates a distance between the electronic device and the first external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Yariv teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the electronic device to transmit, to the first external electronic device,
a real-time location of the electronic device to cause the first external electronic device to display a position relationship between the electronic device and the first external electronic device, and (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
wherein the position relationship indicates a distance between the electronic device and the first external electronic device. (Yariv; FIG. 1; Background, Summary, ¶ [0032]-[0042]; Displaying the position between a plurality of users and their respective electronic devices.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith-Trussel in view of Yariv to display position of devices on a map for the reasons of displaying dynamics user location information and destination data for a rendezvous event among a plurality of users. (Yariv Abstract)
Claim(s) 8 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2010/0118025 A1), in view of Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1) and further in view of Trussel et al. (US 2013/0226453 A1).
Re Claim 8 & 18, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 2, yet does not explicitly suggest, further comprising: identifying, based on a list of contacts stored by the electronic device, one or more external accounts that have been associated with the electronic device, wherein the list of contacts indicates a plurality of contacts, wherein each contact of the plurality of contacts corresponds to an external account of the one or more external accounts, and wherein each external account of the one or more external accounts comprises an identifier associated with an external electronic device.
However, in analogous art, Trussel teaches further comprising:
identifying, based on a list of contacts stored by the electronic device, one or more external accounts that have been associated with the electronic device, (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Identifying, based on a list of contacts, external accounts associated with the electronic device.)
wherein the list of contacts indicates a plurality of contacts, (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; A plurality of friends.)
wherein each contact of the plurality of contacts corresponds to an external account of the one or more external accounts, and (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0031]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Friends associated with an external account such as a social media account.)
wherein each external account of the one or more external accounts comprises an identifier associated with an external electronic device. (Trussel; FIG. 1; ¶ [0023]-[0024], [0028]-[0042], [0067]-[0070]; Identifiers associated with the friends.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith-Trussel in view of Trussel to identify friends on a list for the reasons of integrating a location sharing event with a group of users. (Trussel Abstract)
Claim(s) 11 & 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2010/0118025 A1), in view of Trussel et al. (US 2011/0306366 A1) and further in view of Altman et al. (US 2007/0281716 A1).
Re Claim 11 & 21, Smith-Trussel discloses the method of claim 10, yet does not explicitly suggest wherein the at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises: an identifier associated with the first external electronic device; and a contact name for identifying a user of the first external account.
However, in analogous art, Altman teaches wherein the at least one identifier associated with the first external electronic device comprises:
an identifier associated with the first external electronic device; and (Altman; FIG. 1; ¶ [0036]; Identifier associated with an electronic device.)
a contact name for identifying a user of the first external account. (Altman; FIG. 1-4; ¶ [0045]; Contact names.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify Smith-Trussel in view of Altman to identifying electronic devices for the reason of establishing communication links between users in a network environment. (Altman Abstract)
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B ROBINSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443