DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 December 2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first Office Action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 11 be found allowable, claim 10 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (CN 101327872 A) in view of Yoshikawa (CN 102464196 A).
In regards to claim 1, A conveyance device comprising:
a rail (3) (Fig. 1) laid on a predetermined conveyance path (para. [0031], lines 2-3); and
a carrier (2) movable along the rail (as seen in Fig. 1), wherein the carrier includes:
an object support unit (10, 21) that supports an object (W) to be conveyed (as seen in Fig. 1); and
a front trolley (11A) and a rear trolley (11B) that are load trolleys supporting the object support unit (as seen in Fig. 1),
at least one of the front trolley and the rear trolley includes:
a trolley frame (12); and
a front sub-trolley (8-9) (Fig. 1, on the left of frame 12) and a rear sub-trolley (on the right of frame 12) respectively positioned at a front and a rear of the trolley frame above or below the trolley frame (as seen in Fig. 1),
each of the front sub-trolley and the rear sub-trolley includes a sub-trolley body (see Fig. 4, where reference numbers 17 and 18 point),
the sub-trolley body is attached to the trolley frame so as to be rotatable (see machine translation, para. 0035], line 4) about a first vertical shaft (15) (Fig. 2),
Kuwahara does not teach a left bracket, a right bracket; the left bracket and the right bracket are respectively positioned on a left side and a right side of the sub-trolley body to extend in a front-rear direction, each of the left bracket and the right bracket being supported at a middle position thereof in the front-rear direction by a first left-right shaft, and swinging relative to the sub-trolley body, and each of the vertical rollers is supported by a second left-right shaft at a front end portion of each of the left bracket and the right bracket, and a third left-right shaft at a rear end portion of each of the left bracket and the right bracket, and rolls on the rail.
Yoshikawa teaches a left bracket (6) (Fig. 2a), a right bracket (7) (Fig. 3); the left bracket and the right bracket are respectively positioned on a left side and a right side of the sub-trolley body to extend in a front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 3), each of the left bracket and the right bracket being supported at a middle position thereof in the front-rear direction by a first left-right shaft (8) (Fig. 3), and swinging relative to the sub-trolley body (see machine translation, para. [0050]), and each of the vertical rollers (9) is supported by a second left-right shaft at a front end portion of each of the left bracket and the right bracket (9A, on the left), and a third left-right shaft at a rear end portion of each of the left bracket and the right bracket (9A, on the right), and rolls on the rail (GR) (as seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include the left bracket, right bracket, and left-right shafts as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the stability and reliability of the conveyance device (see Yoshikawa, para. [0058]).
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1,
Kuwahara does not teach wherein a frame member provided in a lower portion or an upper portion of the object support unit, and each of the trolley frame of the front trolley and the trolley frame of the rear trolley are connected by a fourth left-right shaft so as to be swingable in a vertical direction
Yoshikawa teaches wherein a frame member (11) provided in a lower portion or an upper portion of the object support unit (as seen in Fig. 2a), and each of the trolley frame (2(LT)) of the front trolley and the trolley frame of the rear trolley are connected by a fourth left-right shaft (2B) so as to be swingable in a vertical direction (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include connecting a frame member of the object support unit and the trolley frame by a fourth left-right shaft to be swingable in a vertical direction as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the adjustability of the system since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 212 F.2d 197, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(D).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the rail (3) (Kuwahara, Fig. 2) includes a left rail and a right rail, which are in a form of a channel (as seen in Fig. 2), each of the left rail and the right rail having an opening facing a remaining opening at a distance (as seen in Fig. 2), and each of the left rail and the right rail includes an upper flange portion or a lower flange portion having (the top and bottom flanges of the rail 3) (as seen in Fig. 2), at an edge thereof facing an edge of a remaining flange portion, an upwardly bent edge or a downwardly bent edge for receiving (as seen in Fig. 2) horizontal rollers (8) located at a front and a rear of the sub-trolley body (as seen in Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 3, wherein the sub-trolley body is positioned between the left rail and the right rail (Kuwahara, as seen in Fig. 3), the vertical rollers at a front and a rear of the left bracket are arranged between the upper flange portion and the lower flange portion of the left rail (as seen in Fig. 3), the vertical rollers at a front and a rear of the right bracket are arranged between the upper flange portion and the lower flange portion of the right rail (as seen in Fig. 3), and the horizontal rollers are located above or below the vertical rollers when viewed in a left-right direction (as seen in Fig. 3).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein the trolley frame (12) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) has a side surface extending in the front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 1),
Kuwahara does not teach the side surface being a drive surface with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact, is arranged to have an approximate same height, relative to the rail, as a connection rod having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact, and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction.
Yoshikawa teaches the side surface being a drive surface (C) (Fig. 1) with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), is arranged to have an approximate same height (as seen in Fig. 1), relative to the rail, as a connection rod (11-13) having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction (para. [0042]) and a horizontal direction (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include a drive surface with a friction roller in pressure contact as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the conveyance device to be driven more easily since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 2, wherein the trolley frame (12) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) has a side surface extending in the front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 1),
Kuwahara does not teach the side surface being a drive surface with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact, is arranged to have an approximate same height, relative to the rail, as a connection rod having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact, and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction.
