DETAILED ACTION
This application is in response an application filed on 10/16/2024.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 and 20 are pending. Applicant has amended Claims 1, 3 and cancelled claims 2,4,5,7-8,10,12 and 18-19.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 and 20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6,9,11,12-16 and 19 of Bozkurt et al (US Patent No.: 11,242,256 (‘256)) in view of Hah et al (NPL: “Simple preparation of monodisperse hollow silica particles without using templates”, Chem communications 2003, 1712-1713, IDS submitted reference by applicant) and in further view of Yuichi et al (JP 2011246285 A, machine translation).
Bozkurt ‘256 discloses substantially similar to applicant’s claimed invention which includes a method for forming hollow silica particles comprising of:
dissolving a trialkoxy(aryl) silane (see claim1-2) in an aqueous solution comprising water and an acid (i.e., nitric acid, see claims 1, 4) to form a hydrolyzed silane solution;
mixing the hydrolyzed silane solution with a hydroxide base (i.e., ammonium hydroxide, see claims 1, 5) to form a precipitate; and
calcining the precipitate to form the hollow silica spheres, wherein the calcining is performed by heating to a first temperature of 180 to 2400 C with a first ramp rate of 3 to 100C/min and holding the first temperature for 2 minutes to 2 hours, then heating to a second temperature of 600 to 7400 C at a second ramp rate of 0.1 to 40 C/min, and holding the second temperature for 2 to 24 hours,
wherein a template is not employed for forming the hollow silica spheres (see claims 1-5).
Bozkurt does not explicitly disclose or suggest centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate from the suspension, washing the precipitate an organic solvent and water.
However, Hah discloses a method for preparing hollow silica particles without use of template (1st paragraph on left page 1712), nitric acid was placed in isothermal water bath and then phenyltrimethoxysilane (PTMS) was added to the solution, with stirring for hydrolysis and then NH4OH solution was added to resultant homogeneous solution for condensation (reads on forming a precipitate) and resultant particles were collected with a membrane filter (reads on removing (i.e., separating) the precipitate from precipitate mixture) and then washed with ethanol and water several times (i.e., reads on washing the precipitate with an organic solvent and water). The particles were dried (2nd paragraph, page 1712).
Given Bozkurt and Hah both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles without employing template as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt with Hah to include the removing (i.e., separating) the precipitate from the precipitate mixture and washing the precipitate with organic solvent and water which provides controlled in size and hollow diameter and more simpler and easier method as taught by Hah (page 1712).
Bozkurt and Hah does not explicitly disclose or suggest centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate from the suspension.
However, Yuichi teaches method of making hollow solid silica particles by adding silica source (i.e., tetraethoxysilane) to aqueous solution and then adding acid or base as catalyst, sol-gel occurs, and the silica gel is formed (paragraphs 0027-0029, 0033-0034). Then Yuichi further discloses silica particles are separated from silica particle dispersion by centrifugation, pressure filtration or any known methods and then silica particles are washed with solvent such as water and drying the process (paragraphs 0044-0045). Then further discloses heat treatment of silica particles occurring multiple times where the heat treatment before the final heat treatment is occurred at 150° C or more and 350° C or less and final heat treatment occurs at 400° C or more and 900° C or less.
Given Bozkurt, Hah and Yuichi both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt and Hah with Yuichi to include the separating the precipitate by centrifugation which provides more easier method for conductive silica particle and forming uniform disperse metal particles resulting in stable shape such as hollow shape (see paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0029) as taught by Yuichi.
Regarding claim 3, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the trialkoxy(aryl)hydrolyzable aryl silane is trimethoxy(phenyl) silane (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the first temperature is 195 to 210°C (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 9, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the second temperature is 650 to 670°C (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 11, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the second temperature is held for 12 to 20 hours (see claim 11).
Regarding claim 13, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres comprise a silica-containing shell surrounding a core, wherein the silica-containing shell has a higher density of silica compared to the core (see claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average degree of hollowness, defined as a maximum peak intensity of the core divided by a minimum peak intensity of the silica-containing shell, each measured with transmission electron microscopy, of 3 to 8 (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the silica-containing shell has a thickness of about 150 to 210 nm, and the core has a diameter of about 100 to 230 nm (see claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average diameter of 500 to 530 nm (see claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres are monodisperse with a coefficient of variation, defined as a ratio of the standard deviation to the mean diameter of the hollow silica spheres, of less than 5% (see claim 16).
