DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18917710 has a total of 20 claims pending in the application, all of which are ready for examination by the examiner.
REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a process type claim. Claim 8 is a manufacture type claim. Claim 15 is a machine type claim. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to either a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
As per claim 1,
2A Prong 1:
“Determining, based on the request, a set of signal to extract relative to the non-fungible token” The Appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper takes the request then looks at what data he needs to appraise the NFT.
“receiving… a prediction for the NFT” The appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper uses the data and makes a prediction about the value of the NFT.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
Client device, (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receiving a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “inputting the set of signals”, “receiving, as output….”, “Outputting, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements individually or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
Client device (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receiving a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “inputting the set of signals”, “receiving, as output….”, “Outputting, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely receiving and transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving, input, output, and display steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claims 2-3, 5, and 7, these claims contain similar generic machine learning and mental steps to claim 1, and are rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 4, this claim contains similar insignificant activity and mental steps to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 6, this claim calls for similar mental steps and activity to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 8,
2A Prong 1:
“Determine, based on the request, a set of signal to extract relative to the non-fungible token” The Appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper takes the request then looks at what data he needs to appraise the NFT.
“receive… a prediction for the NFT” The appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper uses the data and makes a prediction about the value of the NFT.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
Non-transitory computer readable medium comprising memory, one or more processors, Client device, (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receive a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “input the set of signals”, “receive, as output….”, “Output, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements individually or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
Non-transitory computer readable medium comprising memory, one or more processors, Client device (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receive a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “input the set of signals”, “receive, as output….”, “Output, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely receiving and transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving, input, output, and display steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claims 9-10, 12, and 14, these claims contain similar generic machine learning and mental steps to claim 8, and are rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 11, this claim contains similar insignificant extra solutionary activity and mental steps to claim 8, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 13, this claim calls for similar mental steps and extra-solutionary activity to claim 8, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 15,
2A Prong 1:
“Determining, based on the request, a set of signal to extract relative to the non-fungible token” The Appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper takes the request then looks at what data he needs to appraise the NFT.
“receiving… a prediction for the NFT” The appraiser mentally or with pencil and paper uses the data and makes a prediction about the value of the NFT.
2A Prong 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Additional elements:
Memory, One or more processors, Client device, (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component);
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receiving a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “inputting the set of signals”, “receiving, as output….”, “Outputting, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements individually or in combination that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
Memory, One or more processors, Client device, (mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component)
A supervised machine learning model (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea - see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: Claims disclose a generic machine learning model with no additional limitations or details beyond a generic, off the shelf machine learning model.
“receiving a request from a client device for information relating to a non-fungible token”, “inputting the set of signals”, “receiving, as output….”, “Outputting, for display on the client device, the information relating to the non-fungible token, the information determined based on the prediction” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely receiving and transmitting data” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving, input, output, and display steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claims 16-17, and 19, these claims contain similar generic machine learning and mental steps to claim 1, and are rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 18, this claim contains similar insignificant extra solutionary activity and mental steps to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 20, this claim calls for similar mental steps and extra-solutionary activity to claim 1, and is rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
II. REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Examiners Note: Some rejections will be followed by an ‘EN’ that will denote an examiners note. This will be placed to further explain a rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230353570 A1) in view of Zheng (“Multimodal Learning for Improved NFT Price Prediction”).
As per claims 1, 8, and 15, Lee discloses, “A method comprising” (Pg.6, particularly paragraph 0091-0094; EN: this denotes the hardware and other interfaces used to run the system).
“Receiving a request from a device” (pg.5, particularly paragraph 0084; EN: this denotes a user searching or browsing products on the e-commerce system using their own device. Here the search is a request as it denotes the user asking the system for information related to a product) “for information relating to a non-fungible token” (Pg.4, particularly paragraph 0070; EN: this denotes the NFTs being called on for ownership of or information about related products).
“determining, based on the request, a set of signals to extract relative to the non-fungible token” (Pg.11, particularly paragraph 0135; EN: this denotes gathering information on the NFT/Item).
