DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 12/10/2024 and 02/18/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9-11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levin et al. US 10,962,443 (hereinafter, "Levin").
Regarding Claim 1, Levin discloses a system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables (Abstract) comprising: a first end transmit device (test device 10, Col. 5, Ln. 7), the first end transmit device including: at least one fiber port (first connector 14, Col. 5, Ln. 10) each of the at least one fiber ports are configured to engage a connector for an individual optical fiber ([c]able 34 houses twelve fibers, each of which terminate at both first connector 14 and second connector 36, Col. 5, Lns.9-11) of a multi-strand fiber-optic cable ([c]able 34, Col. 5, Ln. 9); at least one optical light source (first light source 16, Col. 5, Ln. 15), each of the at least one optical light sources are configured to emit an optical light in one of the fiber ports ([f]irst light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 15-16); a controller configured to control the optical light sources ([t]he controller may control any or all of the first and second light sources, Col. 2, Lns. 21-22), the controller being configured to emit coded light patterns through each of the fiber ports via the optical light emitted from each of the optical light sources ([c]ontroller 12 has power switch 38. First light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 14-16); wherein, the first end transmit device is configured to emit the coded light patterns into each of the fiber ports corresponding to a unique port signature of each of the fiber ports ([t]he first light source creates a first light pattern, which is distinct from a second light pattern created by the second light source. The first light source is configured to couple light into a single fiber from the connector at the first end of the cable, Col. 2, Lns. 8-12); and a second end receive device of the optical cable under test ([t]he receiver is in optical communication with the second connector of the optical cable under test, Col. 2, Lns. 38-39), the second end receive device including a camera ([a]s used herein, an “intelligent receiver” is a receiver with a more advanced display, such as indicating from which fiber light is being emitted by photodiodes or other sensor types (e.g. a CMOS camera), Col. 2, Lns. 52-56), the camera of the second end receive device is configured to view and decode the coded light patterns from each of the individual optical fibers of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable to identify the unique port signature from each of the fiber ports ([t]he receiver is configured to receive and display the first and second light patterns at the connector at the second end after the respective light patterns have travelled through the plurality of fibers, Col. 2, Lns. 16-20).
Regarding Claim 3, Levin discloses the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables of claim 1, wherein the system is designed and configured to apply the unique port signature to each of the fiber ports at a first end of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable, and locating a corresponding port signature at a second end of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable, thereby allowing an end-user to certify or perform qualification testing of a new fiber installation, or audit, map or troubleshoot an existing fiber optic cable plant (Assuming no faults, the first light pattern should be visible emerging at a single position at second connector 36, while each of the other positions should show the second light pattern, Col. 5, Lns. 30-33).
Regarding Claim 9, Levin discloses the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables of claim 1, wherein the optical light sources are configured to emit light in either a visible light spectrum, an infrared light spectrum, or a combination thereof ([t]he passive receiver therefore is directly optically coupled to the visible signal from the second connector via a light pipe that illuminates the corresponding fiber number position on the display panel, Col. 2, Lns. 46-49).
Regarding Claim 10, Levin discloses the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables of claim 9, wherein the optical light sources are LED optical light sources or laser type optical light sources ([t]he light sources are preferably lasers, Col. 2, Lns. 25-26).
Regarding Claim 11, Levin discloses the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables of claim 1, wherein the first end transmit device further including an input power port connected to an internal rechargeable battery system for use in areas with or without accessible power ([c]ontroller 12 is powered by power source 32, which is preferably a battery, such as an AA-sized or rechargeable battery, but may be any power source commonly used in the art, Col. 5, Lns. 11-14).