Regarding claim 20, Bozkurt ‘256 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average pore diameter of 1.7 to 8 nm with a cumulative pore volume of 0.02 to 0.035 cm.sup.3/g (see claim 19).
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 and 20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of Bozkurt et al (US Patent No.: 12,017,922 (‘922)) in view of Hah et al (NPL: “Simple preparation of monodisperse hollow silica particles without using templates”, Chem communications 2003, 1712-1713, IDS submitted reference by applicant) and in further view of Yuichi et al (JP 2011246285 A, machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses substantially similar to applicant’s claimed invention which includes a method for forming hollow silica particles comprising of:
dissolving a trialkoxy(aryl) silane(see claims 1, 2) in an aqueous solution comprising water and an acid to form a hydrolyzed silane solution;
mixing the hydrolyzed silane solution with a hydroxide base to form a precipitate;
separating the precipitate from the suspension;
washing the precipitate with an organic solvent and water; then
calcining the precipitate to form the hollow silica spheres, wherein the calcining is performed by heating to a first temperature of 180 to 2400 C with a first ramp rate of 3 to 100C/min and holding the first temperature for 2 minutes to 2 hours, then heating to a second temperature of 600 to 7400 C at a second ramp rate of 0.1 to 40 C/min, and holding the second temperature for 2 to 24 hours,
wherein a template is not employed for forming the hollow silica spheres (see claims 1-2).
Bozkurt does not explicitly disclose or suggest acid being nitric acid, hydroxide base being ammonium hydroxide base and separating the precipitate via centrifuging.
However, Hah discloses a method for preparing hollow silica particles without use of template (1st paragraph on left page 1712), nitric acid (reads on acid of claim 1) was placed in isothermal water bath and then phenyltrimethoxysilane (PTMS) was added to the solution, with stirring for hydrolysis and then NH4OH solution (reads on hydroxide base of claim 1) was added to resultant homogeneous solution for condensation (reads on forming a precipitate) and resultant particles were collected with a membrane filter (reads on removing (i.e., separating) the precipitate from precipitate mixture) and then washed with ethanol and water several times (i.e., reads on washing the precipitate with an organic solvent and water). The particles were dried (2nd paragraph, page 1712).
Given Bozkurt and Hah both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles without employing template as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt to utilize nitric acid as acid and to utilize ammonium hydroxide solution as hydroxide base of Hah which provides controlled in size and hollow diameter and more simpler and easier method as taught by Hah (page 1712).
Bozkurt and Hah does not explicitly disclose or suggest centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate from the suspension.
However, Yuichi teaches method of making hollow solid silica particles by adding silica source (i.e., tetraethoxysilane) to aqueous solution and then adding acid or base as catalyst, sol-gel occurs, and the silica gel is formed (paragraphs 0027-0029, 0033-0034). Then Yuichi further discloses silica particles are separated from silica particle dispersion by centrifugation, pressure filtration or any known methods and then silica particles are washed with solvent such as water and drying the process (paragraphs 0044-0045). Then further discloses heat treatment of silica particles occurring multiple times where the heat treatment before the final heat treatment is occurred at 150° C or more and 350° C or less and final heat treatment occurs at 400° C or more and 900° C or less.
Given Bozkurt, Hah and Yuichi both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt and Hah with Yuichi to include the separating the precipitate by centrifugation which provides more easier method for conductive silica particle and forming uniform disperse metal particles resulting in stable shape such as hollow shape (see paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0029) as taught by Yuichi.
Regarding claim 3, Bozkurt ‘922discloses wherein the trialkoxy(aryl)hydrolyzable aryl silane is trimethoxy(phenyl) silane (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the first temperature is 195 to 210°C (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the second temperature is 650 to 670°C (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 11, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the second temperature is held for 12 to 20 hours (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres comprise a silica-containing shell surrounding a core, wherein the silica-containing shell has a higher density of silica compared to the core (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 14, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average degree of hollowness, defined as a maximum peak intensity of the core divided by a minimum peak intensity of the silica-containing shell, each measured with transmission electron microscopy, of 3 to 8 (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 15, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the silica-containing shell has a thickness of about 150 to 210 nm, and the core has a diameter of about 100 to 230 nm (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average diameter of 500 to 530 nm (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 17, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres are monodisperse with a coefficient of variation, defined as a ratio of the standard deviation to the mean diameter of the hollow silica spheres, of less than 5% (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 20, Bozkurt ‘922 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average pore diameter of 1.7 to 8 nm with a cumulative pore volume of 0.02 to 0.035 cm.sup.3/g (see claim 11).