“Inputting the set of signals into a … machine learning model” (Pg.8-9, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes using NFT information with machine learning models).
“outputting, for display on a client device” (Pg.5, particularly paragraph 0084; EN: this denotes displaying product data). “the information relating to the non-fungible token” (Pg.4, particularly paragraph 0070; EN: this denotes the NFTs being called on for ownership of or information about related products).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose, “supervised machine learning model”, “receiving, as output from the supervised machine learning mode, a prediction for the non-fungible token”, “… the information determined based on the prediction”
Zheng discloses, “Supervised machine learning model” (Pg.75, particularly C2, section A; EN: this denotes the use of a supervised random forest model).
“receiving, as output from the supervised machine learning mode, a prediction for the non-fungible token”, “… the information determined based on the prediction” (Pg.75, particularly section A, first paragraph; EN: this denotes using the models to predict the price of the NFT).
Lee and Zheng are analogous art because both involve NFT commerce.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of NFT commerce to combine the work of Lee and Zheng in order to use a machine learning model to predict pricing of NFTs.
The motivation for doing so would be to “utilize multimodal data including visual information such as images and videos of NFTs as well as non-visual information such as category, collection, and historical sales of NFTs which serve as proxy variables for creator reputation and trader behavior to jointly predict price in future transactions” (Zhen, Pg.74, C2, second paragraph) or in the case of Lee, allow the system to use machine learning to properly price and sell NFTs in E-commerce.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of NFT commerce to combine the work of Lee and Zheng in order to use a machine learning model to predict pricing of NFTs.
As per claims 2, 9, and 16, Lee discloses, “further comprising selecting the …. Machine learning model from a plurality of candidate … machine learning models, each candidate … machine learning model corresponding to a different set of signals” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes having multiple machine learning models each specialized to a particular collection of NFTs, and selecting the model that is appropriate for those NFTs).
Zheng discloses, “supervised machine learning model” (Pg.75, particularly C2, section A; EN: this denotes the use of a supervised random forest model).
As per claims 4, 11, and 18, Lee discloses, “wherein receiving the request from the client device for information relating to the non-fungible token comprises receiving information associated with a collection of non-fungible tokens of which the non-fungible token is a part” (pg.3-4, particularly paragraph 0067; EN: this denotes NFTs being part of collections).
As per claims 5, 12, and 19, Lee discloses, “Wherein the … machine learning model is selected from a plurality of candidate … machine learning model based on information associated with the collection of non-fungible tokens of which the non-fungible token is a part” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes having multiple machine learning models each specialized to a particular collection of NFTs, and selecting the model that is appropriate for those NFTs).
Zheng discloses, “supervised machine learning model” (Pg.75, particularly C2, section A; EN: this denotes the use of a supervised random forest model).
As per claims 6, 13, and 20, Lee discloses, “responsive to the request omitting an indication of a collection to which the non-fungible token belongs, determining the collection by: (pg.5, particularly paragraph 0084; EN: this denotes a user searching or browsing products on the e-commerce system using their own device. Here the search is a request as it denotes the user asking the system for information related to a product. There is no requirement for the request to include the details of a collection, and thus there will be searches/requests that do not have this information).
“querying” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections). “a database” (Pg.9, particularly paragraph 0113; EN: this denotes a database of the NFTs and their associations). “with a query having information in the request” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections).
“receiving the indication of the collection in response to the query;” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections).
“using the collection as a signal of the set of signals” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes having multiple machine learning models each specialized to a particular collection of NFTs, and selecting the model that is appropriate for those NFTs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230353570 A1) in view of Zheng (“Multimodal Learning for Improved NFT Price Prediction”) and further in view of Jain et al (“NFT Appraisal Prediction: Utilizing Search Trends, Public Market Data, Linear Regression and Recurrent Neural Networks”).
