DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
In response to applicant’s amendment filed 3/13/2026, claims 1-4 and 8-10 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunschweiler et al. (US 11,445,332) in view of Robinson et al. (US 2023/0206781) and Fast et al. (US 2003/0091970) and Lopez et al. (US 11,449,664) and also Rosenberg et al. (US 2007/0190494).
Regarding claims 1-2, Braunschweiler discloses a system for generation of an interactive AR scenario. See col. 2: 11-29. Braunschweiler discloses wherein the system defines a template (col. 6: 37-44), and this template is a production module which defines a venue (col. 6:10-34), and corresponding characters and scenarios and missions and events (col. 12: 15-28). Braunschweiler defines wherein the template is populated with location-based effects (LBC) which can be graphics, characters, effects, etc. See col.2:59 – col. 3:13. Braunscheiler discloses wherein the user wears an XR training device and is represented as an avatar. See col. 3: 5-10.
Braunschweiler also does not explicitly disclose a 3D map for the generation of effects in the predefined space (i.e. the venue). However, this interface method is established, as is disclosed by the AR system of Robinson in paragraphs 0238-0239, 0286, and 0317-0318. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to consider these concepts with the Braunschweiler system, in order to provide a convenient control interface.
Braunschweiler does not explicitly disclose pre-processing for standardization of items from an external database including format and size conversion, and the assignment of attribute data. However, these concepts are established, as is disclosed by the content system of Lopez in col. 4:65 – col. 5: 13. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to consider these features with the Braunschweiler system, in order to provide various effects.
Braunschweiler discloses a mission authoring module in col. 14: 42-44. However, it is not disclosed wherein the mission depends upon the user achieving a state condition, a time condition, and an action condition. However, these mission factors are all well-established, as is disclosed for example by the training system of Fast in paragraphs 0039 and 0066. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such factors with the system of Braunschweiler, in order to provide various training scenarios.
Braunschweiler does not disclose wherein the template is customized and stored separately for each user based upon performance, and wherein the template is further modified by collision range adjustment. However, these are established concepts with regard to gaming systems, as is disclosed by the gaming system of Rosenberg in paragraphs 0080 and 0084. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider such with the Braunschweiler system, in order to provide various customized scenarios.
Regarding claims 3-4, Braunschweiler discloses an object template with effect information in col. 14: 16-17 (LBC effect database).
Regarding claim 9, Braunschweiler discloses an occurrence for an event to occur, and end conditions. See col. 11: 18-25 and col. 6: 21-24.
Regarding claim 10, Braunschweiler discloses wherein the training device is wearable and applies user input to the map scenario. See col. 5: 23-35.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Braunschweiler et al. (US 11,445,332) in view of Robinson et al. (US 2023/0206781) and Fast et al. (US 2003/0091970) and Lopez et al. (US 11,449,664) and Rosenberg et al. (US 2007/0190494) and also Von Kohorn (US 5,697,844).
Regarding claim 8, Braunschweiler discloses state and character conditions in col. 14: 42-54, but does not explicitly disclose time-limitations. However, this is established with regard to VR systems, as is disclosed by the gaming system of Von Kohorn in col. 19: 20-25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing, to consider this with the Braunschweiler system, in order to provide various scenarios.
Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments and remarks dated 3/13/2026 have been fully considered, but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TIMOTHY A. MUSSELMAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/TIMOTHY A MUSSELMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715