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 and 20, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of Bozkurt et al (US Patent No.: 12,139,411 (‘411)) in view of Hah et al (NPL: “Simple preparation of monodisperse hollow silica particles without using templates”, Chem communications 2003, 1712-1713, IDS submitted reference by applicant) and in further view of Yuichi et al (JP 2011246285 A, machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses substantially similar to applicant’s claimed invention which includes a method for forming hollow silica particles comprising of:
dissolving a trialkoxy(aryl) silane(see claims 1, 2) in an aqueous solution comprising water and an acid to form a hydrolyzed silane solution;
mixing the hydrolyzed silane solution with a hydroxide base to form a precipitate;
separating the precipitate from the suspension;
washing the precipitate with an organic solvent and water; then
calcining the precipitate to form the hollow silica spheres, wherein the calcining is performed by heating to a first temperature of 180 to 2400 C with a first ramp rate of 3 to 100C/min and holding the first temperature for 2 minutes to 2 hours, then heating to a second temperature of 600 to 7400 C at a second ramp rate of 0.1 to 40 C/min, and holding the second temperature for 2 to 24 hours,
wherein a template is not employed for forming the hollow silica spheres (see claims 1-2).
Bozkurt does not explicitly disclose or suggest acid being nitric acid, hydroxide base being ammonium hydroxide base and separating the precipitate via centrifuging.
However, Hah discloses a method for preparing hollow silica particles without use of template (1st paragraph on left page 1712), nitric acid (reads on acid of claim 1) was placed in isothermal water bath and then phenyltrimethoxysilane (PTMS) was added to the solution, with stirring for hydrolysis and then NH4OH solution (reads on hydroxide base of claim 1) was added to resultant homogeneous solution for condensation (reads on forming a precipitate) and resultant particles were collected with a membrane filter (reads on removing (i.e., separating) the precipitate from precipitate mixture) and then washed with ethanol and water several times (i.e., reads on washing the precipitate with an organic solvent and water). The particles were dried (2nd paragraph, page 1712).
Given Bozkurt and Hah both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles without employing template as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt to utilize nitric acid as acid and to utilize ammonium hydroxide solution as hydroxide base of Hah which provides controlled in size and hollow diameter and more simpler and easier method as taught by Hah (page 1712).
Bozkurt and Hah does not explicitly disclose or suggest centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate from the suspension.
However, Yuichi teaches method of making hollow solid silica particles by adding silica source (i.e., tetraethoxysilane) to aqueous solution and then adding acid or base as catalyst, sol-gel occurs, and the silica gel is formed (paragraphs 0027-0029, 0033-0034). Then Yuichi further discloses silica particles are separated from silica particle dispersion by centrifugation, pressure filtration or any known methods and then silica particles are washed with solvent such as water and drying the process (paragraphs 0044-0045). Then further discloses heat treatment of silica particles occurring multiple times where the heat treatment before the final heat treatment is occurred at 150° C or more and 350° C or less and final heat treatment occurs at 400° C or more and 900° C or less.
Given Bozkurt, Hah and Yuichi both directed a method for preparing hollow silica particles as disclosed above, therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant invention to modify the method steps of Bozkurt and Hah with Yuichi to include the separating the precipitate by centrifugation which provides more easier method for conductive silica particle and forming uniform disperse metal particles resulting in stable shape such as hollow shape (see paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0029) as taught by Yuichi.
Regarding claim 3, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the trialkoxy(aryl)hydrolyzable aryl silane is trimethoxy(phenyl) silane (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 6, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the first temperature is 195 to 210°C (see claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the second temperature is 650 to 670°C (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 11, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the second temperature is held for 12 to 20 hours (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres comprise a silica-containing shell surrounding a core, wherein the silica-containing shell has a higher density of silica compared to the core (see claim 6).
Regarding claim 14, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average degree of hollowness, defined as a maximum peak intensity of the core divided by a minimum peak intensity of the silica-containing shell, each measured with transmission electron microscopy, of 3 to 8 (see claim 7).
Regarding claim 15, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the silica-containing shell has a thickness of about 150 to 210 nm, and the core has a diameter of about 100 to 230 nm (see claim 8).
Regarding claim 16, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average diameter of 500 to 530 nm (see claim 9).
Regarding claim 17, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres are monodisperse with a coefficient of variation, defined as a ratio of the standard deviation to the mean diameter of the hollow silica spheres, of less than 5% (see claim 10).
