DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action has been issued in response to the amendment filed on 1/8/2026. Claims 1-20 and 24 are cancelled. Claims 21-23 and 25-40 are pending. Applicants’ arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered in light of the instant amendment and are persuasive, as they relate to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, after further search and consideration, Examiner has found additional prior art, as will be discussed below. Accordingly, this action has been made NON-FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variant of each other.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,130,829
Claim 21:
A method comprising:
obtaining a first user input via a first user interface, wherein at least a portion of a first query is defined based on the first user input;
identifying a set of data for execution of the first query based on the first user input, the first query expressed in a first query language format and the set of data expressed in a second query language format that is different from the first query language format;
determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to at least a portion of a second query based on mapping data;
obtaining first query results based on executing the second query;
executing the second query on the set of data identified for execution of the first query based on determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to the at least a portion of the second query; and
causing display of query results via a second user interface;
modifying the first query results based on the mapping data to obtain second query results; and
causing display of the second query results via the second user interface
Claim 1:
A method comprising:
obtaining a user input via a first visualization of a user interface, wherein the user input defines a first field-value pair for execution of a query, wherein the first field-value pair associates a first field and a first field value;
identifying a set of data for execution of the query based at least in part on the user input;
determining the first field is mapped to a second field based on mapping data, wherein a second field-value pair associates the second field and the first field value;
generating a modified query using the query and the second field-value pair based at least in part on determining the first field is mapped to the second field;
executing the modified query on the set of data using the second field-value pair to generate query results; and
causing display of the query results via a second visualization of the user interface based at least in part on the first field.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are substantially similar in scope and they use the similar limitations. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to omit the additional elements "a first visualization of a user interface; wherein the first field-value pair associates a first field and a first field value; wherein a second field-value pair associates the second field and the first field value; generating a modified query using the query and the second field-value pair based at least in part on determining the first field is mapped to the second field" of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,829 to arrive at the claims 21-40 of the instant application because the person would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. "Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before." See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 and 25-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al (US 20230072930 A1) in view of Meijer et al (US 20070038985 A1).
As to claims 21, 39, and 40, Shah teaches A method comprising:
obtaining a first user input via a first user interface, wherein at least a portion of a first query is defined based on the first user input (Shah discloses a database query which is received and executed in [0038]);
identifying a set of data for execution of the first query based on the first user input, the first query expressed in a first query language format and the set of data expressed in a second query language format that is different from the first query language format (Shah discloses the first database and the second database stored shared synchronized records. The queries are translated to the database query language of the target database service. See [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0044], [0052], [0063], [0064]);
determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to at least a portion of a second query (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]);
executing the second query on the set of data identified for execution of the first query based on determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to the at least a portion of the second query (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]);
obtaining first query results based on executing the second query (Shah discloses the query results from either executing a split query at 407 or a non-split query at 411 are collected and processed. See [0039]-[0044]);
modifying the first query results based on the mapping data to obtain second query results (Shah discloses The query results from the execution of the first component query by one database service are used to complete the second component query for execution by the second database service. See [0021]); and
causing display of the second query results via a second user interface (Shah discloses the results from the execution may be streamed as batch results and the collected batch results are integrated. See [0043]).
Shah fails to teach obtaining mapping data identifying a relationship between at least a first field of the first query language format and a second field of the second query language format.
However, Meijer teaches obtaining mapping data identifying a relationship between at least a first field of the first query language format and a second field of the second query language format (Meijer discloses receives the tokens or collection of tokens and expands or translates them from the first source program language to corresponding elements in a second target language. To facilitate such translation or expansion, the translation component 120 can interact with and be guided by map 130. Map 130 provides a map or mapping between the syntax, operations, and names of the first language and the syntax, operations and names of the second language. The map 130 can include a record of not only base elements that are common to programming languages but also context or implementation specific information such as field, variable and/or table names. See [0026] - [0031]).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the teachings of Shah to incorporate the Syntactic Program Language Translation as taught by Meijer for the purpose of improving query performance.
As to claim 22, Meijer teaches the mapping data indicates a relationship between the first query language format and the second query language format, wherein the first query corresponds to the first query language format, and wherein the second query corresponds to the second query language format (Meijer discloses receives the tokens or collection of tokens and expands or translates them from the first source program language to corresponding elements in a second target language. To facilitate such translation or expansion, the translation component 120 can interact with and be guided by map 130. Map 130 provides a map or mapping between the syntax, operations, and names of the first language and the syntax, operations and names of the second language. The map 130 can include a record of not only base elements that are common to programming languages but also context or implementation specific information such as field, variable and/or table names. See [0026] - [0031]).
