DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 11-14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0230522 (hereinafter Lee) in view of Kang KR20200016042A (See English Translation, hereinafter Kang).
Consider claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including subpixels disposed in a display area and dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area of the display area (Figure 1, DP and P). In addition, Lee teaches wherein the dummy subpixels display a black image ([0004], black data) when a position where a protection image displayed based on the subpixels is displayed is moved (([0004] the display image may be shifted in a predetermined direction, and black data may be displayed in an outer peripheral portion where the display image is not displayed due to the shift of the display image. In this case, according to the display image shift scheme, an origin of the display image (e.g., a center of the image) may be shifted in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction in the form of a rectangular helix and further refers to in order to solve…display device may disperse the stress (see also figure 3)).
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose a driving circuit configured to output a sensing data voltage for sensing a first subpixel among the subpixels and a first dummy subpixel among the dummy subpixels; and a sensing circuit configured to: receive a first sensing value from a sensing node of the first subpixel and a second sensing value from a sensing node of the first dummy subpixel, and generate a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value, wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Kang teaches an organic light emitting display device in [0001] and further teaches a driving circuit configured to output a sensing data voltage for sensing a first subpixel among the subpixels and a first dummy subpixel among the dummy subpixels ([0234] and figures 15-16); and a sensing circuit configured to: receive a first sensing value from a sensing node of the first subpixel and a second sensing value from a sensing node of the first dummy subpixel (Figures 15-16, Isen and Iassist), and generate a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum), wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel (Figure 15, Iassist2-Iassist4) acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel (Figure 17, SLP2 increases steady and thus the current considered constant during this period. See for example, “https://components101.com/articles/understanding-constant-current-and-constant-voltage-sources” mentions “The red colour curve shows the charging voltage, while the blue curve shows the charging current” and “constant current mode” as annotated above (graph of Kang’s figure 17 is provided for comparison). In addition, Kang teaches wherein the dummy subpixels display a black image [0213] when a position where a protection image displayed based on the subpixels is displayed is moved (“black” image after a non-black image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sum of sensing value as taught by Kang with the benefit that sensing circuit senses an elevated voltage as suggested in [0252] and [0256]. In addition, the sensing time can be shortened. It is possible to obtain an accurate sensing value. the sensing can be performed quickly and accurately. It is possible to perform fast and accurate sensing even in various situations where the sensing time is insufficient as suggested in [0354-0357].
Consider claim 3, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kang teaches a compensator configured to generate a compensation value for compensating the first subpixel based on the first sensing value and excluding or offsetting the second sensing value ([0274] and [0278], a change portion of the sensing value SEN according to the assist driving may be canceled, and an accurate compensation value may be calculated), see motivation to combine claim 1.
Consider claim 6, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including subpixels disposed in a display area and dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area outside of the display area (Figure 2, DP and P); a driving circuit configured to: display a protection image based on the subpixels, move a position where the protection image is displayed, and move a position of a black image displayed on at least one of the dummy subpixels when the display position of the protection image is moved (([0004] the display image may be shifted in a predetermined direction, and black data may be displayed in an outer peripheral portion where the display image is not displayed due to the shift of the display image. In this case, according to the display image shift scheme, an origin of the display image (e.g., a center of the image) may be shifted in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction in the form of a rectangular helix and further refers to in order to solve…display device may disperse the stress (see also figure 3)).
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose a sensing circuit configured to: acquire a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from a first dummy subpixel displaying the black image among the dummy subpixels, and acquire a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value, wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel.
However, Kang teaches a sensing circuit configured to: acquire a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from a first dummy subpixel ([0234] and figures 15-16) displaying the black image among the dummy subpixels [0213], and acquire a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum), wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel (Figure 15, Iassist2-Iassist4) acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel (Figure 17, SLP2 increases steady and thus the current considered constant during this period. See for example, “https://components101.com/articles/understanding-constant-current-and-constant-voltage-sources” mentions “The red colour curve shows the charging voltage, while the blue curve shows the charging current” and “constant current mode” as annotated above (graph of Kang’s figure 17 is provided for comparison).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sum of sensing value as taught by Kang with the benefit that sensing circuit senses an elevated voltage as suggested in [0252] and [0256]. In addition, the sensing time can be shortened. It is possible to obtain an accurate sensing value. the sensing can be performed quickly and accurately. It is possible to perform fast and accurate sensing even in various situations where the sensing time is insufficient as suggested in [0354-0357].
