DETAILED ACTION
The RCE dated 05/13/2026 has been considered. The response was not found to be persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejections are maintained.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravishankar (US 2015/0031831)
In regards to claim 1, Ravishankar teaches polymer compositions useful as viscosity modifiers comprising a first ethylene--olefin copolymer such as ethylene propylene copolymer having melt flow rate (MFR) of greater than about 10g/10 mins according to the limitation MFRA of the claim, and an ethylene content of from about 60 to about 85% and a second ethylene--olefin copolymer such as ethylene propylene copolymer having MRF of at least 2 g/10 mins and an ethylene content of from about 40 to about 60%, and wherein the first copolymer is present in amounts of about 35 to about 50% in the polymeric composition, and the second copolymer is present in amounts of from about 50 to about 65% in the polymer composition, and wherein the polymeric composition has an overall ethylene content of from about 50 to 70 wt. % which overlaps the claimed limitations [abstract, 0010, 0011 & 0020]. Propylene is a C3 -olefin.
The first or the second copolymer can have MFR (i.e., MFRA or MFRB) of at least about 2 or at least about 3 or at least about 4 g/10 mins, and less than about 7 g/10 mins [0019]. The second polymer has an MFR of at least 2 g/10 min, thus providing a calculated ratio of MFR of first copolymer to MFR of the second copolymer (analogous to MFRA and MFRB of the claim) of about 5 or higher [0011]. The polymer composition has an MFR of 3 to 20 g/10 min which overlaps the claimed limitation [0021]. The polymer composition may have a corrected MFRR (cMFRR) of from about 24 to about 55 at a target MFR (MFRref) of 4.3/10 min [0025]. Since the first or second polymer can have MFR of at least about 2, the limitation requiring the MFR of the second polymer to be less than 2 g/10 min is overlapped, or is so close as to make the claimed limitation obvious.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
While Ravishankar does not recite the Tm of the composition, the composition has every limitation of the claimed copolymer, and are prepared from similar components having similar amounts to those of the claims and providing polymer compositions with similar molecular weights (when calculated using relative ratios of the copolymers) as those of applicant’s specification on paragraph 0039, and thus would be expected to have the same properties such as the Tm.
The polymeric composition can be added to a base oil such as natural or synthetic oils [0103]. The oil can be any Group I to V oil [0104]. The composition is useful in truck engines, marine and railroad diesel engines, automatic transmission fluids, tractor fluids, universal tractor fluids and hydraulic fluids, gear oils, hydraulic oils etc. [0105]. Such fluids typically comprise a major amount of base oils such has having 50% or more of base oil which would have been obvious. Also, Ravishankar teaches the composition can be useful as concentrate which can comprising up to 49% of base oil [0106]. When such concentrate is added to a lubricating base oil to provide a lubricating oil composition, the amount of oil of the claims would be provided or overlapped. In one embodiment, the 2.4% of the polymer composition was used in PAO4 oil composition [0115].
In regards to claims 2 – 6, 8 – 10, Ravishankar teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated. The ratio of MFR of the two copolymers will overlap the claimed range.
In regards to claim 11 – 16, Ravishankar teaches the composition which can comprise the base oil of the claims and useful for the same applications as previously stated. The composition comprises one or more additives as claimed [0107]. Rheology calculations (i.e., thickening efficiency and SSI) were made in PAO4 oil (Group IV oil having kinematic viscosity of 4 cSt at 100ºC) having 2.4% of the polymeric composition [0115 – 0117]. The composition can have a thickening efficiency and SSI of 1.9 and 25 respectively [0129, Table 3].
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,163,104. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches a similar composition having a MFR of the second ethylene copolymer of up to 1.75 g/10 min while the claim recites MFR of 1.76 g/10 min or higher. While there is no overlap, the range is too close as to be obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant maintains previous arguments that Ravishankar teaches that the first copolymer has MFR of greater than 10 g/ 10 min which does not meet the claimed limitation reciting from 0.5 to 9.5 g/10 min. The argument is not persuasive.
A limitation of about 10 g/10 min obviates the limitation of 9.5 g/10 min as they are very close. Also, Ravishankar teaches that either the first or the second copolymer has an MFR of at least 2 g/10 min and higher, and thus overlaps the claimed range.
Applicant argues that Ravishankar does not disclose the combination of parameters including TE, SSI etc. The argument is not persuasive.
The TE, SSI are properties stemming from the presence of the copolymer in the composition at the recited amounts. Since, Ravishankar teaches similar composition, polymer and amounts similar properties would be expected.
Applicant does not disparage the rejections based on double patenting which are hereby maintained.
Conclusion
This is a request for continuation of applicant's earlier Application No. 18/917,804. All claims are identical to, patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with the invention claimed in the earlier application (that is, restriction (including lack of unity) would not be proper) and could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the earlier application. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action in this case. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771