As to claim 23, Meijer teaches the mapping data indicates a relationship between the first query language format and the second query language format, wherein the first query and the second query results correspond to the first query language format, and wherein the second query and the set of data correspond to the second query language format (Meijer discloses receives the tokens or collection of tokens and expands or translates them from the first source program language to corresponding elements in a second target language. To facilitate such translation or expansion, the translation component 120 can interact with and be guided by map 130. Map 130 provides a map or mapping between the syntax, operations, and names of the first language and the syntax, operations and names of the second language. The map 130 can include a record of not only base elements that are common to programming languages but also context or implementation specific information such as field, variable and/or table names. See [0026] - [0031]).
As to claim 25, Shah teaches determining that the first query results and the first query correspond to different query languages; and modifying the first query results to obtain the second query results based on determining that the first query results and the first query correspond to different query language formats (Shah discloses the first database and the second database stored shared synchronized records. The queries are translated to the database query language of the target database service. See [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0044], [0052], [0063], [0064]) (Shah discloses The query results from the execution of the first component query by one database service are used to complete the second component query for execution by the second database service. See [0021]).
As to claim 26, Shah teaches determining that the set of data and the first query correspond to different query language formats; and obtaining the second query based on determining that the set of data and the first query correspond to different query language formats (Shah discloses the first database and the second database stored shared synchronized records. The queries are translated to the database query language of the target database service. See [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0044], [0052], [0063], [0064]) (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 27, Shah teaches the first query defines a query operation in a first manner, and wherein the second query defines the query operation in a second manner (Shah discloses the first database and the second database stored shared synchronized records. The queries are translated to the database query language of the target database service. See [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0044], [0052], [0063], [0064]).
As to claim 28, Shah teaches the at least a portion of the first query comprises one or more of a first field, a first command, a first function, a first argument, or a first clause, and wherein the at least a portion of the second query comprises one or more of a second field, a second command, a second function, a second argument, or a second clause (Shah discloses query engine 203 identifies the column-store component and row-store component of a database query and splits the two. The column-store component can correspond to a WHERE or JOIN clause which is column-oriented. In contrast to the column-store component, the row-store component of the database query can correspond to a SELECT clause that is row-oriented. See [0022]).
As to claim 29, Shah teaches obtaining the second query based on determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to the at least a portion of the second query (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 30, Shah teaches modifying the first query to obtain the second query based on determining that the at least a portion of the first query is mapped to the at least a portion of the second query (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 31, Shah teaches the first query comprises a first field-value pair, wherein the second query comprises a second field-value pair, wherein the first field-value pair comprises a first field and a first field value, and wherein the second field-value pair comprises a second field and the first field value (Shah discloses the database query is split into component queries. For example, a column-store component query and a row-store component query are generated from the database query. In some embodiments, the result values from executing a first component query are used to complete the generation of the second component query. See [0039]).
As to claim 32, Shah teaches causing display of the second query results comprises causing display of the second query results in response to obtaining the first user input (Shah discloses the results from the execution may be streamed as batch results and the collected batch results are integrated. See [0043]).
As to claim 33, Shah teaches at least a portion of a third query is mapped to the at least a portion of the second query based on mapping data (Shah discloses the database query is split into component queries (i.e. first query, second query, third query, etc.). The execution of the component queries is pipelined. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 34, Meijer teaches obtaining a second user input; and defining the mapping data based on the second user input (Meijer discloses receives the tokens or collection of tokens and expands or translates them from the first source program language to corresponding elements in a second target language. To facilitate such translation or expansion, the translation component 120 can interact with and be guided by map 130. Map 130 provides a map or mapping between the syntax, operations, and names of the first language and the syntax, operations and names of the second language. The map 130 can include a record of not only base elements that are common to programming languages but also context or implementation specific information such as field, variable and/or table names. See [0026] - [0031]).
As to claim 35, Shah teaches the second query comprises at least a portion of the first query (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 36, Shah teaches the first user input comprises a request to execute the first query on the set of data (Shah discloses the query engine further analyzes the database query to determine which of the two database services the query should be routed to for processing. See [0039]-[0044]).
As to claim 37, Shah teaches obtaining a second user input via a third user interface, wherein at least a portion of a third query is defined based on the second user input; and causing display of an alert via a fourth user interface based on the (Shah discloses the first database and the second database stored shared synchronized records. The queries are translated to the database query language of the target database service. Multiple user interfaces are a design choice and would have been obvious to implement different interfaces to execute/alert different aspects of Shah. See [0018], [0024], [0039]-[0044], [0052], [0063], [0064]).
As to claim 38, Meijer teaches generating the mapping data using a machine learning model (Meijer discloses translation component 120 could utilize artificial intelligence, machine learning or like mechanisms to facilitate expansion or translation of code. See [0050]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-23 and 25-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 1/8/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-23 and 25-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shah et al (US 20230072930 A1) in view of Meijer et al (US 20070038985 A1).
Conclusion
/JARED M BIBBEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2161