Yoshikawa teaches the side surface being a drive surface (C) (Fig. 1) with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), is arranged to have an approximate same height (as seen in Fig. 1), relative to the rail, as a connection rod (11-13) having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction (para. [0042]) and a horizontal direction (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include a drive surface with a friction roller in pressure contact as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the conveyance device to be driven more easily since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 3, wherein the trolley frame (12) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) has a side surface extending in the front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 1),
Kuwahara does not teach the side surface being a drive surface with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact, is arranged to have an approximate same height, relative to the rail, as a connection rod having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact, and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction.
Yoshikawa teaches the side surface being a drive surface (C) (Fig. 1) with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), is arranged to have an approximate same height (as seen in Fig. 1), relative to the rail, as a connection rod (11-13) having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction (para. [0042]) and a horizontal direction (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include a drive surface with a friction roller in pressure contact as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the conveyance device to be driven more easily since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 4, wherein the trolley frame (12) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) has a side surface extending in the front-rear direction (as seen in Fig. 1),
Kuwahara does not teach the side surface being a drive surface with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact, is arranged to have an approximate same height, relative to the rail, as a connection rod having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact, and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction and a horizontal direction.
Yoshikawa teaches the side surface being a drive surface (C) (Fig. 1) with which a friction roller of a friction roller drive device is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), is arranged to have an approximate same height (as seen in Fig. 1), relative to the rail, as a connection rod (11-13) having a side surface serving as a drive surface with which the friction roller is in pressure contact (para. [0041], lines 5-6), and is connected to the connection rod so as to be swingable in a vertical direction (para. [0042]) and a horizontal direction (para. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sub-trolleys of Kuwahara to include a drive surface with a friction roller in pressure contact as taught by Yoshikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the conveyance device to be driven more easily since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 1, wherein when viewed in a left-right direction, a center of the first left-right shaft is located at an approximate middle point of a line segment connecting a center of the second left-right shaft and a center of the third left-right shaft (Yoshikawa, as seen in Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (CN 101327872 A) in view of Yoshikawa (CN 102464196 A) and Ishikawa (US 20010017094 A1).
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 5, wherein the connection rod (10) (Kuwahara, Fig. 4) connects the trolley frame of the front trolley (11A) and the trolley frame of the rear trolley (11B), and each of the trolley frames of the front trolley and the rear trolley is rotatable (para. [0035], lines 1-3) about a second vertical shaft (13, 19) at a middle portion of the trolley frame in the front-rear direction relative to the object support unit (as seen in Fig. 1).
Kuwahara does not teach wherein the connection rod is extendable and contractive in a length direction.
Ishikawa teaches wherein the connection rod (101-103) (Fig. 9) is extendable and contractive (para. [0065], lines 1-6) in a length direction (as seen in Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connection rod of Kuwahara to include the connection rod being extendable and contractive in a length direction as taught by Ishikawa with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the conveyance device to operate on a wider variety of curves and travel path shapes (see Ishikawa, para. [0082]).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuwahara (CN 101327872 A) in view of Yoshikawa (CN 102464196 A) and Steffl (US 5287958 A).
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 3, wherein the horizontal rollers (8) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) are attached to the sub-trolley body (as seen in Fig. 1) by a
Kuwahara does not explicitly teach the horizontal rollers being attached by a cantilever pin.
Steffl teaches attaching a roller with a cantilever pin (15) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the horizontal rollers of Kuwahara to include a cantilever pin as taught by Steffl with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the strength of the attachment since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
In regards to claim 11, the combination of Kuwahara as modified by Yoshikawa above teaches the conveyance device according to claim 4, wherein the horizontal rollers (8) (Kuwahara, Fig. 1) are attached to the sub-trolley body (as seen in Fig. 1) by a
Kuwahara does not explicitly teach the horizontal rollers being attached by a cantilever pin.
Steffl teaches attaching a roller with a cantilever pin (15) (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before ethe effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the horizontal rollers of Kuwahara to include a cantilever pin as taught by Steffl with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the strength of the attachment since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to substitute functional or mechanical equivalents. In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958) and Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP § 2144.06(II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okazaki (JP 2020037457 A) discloses a chain monitoring system.
Yamaguchi (CN 107867537 A) discloses a conveyer device.
Nishihara (JP 2012035945 A) discloses a conveyance apparatus using traveling body for conveyance.
Iba (US 20120031735 A1) discloses a conveying apparatus for use in painting and drying lines for automobile vehicle bodies.
Yoshikawa (CN 102161425 A) discloses a conveyor device.
Nishihara (US 7789021 B2) discloses a suspension conveyance apparatus.
Nishihara (US 20030079967 A1) discloses a conveying apparatus.
Murai (US 5014625 A) discloses a linear motor driven trolley conveyor.
Wakabayashi (US 4542698 A) discloses a power-and-free trolley conveyor of floor type.
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615