Regarding Claim 19, Levin discloses a method for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables (Abstract) comprising: providing a first end transmit device (test device 10, Col. 5, Ln. 7), the first end transmit device including: at least one fiber port (first connector 14, Col. 5, Ln. 10), each of the at least one fiber ports are configured to engage a connector for an individual optical fiber ([c]able 34 houses twelve fibers, each of which terminate at both first connector 14 and second connector 36, Col. 5, Lns.9-11) of a multi-strand fiber-optic cable ([c]able 34, Col. 5, Ln. 9); at least one optical light source (first light source 16, Col. 5, Ln. 15), each of the at least one optical light sources are configured to emit an optical light in one of the fiber ports ([f]irst light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 15-16); a controller configured to control the optical light sources ([t]he controller may control any or all of the first and second light sources, Col. 2, Lns. 21-22), the controller being configured to emit coded light patterns through each of the fiber ports via the optical light emitted from each of the optical light sources ([c]ontroller 12 has power switch 38. First light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 14-16); wherein, the first end transmit device is configured to emit the coded light patterns into each of the fiber ports corresponding to a unique port signature of each of the fiber ports ([t]he first light source creates a first light pattern, which is distinct from a second light pattern created by the second light source. The first light source is configured to couple light into a single fiber from the connector at the first end of the cable, Col. 2, Lns. 8-12); and providing a second end receive device ([t]he receiver is in optical communication with the second connector of the optical cable under test, Col. 2, Lns. 38-39), the second end receive device including a camera ([a]s used herein, an “intelligent receiver” is a receiver with a more advanced display, such as indicating from which fiber light is being emitted by photodiodes or other sensor types (e.g. a CMOS camera), Col. 2, Lns. 52-56), the camera of the second end receive device is configured to view and decode the coded light patterns from each of the individual optical fibers of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable to identify the unique port signature from each of the fiber ports ([t]he receiver is configured to receive and display the first and second light patterns at the connector at the second end after the respective light patterns have travelled through the plurality of fibers, Col. 2, Lns. 16-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Kevin M. Ehringer Enterprises Inc. US 10,684,422 (hereinafter, "Ehringer").
Regarding Claim 2, Levin fails to explicitly disclose the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi strand fiber-optic cables of claim 1, wherein the system is designed and configured to be used for non contact identification, mapping and troubleshooting of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable.
Ehringer is in the field of optical fiber testing and teaches non-contact identification, mapping and troubleshooting of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable ([a]ccordingly, because some implementations include ports that do not contact the ferrules of the connectors, the polarity tester described herein may be referred to as a non-contact polarity tester. In addition, the light sensor may visually capture light through the cable without any contact on the ferrule, and therefore there may be no risk of contact there at all, Col. 7, Lns. 44-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the non-contact testing of Ehringer for the purpose of preventing the degradation of the quality of the connectors from excessive mating cycles and decreasing the possibility of contaminating the end face of the connectors with debris.
Regarding Claim 20, Levin fails to explicitly disclose the method for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber-optic cables of claim 19 further comprising using the provided first end transmit device in combination with the second end receive device to provide non-contact identification, mapping and troubleshooting of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable.
Ehringer is in the field of optical fiber testing and teaches using the provided first end transmit device in combination with the second end receive device to provide non-contact identification, mapping and troubleshooting of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable ([a]ccordingly, because some implementations include ports that do not contact the ferrules of the connectors, the polarity tester described herein may be referred to as a non-contact polarity tester. In addition, the light sensor may visually capture light through the cable without any contact on the ferrule, and therefore there may be no risk of contact there at all, Col. 7, Lns. 44-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the non-contact testing of Ehringer for the purpose of preventing the degradation of the quality of the connectors from excessive mating cycles and decreasing the possibility of contaminating the end face of the connectors with debris.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Dinjian et al. US 8,823,925 (hereinafter, "Dinjian").
Regarding Claim 4, Levin fails to explicitly disclose the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber-optic cables of claim 1, wherein the first end transmit device further including a housing having a face, where the fiber ports are face ports disposed on said face, each of said face ports is configured to engage the connector for the individual optical fiber or a connector including multiple, individual optical fibers.
Dinjian is in the field of testing optical fibers and teaches a housing having a face, where the fiber ports are face ports disposed on said face, each of said face ports is configured to engage the connector for the individual optical fiber or a connector including multiple, individual optical fibers ([s]uch an apparatus includes a housing having a face; fiber ports disposed on the face, each of the fiber ports being configured to engage a connector on an optical fiber, Col. 1, Lns. 46-49).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the housing of Dinjian for the purpose of providing a convenient interface having array of ports to connect multiple individual fibers for testing.