Consider claim 7, it include the limitations of claim 3 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 9, Lee teaches a method of driving a display device, comprising: displaying a protection image based on subpixels disposed in a display area of a display panel in the display device and moving a position where the protection image is displayed (([0004] the display image may be shifted in a predetermined direction, and black data may be displayed in an outer peripheral portion where the display image is not displayed due to the shift of the display image. In this case, according to the display image shift scheme, an origin of the display image (e.g., a center of the image) may be shifted in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction in the form of a rectangular helix and further refers to in order to solve…display device may disperse the stress (see also figure 3)); displaying a black image on at least one of dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area of the display area and moving a position of the black image when the position of the protection image is moved ([0004] and figure 2, DP and P);
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose acquiring a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from a first dummy subpixel displaying the black image among the dummy subpixels; acquiring a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value; and generating a compensation value for compensating the first subpixel based on the first sensing value and excluding or offsetting the second sensing value from the sensing voltage, wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel.
However, Kang teaches acquiring a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from a first dummy subpixel displaying the black image among the dummy subpixels ([0234] and figures 15-16); acquiring a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum); and generating a compensation value for compensating the first subpixel based on the first sensing value and excluding or offsetting the second sensing value from the sensing voltage ([0274] and [0278], a change portion of the sensing value SEN according to the assist driving may be canceled, and an accurate compensation value may be calculated), wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the first dummy subpixel (Figure 15, Iassist2-Iassist4) acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel (Figure 17, SLP2 increases steady and thus the current considered constant during this period. See for example, “https://components101.com/articles/understanding-constant-current-and-constant-voltage-sources” mentions “The red colour curve shows the charging voltage, while the blue curve shows the charging current” and “constant current mode” as annotated above (graph of Kang’s figure 17 is provided for comparison).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sum of sensing value as taught by Kang with the benefit that sensing circuit senses an elevated voltage as suggested in [0252] and [0256]. In addition, the sensing time can be shortened. It is possible to obtain an accurate sensing value. the sensing can be performed quickly and accurately. It is possible to perform fast and accurate sensing even in various situations where the sensing time is insufficient as suggested in [0354-0357].
Consider claim 11, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including subpixels disposed in a display area and dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area of the display area (Figure 2, DP and P) and a controller configured to: display a protection image at a first position on the display panel, display the protection image at a second position on the display panel, the second position being different than the first position, in response to the protection image moving from the first position to the second position, display a black image by at least one dummy subpixel among the dummy subpixels that corresponds to a portion of the protection image previously displayed at the first position displayed (([0004] the display image may be shifted in a predetermined direction, and black data may be displayed in an outer peripheral portion where the display image is not displayed due to the shift of the display image. In this case, according to the display image shift scheme, an origin of the display image (e.g., a center of the image) may be shifted in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction in the form of a rectangular helix and further refers to in order to solve…display device may disperse the stress (see also figure 3)).
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose receive a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from the at least one dummy subpixel, and generate a sensing voltage corresponding to the first subpixel based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value, wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the at least one dummy subpixel acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel.
However, Kang teaches receive a first sensing value from a first subpixel among the subpixels and a second sensing value from the at least one dummy subpixel ([0234] and figures 15-16), and generate a sensing voltage corresponding to the first subpixel based on a sum of the first sensing value and the second sensing value (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum), wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the at least one dummy subpixel (Figure 15, Iassist2-Iassist4) acts as a constant current source for increasing current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the sensing node of the first subpixel (Figure 17, SLP2 increases steady and thus the current considered constant during this period. See for example, “https://components101.com/articles/understanding-constant-current-and-constant-voltage-sources” mentions “The red colour curve shows the charging voltage, while the blue curve shows the charging current” and “constant current mode” as annotated above (graph of Kang’s figure 17 is provided for comparison).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sum of sensing value as taught by Kang with the benefit that sensing circuit senses an elevated voltage as suggested in [0252] and [0256]. In addition, the sensing time can be shortened. It is possible to obtain an accurate sensing value. the sensing can be performed quickly and accurately. It is possible to perform fast and accurate sensing even in various situations where the sensing time is insufficient as suggested in [0354-0357].
