DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities: The term “are” in lines 11 and 7 of the claims, respectively, appears to be misspelled (i.e., area instead). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2021/0376291).
Regarding independent claim 21, Park teaches a display device comprising a base substrate (Fig. 12, Element 110; ¶ [0113]) including a display area (Fig. 12, Element DA; ¶ [0061]) and a non-display area (Fig. 12, Element NDA; ¶ [0061]) surrounding the display area; an encapsulation substrate (Fig. 12, Element 310; ¶ [0244]) disposed on the base substrate and covering the display area; a dam (Fig. 12, Element 50; ¶ [0062]) disposed between the base substrate and the encapsulation substrate in the non-display area; a planarization layer (Fig. 12, Element 130; ¶ [0143]) covering the display area and extending into the non-display area, the planarization layer being separated from the dam; and an organic light emitting element (Fig. 12, Element ED1; ¶ [0161]) including a cathode (Fig. 12, Element CE; ¶ [0140]), and disposed on the planarization layer, wherein the cathode extends into the non-display area, and exposes a top surface of the planarization layer in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches a passivation layer (Fig. 12, Element 117; ¶ [0132]) covering the planarization layer and disposed between the dam and the base substrate in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 23, Park teaches a capping layer (Fig. 12, Element 160; ¶ [0217]) disposed on the cathode and covering an edge area of the cathode in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 24, Park teaches the capping layer exposing the top surface of the planarization layer in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches the organic light emitting element including an organic layer (Fig. 12, Element OL; ¶ [0165]) disposed on the planarization layer, and wherein the organic layer exposes the top surface of the planarization layer in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Regarding claim 26, Park teaches a gate pad unit (Fig. 12, Element PD; ¶ [0125]) disposed on the base substrate in the non-display area, wherein the planarization layer covers top and side surfaces of the gate pad unit in the non-display area (Fig. 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding independent claim 1, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a base substrate including a non-display area disposed at a first side, a second side and a third side of the display device, wherein a first pad unit is disposed at the first side of the display device, a second pad unit is disposed at the third side of the display device, and the second side is opposite to the first side; a planarization layer disposed to cover the second pad unit in the non-display area, and being spaced apart from a dam by a first distance at the first and third sides of the display device.
Due to their dependencies upon independent claim 1, claims 2-14 are also allowable.
Regarding independent claim 15, the prior art of record neither shows or suggests a display device comprising, in addition to other limitations of the claim, a base substrate including a display area and a non-display area surrounding the display area, wherein the non-display area is located at a first side, a second side and a third side of the base substrate, the first and second sides being opposite sides; and a planarization layer covering the display area and extending into the non-display area, wherein a first separation distance between the planarization layer and a dam in the non-display area at the second side of the substrate is equal to or greater than a second separation distance between the planarization layer and the dam in the non-display area at the first side of the substrate.
Due to their dependencies upon independent claim 15, claims 16-20 are also allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 11,737,311) teaches an organic light-emitting display apparatus with a plurality of insulating dams. Lee (US 2015/0340655) teaches an organic light emitting display with minimized cell gap. Kim (US 2015/0028307) teaches an organic light emitting display with a backplane including a bezel area.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 30 May 2026