DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0364403).
Regarding claim 1, Abari et al. discloses a video recording system comprising: a recording unit that saves a video file containing a video image of surroundings of a mobile unit to a storage device mounted on the mobile unit (Fig. 10 – storage 1006; paragraph [0046] – an autonomous vehicle 940 may obtain and process sensor/telemetry data – such data may be captured by any suitable sensors – as another example, the autonomous vehicle 940 may have optical cameras pointing in different directions – the cameras may be used for, e.g., recognizing roads, lane markings, street signs, traffic lights, police, other vehicles, and any other visible objects of interest – the vehicle may be equipped with stereo vision for, e.g., spotting hazards such as pedestrians or tree branches on the road – for example, an autonomous vehicle 940 may build a 3D model of its surrounding based on data from its LiDAR, radar, sonar, and cameras, along with a pre-generated map obtained from the transportation management system 960 or the third-party system 970; paragraph [0053] – processor 1002 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program – as an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1002 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006, decode and execute them, and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006; paragraph [0055] – storage 1006 includes mass storage for data or instructions – as an example and not by way of limitation, storage 1006 may include a hard disk drive (HDD) a floppy disk drive, flash memory, an optical disc, a magneto-optical disc, magnetic tape, or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive or a combination of two or more of these – storage 1006 may include removable or non-removable (or fixed) media, where appropriate); a transmission control unit that transmits the video file to an external device disposed outside the mobile unit (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); and a management unit that manages transmission of the video file, wherein the recording unit associates an ascending file number with the video file in ascending order of capture time, and stores the video file and the file number in the storage device (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks), the transmission control unit assigns the file number associated with the video file to the video file and transmits the video file with the file number to the external device (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks), and the management unit identifies, at predetermined timing, an unreceived video file that has not been received by the external device, on a basis of the file number associated with the video file last transmitted by the transmission control unit and the file number assigned to the video file last received by the external device, and instructs the transmission control unit to transmit the unreceived video file (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); paragraphs [0031]-[0034] – logging sequence numbers and sending ACK signals when data packets are received).
Regarding claim 2, Abari et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the recording unit and the management unit are provided in the mobile unit (Abari et al.: Figs. 8 and 10; paragraph [0015] – computing device of the vehicle; paragraph [0030] - Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0046]; paragraph [0053] – processor 1002 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program – as an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1002 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006, decode and execute them, and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006; paragraph [0055]; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks).
Regarding claim 4, Abari et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the storage device is a memory removably connected to a device mounted on the mobile unit (Abari et al.: Fig. 10 – storage 1006; paragraph [0055] – storage 1006 includes mass storage for data or instructions – as an example and not by way of limitation, storage 1006 may include a hard disk drive (HDD) a floppy disk drive, flash memory, an optical disc, a magneto-optical disc, magnetic tape, or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive or a combination of two or more of these – storage 1006 may include removable or non-removable (or fixed) media, where appropriate; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks).
Regarding claim 5, Abari et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the management unit receives the file number assigned to the video file received by the external device, the file number being returned by the external device when the transmission control unit transmits the video file to the external device, and the management unit identifies the unreceived video file that has not been received by the external device, on the basis of the file number associated with the video file last transmitted by the transmission control unit and the file number last returned from the external device (Abari et al.: Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); paragraphs [0031]-[0034] – logging sequence numbers and sending ACK signals when data packets are received).
Regarding claim 6, Abari et al. discloses all of the limitations as previously discussed with respect to claim 1 including that wherein the management unit acquires, at the predetermined timing, from the external device, information related to the file number assigned to the video file last received by the external device, and identifies the unreceived video file that has not been received by the external device, on the basis of the file number associated with the video file last transmitted by the transmission control unit and the file number obtained from the external device and assigned to the video file last received by the external device (Abari et al.: Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); paragraphs [0031]-[0034] – logging sequence numbers and sending ACK signals when data packets are received).