Consider claim 12, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. Furthermore, Kang teaches wherein the first sensing value from the first subpixel and the second sensing value from the at least one dummy subpixel are obtained at a same time (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum) and based on a same first reference voltage (Figures 16 and 17, Vsen2, SL1), see motivation to combine in claim 11.
Consider claim 13, it includes the limitations of claim 3 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 14, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. Furthermore, Lee teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: display the protecting image based on orbit driving [0004].
Consider claim 16, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Lee teaches wherein the first subpixel and the at least one dummy subpixel have a same circuit configuration (Figures 2, 4 and [0075]).
Consider claim 17, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Kang teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: perform sensing of the first sensing value from the first subpixel and sensing the second sensing value from the at least one dummy subpixel during a blank period of a vertical synchronization signal ([0227-0228] and figure 16, blank time), see motivation to combine in claim 11.
Consider claim 19, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Kang teaches wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the at least one dummy subpixel increases current when sensing the first sensing value corresponding to the first subpixel (see SLP1 in comparison to SLP2 in figure 17. Figure 16, Isen_sum), see motivation to combine in claim 11.
Consider claim 20, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Kang teaches wherein the second sensing value corresponding to the at least one dummy subpixel is a bias voltage ([0232], non-sensing targets and assist currents. Figure 17, Vsen2 and voltage based on bias voltage from assistor pixels), see motivation to combine in claim 11.
Claim(s) 4, 8, 10, 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ha et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0062697 (hereinafter Ha).
Consider claim 4, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 1. In addition, Kang teaches wherein the sensing circuit is further configured to: acquire a sensing value from one of the dummy subpixels or acquire sensing values from a plurality of dummy subpixels based on at least one of a resolution of the display panel, a driving time of the display panel, or pixel per inch of the display panel ([0227-0228]).
Kang does not appear to specifically disclose driving frequency.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Ha teaches a display device (abstract) and further teaches driving frequency ([0067], a blank period BLK2 when the driving frequency is the first driving frequency (60 Hz) may be shorter than a blank period BLK1 when the driving frequency is the second driving frequency (30 Hz). Thus, Ha teaches the relation of time and frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide different frequencies (and thus driving time) for moving image or still image as suggested in [0050].
Consider claim 8, it include the limitations of claim 4 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 10, it include the limitations of claim 4 and thus rejected by the same reasoning.
Consider claim 15, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11. In addition, Kang teaches wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to the display panel being driven at a first driving time, perform a sensing operation for at least one of the subpixels without sensing any of the dummy subpixels (Figures 11-13, Isen, SP1, t1 (see also figure 17, t1)), and in response to the display panel being driven at a second time, perform a sensing operation for the at least one of the subpixels based on a sum of a sensing value for the at least one of the subpixels and a sensing value for at least one of the dummy subpixels (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum. Figure 17, t2).
Kang does not appear to specifically disclose second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency
However, Ha teaches second driving frequency higher than the first driving frequency ([0067], a blank period BLK2 when the driving frequency is the first driving frequency (60 Hz) may be shorter than a blank period BLK1 when the driving frequency is the second driving frequency (30 Hz). Thus, Ha teaches the relation of time and frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide different frequencies (and thus driving time) for moving image or still image as suggested in [0050].
Consider claim 21, Lee teaches a display device comprising: a display panel including subpixels disposed in a display area and dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area (Figure 1, DP and P). In addition, Lee teaches wherein the dummy subpixels are further configured to display a black image ([0004], black data) in response to a positional shift of an image displayed within the display area (([0004] the display image may be shifted in a predetermined direction, and black data may be displayed in an outer peripheral portion where the display image is not displayed due to the shift of the display image. In this case, according to the display image shift scheme, an origin of the display image (e.g., a center of the image) may be shifted in a clockwise or counterclockwise direction in the form of a rectangular helix and further refers to in order to solve…display device may disperse the stress (see also figure 3)).
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose a driving circuit configured to output a sensing data voltage to a selected subpixel from among the subpixels and to one or more of the dummy subpixels; receive a first sensing value from the selected subpixel and a plurality of second sensing values from the two or more dummy subpixels; and generate a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the plurality of second sensing values, wherein each of the plurality of second sensing values corresponds to a constant current that reduces a time required to generate the sensing voltage.
