Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,816 in view of Knichel et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2014/00751712.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,816 discloses all claim elements of claim 1 in the current Application except omitting a reconfiguration of the device, if the first UID matches the second UID, and depending on a required speed for applying a pre-calculated configuration set, obtain the pre-calculated configuration set from a HW device of the device, from a storage of the device, or from a cloud device connectable to the device.
Knichel teaches obtaining the hardware/software configuration from computer-readable media (FIG. 1, 110) which can be implemented as internal memory within the computing device (FIG. 1, 110, FIG. 5. 512, paragraph 0016, lines 1-6, paragraph 0068), as a portable USB flash drive (FIG(s) 1 and 5, 118, paragraph 0017, lines 1-9, paragraph 0075), or installed on remote cloud storage device (FIG. 1, 120, FIG. 5, 520-522, paragraph 0017, lines 12-15, paragraph 0078, lines 4-8, paragraph 0082, lines 4-7, paragraphs 0082-0084). Accordingly, Knichel discloses obtaining the hardware/software configuration from three different locations, each having different speed (by definition internal RAM or ROM is faster than a removable USB flash drive, which itself is faster than the cloud storage device, being the slowest). Knichel further teaches in case the derived hardware device identifier (first UID) matches an already existing/stored identifier (second UID), there is no loading of default settings and no further optimization for new hardware configuration (i.e. no reconfiguration – FIG. 3, 306-Yes, 308-310, paragraph 0033). In Knichel, this allows for booting a portable OS installation across different machines that may have different hardware configurations (paragraph 0001, lines 11-15, paragraph 0010). Thus, optimizing the boot speed (paragraph 0033, lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the above-describe functionality for obtaining the hardware/software configuration from three different storage locations (each having different speed), as suggested by Knichel with claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,816 in order to implement omitting a reconfiguration of the device, if the first UID matches the second UID, and depending on a required speed for applying a pre-calculated configuration set, obtain the pre-calculated configuration set from a HW device of the device, from a storage of the device, or from a cloud device connectable to the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Knichel et al., US Patent Appl. Pub. No. 2014/00751712.
Regarding claim 1, Knichel discloses a radio frequency, RF, measurement device for enhancing processing speed and reducing computational effort, wherein the device is configured to:
store at least one pre-calculated configuration set with an associated first unique identifier, UID (storing hardware identifiers for different computing devices to associated hardware configuration state data – paragraphs 0011, lines 2-9, FIG. 1, paragraph 0018, lines 7-14, paragraph 0019, lines 1-5);
obtain a second UID locally and/or via a communication network (upon boot, the current identifier for a particular computing device [second UID] is derived – FIG. 2, 204, paragraph 0025, FIG. 3, 304, paragraph 0031, lines 1-7);
configure the device according to the pre-calculated configuration set and omit a reconfiguration of the device (in case the derived hardware device identifier matches an already existing/stored identifier, there is no loading of default settings and no further optimization for new hardware configuration [i.e. no reconfiguration] – FIG. 3, 306-Yes, 308-310 paragraph 0033), if the first UID matches the second UID (comparing the derived identifier with identifier(s) stored during previous boot(s) – FIG. 2, 206-208, paragraph 0028, paragraph 0031, lines 14-17, FIG. 3, 306-Yes, 308-310, paragraph 0031, lines 17-23, paragraph 0032, lines 1-9, paragraph 0033, lines 1-7, paragraph 0043, lines 1-3 and 5-8); wherein the pre-calculated configuration set comprises at least one of: a software configuration setting, a hardware configuration setting (paragraph 0020).
Although Knichel does not explicitly state depending on a required speed for applying a pre-calculated configuration set, obtain the pre-calculated configuration set from a HW device of the device, from a storage of the device, or from a cloud device connectable to the device, Knichel clearly discloses obtaining the hardware/software configuration from computer-readable media (FIG. 1, 110) which can be implemented as internal memory within the computing device (FIG. 1, 110, FIG. 5. 512, paragraph 0016, lines 1-6, paragraph 0068), as a portable USB flash drive (FIG(s) 1 and 5, 118, paragraph 0017, lines 1-9, paragraph 0075), or installed on remote cloud storage device (FIG. 1, 120, FIG. 5, 520-522, paragraph 0017, lines 12-15, paragraph 0078, lines 4-8, paragraph 0082, lines 4-7, paragraphs 0082-0084). Accordingly, Knichel inherently discloses obtaining the hardware/software configuration from three different locations, each having different speed (by definition internal RAM or ROM is faster than a removable USB flash drive, which itself is faster than the cloud storage device, being the slowest). In Knichel, this allows for booting a portable OS installation across different machines that may have different hardware configurations (paragraph 0001, lines 11-15, paragraph 0010). Thus, optimizing the boot speed (paragraph 0033, lines 1-12). In view of these teachings, it would have been obvious, if not inherent to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the functionality of depending on a required speed for applying a pre-calculated configuration set, obtain the pre-calculated configuration set from a HW device of the device, from a storage of the device, or from a cloud device connectable to the device. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to optimize the boot speed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued in essence that the Knichel reference is silent with respect to the feature that a reconfiguration of the device is omitted if the first UID matches the second UID.
The examiner disagrees. In Knichel, upon determining that the derived hardware device identifier (first UID) matches an already existing/stored identifier (second UID), there is no loading of default settings and no further optimization for new hardware configuration (i.e. no device reconfiguration is needed and the existing, pre-stored hardware configuration is loaded – FIG. 2, 206-208, paragraph 0028, FIG. 3, 306-Yes, 308-310, paragraph 0033). This functionality is advantageous such that pre-loading of excessive and unnecessary default boot start drivers (the drivers are part of the hardware configuration – paragraph 0020) may be avoided (no device reconfiguration), which optimizes the boot time (paragraph 0033, lines 10-12).
Thus, Knichel meets the argued claim language.
In addition, amended claim 1 remains rejected for double patenting, as indicated above.
Therefore, the rejection(s) of claim 1 are maintained, as indicated in this Office action.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEFAN STOYNOV/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2175