DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 06/25/2026. Claims 1-9 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/02/2023.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II (Figs. 3-6B) in the reply filed on 06/02/2023 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuo (U.S. Pub. 20150059624) in view of Hansen (U.S. Pub. 20050166804).
Regarding claim 1, Kuo teaches a sheet-shaped cushioning rubber comprising: a planar base portion 10 and a three-dimensional portion 12b,20 formed to rise from the base portion 10 toward one side in a sheet thickness direction (as seen in Fig. 3d below), the planar base portion 10 and the three-dimensional portion 12b,20 being alternately provided in one direction of a sheet plane, where: the three-dimensional portion 12b,20 includes a hollow portion 15 that opens toward another side in the sheet thickness direction (as shown in Fig. 3d below), the three-dimensional portion 12b,20 is integrally provided with a first rising surface 20 that is continuous from the base portion 10, a top surface 12b, and a second rising surface 20 on a side opposite to the first rising surface 20 (as seen in Fig. 3d), and the hollow portion 15 also opens toward both sides in a sheet width direction.
With regards to claim 1, Kuo is discussed above and teaches the cushioning rubber, which is capable of being made using other materials, to diversify the applications thereof (see discussion in para. [0044], lines 14-16). However, Kuo fails to teach where the three-dimensional portion is configured to be compressed and elastically deforms in the sheet thickness direction when a load is applied from above. Hansen teaches a cushioning rubber comprising planar portions 32,52, and a three-dimensional portion 54,70,72, where the three-dimensional portion is configured to be compressed and elastically deforms in the sheet thickness direction when a load is applied from above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pallet of Kuo to be made with rubber, allowing it to be compressible elastically, in order to provide a pallet that does not require fumigation or other treatment prior to foreign shipment and is less expensive to produce than plastic pallets, and to provide a pallet constructed of a rubber composite that is shaped and dimensioned to work with existing automated loading and shipping equipment, as taught to be desirable by Hansen (see discussion in paras. [0012], lines 1-4, and [0014], lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Kuo teaches the cushioning rubber, where a reinforcing rib 14 that is connected to the three-dimensional portion 12b,20 and inhibits falling over of the three-dimensional portion 12b,20 is integrally provided on a plane of the base portion 10 (as seen in Fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 3, Kuo teaches the cushioning rubber, where a protrusion (as shown in Fig. 3d below) used as a mounting margin for the cushioning rubber is integrally provided to protrude in the width direction from an end portion of the cushioning rubber in the width direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The reason for the allowance of the claims in this case, is the structural limitations drawn to the cushioning rubber, comprising reinforcing ribs integrally provided on planes of the base portions, where respective reinforcing ribs each have a first end and a second end and are disposed between adjacent three-dimensional portions, and where the respective reinforcing ribs extend in a sheet length direction and are connected to one of the adjacent three-dimensional portions at the first end and to another of the adjacent three-dimensional portions at the second end to inhibit falling over of the three-dimensional portions, now included in all the independent claims, in combination with the other elements recited, which is not found in the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. In addition to the reference to Kuo and Hansen above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The cited references teach cushioning rubber for supporting various objects.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 2-Sep-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632