Regarding Claim 5, Levin fails to explicitly disclose the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi strand fiber-optic cables of claim 1, wherein the first end transmit device including LED lights mounted on the face configured to flash according to a corresponding laser port configured to assure that the first end transmit device is functioning properly as well as providing a means to calibrate the second end receive device.
Dinjian is in the field of testing optical fibers and teaches LED lights mounted on the face configured to flash according to a corresponding laser port configured to assure that the first end transmit device is functioning properly as well as providing a means to calibrate the second end receive device ([i]n some embodiments, the port lamps are LEDs. An LED port lamp is particularly useful because an LED can be pulsed with little loss of intensity, is available in a variety of colors, consumes little power, and provides an intense and relatively collimated beam. In addition, LEDs can turn on and off quickly (Col. 3, Lns. 35-40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the LEDs of Dinjian for the purpose of providing light sources that are inexpensive, easily controllable and have suitable optical properties for testing optical fibers.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of Signify Holding B.V. US 10,779,368 (hereinafter, "Signify").
Regarding Claim 12, Levin discloses the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber optic cables of claim 1, wherein, the controller has built-in electrical contacts configured for wired connectivity and manual control of lighting sequences via push button style switches located on the first end transmit device for standalone control ([c]ontroller 12 has power switch 38, Col. 5, Lns. 14-15). Levin fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the controller of the first end transmit device including a DMX512 lighting controller and decoder using the DMX512 protocol and operating in a pre-programmed standalone mode or an active user-controlled input mode.
Signify is in the field of optical communication and teaches a DMX512 lighting controller and decoder using the DMX512 protocol and operating in a pre-programmed standalone mode or an active user controlled input mode (the central controller 401 may translate data... received in a fibre channel protocol, and/or it may translate data that it receives via other protocols, into a communication protocol that is compatible with that of the illumination devices, such as I2C or that described in the American National Standards Institute (“ANSI”) “Entertainment Technology—USITT DMX512-A—Asynchronous Serial Digital Data Transmission Standard for Controlling Lighting Equipment and Accessories”, which is commonly referred to a DMX512 or simply DMX, Col. 11, Lns. 4-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the communication protocol of Signify for the purpose of employing an industry standard protocol for digital communication networks that are commonly used to control lighting and effects.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin in view of EXFO Inc. US 11,340,137 (hereinafter, "EXFO").
Regarding Claim 13, Levin fails to explicitly disclose the system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber-optic cables of claim 1, wherein the controller of the first end transmit device is programmed with Morse code signaling, basic and/or encrypted, and capable of using alternative characters in order to speed up transmission, wherein the coded light patterns emitted from the optical light sources are coded in the Morse code signaling; wherein, the controller is configured to substitute a Morse code character with a preset value via a drop-down menu.
EXFO is in the field of optical fiber testing teaches a controller is programmed with Morse code signaling, basic and/or encrypted, and capable of using alternative characters in order to speed up transmission, wherein the coded light patterns emitted from the optical light sources are coded in the Morse code signaling (a technician connects one or more light sources 1022 to respective optical fiber ports of the first distribution panel 1102. The light source(s) 1022 are made to emit test light that is encoded according to a code representative of a unique identification index (e.g., represented as #N, #M, #J in FIG. 10). In one embodiment, test light is encoded according to a digital amplitude modulation such as amplitude-shift keying for example, Col. 27, Lns. 19-26); wherein, the controller is configured to substitute a Morse code character with a preset value via a drop-down menu (FIG. 14 is an image illustrating a smartphone with a graphical user interface, Col. 7, Lns. 45-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Levin with the encoded test light of EXFO for the purpose of injecting the encoded test light representative of a unique identification index into a plurality of optical fiber links such that a unique code, such as Morse code, is used for each optical fiber link to determine the connection arrangement from a mapping between the locations of the light spots in the captured image and the corresponding physical locations of the optical fiber ports on the surface of a second multi-fiber connection device
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 allowed.
