DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 recites “a plurality of bone anchors implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Such a recitation encompasses a human organism and is therefore unpatentable. In order to overcome this rejection, the Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to recite “a plurality of bone anchors configured to be implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Claims 2-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1 and therefore also encompass a human organism.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 10 recites “a plurality of bone anchors implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Such a recitation encompasses a human organism and is therefore unpatentable. In order to overcome this rejection, the Examiner suggests amending claim 10 to recite “a plurality of bone anchors configured to be implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Claims 11-15 are rejected because they depend from claim 10 and therefore also encompass a human organism.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 16 recites “a plurality of bone anchors implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Such a recitation encompasses a human organism and is therefore unpatentable. In order to overcome this rejection, the Examiner suggests amending claim 16 to recite “a plurality of bone anchors configured to be implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels” (line 2). Claims 17-20 are rejected because they depend from claim 16 and therefore also encompass a human organism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It appears that Applicant has mixed up various components of the invention in the claims. Claim 1 recites that the first elongate member engages the second housing of the second bone anchor, that the first bearing component is connected to the first elongate member, and that the first pair of linkages is coupled to the first bearing component. Thus, because elongate member 68 engages the bone anchor housing (via housing-engaging feature 100), elongate member 68 must be the first elongate member, and therefore bearing component 54A must be the first bearing component and linkages 64A and 64B must be the first pair of linkages. Claim 1 recites that the second elongate member engages the rod, that the second bearing component is connected to the second elongate member, and that the second pair of linkages is coupled to the second bearing component. Thus, because elongate member 70 engages the rod (via rod-engaging feature 102), elongate member 70 must be the second elongate member, and therefore bearing component 54B must be the second bearing component and linkages 62A and 62B must be the second pair of linkages. Claim 1 then recites first and second lever arms extending from the second pair of linkages. However, as shown in Fig. 5, lever arms 66A and 66B extend from linkages 64A and 64B and therefore extend from the first pair of linkages. Furthermore, handles 72 and 74 cause the draw the bearing component 54B (the second bearing component, not the first bearing component) and elongate member 70 (the second elongate member, not the first elongate member) toward bearing component 54A (the first bearing component, not the second bearing component). In addition to claim 1, it appears that Applicant has incorrectly identified which bearing component the locking mechanism is connected to in claims 6 and 7 (button 82, which is the locking mechanism, is shown only on bearing component 54A) and which elongate member the detents are located on in claim 8 (detents 114A-114D are only shown on elongate member 68). Note that there may be additional components recited in the claims in a manner that does not correspond to the figures and the specification, and as such, the Examiner suggests Applicant read through the claims and compare the claims to the figures and specification to ensure that the components are properly recited in the claims. Claims 2-9 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first elongate mechanism" in line 2 of the paragraph beginning with “a handle mechanism.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting “the first elongate mechanism” as “the first elongate member.” Claims 11-15 are rejected because they depend from claim 10.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first bearing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting “the first bearing” as “the first bushing.”
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 15 recites the limitations "the first bearing component" in line 2 and “the second bearing component” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting both “the first bearing component” and “the second bearing component” as “the bearing mechanism.”
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first bearing" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting “the first bearing” as “the first bushing.”
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 20 recites the limitations "the first bearing component" in line 4 and “the second bearing component” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner is interpreting both “the first bearing component” and “the second bearing component” as “the bearing mechanism.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oribe et al. (US 2005/0261702 A1).
Claim 1. Oribe discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of bone anchors (screws 3/103) implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels;
a rod (rod 5/105) engaging first and second housings (head portions 53B) of first and second bone anchors of the plurality of bone anchors;
a rod reducer (instrument 11) configured to couple the rod to the second bone anchor, the rod reducer comprising:
a first elongate member (inner cylinder 13) engaging the second housing of the second bone anchor (via claw portions 15);
a second elongate member (outer cylinder 17) configured to slide along the first elongate member, the second elongate member engaging the rod positioned near the second housing;
a first bearing component (pivot 29) rotatably connected to the first elongate member;
a second bearing component (pins 25) rotatably connected to the second elongate member;
a hinge mechanism comprising:
a first pair of linkages (links 23) pivotably coupled to the first bearing component;
a second pair of linkages (links 21) pivotably coupled to the second bearing component;
first and second rotation elements (pins 27) connecting the first pair of linkages and the second pair of linkages; and
first and second lever arms (portions of links 23 extending upward above pivot 29 and engaged with pins 33) extending from the second pair of linkages; and
first and second handles (levers 31) connected to the first and second lever arms, respectively, configured to cause the second pair of linkages to draw the first bearing component and the first elongate member toward the second bearing component, causing the first elongate member to pull the second housing towards the first bearing component and the second elongate member to move the rod into the second housing;
wherein the first bearing component and the second bearing component permit the hinge mechanism to rotate about the first and second elongate members (Figs. 1-10C; paras. 0024-0058).