Regarding claim 20, Bozkurt ‘411 discloses wherein the hollow silica spheres have an average pore diameter of 1.7 to 8 nm with a cumulative pore volume of 0.02 to 0.035 cm.sup.3/g (see claim 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, 11, 13-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hah et al (NPL: “Simple preparation of monodisperse hollow silica particles without using templates”, Chem communications 2003, 1712-1713, IDS submitted reference by applicant) in view of Yuichi et al (JP 2011246285 A, machine translation).
As per Claims 1, 3, 6, 9 and 11, Hah teaches method for forming hollow silica spheres without employing template comprising dissolving phenyltrimethoxysilane (PTMS, meets claim 1 and 3 ) in an aqueous solution comprising nitric and water bath to form hydrolyzed silane solution and then mixing hydrolyzed silane solution with ammonium hydroxide (reads on base) forming a homogenous solution for condensation and then condensation was stirred for one hour forming a precipitate and then resultant particles were collected with a membrane filter. Hah further discloses washing with ethanol and water several time (reads on washing step as claimed) form precipitate (see page 1712 left column).
Hah does not expressively mention centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate from the suspension; then calcining the precipitate to form hollow silica, wherein the calcining is performed by heating to a first temperature of 180 to 240°C with a first ramp rate of 3 to 10°C/min and holding the first temperature for 2 minutes to 2 hours, then heating to a second temperature of 600 to 740°C at a second ramp rate of 0.1 to 4°C/min, and holding the second temperature for 2 to 24 hours.
However, Yuichi teaches method of making hollow solid silica particles by adding silica source (i.e., tetraethoxysilane) to aqueous solution and then adding acid or base as catalyst, sol-gel occurs, and the silica gel is formed (paragraphs 0027-0029, 0033-0034). Then Yuichi further discloses silica particles are separated from silica particle dispersion by centrifugation (reads on centrifuging the suspension to separate the precipitate), pressure filtration or any known methods and then silica particles are washed with solvent such as water and drying the process (paragraphs 0044-0045). Then further discloses heat treatment of silica particles occurring multiple times where the heat treatment before the final heat treatment is occurred at 150° C or more and 350° C or less (i.e., example, performs at 200° C for 2 hours for first heat treatment, meets claim 1 limitation of first temperature of 180 to 240° C for 2 minutes to 2 hours and meets claim 6 limitation of first temperature of 195 to 210° C) and final heat treatment occurs at 400° C or more and 900° C or less (paragraph 0046, 0052, i.e., second heat treatment occurs at 600° C for one hour, meets claim 1 limitation of second temperature of 600 to 740° C and meets claim 9 limitation of second temperature from 650 to 670° C). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Yuichi does not explicitly disclose or suggest first temperature with a first ramp rate of 3 to 10° C/min and second temperature at a second ramp rate of 0.1 to 4° C/min and holding the second temperature for 2 to 24 hours of claim 1 and holding for 12 to 20 hours of claim 11.
However, Yuichi teaches two stage of calcination process and discloses the method substantially similar to presently claimed invention for making hollow silica particles therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of applicant invention to optimize the first temperature at desired ramp rate from 3 to 10° C/min and second temperature at desired ramp rate from 0.1 to 4° C/min and second temperature at desired holding for 2 to 24 hours of claim 1 and 12 to 20 hours of claim 11 by routine experiment unless otherwise shown by applicant which provides more easier method for conductive silica particle and forming uniform disperse metal particles resulting in stable shape such as hollow shape (see paragraphs 0002, 0005, 0029) as taught by Yuichi. See MPEP 2144.05.
As per Claim 13-14, Hah in view of Yuichi teaches the method substantially similar to presently claimed invention and further teaches core and shell (Hah-page 1712, Yuichi-paragraphs 0022,0027-0029) so therefore would result in shell having higher density compared to core and further would also result in silica spheres having an average degree of hollowness each measured with transmission electron microscopy of 3-8 unless otherwise unexpected results are shown by applicant.
As per Claim 16, Yuichi teaches diameter from 50-500 nm (paragraph 0021). Hah teaches diameter of hollow silica sphere in range from 300-800 nm (table 1). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As per clam 15, 17 and 20, Hah in view of Yuichi teaches the method substantially similar to presently claimed invention therefore properties of shell thickness of 150-210 nm and core diameter 100-230 nm, average pore diameter of 1.7-8 nm and pore volume of 0.02-0.035 cm3/g, and coefficient of variation of less than 5% would be expected unless shown otherwise, In re Spada, 15 U.S.P.Q. 2d 1655 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ching-Yiu Fung can be reached on 5712705713. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SMITA S PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 04/30/2026