As per claims 3, 10 and 17, Zheng discloses, “Determining, for the supervised machine learning model, a contribution of each candidate feature to prediction results of the supervised machine learning model” (Pg.77, particularly Table IV and section 2; EN: this denotes evaluating the top ten features from the analysis).
“ranking candidate features based on their contribution” (Pg.77, particularly Table IV and section 2; EN: this denotes evaluating the top ten features from the analysis).
However, Lee and Zheng fail to explicitly disclose, “determining the set of signals to correspond to ones of the candidate features having at least a threshold ranking.”
Jain discloses, “determining the set of signals to correspond to ones of the candidate features having at least a threshold ranking” (Pg.10; EN: these paragraphs describe evaluating and scoring the different predictors in NFT calculation, and removing predictors and selecting others based on their scores, with the threshold here being high p values or too high of multicollinearity and other factors that were considered to find the ideal set).
Jain and Lee modified by Zheng are analogous art because both involve NFT commerce.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of NFT commerce to combine the work of Jain and Lee modified by Zheng in order to restrict features to those effective for prediction.
The motivation for doing so would be because “Several predictors are not significant … it appears that only a few predictors accounted for the majority of the model quality, indicating that several can be cut” (Jain, Pg.10, second paragraph) or in the case of Lee modified by Zheng, allow the system to restrict the machine learning to the most effective features in order to have a strong and high quality model.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of NFT commerce to combine the work of Jain and Lee modified by Zheng in order to restrict features to those effective for prediction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20230353570 A1) in view of Zheng (“Multimodal Learning for Improved NFT Price Prediction”) and further in view of Castellano et al (“A Deep Learning Approach to Clustering Visual Arts”).
As per claims 7 and 14, Lee discloses, “Determining that the non-fungible token is not part of a collection” (Pg.3-4, particularly paragraph 0067; EN: this denotes NFTs being in collections and not being in collections).
“…non-fungible-tokens” (Pg.3-4, particularly paragraph 0067; EN: this denotes NFTs being used with art/images).
“Training the… machine learning model using historical data of the … non-fungible tokens” (Pg.8-9, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes training the models based on NFT data).
“querying” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections). “a database” (Pg.9, particularly paragraph 0113; EN: this denotes a database of the NFTs and their associations). “with a query having information in the request” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections).
“receiving the indication of the collection in response to the query” (Pg.11-12, particularly paragraph 0143; EN: this denotes querying about NFTs and their collections).
“using the collection as a signal of the set of signals” (pg.8, particularly paragraph 0112; EN: this denotes having multiple machine learning models each specialized to a particular collection of NFTs, and selecting the model that is appropriate for those NFTs).
Zheng discloses, “supervised machine learning model” (Pg.75, particularly C2, section A; EN: this denotes the use of a supervised random forest model).
However, Lee fails to explicitly disclose, “applying the set of signals into an unsupervised machine learning model trained to output a cluster of nearest … determining the collection by”, “nearest….”
Castellano discloses, “applying the set of signals into an unsupervised machine learning model trained to output a cluster of nearest … determining the collection by” and “nearest” (pg.2592, particularly C2, section 3; EN: this denotes clustering artwork in order to place works with similar features together. When combined with Lee, this can be used to create the collections of the collections as seen in Lee).
Castellano and Lee modified by Zheng are analogous art because both involve art collections.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of art collections to combine the work of Castellano and Lee modified by Zheng in order to identify groups of artwork to relate to one another.
The motivation for doing so would be to “support interactive browsing of online collections by finding visually linked artworks, thus performing a ‘visual’ link retrieval” (Castellano, Pg.2591, C1, second paragraph) as well as “ discover different periods in the production of the same artist” (Castellano, Pg.2591, C1, second paragraph) or in the case of Lee modified by Zheng, allow the system to make clusters of related NFTs in order to identify potential collections of artists work to view as collections of NFTs for sales purposes.
Therefore before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of art collections to combine the work of Castellano and Lee modified by Zheng in order to identify groups of artwork to relate to one another.
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
/BEN M RIFKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2123