Claims 10, 11, 13, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garamszegi (US 2007/0282337 A1).
Claim 10. Garamszegi discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of bone anchors (see “screws” in para. 0004) implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels;
a rod (rod R) engaging first and second housings (coupling elements 220) of first and second bone anchors of the plurality of bone anchors;
a reducing mechanism (instrument 100) comprising:
a first elongate member (member 200) extending along an axis and configured to engage the second housing of the second bone anchor (via working end 210); and
a second elongate member (body 300) configured to slide along the first elongate member along the axis and configured to engage the rod when positioned near the second housing (via notch 305);
a hinge mechanism (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 toward ring 450; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point toward fork 520) slidably coupling the first elongate member and the second elongate member such that the first elongate member can translate relative to the second elongate member;
a handle mechanism (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 to connector 470; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point to ratchet mechanism 570) comprising a pair of handles (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 to connector 470; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point to ratchet mechanism 570) coupled to the hinge mechanism and configured to cause the hinge mechanism to translate the first elongate mechanism relative to the second elongate member, whereby the first elongate member pulls the second housing towards the rod to move the rod into the second housing; and
a bearing mechanism (ring 450, fork 520, and ring 550) configured to permit the handle mechanism to rotate about the axis independent of the first and second elongate members (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Claim 11. Garamszegi discloses wherein the bearing mechanism comprises: a first bushing (ring 550) connected to the first elongate member; and a second bushing (ring 450) connected to the second elongate member (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Claim 13. Garamszegi discloses wherein the reducing mechanism further comprises a locking mechanism (ratchet mechanism 570) configured to immobilize rotation of the handle mechanism relative to the reducing mechanism (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Claim 16. Garamszegi discloses a system comprising:
a plurality of bone anchors (see “screws” in para. 0004) implanted onto a spinal column at multiple spine levels;
a rod (rod R) engaging a first but not a second housing (coupling element 220) of first and second bone anchors of the plurality of bone anchors;
a reducing mechanism (instrument 100) comprising:
a first elongate member (member 200) extending along an axis and configured to engage the second housing of the second bone anchor (via working end 210); and
a second elongate member (body 300) configured to slide along the first elongate member along the axis and configured to engage the rod when positioned near the second housing (via notch 305);
a hinge mechanism (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 toward ring 450; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point toward fork 520) slidably coupling the first elongate member and the second elongate member such that the first elongate member can translate relative to the second elongate member;
a handle mechanism (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 to connector 470; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point to ratchet mechanism 570) comprising a pair of handles (portion of trigger element 400 extending from pivot point 430 to connector 470; and portion of trigger element 500 extending from pivot point to ratchet mechanism 570) coupled to the hinge mechanism and configured to cause the first and second elongate members to translate relative to each other, whereby the first elongate member pulls the second housing towards the rod to move the rod into the second housing; and
a bearing mechanism (ring 450, fork 520, and ring 550) configured to permit the handle mechanism to rotate about the axis independent of the first and second elongate members (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Claim 17. Garamszegi discloses wherein the bearing mechanism comprises: a first bushing (ring 550) connected to the first elongate member; and a second bushing (ring 450) connected to the second elongate member (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Claim 19. Garamszegi discloses wherein the reducing mechanism further comprises a locking mechanism (ratchet mechanism 570) configured to immobilize rotation of the handle mechanism relative to the reducing mechanism (Figs. 1-6; paras. 0017-0035).
Double Patenting
Note that, upon amending the claims to overcome the various 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections, one or more of claims 1-20 may be subject to a double patenting rejection in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,311,321 depending on the subject matter recited in the claims as amended.
Conclusion
/JULIANNA N HARVEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3773