Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,923,822 B2 (Cited by Applicant).
The US patent claim 3 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1-3 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the US patent claim and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The US patent claim 3 has the additional limitation of “a temperature compensation layer” while the current application claim 1 recites “a layer”.
Therefore, claim 3 of the patent meets claims 1-3 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the combination of “an air cavity” and “a solid acoustic mirror” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD (CN109217841A, Cited by Applicant, Machine English Translation Provided by Applicant).
In regards to claims 1 and 2, Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD teaches in Fig. 1(a) a stacked acoustic wave device structure comprising:
A surface acoustic wave device including a first piezoelectric layer (100) with an interdigital transducer electrode (200) on the first piezoelectric layer that generate a surface acoustic wave;
A temperature compensation layer (300) above the surface acoustic wave device along which the surface acoustic wave propagates; and
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (500, 600 and 700) supported by the temperature compensation layer (300), the bulk acoustic wave resonator including an air cavity (410) in contact with the temperature compensation layer (300), the bulk acoustic wave resonator further includes a second piezoelectric layer (600) above the air cavity (410) and electrodes (500 and 700) on opposing sides of the second piezoelectric layer.
In regards to claim 3, based on Fig. 1(a) the air cavity (410) has a shape that is impacted/formed by the temperature compensation layer (300).
In regards to claim 4, based on Fig. 1(a), at least a portion of the bulk acoustic wave resonator (bottom layer 500) is in direct contact with at least a portion of the temperature compensation layer (300).
In regards to claim 5, based on Fig. 1(a), the air cavity (410) is above the interdigital transducer electrode (200) of the surface acoustic wave device.
In regards to claim 8, based on Fig. 1(a), the bulk acoustic wave resonator (500, 600 and 700) has edges which isn’t aligned with edges of the surface acoustic wave device interdigital transducer electrode (200); therefore, the bulk acoustic wave resonator is laterally offset from the interdigital transducer electrode (200) of the surface acoustic wave device.
In regards to claim 9, based on Fig. 1(a), wherein at least one of the electrodes (500 and 700) of the bulk acoustic wave resonator extends over at least a portion of the interdigital transducer electrode (200).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD (CN109217841A, Cited by Applicant, Machine English Translation Provided by Applicant) in view of Kando et al. (US2014/0203893 A1, Cited by Applicant).
As discussed above, Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD teaches a generic surface acoustic wave device, therefore, does not teach: in regards to claim 6, wherein the surface acoustic wave device is a boundary wave resonator.
However, it is well-known in the art that surface acoustic wave device which produce elastic waves, can be designed to operate as a boundary wave resonator by changing properties of the acoustic wave piezoelectric layer. Kando et al. Paragraph [0053]-[0054] teaches that elastic waves includes surface acoustic wave resonator/device, boundary acoustic wave resonator/device and plate wave resonator/device, in which the operation mode depends on the properties of the piezoelectric layer.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD and have designed the piezoelectric layer of the surface acoustic wave device to operate as a boundary acoustic wave resonator because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art design consideration to provide a desired operating mode of the device as taught by Kando et al. (see Paragraph [0053]-[0054]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD (CN109217841A, Cited by Applicant, Machine English Translation Provided by Applicant) in view of Saji et al. (US2019/0149128 A1).
As discussed above, Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD does not teach: in regards to claim 10, a low velocity layer located between the first piezoelectric layer and a support structure.
Saji et al. teaches in Fig. 1 an acoustic wave device comprising an IDT (6) disposed on a piezoelectric layer (5), and a low velocity layer (4) located between the piezoelectric layer (5) and a support structure (3). Saji et al. teaches in paragraph [0012] that the combination of the low velocity layer and support substrate provide the benefit of confining acoustic wave energy within the piezoelectric layer.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD and have added a low velocity layer and support substrate below the first piezoelectric layer of the surface acoustic wave device because such a modification would have provided the benefit of confining acoustic wave energy within the first piezoelectric layer as taught by Saji et al. (see paragraph [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 11, the most relevant prior art reference is Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD as discussed above. However, Hangzhou Sappland Microelectronics Tech Co LTD does not teach in regards to claim 11, a second surface acoustic wave device above the first surface acoustic wave device, the second surface acoustic wave device including a second piezoelectric layer with a second interdigital transducer electrode on the second piezoelectric layer that generate a second surface acoustic wave, and a first layer above the second surface acoustic wave device along which at least the second surface acoustic wave propagates. Therefore, the applicants’ claimed invention has been determined to be novel and non-obvious. By virtue of dependency from claim 11, claims 12-20 have also been determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Conclusion
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843