Claims 6-8 and 14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or fairly suggest a system for qualification, testing or mapping multi-strand fiber-optic cables comprising: a first end transmit device, the first end transmit device including: at least one fiber port, each of the at least one fiber ports are configured to engage a connector for an individual optical fiber of a multi-strand fiber optic cable; at least one optical light source, each of the at least one optical light sources are configured to emit an optical light in one of the fiber ports, the optical light sources are configured to emit light in either a visible light spectrum, an infrared light spectrum, or a combination thereof, wherein the optical light sources are LED optical light sources or laser type optical light sources; a controller configured to control the optical light sources, the controller being configured to emit coded light patterns through each of the fiber ports via the optical light emitted from each of the optical light sources, the controller of the first end transmit device including a DMX512 lighting controller and decoder using the DMX512 protocol and operating in a preprogrammed standalone mode or an active user-controlled input mode; the controller has built-in electrical contacts configured for wired connectivity and manual control of lighting sequences via push button style switches located on the first end transmit device for standalone control; a housing having a face, where the fiber ports are face ports disposed on said face, each of said face ports is configured to engage the connector for the individual optical fiber or a connector including multiple, individual optical fibers; LED lights mounted on the face configured to flash according to the corresponding laser port configured to assure that the first end transmit device is functioning properly as well as providing a means to calibrate the second end receive device; individual optical tap ports that correspond to each of the face ports, the individual optical tap ports are configured for use with external optical components including an optical power source used together with an optical power meter at a second end; wherein the optical light sources of the first end transmit device are coupled to the individual optical tap ports and the face ports; fiber-optic splitters and WDM couplers that will direct the optical light sources to or from each of the face ports and the individual optical tap ports; an input power port connected to an internal rechargeable battery system for use in areas with or without accessible power; wherein, the first end transmit device is configured to emit coded light patterns into each of the fiber ports corresponding to a unique port signature of each of the fiber ports; wherein the controller of the first end transmit device is programmed with Morse code signaling, basic and/or encrypted, and capable of using alternative characters in order to speed up transmission, wherein the coded light patterns emitted from the optical light sources are coded in Morse code a second end receive device, the second end receive device including a camera, the camera of the second end receive device is configured to view and decode the coded light patterns from each of the individual optical fibers of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable to identify the unique port signature from each of the fiber ports; wherein the camera of the second end receive device is configured to serve as a visual aid for viewing the visible light of the coded light patterns and detect the unique port signature being sent in the form of Morse code from the first end transmit device and decode the unique port signature of each of the fiber ports that was sent into as unencrypted, original text and display the unencrypted, original text on the second end device; the second end receive device is configured to convert the decrypted text message into an audibly announced word or phrase that duplicates the displayed message as sent from the first end transmit device; the second end receive device including a display configured to visually display the unique port signature of each of the individual optical fibers of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable; the second end receive device including a touch-screen tablet or a smartphone with an external USB or WiFi otoscope or endoscope style camera attached as the camera; wherein the second end receive device including: a modified tablet configured to allow a feed from the external USB or WiFi otoscope or endoscope style camera to be recognized by the second end receive device as a native internal camera, wherein the display of the tablet uses built-in front or rear cameras, wherein the modified tablet is configured to allow the external USB or WiFi otoscope or endoscope style camera to display in the same manner as the built-in cameras; a passive fiber connection and an infrared sensor card as a reflective component and configured to be viewed in visible or infrared by the camera; wherein the system is designed and configured to be used for non-contact identification, mapping and troubleshooting of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable; wherein the system is designed and configured to apply the unique port signature to each of the fiber ports at a first end of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable, and locating a corresponding port signature at a second end of the multi-strand fiber-optic cable, thereby allowing an end-user to certify or perform qualification testing of a new fiber installation, or audit, map or troubleshoot an existing fiber optic cable plant; and wherein once a fiber has been identified, mapped, or repaired, an infrared power source being transmitted by the first end transmit device is configured to change to steady-on mode and, in conjunction with an optional second end power meter to determine an acceptable pass or fail dB loss of the fiber. Specifically:
