DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11663321. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims of patent application contain every element of claims above instant application or vice versa, and as such they anticipate or anticipated by Instant Application. As to Claims 1, 7, 13, of the Pat. *321 anticipates the claims of the instant application. By way of illustration, consider the respective claim 1 from each disclosure:
As to Claim 1, Pat. No. *321 discloses: A method comprising: executing, on one or more processors, an application comprising program instructions that implement managed code and unmanaged code; creating, responsive to a request from the managed code, an object accessible by the managed code in a managed state of a plurality of states including the managed state and an unmanaged state, wherein creating the object accessible in the managed state comprises: allocating managed memory for the object from a managed pool; and generating an unmanaged layout template for the object; and transforming, responsive to a requirement by the unmanaged code to access the object, the object to be accessible by the unmanaged code in the unmanaged state (see claims 21, 24 of current application: creating an object accessible in one of a plurality of states including a managed state and an unmanaged state, the object comprising a managed layout template; and transforming the object from the unmanaged state to the managed state responsive to a requirement by managed code to access the object, the transforming comprising: transforming one or more elements of the object into respective managed objects according to the managed layout template; and copying data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template…claim 24: wherein the object is created accessible in the managed state, the creating further comprising allocating managed memory for the object from a managed pool, and wherein the method further comprises transforming the object from the managed state to the unmanaged state responsive to a requirement by unmanaged code to access the object).
Independent claims 21, 28, 35 of the instant application are substantially similar to independent claims 1, 7, 13, of the Pat. *321 and are rejected for substantially similar reasons as discussed supra. Likewise, dependent claims 22-27, 29-34, 36-40 of the instant application are substantially similar to dependent claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-17 (respectively) of the Pat. *321 and are rejected for substantially similar reasons as discussed supra.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satish et al (Pat. No. US 7752242) in view of Kukoleca et al (Pub. No. US 2006/0251095).
As per claim 21, Satish discloses a method, comprising: creating an object accessible in one of a plurality of states including a managed state and an unmanaged state, the object comprising a managed layout template (…the transformation module includes a data storage module holding application definitions for use in creating managed assemblies from unmanaged code… see col.4 lines 43-67); and transforming the object from the unmanaged state to the managed state responsive to a requirement by managed code to access the object (…application definitions are established for unmanaged code on the computer system…each application definition includes a manifest, an execution wrapper, and modification data describing how to modify the unmanaged code for the CLR…the transformation module activated in order to transform specific unmanaged code into a managed assembly…see col.6 lines 25-45…the CLR computes the effective permissions set based upon the manifest, the security policy,…and/or other information and creates a domain having the computed permissions…see col.7 lines 3-5), the transforming comprising: transforming one or more elements of the object into respective managed objects according to the managed layout template (…the transformation module modifies the unmanaged code by altering its IAT to call managed APIs instead of unmanaged APIs and/or makes other modifications to the code as specified by the application definition…see col.6 lines 55-65). Satish does not explicitly disclose copying data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template. However Kukoleca discloses copying data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template (…the media buffer object provides methods for copying media buffers between managed and unmanaged memory…see par. 20…it copies from the passed buffer of unmanaged memory into the media buffer in managed memory…see Table 3A). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Kukoleca in Satish for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further improve techniques that would allow for the intercepting of content and providing of content in a uniform manner…see Kukoleca, par. 7.
As per claim 28, Satish discloses a system, comprising: one or more processors and a memory storing instructions (see fig.1) that when executed cause the one or more processors to implement an application runtime configured to: create an object accessible in one of a plurality of states including a managed state and an unmanaged state, the object comprising a managed layout template (…the transformation module includes a data storage module holding application definitions for use in creating managed assemblies from unmanaged code… see col.4 lines 43-67); and transform the object from the unmanaged state to the managed state responsive to a requirement by managed code to access the object (…application definitions are established for unmanaged code on the computer system…each application definition includes a manifest, an execution wrapper, and modification data describing how to modify the unmanaged code for the CLR…the transformation module activated in order to transform specific unmanaged code into a managed assembly…see col.6 lines 25-45…the CLR computes the effective permissions set based upon the manifest, the security policy,…and/or other information and creates a domain having the computed permissions…see col.7 lines 3-5), wherein to transform the object the application runtime is configured to: transform one or more elements of the object into respective managed objects according to the managed layout template (…the transformation module modifies the unmanaged code by altering its IAT to call managed APIs instead of unmanaged APIs and/or makes other modifications to the code as specified by the application definition…see col.6 lines 55-65). Satish does not explicitly disclose copy data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template. However Kukoleca discloses copy data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template (…the media buffer object provides methods for copying media buffers between managed and unmanaged memory…see par. 20…it copies from the passed buffer of unmanaged memory into the media buffer in managed memory…see Table 3A). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Kukoleca in Satish for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further improve techniques that would allow for the intercepting of content and providing of content in a uniform manner…see Kukoleca, par. 7.
