DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on 08/17/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-19 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-19 is as follows.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to the claims are acknowledged and entered accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendment to independent claim 1 reciting “a second spine having a second form comprising a mirror counterpart of the first form” … “a third spine having a third form comprising a different form than the first form and the second form” is not sufficient to overcome the rejection of record.
The Examiner notes the applicant has limited the “second form” of the claim as “comprising a mirror counterpart of the first form”. This results in the claim reciting two distinct forms: “a first form” of the first spine and “a second form” of the second spine being a mirror-counterpart of the first form, such that the first form and the second form are necessarily different. The Buysman reference discloses struts 55a and 55c in Figure 4 having forms that are mirror counterparts of each other.
The claim further recites “a third spine having a third form comprising a different form than the first form and the second form”. The examiner is of the position that the strut 55b defines the third spine with a third form. Buysman discloses the third strut 55b as not being a mirror counterpart to struts 55a and 55c as shown in Figures 3 and 4. As a result, the “form” of the third strut 55b is necessarily a different form than the first form and the second form as claimed.
For the purposes of expedited prosecution, the Examiner is of the position that if the claims defined the first form and the second form as being the same form with the first and second spines/forms being oriented in a mirrored fashion relative to one another, while also reciting the third form as different from the first and second form, then the Buysman reference would no longer read upon this theoretical claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 5-7 and 11-16 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buysman (U.S. PGPub No. 2015/0011991).
Regarding claim 1, Buysman teaches A catheter comprising: an elongated catheter body (Fig 1); and an electrode assembly distal of the catheter body (Fig 1-2 electrode assembly 33), the electrode assembly comprising a first spine having a first form, a first-spine distal end and a first-spine exposed total length (Fig 3 strut 55A with a first form and first length and first distal end), a second spine having a second form comprising a mirror counterpart of the first form (Fig 4, strut 55c is a mirror counterpart to strut 55a; examiner notes electrodes 57 define a separate structure that is not part of the form of the spine), a second-spine distal end connected to the first-spine distal end and a second-spine exposed total length equal to the first-spine exposed total length (Figs 3-4, strut 55c connected to strut 55a via tip 67; [0066] disclosing same length), and a third spine having a third form (Figs 3-4 strut 55b has third form) comprising a different form than the first form and second form (Figs 3-4, strut 55b has a form different than struts 55a and 55c based at least on the fact that strut 55b projects radially in a different direction than struts 55a and 55c; Examiner notes this interpretation is reasonable given that the claims limit the second form based upon the direction(s) in which the spine extends (i.e., second form comprises a mirror counterpart of the first form)), a third-spine distal end, and a third-spine exposed total length equal to the first-spine exposed total length (Fig 3, strut 55b connected at a distal end at tip 67 to other spines and each having the same length as disclosed in [0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Buysman teaches in which the first spine includes a first distal portion comprising a first convergent distal portion and the first distal end, the second spine includes a second distal portion comprising a second convergent distal portion and the second distal end, and the third spine includes a third distal portion comprising a third convergent distal portion and the third distal end (Fig 3 each strut has a convergent distal portion at the distal end).
Regarding claims 4, Buysman teaches in which the electrode assembly further comprises a fourth spine having a fourth form comprising a mirror counterpart of the form ([0066] fourth spine 55d is a mirror counterpart of third spine 55b to maintain symmetry of assembly 33 and four struts 55a-d).
Regarding claim 8, Buysman teaches in which the first spine and the second spine are each covered by a non-conductive covering ([0060] flange 87 with four slots 89 to receive proximal end of each strut defines a non-conductive covering).
Regarding claim 17, Buysman teaches in which the first spine and the second spine are each covered by a non-conductive covering ([0060] flange 87 with four slots 89 to receive proximal end of each strut defines a non-conductive covering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buysman in view of Grunewald (U.S. PGPub No. 2013/0053841).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 18-19, Buysman teaches the device of claims 8 and 11 respectivley as stated above. Buysman further teaches electrodes disposed on the fist and second spines (see Fig 3).
Buysman fails to teach in which at least one ring electrode is disposed on the first spine and on the second spine; in which at least one irrigated ring electrode is disposed on the first spine and on the second spine.
In related prior art, Grunewald teaches a similar catheter comprising similar ring electrodes in which at least one ring electrode is disposed on the first spine and on the second spine; in which at least one irrigated ring electrode is disposed on the first spine and on the second spine (Fig 10, [0032] irrigated ring electrodes R). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Buysman in view of Grunewald to incorporate the electrodes as irrigated ring electrodes to arrive at the device of claims 9-10 and 18-19. Providing the electrodes as irrigated ring electrodes would advantageously reduce electrode temperature during ablation to minimize the formation of char and coagulum (Grunewald [0005]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claims 5-7 and 11-16, the Buysman and Grunewald references fail to teach the fourth-spine distal portion comprising fourth-spine convergent distal portion and a fourth-spine divergent distal portion as recited in claim 5. Similarly, the references fail to teach “a third-spine divergent proximal portion and a third-spine convergent proximal portion” as recited in claim 11. Any such modification of Buysman to incorporate the convergent and divergent portions of the fourth or third spine as respectively recited would necessarily rely on impermissible hindsight benefit using information solely gleaned from the applicant’s specification. Even assuming a combination could be made to provide the claimed divergent and convergent portions of claims 5 and 11, then the resulting combination would fail to read upon the first through third spines have an equal total exposed length. No other pertinent prior art reference were found that would overcome the above deficiencies. Therefore, there is no motivation (either in these references or elsewhere in the art) for making such specific and significant modifications thereto to arrive at claim(s) 5-7, 11-16.
.Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,575,742 in view of Buysman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate and/or make obvious the instant claims in view of Buysman.
Claims 7 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,575,742 in view of Buysman.
Regarding claim 7, the reference patent recites wherein each spine has a distal end connected to the distal end of at least one other spine, but fails to claim the fourth distal portion includes a fourth distal end connected to the first distal end, the second distal end, and the third distal end.
Buysman teaches in which the fourth distal portion includes a fourth distal end connected to the first distal end, the second distal end, and the third distal end (Fig 3 all four distal ends converge and connect at head 71). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the reference patent in view of Buysman to incorporate the first through fourth distal ends connected to each other to arrive at claim 7. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to yield predictable results therein.
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,602,948 in view of Buysman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate and/or make obvious the instant claims in view of Buysman.
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 14-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,116,436 in view of Buysman. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claims anticipate and/or make obvious the instant claims in view of Buysman
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794