However, Kang teaches a driving circuit configured to output a sensing data voltage to a selected subpixel from among the subpixels and to one or more of the dummy subpixels ([0234] and figures 15-16; [0213], black data voltage); and a sensing circuit configured to: in response to at least one of a resolution of the display panel, a driving time of the display panel or a pixel per inch (PPI) of the display panel ([0227-0228], short time, blank time), determine two or more dummy subpixels from among the dummy subpixels to utilize for a sensing operation; receive a first sensing value from the selected subpixel and a plurality of second sensing values from the two or more dummy subpixels (Figures 15-16, SP1, SP2, SP3 and corresponding currents); and generate a sensing voltage based on a sum of the first sensing value and the plurality of second sensing values (Figures 15-16, Isen_sum), wherein each of the plurality of second sensing values corresponds to a constant current that reduces a time required to generate the sensing voltage (Figure 17, SLP2 increases steady and thus the current considered constant during this period. [0227-0028], See for example, a second sensing driving method capable of shortening a sensing time. “https://components101.com/articles/understanding-constant-current-and-constant-voltage-sources” mentions “The red colour curve shows the charging voltage, while the blue curve shows the charging current” and “constant current mode” as annotated above (graph of Kang’s figure 17 is provided for comparison).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sum of sensing value as taught by Kang with the benefit that sensing circuit senses an elevated voltage as suggested in [0252] and [0256]. In addition, the sensing time can be shortened. It is possible to obtain an accurate sensing value. the sensing can be performed quickly and accurately. It is possible to perform fast and accurate sensing even in various situations where the sensing time is insufficient as suggested in [0354-0357].
Lee and Kang does not appear to specifically disclose at least one of a resolution of the display panel, a driving frequency of the display panel or a pixel per inch (PPI) of the display panel being greater than a predetermined reference value
However, Ha teaches at least one of a resolution of the display panel, a driving frequency of the display panel or a pixel per inch (PPI) of the display panel being greater than a predetermined reference value ([0067], a blank period BLK2 when the driving frequency is the first driving frequency (60 Hz) may be shorter than a blank period BLK1 when the driving frequency is the second driving frequency (30 Hz). Thus, Ha teaches the relation of time and frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide different frequencies (and thus driving time) for moving image or still image as suggested in [0050].
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Kang as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Hyun et al. U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0140898 (hereinafter Hyun).
Consider claim 18, Lee and Kang teach all the limitations of claim 11.
Lee does not appear to specifically disclose wherein the first subpixel and the at least one dummy subpixel are connected to a same data line.
However, in a related field of endeavor, Hyun teaches a display device (abstract) and further teaches wherein the first subpixel and the at least one dummy subpixel are connected to a same data line (Figure 1, PX-D, PX and D1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide same data line as taught by Hyun so that the dummy pixel PX_Dij is located at the intersection between the i-th scan line Si and the j-th data line Dj. Thus, the second switching transistor MS_2 may selectively transmit a data signal provided thereto via the j-th data line Dj to the second driving transistor MD_2 through a switching operation according to a scan signal provided thereto via the i-th scan line Si as suggested in [0073-0075] and figures 2a-b.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 10, Applicant argues that “As shown in FIGs. 15-16 of Kang, Kang teaches that second to fourth subpixels (SP2~SP4) are NOT disposed in an outer area of the display area, but are disposed within the display area together with the subpixel (SP1). The subpixels (SP2 to SP4) are NOT dummy subpixels. Since the second to fourth subpixels (SP2~SP4) of Kang are NOT dummy subpixels disposed in an outer area of the display area”. The Office respectfully disagrees for the following reasons.
Lee teaches dummy subpixels DP disposed in an outer area of the display area as shown in figure 1, where black data may be displayed in the outer area as suggested in [0004]. Thus, Lee teaches the argued limitations. Furthermore, Kang teaches in [0213], the second to fourth subpixels SP2, SP3, and SP4…supplied with a black data voltage corresponding to 0 [V] or a similar voltage thereof, which is similar to the black data of the dummy subpixels in Lee. Consequently, these arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO W FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621