Levin et al. (US 10962443 B1) teaches a first end transmit device (test device 10, Col. 5, Ln. 7), the first end transmit device including: at least one fiber port (first connector 14, Col. 5, Ln. 10), each of the fiber ports are configured to engage a connector for an individual optical fiber ([c]able 34 houses twelve fibers, each of which terminate at both first connector 14 and second connector 36, Col. 5, Lns.9-11) of a multi strand fiber-optic cable ([c]able 34, Col. 5, Ln. 9); at least one optical light source (first light source 16, Col. 5, Ln. 15), each of the optical light sources are configured to emit an optical light in one of the fiber ports ([f]irst light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 15-16), the optical light sources are configured to emit light in either a visible light spectrum, an infrared light spectrum, or a combination thereof ([t]he passive receiver therefore is directly optically coupled to the visible signal from the second connector via a light pipe that illuminates the corresponding fiber number position on the display panel, Col. 2, Lns. 46-49), wherein the optical light sources are LED optical light sources or laser type optical light sources ([t]he light sources are preferably lasers, Col. 2, Lns. 25-26); a controller configured to control the optical light sources ([t]he controller may control any or all of the first and second light sources, Col. 2, Lns. 21-22), the controller being configured to emit coded light patterns through each of the fiber ports via the optical light emitted from each of the optical light sources ([c]ontroller 12 has power switch 38. First light source 16 sends a first light pattern into a single fiber 28 at position 3 (“F3”) at first connector 14, Col. 5, Lns. 14-16), but fails to explicitly teach individual optical tap ports that correspond to each of the face ports, the individual optical tap ports are configured for use with external optical components including an optical power source used together with an optical power meter at a second end.
Signify Holding B.V. (US 10,779,368 B2) teaches the controller of the first end transmit device including a DMX512 lighting controller and decoder using the DMX512 protocol and operating in a preprogrammed standalone mode or an active user-controlled input mode (the central controller 401 may translate data... received in a fibre channel protocol, and/or it may translate data that it receives via other protocols, into a communication protocol that is compatible with that of the illumination devices, such as I2C or that described in the American National Standards Institute (“ANSI”) “Entertainment Technology— USITT DMX512-A—Asynchronous Serial Digital Data Transmission Standard for Controlling Lighting Equipment and Accessories”, which is commonly referred to a DMX512 or simply DMX, Col. 11, Lns. 4-16), but fails to explicitly teach individual optical tap ports that correspond to each of the face ports, the individual optical tap ports are configured for use with external optical components including an optical power source used together with an optical power meter at a second end.
Dinjian, et al. (US 8823925 B2) teaches a housing having a face, where the fiber ports are face ports disposed on said face, each of said face ports is configured to engage the connector for the individual optical fiber or a connector including multiple, individual optical fibers ([s]uch an apparatus includes a housing having a face; fiber ports disposed on the face, each of the fiber ports being configured to engage a connector on an optical fiber, Col. 1, Lns. 46-49); LED lights mounted on the face configured to flash according to the corresponding laser port configured to assure that the first end transmit device is functioning properly as well as providing a means to calibrate the second end receive device ([i]n some embodiments, the port lamps are LEDs. An LED port lamp is particularly useful because an LED can be pulsed with little loss of intensity, is available in a variety of colors, consumes little power, and provides an intense and relatively collimated beam. In addition, LEDs can turn on and off quickly (Col. 3, Lns. 35-40), but fails to explicitly teach individual optical tap ports that correspond to each of the face ports, the individual optical tap ports are configured for use with external optical components including an optical power source used together with an optical power meter at a second end.
EXFO Inc. (US 11,340,137 B2) teaches a camera of the second end receive device is configured to serve as a visual aid for viewing the visible light of the coded light patterns ([t]est light that is being injected by the light source(s) 1022 into one or more optical fiber links via corresponding optical fiber ports of the first distribution panel 1102 exits at least one of the optical fiber links through one or more optical fiber ports of the second distribution panel 1104. The wavelength of test light is chosen to be visible to the human eye and/or to a standard camera, Col. 27, Lns. 9-15), but fails to explicitly teach detecting the unique port signature being sent in the form of the Morse code from the first end transmit device and decoding the unique port signature of each of the fiber ports that was sent into as unencrypted, original text and displaying the unencrypted, original text on the second end receive device and fails to explicitly teach individual optical tap ports that correspond to each of the face ports, the individual optical tap ports are configured for use with external optical components including an optical power source used together with an optical power meter at a second end.
Conclusion
/DAVID W LAMBERT/Examiner, Art Unit 2634