As per claim 35, Satish discloses one or more non-transitory computer-accessible storage media storing program instructions that when executed on or across one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform: creating an object accessible in one of a plurality of states including a managed state and an unmanaged state, the object comprising a managed layout template (…the transformation module includes a data storage module holding application definitions for use in creating managed assemblies from unmanaged code… see col.4 lines 43-67); and transforming the object from the unmanaged state to the managed state responsive to a requirement by managed code to access the object (…application definitions are established for unmanaged code on the computer system…each application definition includes a manifest, an execution wrapper, and modification data describing how to modify the unmanaged code for the CLR…the transformation module activated in order to transform specific unmanaged code into a managed assembly…see col.6 lines 25-45…the CLR computes the effective permissions set based upon the manifest, the security policy…and/or other information and creates a domain having the computed permissions…see col.7 lines 3-5), the transforming comprising: transforming one or more elements of the object into respective managed objects according to the managed layout template (…the transformation module modifies the unmanaged code by altering its IAT to call managed APIs instead of unmanaged APIs and/or makes other modifications to the code as specified by the application definition…see col.6 lines 55-65). Satish does not explicitly disclose copying data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template. However Kukoleca discloses copying data from unmanaged memory for the object to managed memory for the object according to the managed layout template (…the media buffer object provides methods for copying media buffers between managed and unmanaged memory…see par. 20…it copies from the passed buffer of unmanaged memory into the media buffer in managed memory…see Table 3A). Therefore one ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Kukoleca in Satish for including the above limitations because one ordinary skill in the art would recognize it would further improve techniques that would allow for the intercepting of content and providing of content in a uniform manner…see Kukoleca, par. 7.
As per claims 22, 29, 36, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses wherein subsequent to the transforming, the object is no longer accessible in the unmanaged state (Satish: see col.6 lines 5-8).
As per claims 23, 30, 37, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses wherein accesses by the managed code to the object accessible in the managed state are memory-safe (Satish: see col.6 lines 14-17).
As per claims 24, 31, 38, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses wherein the object is created accessible in the managed state, the creating further comprising allocating managed memory for the object from a managed pool, and wherein the method further comprises transforming the object from the managed state to the unmanaged state responsive to a requirement by unmanaged code to access the object (Kukoleca: see par. 23). The motivation for claims 24, 31, 38 is the same motivation as in claims 21, 28, 35 above.
As per claims 25, 32, 39, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses the transforming further comprising: transforming one or more managed objects of the created object from the managed state to respective elements of the created object the unmanaged state; and releasing the managed memory for the object (Kukoleca: see par. 23). ). The motivation for claims 25, 32, 39 is the same motivation as in claims 21, 28, 35 above
As per claims 26, 33, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses wherein the managed code comprises unmanaged program code executed in an emulation environment of a virtual machine (Satish: see col.5 lines 5-8).
As per claims 27, 34, 40, the combination of Satish and Kukoleca discloses executing an application comprising program instructions that implement the managed code and unmanaged code, wherein the creating is performed responsive to a request from the managed code (Satish: see col.7 lines 5-14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to executing applications containing both managed code and unmanaged code.
Junghans et al (Pub. No. US 2010/0030845); “Enforcement of Object Permissions in Enterprise Resource Planning Software”;
-Teaches middle-tier server includes several components used in managing and enforcing object permissions…the middle-tier server includes both an unmanaged portion and a managed portion…the unmanaged portion includes code library and user permissions table…the managed portion includes code library, execute permissions table, and objects…managed code library provides logic for interacting with enhanced client and for checking user and object permissions…objects are compiled versions of the objects for which source code is stored in object metadata table…objects are retrieved from object table in response to a user request to instantiate an object…see par. 16-17
Dragoljevic et al (Pub. No. US 2017/0139824); “Memory Management and Image Display for Mobile Devices”;
-Teaches the memory manager can be configured to handle requests to store, modify, or access objects in memory…the memory manager can communicate with other specialized components, such as the handler or the image purger, to handle requests…see par. 42.
/GHAZAL B SHEHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499