Regarding claim 7, Abari et al. discloses a video recording method executed by a computer of a video recording system, the video recording method comprising: a first step for saving a video file containing a video image of surroundings of a mobile unit to a storage device mounted on the mobile unit (Fig. 10 – storage 1006; paragraph [0046] – an autonomous vehicle 940 may obtain and process sensor/telemetry data – such data may be captured by any suitable sensors – as another example, the autonomous vehicle 940 may have optical cameras pointing in different directions – the cameras may be used for, e.g., recognizing roads, lane markings, street signs, traffic lights, police, other vehicles, and any other visible objects of interest – the vehicle may be equipped with stereo vision for, e.g., spotting hazards such as pedestrians or tree branches on the road – for example, an autonomous vehicle 940 may build a 3D model of its surrounding based on data from its LiDAR, radar, sonar, and cameras, along with a pre-generated map obtained from the transportation management system 960 or the third-party system 970; paragraph [0053] – processor 1002 includes hardware for executing instructions, such as those making up a computer program – as an example and not by way of limitation, to execute instructions, processor 1002 may retrieve (or fetch) the instructions from an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006, decode and execute them, and then write one or more results to an internal register, an internal cache, memory 1004, or storage 1006; paragraph [0055] – storage 1006 includes mass storage for data or instructions – as an example and not by way of limitation, storage 1006 may include a hard disk drive (HDD) a floppy disk drive, flash memory, an optical disc, a magneto-optical disc, magnetic tape, or a Universal Serial Bus (USB) drive or a combination of two or more of these – storage 1006 may include removable or non-removable (or fixed) media, where appropriate); a second step for transmitting the video file to an external device disposed outside the mobile unit (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); and a third step for managing transmission of the video file (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks), wherein in the first step, an ascending file number is associated with the video file in ascending order of capture time, and the video file and the file number are stored in the storage device, in the second step, the file number associated with the video file is assigned to the video file, and the video file with the file number is transmitted to the external device, and in the third step, at predetermined timing, an unreceived video file that has not been received by the external device is identified on a basis of the file number associated with the video file last transmitted in the second step and the file number assigned to the video file last received by the external device, and the unreceived video file is transmitted to the external device (Fig. 8; Fig. 10 – communication interface 1010; paragraph [0015] – a method whereby a computing device associated with a base station antenna installed in infrastructure may ensure that it has received a complete data offload from a radar antenna of a vehicle – the data offload may be whatever data that is transmitted by the antenna radar – it may include information related to objects surrounding the vehicle, information about the vehicle’s operation, or imaging data captured by the vehicle’s LIDAR, radar, camera, or other sensors – the method whereby the computing device associated with the base station ensures that is has received the complete data offload may include: receiving a portion of the data offload from the radar antenna – the data offload may include several data packets that each comprise a sequence number and a total number of data packets in the data offload – the method also may include the computing device generating a data packet log to keep track of the data packets – the computing device may store the sequence number of each received data packet in the data packet log – next, the computing device may determine that one or more sequence numbers areas are missing from the data packet log – the computing device may also send to the radar antenna a communication signal that comprises both an acknowledgement that the base station antenna received the portion of the data offload, and the sequence numbers that are missing from the data packet log – a computing device associated with the radar antenna of the vehicle may then attempt to resend the data packets that correspond to the missing sequence numbers; paragraph [0030] – Fig. 8 illustrates an example method of communication between a radar antenna of a vehicle and a base station antenna installed in infrastructure; paragraph [0057] – communication interface 1010 includes hardware, software, or both providing one or more interfaces for communication (such as, for example, a packet-based communication) between computer system 1000 and one or more other computer systems 1000 or one or more networks); paragraphs [0031]-[0034] – logging sequence numbers and sending ACK signals when data packets are received).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Prior art, alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combination with all of the other elements claimed:
wherein the transmission control unit communicates with the external device via a communication network disposed outside the mobile unit, and the predetermined timing is when power of the mobile unit is switched from an on state to an off state and the transmission control unit and the communication network are in a communicable state (Dependent claim 3, which depends from claim 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Roberson et al. (U.S. Patent 12,513,263) discloses the plurality of cameras 101 may capture different fields of vision to ensure that the video will capture the entire surrounding of the vehicle (Figs. 1 and 2; col. 3, lines 14-30).
Watanabe et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0091687) discloses that it is assumed that the server apparatus always has the most recent content registered therein, and a judgment as to whether a content stored in the receiving apparatus is different from that registered in the server apparatus is made by making a comparison between (i) the time at which the most recent content was registered in the server apparatus and (ii) the time at which the content was last downloaded into the receiving apparatus. Alternatively, a judgment as to whether or not a content has been updated can be made in a simple manner by making a comparison of the file size or created time (paragraph [0082]).
Pineau et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0161856) discloses that Fig. 6 depicts a flowchart of the method that enables the synchronization of a transmission event with the receiving node so that the transmission can restart at the datum immediately following the last datum received at the remote node. The server at the remote node 5 transmits back to the communications center 2 a packet identifier for the last packet received and the file size of last transmission (step 510) from communications center 2. The file size of the file received at the remote node during the last transmission is compared to the size of the file for the packet received during the last transmission (step 520) where the comparison is executed by the processor 200 of the communications center 2. If the file size of the file received at the remote node during the last transmission is smaller than the size of the file for the packet received during the last transmission, the remainder of that packet is transmitted (step 530). If the file size of the file received at the remote node during the last transmission is equal to the size of the file for the packet received during the last transmission, the next packet is transmitted (step 540). Synchronization between a transmitter and a receiver is well known to those skilled in the art and other synchronization methods are known and these are to be included in the spirit of the present invention (paragraph [0042]).
/HEATHER R JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481
March 6, 2026