CTNF 18/917,550 CTNF 92547 DETAILED ACTION 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/16/24 comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner considered the information disclosure statements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 20240134160) . Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an optical imaging system (fig. 8A), comprising, a first lens (first lens element 810) comprising a convex image-side surface (table 15, surface #3 curvature radius is -20.230); a second lens (second lens element 820) comprising a refractive power (table 15, focal length is -3.21); a third lens (third lens element 830) comprising a concave image-side surface (table 15, surface #7 curvature radius is 5.143); a fourth lens (fourth lens element 840) comprising a refractive power (table 15, Focal Length is 5.45); and a fifth lens (fifth lens element 850) comprising a refractive power (table 15, Focal Length is -12.53), wherein the first to fifth lenses (810,820,830,840,850) are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (table shown object to image), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens is greater than a radius (table 15,surface #2 curvature radius is 4.493) of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (table 15, surface #8 curvature radius is 2.355), wherein a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first (table 15,surface #2 curvature radius is 4.493) lens is less than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens (table 15,surface #5 curvature radius is 7.207) and a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens (table 15,surface #9 curvature radius is 8.498), and wherein a thickness along an optical axis of the second lens (table 15, thickness of the second lens is 0.350) is greater than a distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (table 15, distance from the image-side of the second lens to the object of the third lens is 0.266). Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the first lens (810) comprises a convex object-side surface (table 15, surface #2 curvature radius is 4.493). Regarding claim 4,Chen teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the second lens comprises a concave image-side surface (table 15, surface #5 curvature radius is 7.207). Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the optical imaging system of claim 1, wherein the fourth lens comprises a concave image-side surface (table 15, surface #9 curvature radius is 8.498) . 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 7-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liao et al. (US 20240176108) . Regarding claim 7, Liao teaches an optical imaging system (fig. 23 and table 23), comprising, a first lens (first lens element 1210) comprising a refractive power (table 23, focal length = 2.65); a second lens (second lens 1220) comprising a refractive power (table 23, focal length = -4.75; a third lens (third lens element 1230) comprising a concave image-side surface (concave image-side surface 1232; table 23, surface#7 has a curvature radius of 60.249); a fourth lens (fourth lens element 1240) comprising a refractive power (table 23, focal length = -32.76); and a fifth lens (fifth lens element 1250) comprising a refractive power (table 23, focal length -5.85), wherein the first to fifth lenses (1210,1220,1230,1240,1250) are sequentially disposed from an object side toward an imaging plane (shown in table 23, object to image), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the first lens (table 23, surface #1 curvature radius is 1.373) is greater than a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the fourth lens (table 23, surface #8 curvature radius is -207.683), wherein a radius of curvature of the object-side surface of the first lens (table 23, surface #1 curvature radius is 1.373) is less than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens (table 23, surface# 5 curvature radius is 2.861) and a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the fourth lens(table 23, surface #9 curvature radius is 18.321), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens (table 23, surface#4 curvature radius is 51.756) is greater than a radius of curvature of the image-side surface of the second lens (table 23, surface#5 curvature radius is 2.861), and wherein a thickness along an optical axis of the second lens (table 23, thickness of second lens is 0.371) is greater than a distance from the image-side surface of the second lens to an object-side surface of the third lens (table 23, the distance from image surface of second lens to object surface of third lens is 0.277). Regarding claim 8, Liao teaches the optical imaging system of claim 7, wherein the first lens comprises a convex object-side surface (table 23, surface #1 curvature radius is 1.373). Regarding claim 9, Liao teaches the optical imaging system of claim 7, wherein the second lens comprises a convex object-side surface (table 23, surface #4 curvature radius is 51.756) . Regarding claim 10, Liao teaches the optical imaging system of claim 7, wherein the second lens comprises a concave image-side surface (table 23, surface #5 curvature radius is 2.861). Regarding claim 12, Liao teaches the optical imaging system of claim 7, wherein the fourth lens comprises a concave image-side surface (table 23, surface #9 curvature radius is 18.321) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3, 5, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant a rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103. Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical imaging system specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the second lens comprises a convex object-side surface.” Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical imaging system specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the third lens comprises a concave object-side surface.” Regarding claim 11, the prior art does not disclose the claimed optical imaging system specifically including as the distinguishing features in combination with the other limitations the claimed “wherein the third lens comprises a concave object-side surface.” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HENRY DUONG whose telephone number is (571)270-0534. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Pinping Sun can be reached at (571)270-1284. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HENRY DUONG/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/13/26 Application/Control Number: 18/917,550 Page 2 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/917,550 Page 3 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/917,550 Page 4 Art Unit: 2872 Application/Control Number: 18/917,550 Page 5 Art Unit: 2872