DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
Claim 12: the phrases: “the shaft” and “rotational drive”,
Claim 19: the phrase: “the shaft and the annular armature are spaced apart from one another in each position of the annular armature” is not described in the drawing.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, last line, the phrase “second production” appears to be a typographical error, creating ambiguity. It should be “projection” not “production”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is not clear. The claim is grammatically unclear as to what component(s) are arranged between the magnetic field sensor and the magnetic coil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hernandez-Oliver et al. (US 10,036,658).
Regarding claim 1, Oliver discloses a device comprising
a magnetic coil (112),
wherein the magnetic coil (112) is annular;
a housing (see the drawing below) attached to a radial outside of the magnetic coil (112); and
[AltContent: textbox (Housing )]a magnetic field sensor (118) fastened to or integrated in the housing (see the drawing below).
[AltContent: textbox (Electrical connection
Elongated projection
Connection line )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Plug)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, Oliver discloses:
the magnetic field sensor (118, 158) is arranged axially spaced apart from the magnetic coil (112).
Regarding claim 3, Oliver discloses:
a shielding magnetic material (see the abstract),
a magnetic body (110), for magnetically shielding the magnetic field sensor (118, 158) from the magnetic coil (112) is arranged between the magnetic field sensor (118, 158) and the magnetic coil (112) (see Figures 6, 7).
Regarding claim 7, Oliver discloses:
an electrical connection (see the drawing above) for connecting to a plug ((see the drawing above) is formed in the housing ((see the drawing above),
wherein the electrical connection (see the drawing above) is connected to the magnetic coil (112) and to the magnetic field sensor (118).
Regarding claim 8, Oliver discloses:
the electrical connection (see the drawing above) is arranged in the housing (see the drawing above) at a longitudinal end opposite to the magnetic field sensor (118).
Regarding claim 9, Oliver discloses:
the housing (see the drawing below) comprises an elongated projection (see the drawing below) in which the magnetic field sensor (118) is arranged.
Regarding claim 10, Oliver discloses:
the elongated projection (see the drawing above) is aligned parallel or essentially parallel to a centre axis of the magnetic coil (112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez-Oliver et al. (US 10,036,658).
Regarding claim 4, Oliver discloses:
the magnetic field sensor (158, 188) comprises one or more connection lines (see the drawing below).
Oliver teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the magnetic field sensor comprises one or more connection lines which are arranged radially outside the shielding magnetic material, engage around the shielding magnetic material, or are arranged radially outside and engage around the shielding magnetic material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the magnetic field sensor comprises one or more connection lines which are arranged radially outside the shielding magnetic material, engage around the shielding magnetic material, or are arranged radially outside and engage around the shielding magnetic material for the purpose of suitability of the design choice, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
[AltContent: textbox (Connection lines)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 11, Oliver discloses:
the magnetic coil (112) comprises one or more connection lines (see the drawing above) which are guided in the housing (see the drawing above), connected to an electrical connection (see the drawing above).
Regarding claim 11, Oliver teaches the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the electrical connection connects to a plug that is formed in the housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the electrical connection connects to a plug that is formed in the housing for the purpose of design choice, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hernandez-Oliver et al. (US 10,036,658) in view of Nonaka (US 2013/0025959).
Regarding claim 12, Oliver discloses: the claimed subject as disclosed above, however, fails to explicitly disclose the electromagnet comprises: an annular armature that surrounds the shaft on a section of the shaft; and
wherein the magnetic coil of the actuating unit is arranged on a radial outside of the annular armature.
Nonaka discloses a device comprising:
an annular armature (6) that surrounds the shaft (5) on a section of the shaft (5); and
wherein the magnetic coil (2) of the actuating unit is arranged on a radial outside of the annular armature (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the magnetic coil (2) of the actuating unit is arranged on a radial outside of the annular armature (6) as taught by Nonaka with Oliver’s device for the purpose of dissipating heat.
Regarding claim 18, Nonaka discloses:
the annular armature (6) of the electromagnet is arranged on a radial outside of the shaft (5) and is axially displaceable relative to the shaft (5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 13-17, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest the magnetic field sensor comprises:
Claim 5: a sensor support fastened on the shielding magnetic material, the magnetic body, the magnetic coil, or a combination thereof, wherein the housing comprises an elongated projection in which the magnetic field sensor is arranged, wherein the sensor support is connected in a mechanically fixed manner to an end of the elongated projection on which the magnetic field sensor is arranged.
Claim 13: a magnetic field generator which generates a measurement magnetic field and which is attached to the annular armature or to an element connected to the annular armature so it is fixed against axial displacement, wherein i) the magnetic field generator is arranged adjacent to the magnetic field sensor in at least one position of the annular armature, ii) the magnetic field generator is arranged such that in at least one position of the annular armature the measurement magnetic field is detectable by the magnetic field sensor, or iii) both i) and ii).
Claim 17: a tube fixedly connected to the annular armature and which is used for i) mounting the annular armature in an outer housing or a magnetic body, ii) mounting an interface element inside the tube, or iii) both i) and ii).
Claim 19: the shaft and the annular armature are spaced apart from one another in each position of the annular armature.
Conclusion
/Lisa Nhung Homza/
Patent Examiner - Art Unit 2837
May 25, 2026
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837